Perfume Reviews

Reviews by RCavs

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 273

Reporter by Oleg Cassini

I agree with Mysticman and Naed_Nitram: definitely resembles Paco Rabanne pour homme in its previous versions, just brighter, less herbal/honeyed, more aromatic. Paco's fans will probably like it. Longevity could be better, although it lasted 5-6 hours close to my skin.
Keep in mind I'm talking about "vintage" Reporter as shown in the picture above (the one with black cap and black box)
23rd May, 2019

Ferrari Cuvée Extra Rich Eau de Toilette by Ferrari

Green, aromatic and barbershop(ey), reminded me of Brut and more recent interpretations as Duc de Vervins and Rive Gauche. Same "green with Anise" smell mixed into a slightly sweet and spiced shaving cream accord. Stronger than Duc de vervins and greener than Rive gauche (also less sophisticated) although follows the same vibe. I wouldn't call it smoky, but It has got a non-stuffy spicy powdery smell. In my opinion, It's more of a late 60s, early 70s type of fragrance that flerts with 80s colognes power. Old school for sure.
23rd May, 2019

Versus Uomo by Versace

A strange mix of notes, perhaps a floral oriental, but what puzzles me is the fact It reminds me of chocolate wafer! Definitely different from nowadays ultra sweet chocolate syrup. A bit odd, a neutral for me.
15th May, 2019
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Black Jeans by Versace

A comfortable casual sweet and slightly spicy fragrance. Nothing groudbreaking, just a light and versatile oriental. I dare to say It's Givenchy Pi's younger brother, although It was created first. Along with Metal Jeans, the best in jeans series.
15th May, 2019

Jazz Prestige by Yves Saint Laurent

If you, like me, think YSL Jazz is a nice fragrance that could have been better if the perfumer had tamed that annoying slightly medicinal accord that complements the spicy refreshing green smell, than you should try Jazz prestige.
What a nice spicy green fougere! A faceted Jazz, more versatile and easy-going, although still 80s style. In my opinion, better than the original. It's a pitty It's so rare nowadays.
07th May, 2019

Massimo Dutti by Massimo Dutti

A casual, simple, slightly spicy lemon based fragrance. Poor projection, poor longevity on my skin. It seems to be an EDC insted of an EDT. Maybe that's why It's sold in a 200ml splash bottle: You have to dab without parcimony to get some strength. But what surprises me is the absence of vetiver in the olfactive pyramid! I could swear I smell it...
If you look after an 80's powerhouse, forget about it. It looks like a lighter and less sweet version of L'eau d'Issey (without cinnamon and woods) in spite of being released first.
26th March, 2019

Cellini by Fabergé

Wow! Nice anise note mixed in a late 70s fougere style! Aromatic, formal, but never cloying. I guess It was considered a casual fragrance at the time of its lauch.
I'd say Aramis Tuscany was definitely inspired in Cellini. No doubt about it. But I vaguely smell here something I also detect in Aramis Devin. Great fragrance!
05th December, 2018

Action Uomo by Trussardi

Another nice green old school fragrance from yesteryears!
Green, slightly peppery-spicy, formal and never cloying, It retains most of 80s spirit without being too dated. Something in It, reminds me of Lagerfeld Photo's laurel note. No stuffy talcum powder smell here and It isn't so bitter green as some of its contemporarys (Basile uomo, I'm looking at you). It definitely deserved more love.
05th December, 2018

Blend 30 by Dunhill

Dark green old school fragrance, although its green-herbal aspect is eclipsed by a thick "leathery-tobaccoey-oakmossy" accord. At the same time It gives stregth to the scent, It implies in a too much dated smoky-powdery smell. The resulting combination is a bitter herbal green smell surrounded by a smoky-powdery cloud. If you like green old school fragrances, there are better options like Francesco Smalto, Tsar, Polo, Bogart signature etc.
05th December, 2018

Hunter by Atkinsons

Green. Think of a very green fragrance: a lot of pine, citrus and spices in a beautiful accord. There's also a slightly sweet note mixed in it, just to make it even cosier and a soft/bright talcum-powder note to give it strength. Everything in its right place. Perhaps, a Lomani pour homme's punchy version but It's for everyone that appreciates 80s green fougeres but sometimes gets tired of their denser ambery/woody drydowns.
22nd October, 2018

Duc de Vervins by Houbigant

Although everything has already been said, can't help writing some words about this nice fougere. Starts green and spicy reminding me of Drakkar Noir and VC&A Tsar. However, instead of getting woodier or ambery like the ones above, It dries down in a different direction: herbal, soapy and sligthly sweet (still keeping some "green sparks").
It's just a bit surprising that no one has mentioned some similarities with Rive Gauche (that is more refined and stronger) and the all time classic, Brut (which is sharper).
01st October, 2018

