Perfume Reviews

Reviews by ad_scott

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 67
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cowboy Grass by D.S. & Durga

CG is a kind of modernist cowboy scent. It transports me to the Laughlin Hotel in El Paso, 1972. The aftermath of the great shootout sequence from The Getaway. Wooden interiors, dust, Stetsons, rosewood grips, dirty Levi's, gunpowder and smoke, grass fields over yonder. Unsurpassed longevity. Very well done.
30th April, 2018 (last edited: 11th June, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Kiehl's Original Musk by Kiehl's

I call this my 'London' fragrance as I discovered in the city and have sported it many times when walking the bustling streets. White floral, musky talcum powder and soap is the best way I can describe Kiehl's Original Musk. It's just nice and clean smelling with an interesting twist.
23rd April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Pineapple Vintage by Parfums Vintage

I like this a lot, it gets compliments. A nice pineapple scent with robust sillage and longevity. After 6 hours on my skin someone mentioned it smelled like tobacco. I like Creed Aventus but I think I prefer Pineapple Vintage by half-a-notch. It seems to have a slightly better kick to it.
20th April, 2018 (last edited: 05th July, 2018)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Yatagan by Caron

Close to perfection for a winter time fragrance. Very well balanced, comforting and unique. Off the bat the scent is remindful of a Spanish leather bag shop. Warm, refined leather.
20th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Isfarkand by Ormonde Jayne

Very nice indeed. Fresh and luxurious. Maybe a tad more on the feminine side but I can still wear and enjoy it. Isfarkand is definitely worth looking into if you happen to like fresh and light deluxe fragrances.
17th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

New Haarlem by Bond No. 9

Gorgeous fragrance. Kind of smoky meets musky. Burnt coffee is the prominent note which blends with the vanilla, tonka and amber. Not for everyone but I especially find it unique and beautiful. I could wear New Haarlem everyday.
17th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tumulte pour Homme by Christian Lacroix

Fresh, clean, dry cedar. I smell violet in this also. Very nice. A cut-above casual, more of a scent for a night on the town...
17th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Jockey Club by Caswell-Massey

Interesting and old-world smelling. When I smell JC I think of the old library at Trinity College...monocles, moustaches and art deco fashion. I like this fragrance. It is best for special occasions like weddings, anniversaries or a trip to the races. The bottle, label and packaging are superb.
04th April, 2018 (last edited: 06th July, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cacharel Pour L'Homme by Cacharel

This one is definitely unique and smells more expensive than what it sells for. It is a comforting scent and I find it somewhat medicinal; akin to calamine lotion or a honey-flavoured Strepsil. Also, some Beeswax maybe? The cedarwood and nutmeg notes dominate this fragrance. Can't really compare it to any other male fragrance but it kind of sits with Azzaro pour Homme and similar woody/musky labels from that era. Sillage is medium and longevity is moderate (5-6 hours). Presented in a handsome bottle too. I'd say CPLH is an all-rounder, any occasion scent for men 30 and over.
31st March, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Aventus by Creed

Very fresh pineapple in the opening which stays strong for 5 minutes...fades...then balances with the Italian bergamot and blackcurrant notes. Then it turns greener and has a Drakkar Noir vibe but in a luxurious and sophisticated way. Drydown is birch trees adjacent to an asphalt-layed road with the faint scent of rose, jasmine and fruits in the air. A quality fragrance.
07th January, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

La Yuqawam pour Homme by Rasasi

Raspberry ripple in a leather bowl with a faint smell of cigarette smoke in the air.
Nice!
05th January, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Rumz al Rasasi 9325 pour lui by Rasasi

A nice fragrance. Fresh pineapple and lime at the opening which settles down to a mix of cedarwood, fir and lemon. I wish it had more longevity and sillage but overall it is very good for the price.
26th December, 2017 (last edited: 05th January, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Oscar de la Renta pour Lui by Oscar de la Renta

Green, dark, leathery and soapy. Very 1980s. Dry-down is nicer than the opening which is incense-like. A fragrance for the winter months. Pure class in a glass bottle.
05th December, 2017 (last edited: 12th December, 2017)
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Oscar de la Renta Gentleman by Oscar de la Renta

I like this fragrance. Certainly classy...would go very well with a tuxedo or a suit. The prominent note in Gentleman is amber (kind of get a slight Armani Mania/Nicolaï New-York vibe). Amber fresh. A little dusty throughout which emits from the leather/wood base. The grapefruit, champagne and tea notes can be detected above the amber. The fragrance does mirror the traditional casino scene; an aged room with table games, men in tailor-made suits, leather seats, glasses of champagne, wood panelling and silver pots of Chinese tea. A very well done EDT which comes in a riveting and quirky domino bottle.
05th December, 2017
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Old Spice Bearglove by Procter & Gamble

