Perfume Reviews

Reviews by ad_scott

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 78
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Brut Special Reserve by Brut

Out of the EDT, EDC, Splash-on and Aftershave versions of Brut, I prefer Special Reserve as it has more of a rugged edge compared to the others. This version is musky, powdery and minty. I love all the different formats of Brut but Special Reserve gives my nose the most pleasure.
27th November, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Herod by Parfums de Marly

I like Herod more than Tobacco Vanille. Herod is like a 50/50 mixture of Tobacco Vanille and 24 Gold EDT. The opening to mid is smooth vanilla pipe tobacco mixed with gourmand fruits (cherries and raspberries) packed in a luxury leather pouch! Herod’s dry down is almost identical to Eau des Baux: dry, peppery cinnamon. Longevity, sillage and projection seem modest, not as boorish as 24 Gold. Out of the hundreds of fragrances I've tried, thus far, Herod earns a place in the top 5. Definitely worth the cost.
11th November, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Helmut Lang Eau de Cologne by Helmut Lang

(This is a review for the Original version). Simply beautiful! White, pink and yellow florals upon a freshly polished cedarwood base surrounded by fresh white laundry. A very clean and refreshing scent with vibes of white soap and sherbet - in a very good way!
11th November, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bleecker Street by Bond No. 9

Very nice indeed! Green, green, green; fresh and clean; gin and tonic in the summertime, yellow, yellow, yellow; lemon and lime fragranced fresh laundry. Top marks. Beautiful.
11th November, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cabochard by Grès

Dusty leather, white flowers and an extinguished cigarette after the rain. It has a kind of fresh/damp/wet feeling to it. Different and unisex at a bargain price tag. EDT and EDP are almost identical albeit the latter has a stronger punch including better sillage and longevity.
07th November, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Héritage Eau de Toilette by Guerlain

Luxurious, charming, clean, woody and sweet (but not too sweet). A little boozy in a way. Parisian nights.
07th November, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Lilac Vegetal by Pinaud

A strange one but I do have respect for this due to its history and tradition. Straight up this smells like a row of public urinals sprinkled with a heavy dash of talcum powder (the musky Lilac at work here). Lilac Vegetal is a quirky, slightly off-putting scent and should only be used on a lonely night after a shave and before bed. A fragrance for oneself to appreciate.
26th October, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Clubman by Pinaud

Nice. I purchased my first bottle of Clubman in Manhattan during my first trip to New York City.
In the evenings, at the hotel, I splashed on ample amounts of Clubman before strolling around the city at night. For me, this fragrance blended in well with the streets and bars of New York: woody, earthy and spicy (with a delightful rum vibe). It will always be my New York scent.
26th October, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Van Cleef & Arpels pour Homme by Van Cleef & Arpels

To my nose this smells like a lavish bar of rose soap in a luxury hotel - potent yet subdued. Floral, clean and classic. I don't detect any leather note however it dries down to a white soap with a touch of cigarette ash and asphalt, similar to Quorum. Love it.
19th October, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau de New York by Bond No. 9

Concentrated, longer-lasting 4711.
12th October, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cowboy Grass by D.S. & Durga

CG is a kind of modernist cowboy scent. It transports me to the Laughlin Hotel in El Paso, 1972. The aftermath of the great shootout sequence from The Getaway. Wooden interiors, dust, Stetsons, rosewood grips, dirty Levi's, gunpowder and smoke, grass fields over yonder. Unsurpassed longevity. Very well done.
30th April, 2018 (last edited: 11th June, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Kiehl's Original Musk by Kiehl's

I call this my 'London fragrance' as I discovered in the city and have sported it many times when walking the bustling streets. White floral, musky talcum powder and soap is the best way I can describe Kiehl's Original Musk. It's just nice and clean smelling with an interesting twist.
23rd April, 2018 (last edited: 28th September, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Pineapple Vintage by Parfums Vintage

I like this a lot, it gets compliments. A nice pineapple scent with robust sillage and longevity. After 6 hours on my skin someone mentioned it smelled like tobacco. I like Creed Aventus but I think I prefer Pineapple Vintage by half-a-notch. It seems to have a slightly better kick to it.
20th April, 2018 (last edited: 05th July, 2018)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Yatagan by Caron

Close to perfection for a winter time fragrance. Very well balanced, comforting and unique. Off the bat the scent is remindful of a Spanish leather bag shop. Warm, refined leather.
20th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Isfarkand by Ormonde Jayne

Very nice indeed. Fresh and luxurious. Maybe a tad more on the feminine side but I can still wear and enjoy it. Isfarkand is definitely worth looking into if you happen to like fresh and light deluxe fragrances.
17th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

New Haarlem by Bond No. 9

Gorgeous fragrance. Kind of smoky meets musky. Burnt coffee is the prominent note which blends with the vanilla, tonka and amber. Not for everyone but I especially find it unique and beautiful. I could wear New Haarlem everyday.
17th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tumulte pour Homme by Christian Lacroix

Fresh, clean, dry cedar. I smell violet in this also. Very nice. A cut-above casual, more of a scent for a night on the town...
17th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Jockey Club by Caswell-Massey

