Reviews by Redleg

    Redleg's avatar
    Redleg
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 17 of 17.
    rating


    Burberry the Beat for Men by Burberry

    The pepper scent comes out strong at the beginning. After ten or fifteen minutes it settled down to an incense smell; that's the best way I can describe it, it smelled like walking into a cathedral. Very spicy and masculine. Toss up between neutral and positive... not really excited about it, though, so neutral it is.

    01st August, 2010

    rating


    Story by Paul Smith

    Initial impression was a "clean" dryer sheet smell. Quickly became rather floral. Never really got any sense of depth beyond that. Light and fresh to the point where it could be a unisex scent.

    01st August, 2010

    rating


    Le Mâle by Jean Paul Gaultier

    The mint is overpowering and smells synthetic. Admittedly, I'm not a big mint fan to begin with, but this cologne gives me a headache.

    22 July, 2010

    rating


    Eternity for Men by Calvin Klein

    My first thought when I got it was "Wow, this is the cologne that *everybody* wears." It's got a pleasant enough floral scent with just enough spice to give it an edge. Seems like good to wear to the office; business-like, but not enough to stand out. In my opinion, this is one where it's popularity is actually the biggest strike against it.

    22 July, 2010

    rating


    Sunset Heat for Men by Escada

    Very tropical fruity with admittedly little depth. A fun scent that I like to wear (appropriately enough) in the summer in casual settings. The girls like it, but I'll probably look for something else once this bottle is out.

    21st July, 2010

    rating


    Silver Light by Escada

    Powdery and floral, almost effeminate. "Light" is a good word for it; you barely notice you're wearing a cologne. Nothing special.

    21st July, 2010

    rating


    Romance Silver Men by Ralph Lauren

    The best review I can give are the comments I've gotten from my female friends. "It smells nice, like something a gay man would wear." "Ooh, I like it. Can I borrow it?" "Are you sure it's a man's cologne?"
    A quick double check of the label proved that it was, but the scent doesn't exactly say "masculine."

    11th May, 2006

    rating


    Armani Code / Black Code by Giorgio Armani

    A simple scent that is masculine and modern.

    11th May, 2006

    rating


    Nautica Competition (new) by Nautica

    Like everyone else says, a good simple clean scent for daytime wear.

    11th May, 2006

    rating


    Vendetta pour Homme by Valentino

    I agree with several parts of the other reviews. It is definately a potent, spicey, incense-like brew. Almost a blast from the 70's and sure to make you stand out. Not sure if that's a good thing, the way this smells. It is very easy to overdo it with Vendetta.

    11th May, 2006

    rating


    Safari for Men by Ralph Lauren

    Definately masculine and classic smelling. Reminds me somewhat of Aramis. Too "old" scented for my tastes, however.

    11th May, 2006

    rating


    Roma Uomo by Laura Biagiotti

    Bought it because I was experimenting with colognes like Minotaur. The initial scent was very nice, but it got a bit too sweet for me after about an hour. It is like Minotaur, but I wouldn't choose it over Minotaur.

    11th May, 2006

    rating


    Navigator by Dana

    Navigator starts off with a very fresh scent with masculine tones, like stepping out of the shower at the gym. However, after about thirty minutes the tone continued to sharpen with an almost chemical tang.

    11th May, 2006

    rating


    Minotaure by Paloma Picasso

    I've always enjoyed Minotaur as an evening scent. I've known a couple of people who thought it seemed a little too formal or that it had a bit of a heavy alcohol smell. Seems to do the trick in a suit and tie, though.

    11th May, 2006

    rating


    Dolce & Gabbana Pour Homme by Dolce & Gabbana

    The tobacco is definately the signature scent. The citrus is overpowered by the sweeter notes. Good with a cigar, since the smoke enhances rather than competes with the cologne.

    11th May, 2006

    rating


    D&G Masculine by Dolce & Gabbana

    Citrus and sharp with a very chemical tinge. It becomes tolerable on the dry down and might be good for the office / daytime, but D&G original is still my favorite from their lineup.

    11th May, 2006 (Last Edited: 22 July, 2010)

    rating


    Acqua di Giò pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

    A light refreshing daytime scent. I enjoyed it, but, like Cool Water, it is far too popular / common.

    11th May, 2006

    Showing 1 to 17 of 17.