Radiant Bergamot by Ferrari

Starts amazingly refreshing with a nice combination of an icy-lemony note with a slightly sweet orangey-bergamot smell. At that moment, similar to Mugler cologne, just fresher. After 5 minutes or so, its sweetness is amplified and mixed with a clean powdery note. The result: a sweet green smell, surrounded by a slightly talcum note. A bit over the top for me. And seems more feminine than masculine.
01st August, 2018

Noble Fig by Ferrari

Nice fig scent, delivers a fresh green smell in the same way as Dior's Dune and Davidoff's Good Life, just slightly more formal and refining. Anyway, great for casual wear and won't bother people around you.
01st August, 2018
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Bright Neroli by Ferrari

Delightful mix of citrusy notes, especially all kind of orange smells. Although refreshing, It's also refining and could be worn at night, even in formal occasions. Slightly sweet (but nothing that could ruin the freshness) and not cheap-smelling at all. Truly shareable, longevity is pretty decent. Nice work from Ferrari!
01st August, 2018

Eau Fresh by Jacques Bogart

First 5 minutes are glorious green! It's like a green heaven. Lemon and lavender in front of a punchy refreshing herbal heart and a nice old school background (even a bit dirty).
After that, It loses strength and calms down to something as a "casual aromatic green". Safe, common, but there's some sort of plastic note, that bothers me.
Considering its drydown, an ok fragrance. Just keep in mind It's an early 90s scent, so It's different from nowadays aquatic "blue" fragrances and light/clean green "out of the shower" colognes.
05th June, 2018

Rockford by Atkinsons

My bottle/box isn't like the one displayed above: It's black with a vertical red stripe containing the logo(white bear). Possibly an older version.
Rockford performs as a skin-scent on me. I even feel like using an edp: projection is low to non-existent, although It's a nice and restrained refreshing barbershop(ey) old school. Really safe, even for millenials acostummed to sugary fragrances. The better description I can tell is that It's an aromatic fougere, non-offensive and shave cream like. Despite of being an 80s fragrance, It's far from being a powerhouse.
If you like vintage fragrances, go for it. Prices are still acceptable on ebay.
04th June, 2018

Only for Men by Julio Iglesias

Nice aromatic old school fougere. Barbershop (slightly sweet with that shaving cream smell), It starts a bit pungent, something sour but clean, as if there's a mix of an herbal note with patchouli (there's a resemblance with Givenchy Gentleman's clean patchouli version).
After 5-10 minutes It's gone and then a cosy sweet smell takes control, surrounded by soft flowers. Confortable, but in some way, generic barbershop(ey). I like it, although It's nothing special.
26th April, 2018

Eau de Paco Rabanne pour Homme by Paco Rabanne

Paco Eau is a nice and light "green" fragrance supported by smooth woods. I can't detect any relation with original Paco, maybe some lavender, but its smell is too far away from 73's classic to borrow its name.
There's a resemblance with L'eau d'Issey's green accord, although It's weaker and lacks the cinnamon. Woods here are also lighter. After all, It's not a problem if you look for a pleasant and inoffensive fragrance to wear casually.
It sometimes makes me feel a "cold green" smell, refreshing, and L'eau d'Issey Bleue eau fraiche comes to mind. However, this one is more rounded and easy going: pepper is so light that It never bothers me (I have a problem with peppery scents). What bothers me is its poor longevity on my skin.
Nowadays It's rare, so don't waste your time digging for it if you're only used to recent launches as Dior Sauvage, Bleu de Chanel and new aquatics in general.
05th April, 2018

Extreme Polo Sport by Ralph Lauren

There isn't much left to say after the excellent review wrote by manicboy.
It's not extreme or even sport. It's a very nice, versatile light "green peppery incensey" fragrance. Everything here is well done in a minimalistic way. I really hate incense in fragrances as Gucci I pour homme, CdG, Avignon etc. Always disliked the sour and heavy church incense represented in those releases. However, I truly liked Polo's soft approach to the theme. Could be easily sold nowadays. Its main problem was the concept: an aggressive sporty logo and bottle, called "extreme", delivers a calm, cozy (flerting with sophistication) juice.
12th January, 2018 (last edited: 26th April, 2018)

Rocabar by Hermès

A nice balsamic fragrance, a mix of pine green, woody notes and vanilla. Smooth, creamy, non offensive and distinctive smell.(previous version bottle)
Great longevity on my skin.
10th January, 2018

M7 Oud Absolu by Yves Saint Laurent

M7 oud absolu was a nice take on original M7: a distinct less medicinal and less sweet version. Myrrh was the composition's main star. The new reformulated version (with no black plastic cover) is like a junior version of both preview fragrances. Myrrh was muted. It's even less medicinal. Still nice, but seems shallow. There's something too trivial about its sweetness.
It should have been named as 'M7 oud absolu to the masses'.
10th March, 2017