Interesting and old-world smelling. When I smell JC I think of the old library at Trinity College...monocles, moustaches and art deco fashion. I like this fragrance. It is best for special occasions like weddings, anniversaries or a trip to the races. The bottle, label and packaging are superb.
04th April, 2018 (last edited: 06th July, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cacharel Pour L'Homme by Cacharel

This one is definitely unique and smells more expensive than what it sells for. It is a comforting scent and I find it somewhat medicinal; akin to calamine lotion or a honey-flavoured Strepsil. Also, some Beeswax maybe? The cedarwood and nutmeg notes dominate this fragrance. Can't really compare it to any other male fragrance but it kind of sits with Azzaro pour Homme and similar woody/musky labels from that era. Sillage is medium and longevity is moderate (5-6 hours). Presented in a handsome bottle too. I'd say CPLH is an all-rounder, any occasion scent for men 30 and over.
31st March, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Aventus by Creed

Very fresh pineapple in the opening which stays strong for 5 minutes...fades...then balances with the Italian bergamot and blackcurrant notes. Then it turns greener and has a Drakkar Noir vibe but in a luxurious and sophisticated way. Drydown is birch trees adjacent to an asphalt-layed road with the faint scent of rose, jasmine and fruits in the air. A quality fragrance.
07th January, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

La Yuqawam pour Homme by Rasasi

Raspberry ripple in a leather bowl with a faint smell of cigarette smoke in the air. Nice!
05th January, 2018 (last edited: 21st November, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Rumz al Rasasi 9325 pour lui by Rasasi

A nice fragrance. Fresh pineapple and lime at the opening which settles down to a mix of cedarwood, fir and lemon. I wish it had more longevity and sillage but overall it is very good for the price.
26th December, 2017 (last edited: 05th January, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Oscar de la Renta pour Lui by Oscar de la Renta

Green, dark, leathery and soapy. Very 1980s. Dry-down is nicer than the opening which is incense-like. A fragrance for the winter months. Pure class in a glass bottle.
05th December, 2017 (last edited: 12th December, 2017)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Oscar de la Renta Gentleman by Oscar de la Renta

I like this fragrance. Certainly classy...would go very well with a tuxedo or a suit. The prominent note in Gentleman is amber (kind of get a slight Armani Mania/Nicolaï New-York vibe). Amber fresh. A little dusty throughout which emits from the leather/wood base. The grapefruit, champagne and tea notes can be detected above the amber. The fragrance does mirror the traditional casino scene; an aged room with table games, men in tailor-made suits, leather seats, glasses of champagne, wood panelling and silver pots of Chinese tea. A very well done EDT which comes in a riveting and quirky domino bottle.
05th December, 2017
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Old Spice Bearglove by Procter & Gamble

Better than expected. Fresh and clean melon scent, good longevity and sillage. Costs pennies and gets compliments all round. It could pass as cologne as it is stronger/lasts longer than aftershave. Suitable for everyday wear. A real bargain.
27th November, 2017
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

John Varvatos by John Varvatos

This is very nice indeed. Smells like a brand new Aston Martin interior - wood and leather with a plum note. Longevity and sillage performance is good - lasts all day and projects moderately. The feel of this fragrance is like a high quality wood that has been polished to perfection...smooth, rounded, refined.
02nd August, 2017 (last edited: 06th November, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Acqua di Selva by Visconti di Modrone

Cordial, fresh, conventional, classy. Pine and mint freshness on top with slight earthy undertones. A forest vibe - and remindful of Proraso yet more so opulent with a stronger hit in the opening. Very good considering the modest price tag.
27th July, 2017
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

In New York by Van Cleef & Arpels

The top notes monopolize throughout with the Italian Lemon and Mandarin quite brash in the opening...soon settles, giving way to the Marine Notes which mainstay for the rest of the day. Wearing this fragrance evokes pictures of sailing on the Atlantic with the skyscrapers of NYC in view; so oceanic, crisp, and clear. The bottle is awe-inspiring too! It looks and feels minimal, sleek, and elegant; maybe an aluminum and glass structure located at Fifth Avenue inspired its design.
25th July, 2017 (last edited: 17th November, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Midnight in Paris by Van Cleef & Arpels

The opening is fresh: lemon, then bergamot and rosemary, then it adjusts to a mild, fruity green tea. 5 minutes later things start to get interesting as the opening notes synthesize with a kind of muted smoky-rubbery note resulting in a harmonious mid. When the dry down initiates, the brightness fades and the darker tones dominate (very well done as it feels like being in Paris around midnight at a bar with a glass of Bourbon.) There's a delicate boozy element at play. Moments later, I experience only the leather, tonka and incense notes which somehow forge a faint vanilla/almond/coffee aroma. I admire this scent, it is smooth, creamy, delicious and comforting. It's a fragrance for the autumn and winter. Sillage and longevity are full-bodied yet mild - stays close to the skin. Bottle is also very nice. All in all a very good fragrance.
22nd April, 2016
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Azzaro pour Homme by Azzaro

The freshest and cleanest of woody fragrances. A nice fresh blast of lavender and anise in the opening then in the mid to dry down it's consistent of sandalwood, lemon and musk. A good run of longevity and modest sillage. Barbershop and sophistication in one.
21st April, 2016 (last edited: 23rd September, 2018)