Perfume Reviews

Reviews by ad_scott

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 82
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tobacco Cologne by Odore Mio

I have tried 6 of Odore Mio's fragrances and thus far Tobacco Cologne is my favourite. To my nose, this is a floral tobacco with a touch of fruit and spice. When I first used this fragrance, tobacco and roses came to mind but after a few more sprays, different notes such as lime and orange come into play. The scent transports me to a place like Morocco; sat outside on a terrace in the blazing sun, surrounded by flowers, the heat is pounding on the wooden-planked floor. The smell of pipe, cigar, and cigarette smoke is in the air blending harmoniously with the scent of fruits and spices from the nearby market stalls. This is a beautifully mastered cologne, not too harsh, not too frail, it's done just right. Decent sillage, longevity and projection.
24th January, 2019 (last edited: 31st January, 2019)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Paco Rabanne Pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

Top marks! Probably the very first fragrance I ever encountered back in the 1980s. Dad always had a bottle. The best way I can describe PRPH is it smells like the finest soap and talcum powder set that money can buy...refined, clean, fresh and comforting. It really is unique and evocative.
24th January, 2019
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tobacco Oud by Odore Mio

Tobacco Oud is impressive. This is a dark pipe tobacco or a plug tobacco. It also screams incense! It has the vibe of a new age ethnic shop...incense sticks, wooden holders and sandalwood soap. This fragrance is refined and robust, 2 sprays maximum. Daring and delicious in one...
24th January, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Chergui by Serge Lutens

A luxurious version of Eau des Baux; creamier and smoother. I get the hay, tobacco and honey more than anything else.
De luxe.
23rd January, 2019
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Beautiful Day by Jean-Charles Castelbajac

Delicate fruits, almond, and a touch of musk. A walk in the gardens on a beautiful day!
18th January, 2019
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Brut Special Reserve by Brut

Out of the EDT, EDC, Splash-on and Aftershave versions of Brut, I prefer Special Reserve as it has more of a rugged edge. This version is musky, powdery and minty. I love all the different formats of Brut but Special Reserve gives my nose the most pleasure.
27th November, 2018 (last edited: 15th January, 2019)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Herod by Parfums de Marly

I enjoy this fragrance more than Tobacco Vanille. Herod is like a 50/50 mixture of Tobacco Vanille and 24 Gold EDT. The opening to mid is smooth vanilla pipe tobacco mixed with gourmand fruits (cherries and raspberries) packed in a luxury leather pouch! Herod’s dry down is almost identical to Eau des Baux: dry and peppery with cinnamon. Longevity, sillage and projection seem modest, not as boorish as 24 Gold. Herod earns a place in my top 5.
11th November, 2018 (last edited: 10th January, 2019)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Helmut Lang Eau de Cologne by Helmut Lang

(This is a review for the Original version). Simply beautiful! White, pink and yellow florals upon a freshly polished cedarwood base surrounded by fresh white laundry. A very clean and refreshing scent with vibes of white soap and sherbet - in a very good way!
11th November, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Bleecker Street by Bond No. 9

Very nice indeed! Green, green, green; fresh and clean; gin and tonic in the summertime, yellow, yellow, yellow; lemon and lime fragranced fresh laundry. Top marks. Beautiful.
11th November, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cabochard by Grès

Dusty leather, white flowers and an extinguished cigarette after the rain. It has a kind of fresh/damp/wet feeling to it. Different and unisex at a bargain price tag. EDT and EDP are almost identical albeit the latter has a stronger punch including better sillage and longevity.
07th November, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Héritage Eau de Toilette by Guerlain

Luxurious, charming, clean, woody and sweet (but not too sweet). A little boozy in a way. Parisian nights.
07th November, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Lilac Vegetal by Pinaud

A strange one but I do have respect for this due to its history and tradition. Straight up this smells like a row of public urinals sprinkled with a heavy dash of talcum powder (the musky Lilac at work here). Lilac Vegetal is a quirky, slightly off-putting scent and should only be used on a lonely night after a shave and before bed. A fragrance for oneself to appreciate.
26th October, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Clubman by Pinaud

Nice. I purchased my first bottle of Clubman in Manhattan during my first trip to New York City.
In the evenings, at the hotel, I splashed on ample amounts of Clubman before strolling around the city at night. For me, this fragrance blended in well with the streets and bars of New York: woody, earthy and spicy (with a delightful rum vibe). It will always be my New York scent.
26th October, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Van Cleef & Arpels pour Homme by Van Cleef & Arpels

To my nose this smells like a lavish bar of rose soap in a luxury hotel - potent yet subdued. Floral, clean and classic. I don't detect any leather note however it dries down to a white soap with a touch of cigarette ash and asphalt, similar to Quorum. Love it.
19th October, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Eau de New York by Bond No. 9

Concentrated, longer-lasting 4711.
12th October, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cowboy Grass by D.S. & Durga