Better than expected. Fresh and clean melon scent, good longevity and sillage. Costs pennies and gets compliments all round. It could pass as cologne as it is stronger/lasts longer than aftershave. Suitable for everyday wear. A real bargain.
27th November, 2017
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

John Varvatos by John Varvatos

This is very nice indeed. Smells like a brand new Aston Martin interior..wood and leather with a plum note. Longevity and sillage performance is good..lasts all day and projects moderately. The feel of this fragrance is like a muted high quality wood that has been polished to perfection...smooth, rounded, refined.
02nd August, 2017 (last edited: 14th August, 2017)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Acqua di Selva by Visconti di Modrone

Cordial, fresh, conventional, classy. Pine and mint freshness on top with slight earthy undertones. A forest vibe - and remindful of Proraso yet more so opulent with a stronger hit in the opening. Very good considering the modest price tag.
27th July, 2017
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

In New York by Van Cleef & Arpels

A fresh and engaging scent from start to finish. Longevity and sillage seem to be moderate. The top notes monopolize throughout with the Italian Lemon and Mandarin quite brash in the opening which soon settles, giving way to the Marine Notes which mainstay for the rest of the day. Wearing this fragrance is like sailing on the Atlantic with New York's skyscrapers in view...so oceanic, crisp, and clear. The bottle is awe-inspiring too - it looks and feels minimal, sleek, and elegant - akin to an aluminum and glass structure located on Fifth Avenue.
25th July, 2017 (last edited: 02nd April, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Midnight in Paris by Van Cleef & Arpels

The opening is fresh: lemon, then bergamot and rosemary, then it adjusts to a mild, fruity green tea. 5 minutes later things start to get interesting as the opening notes synthesize with a kind of muted smoky-rubbery note resulting in a harmonious mid. When the dry down initiates, the brightness fades and the darker tones dominate (very well done as it feels like being in Paris around midnight at a bar with a glass of Bourbon.) There's a delicate boozy element at play. Moments later, I experience only the leather, tonka and incense notes which somehow forge a faint vanilla/almond/coffee aroma. I admire this scent, it is smooth, creamy, delicious and comforting. It's a fragrance for the autumn and winter. Sillage and longevity are full-bodied yet mild - stays close to the skin. Bottle is also very nice. All in all a very good fragrance.
22nd April, 2016
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Azzaro pour Homme by Azzaro

The freshest and cleanest of woody fragrances I've ever come across. A nice fresh blast of lavender and anise in the opening then in the mid to dry down it's consistent of sandalwood, lemon and musk. A good run of longevity and modest sillage. Barbershop and sophistication in one.
21st April, 2016
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tommy by Tommy Hilfiger

Well nice. This was a 'go to' fragrance of mine back in 1996/97. Best way I can describe the scent is like spicy green apples. I kind of get the Apple Pies note; this stands out more than the other notes, although the Midwest Spearmint note supports, giving a balance of freshness. Definitely a spicy, fresh, fruity gourmand vibe. Hefty sillage and longevity - lasts all day long. I find Tommy comforting and evocative, takes me back to home in the '90s.
20th April, 2016
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau de Prep by Tommy Hilfiger

Eau de Prep is very nice indeed, most certainly a noteworthy fragrance. I prefer this to Tommy Man as it's lighter, fresher and more versatile. On the opening grapefruit is the prominent note which hangs around for a while then the juniper berry comes into play. The dry down is tonic water and suede. Sillage and longevity are moderate. I first put my nose on this fragrance in Spain and it couldn't have been in a better setting. Eau de Prep was made for the summer, it works so well in the warm climates.
19th April, 2016
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Giorgio for Men by Giorgio Beverly Hills

For the price, the quantity and quality is very good indeed. Honey, patchouli and amber dominance.
Superb sillage and longevity - lingers on the shirt collar the following morning! Comes in an attractive bottle too. An all-rounder for any occasion but leans more on the casual side. Important to note: only 2-3 sprays maximum as it's quite potent albeit a classic.
18th April, 2016
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bowling Green by Geoffrey Beene

This is a remarkable scent. On first sniff it is Drakkar Noir's cousin, however I prefer Bowling Green as it's more natural, calm and classy than its kinsman. I don't mind Drakkar Noir but I found it too stout and more on the artificial side.