One Man Show Ruby Edition by Jacques Bogart

What a powerful fragrance! Very sweet (in a niche way), It stays on my skin four 10+ hrs. The opening is a blast of green apples which mixes with spices and a nice honey-oud combo base. In this case, less is more, so It's important to use it with parcimony. Another winner from Bogart.
07th November, 2016

Missoni Sport by Missoni

Thinking about its launching date (1990), I could say It was one of the first fragrances that started the refreshing/aquatic minimalist trend, that evolved to scents as Eau de Rochas and finally CK one. It's easy to see this fragrance was clearly leaving the 80s extravagance: bright lemony opening followed by what would later be the "out of the shower" smell. But what makes it still distinct nowadays is its slightly mossy and herbal drydown, that keeps reminding me how strong were 80s powerhouses. In the drydown, there's a slightly talcum powder note that enhances the freshness and makes it flert with old school, but It evidently is not powerful enough and reflects what was going on with fragrances at that time: the strong fragrances's twilight. Nice fragrance, although there's something missing here. Maybe a "catchy" note. And It's a bit dated for today's taste.
13th January, 2016

Francesco Smalto pour Homme by Francesco Smalto

Francesco Smalto was a pleasant surprise: I expected a very dark and smoky fragrance (flerting with extravagance) and I got a casual, although distinctive, green fougere, just a bit dark and slightly smoky, great to be worn in a daily basis as an alternative to more powerful dark green scents as Tsar and Caesars Man. But don't let me be misunderstood: It's formal and follows 80s green fougere trend, which means It can be considered dated/old school nowadays. I don't think It is at all! Another fragrance that resembles its green side is Lacoste original(84).
05th November, 2015

M7 Fresh by Yves Saint Laurent

If you love M7 but wouldn't wear it at work, in a daily basis, M7 fresh is the one for you. It's definitely more versatile, which means It's indeed fresher, weaker and less bold, although It preserves M7 oud's DNA in its base. Of course, It's not an usual fresh fragrance: It's a mix of citrusy, refreshing notes with oud. And Oud makes the difference. It certainly makes the fragrance classy.
M7 Fresh starts with a blast of orange and lemon (the pyramid lists as bergamot, whatever...) and after a few minutes, a chord of ginger+oud brings an icy and slightly medicinal smell to the composition. The orange note remains while lemon disappears completely. And that's it. Simple but more elegant than a common fresh/citrusy scent. Sillage and longevity seems moderate. A winner! If It wasn't discontinued I'd say It's the better way for someone to be introduced to oud. Nowadays, versace oud noir and its "aquatic note+oud" concept is a nice option.
30th October, 2015

Soprani Uomo by Luciano Soprani

A nice Green and spicy forgotten old school!
Soprani has a lot in common with those 80's green fougeres but probably due to its release date (88), It's more subtle and bright than most of the dark/smoky green scents from that decade. Its spicy character reminds me of a lighter version of YSL Jazz, although I can't detect any sweetness in Soprani while there's some sweetness in Jazz's spicy "greeness". It's quite linear and if there's any evolution It's imperceptible to my untrained nose. The new version (with silver cap) lacks oakmoss (now the box lists tree moss), so It's definitely lighter than its predecessor (black cap) and overall, less creamier and dense. Anyway, It's still a nice fragrance: spicy, fresh and green with an old school vibe.
23rd September, 2015

Grey Vetiver by Tom Ford

Great option for people that can't tolerate Guerlain Vetiver's tobacco/spicy notes. What you got here is a fresh vetiver scent that smells natural and has great sillage and projection. Vetiver's smoky aspect was sanitized. Nothing groundbreaking, but a beautiful fragrance that deserves attention.
13th August, 2015

Very Irrésistible Summer for Men by Givenchy

Summer is definitely the best Very Irresistible flanker produced. It combines the best in VI (especially the hazelnut and mocha notes) with a sparkling citrusy accord, slightly minty, that doesn't clash with the scent's gourmand aspect. It's well-blended, subtle, less woody than the original. A honest and nice unpretentious fragrance, extremely cosy and great for not too hot summer days. Inexplicably, It was discontinued (Was It really a limited edition?!)
21st July, 2015

Bulgari Man in Black by Bulgari

Not a bad fragrance at all, but after a nice spicy opening, mainly due to the cinnamon, It looses strength and settles down on skin as an uninspiring iris-leather-vanilla combo... Nothing that you can't get using Armani eau de nuit (another standard fragrance). And I prefer Armani.
19th June, 2015

Nobile Royalty by Alexander De Costa

NR is the closest fragrance to nowadays overpriced Gucci Nobile that I remember... It's got the same green fougere accord, really 80s, but lacks some of the herbal-ambery notes, substituting it for light-adstringent tobacco. Gucci is smoother and sweeter: Royalty is harsher, but both shares similar and nice green notes.
15th May, 2015