CG is a kind of modernist cowboy scent. It transports me to the Laughlin Hotel in El Paso, 1972. Wooden interiors, dust, Stetsons, rosewood grips, dirty Levi's, gunpowder and smoke, grass fields over yonder. Unsurpassed longevity. Very well done.
30th April, 2018 (last edited: 01st February, 2019)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Kiehl's Original Musk by Kiehl's

I call this my 'London fragrance' as I discovered in the city and have sported it many times when walking the bustling streets. White floral, musky talcum powder and soap is the best way I can describe Kiehl's Original Musk. It's just nice and clean smelling with an interesting twist.
23rd April, 2018 (last edited: 28th September, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Pineapple Vintage by Parfums Vintage

I like this a lot, it gets compliments. A nice pineapple scent with robust sillage and longevity. After 6 hours on my skin someone mentioned it smelled like tobacco. I like Creed Aventus but I think I prefer Pineapple Vintage by half-a-notch. It seems to have a slightly better kick to it.
20th April, 2018 (last edited: 05th July, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Yatagan by Caron

Close to perfection for a winter time fragrance. Very well balanced, comforting and unique. Off the bat the scent is remindful of a Spanish leather bag shop. Warm, refined leather.
20th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Isfarkand by Ormonde Jayne

Very nice indeed. Fresh and luxurious. Maybe a tad more on the feminine side but I can still wear and enjoy it. Isfarkand is definitely worth looking into if you happen to like fresh and light deluxe fragrances.
17th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

New Haarlem by Bond No. 9

Gorgeous fragrance. Kind of smoky meets musky. Burnt coffee is the prominent note which blends with the vanilla, tonka and amber. Not for everyone but I especially find it unique and beautiful. I could wear New Haarlem everyday.
17th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Tumulte pour Homme by Christian Lacroix

Fresh, clean, dry cedar. I smell violet in this also. Very nice. A cut-above casual, more of a scent for a night on the town...
17th April, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Jockey Club by Caswell-Massey

Interesting and old-world smelling. When I smell JC I think of the old library at Trinity College...monocles, moustaches and art deco fashion. I like this fragrance. It is best for special occasions like weddings, anniversaries or a trip to the races. The bottle, label and packaging are superb.
04th April, 2018 (last edited: 06th July, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Cacharel Pour L'Homme by Cacharel

This one is definitely unique and smells more expensive than what it sells for. It is a comforting scent and I find it somewhat medicinal; akin to calamine lotion or a honey-flavoured Strepsil. Also, some Beeswax maybe? The cedarwood and nutmeg notes dominate this fragrance. Can't really compare it to any other male fragrance but it kind of sits with Azzaro pour Homme and similar woody/musky labels from that era. Sillage is medium and longevity is moderate (5-6 hours). Presented in a handsome bottle too. I'd say CPLH is an all-rounder, any occasion scent for men 30 and over.
31st March, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Aventus by Creed

Very fresh pineapple in the opening which stays strong for 5 minutes...fades...then balances with the Italian bergamot and blackcurrant notes. Then it turns greener and has a Drakkar Noir vibe but in a luxurious and sophisticated way. Drydown is birch trees adjacent to an asphalt-layed road with the faint scent of rose, jasmine and fruits in the air. A quality fragrance.
07th January, 2018
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

La Yuqawam pour Homme by Rasasi

Raspberry ripple in a leather bowl with a faint smell of cigarette smoke in the air. Nice!
05th January, 2018 (last edited: 21st November, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Rumz al Rasasi 9325 pour lui by Rasasi

A nice fragrance. Fresh pineapple and lime at the opening which settles down to a mix of cedarwood, fir and lemon. I wish it had more longevity and sillage but overall it is very good for the price.
26th December, 2017 (last edited: 05th January, 2018)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Oscar de la Renta pour Lui by Oscar de la Renta

Green, dark, leathery and soapy. Very 1980s. Dry-down is nicer than the opening which is incense-like. A fragrance for the winter months. Pure class in a glass bottle.
05th December, 2017 (last edited: 12th December, 2017)
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Oscar de la Renta Gentleman by Oscar de la Renta

I like this fragrance. Certainly classy...would go very well with a tuxedo or a suit. The prominent note in Gentleman is amber (kind of get a slight Armani Mania/Nicolaï New-York vibe). Amber fresh. A little dusty throughout which emits from the leather/wood base. The grapefruit, champagne and tea notes can be detected above the amber. The fragrance does mirror the traditional casino scene; an aged room with table games, men in tailor-made suits, leather seats, glasses of champagne, wood panelling and silver pots of Chinese tea. A very well done EDT which comes in a riveting and quirky domino bottle.
05th December, 2017
ad_scott Show all reviews
United Kingdom

Old Spice Bearglove by Procter & Gamble

Better than expected. Fresh and clean melon scent, good longevity and sillage. Costs pennies and gets compliments all round. It could pass as cologne as it is stronger/lasts longer than aftershave. Suitable for everyday wear. A real bargain.
27th November, 2017