The name of Bowling Green fits well with the scent - it's different tones of green grass and trees which are taken care of by a greenkeeper. EDT is sturdy in projection, sillage and longevity.

Remindful of the putting green at the golf club after a little rain in spring time. Fresh lemon in the opening then it calms to pine and fir. It's different greens all the way through, like a lavish golf course or a graceful landscape; not any woods really, just greens. Bowling Green is a classic, every gentleman/fragrance collector should own it.
11th March, 2016
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tabac Original by Mäurer & Wirtz

I have admired Tabac EDC ever since I was a young boy in the 1980s, as father sported it. It is an evocative and comforting scent and it does attain that old school barbershop feel. Tabac has been going for nearly 60 years!

I don't really detect the tobacco note in Tabac...maybe a faint hint of it now and again... a generic budget kind of tobacco in a pouch (remindful of Drum Halfzware Shag.) I certainly get the citrus and aldehyde blast in the opening, then it's pretty much a linear scent all the way through.

On the dry down it's citrus, white soap and clean. I find it difficult to pick out Tabac's other notes as I just get the citrus and white soap; maybe a hint of pepper and tobacco but it's very slight. If there are other notes present I can't pinpoint them because there's a kind of blur to the senses.

Longevity is ace, it lasts all day and sillage is moderate. EDC is available in splash and spray. EDT I experienced to be decent but a totally different scent, more floral, sharper and sweeter; I much prefer the EDC.

For years I've been using the shaving soap religiously which is amazing considering the price, scent and lifespan - a puck lasts me around 3 years.
The shaving soap scent is similar to the aftershave and EDC but I find it a bit more refined - cleaner/neutral with a dash of citrus. Reminds me of a brand new bathroom, a clean and new ceramic tile smell.

Tabac is great value for money, and it is true... it is hard to find other fragrances at the same price that are as robust and unique in scent, longevity and sillage. Unsurpassed German engineering.
03rd March, 2016 (last edited: 04th November, 2016)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau Sauvage by Christian Dior

This was Steve McQueen's personal favourite...and I can see why. Fine lemon with a touch of vetiver, a tad powdery. To my nose it smells dated, reminds me of something nice but I can't remember what! Not overpowering, it's just right. Sort of lemon trees, green grass and a summer breeze in mind. Maybe an 18-hole game of golf, then afterwards a shower and change in the locker room, before heading to the clubhouse bar for a drink on the rocks. Eau Sauvage has that vibe.
27th February, 2016 (last edited: 28th January, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

New-York by Nicolaï

This one smells like the late 1980s more than any other fragrance I've experienced. Reminiscent of primary school in winter 1989. Walking on the assembly hall wooden floor all buffed and squeaky clean, heading for the stationery cupboard fully stocked to the ceiling with brand new pens, pencils, erasers, inks, tubes of glitter and bulk packs of paper. I think it's the powdery amber in New-York that initiates that anecdote. Masculine. Clean. Crisp. Powdery. Dusty. Interesting. Remarkable.
15th December, 2015 (last edited: 01st December, 2017)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Brut by Fabergé

Standing in an Austrian forest on a pleasant spring day. Beyond the tree branches and oakmoss lichen is a view of distant snow capped mountains. On the left-side, freshly cut logs are stacked in a timber pile and to the right-side upon the grass are the flowers of lavender, geranium and jasmine. The hip-flask is brimming with chilled lemonade...
08th December, 2015 (last edited: 03rd July, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Blue Stratos by Parfums Bleu

Very pleasant indeed. A decent scent for any occasion - fresh, cool and clean. Smells unique and to my nose Blue Stratos definitely belongs in the late 1970s/early 1980s memory slot - reminds me of a time when 3 wheeler vans existed and when one had to walk over to a TV set to change the channel. For the price it's an absolute bargain considering the scent, sillage and longevity. Cheap enough to discard if this fragrance is not for you.
03rd December, 2015
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

L'Air du Desert Marocain by Tauer

What first comes to mind is being at a medina in Marrakesh surrounded by stalls and vendors selling a vast array of spices and wooden trinkets. It is midday and the sun is beating down. Warm gusts of wind pass through the medina levitating dust from the ground and mixing it with the smoky, comforting aroma of pipe tobacco drawn and exhaled by wandering old men. A few yards away from the spice stall is a cookie vendor; the essence of vanilla drifts over the various spices displayed upon sun-baked wood. A luxury 3rd world.
11th November, 2015 (last edited: 01st June, 2016)