Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Russlan


L.12.12 Noir / Black by Lacoste

In my collection of about 300 bottles I have many classic colognes from the past, and this new fougere reminds me of many legendary men's fragrances at once. Fancy official notes aside, this smells like a modern take on the idea of classic men's fougere - that's why it "feels both familiar and safe", as people often write in their reviews of L.12.12 Noir / Black. Try it without prejudice, it's actually better than many other current releases. Longevity? Depends on skin, I guess, as my sample performed quite well in this regard.
21st August, 2015

Mystere by Novaya Zarya

Niche-quality and totally unisex mossy chypre in a fashion of Sisley Soir De Lune - or, to be more precise - as if Eau De Sisley 2 was released in EDP concentration. Made by the oldest Russian perfume house, with natural oakmoss in the recipee. One spray is enough, two max.
21st May, 2015

Shanghai Night by Jeanne Arthes

Classic chypre made by no one else than Dominique Ropion himself. True or false I don't know, I saw this fact mentioned in two sources.


* Great presentation - cool-looking bottle made of massive glass, solid quality spray, very appealing vibes overall.
* Opens with a massive blast of citruses and juniper. Fresh and invigorating - a beaten path yes, but why complain if top notes smell awesome.
* The middle is interesting part - this is where incense kicks in, supported by rosemary and pepper. Middle notes smells rich and expensive. This is where my daughter made a compliment on it. The chypre "ghost note"? I feel it, it's there.
* The base. Very - I stress - VERY natural-smelling oakmoss, incence, and traces of woody musk. Clean. No musky mess, nothing that we usually expect from fragrances for $8.00. Oakmoss is the star here. Being a huge lover of mossy notes, the base is a pure delight for me.

Longevity: good 8 hours, with the base lasting up until the next morning
Projection - average
Dress code - smart casual
Environment - office, informal
12th May, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

White Musk for Men by Jovan

Funny story - the event that kickstarted my perfume hobby was my work with an American businessman in 1992, who wore an AMAZING cologne at that time. I was, like, enthralled every time I met him during the meetings. He was in his mid-50s typical lawyer kind of guy, and I was wondering silently WHAT THE HELL DO YOU WEAR MAN for couple of weeks. Then he left, but the memory about the scent stayed. The fragrance was kind of silver in association, a bit musky, effervescent, fruity but dry, a bit sweet, sensual but professional, comforting, simple and easy - perfect in every way.

My stupidity of not asking him what cologne did he use resulted in a quest that has lasted for 20+ years. I was searching high and low, reading carefully the pyramids of the notes, trying samples, buying left and right the fragrances that seemed to fit the description - Image, Gendarme, you name it. Then I got a mini of Jovan Musk and thought wait a minute, is that it? Not quite, but what if... Jovan WHITE Musk? The 1992 release?

Ordered and received it today - gentlemen, this gestalt of mine is closed at last. It was fun ride, and I'm glad my search is over. If I lived in the USA, I would have found this scent much sooner, but it's better late than never. I hope you all understand the emotions behind my rant, not happens every day.

Jovan White Musk, who would have thought.
29th April, 2015

Gas for men by Gas

There are chypres, and there are chypres that blow your mind. Gas for men (Gas is Italian jeans brand) is an unknown treasure that went under the radar after its release, and sunk into oblivion quickly after discontinuation. Taking a modern approach on a classic chypre structure with bergamot and lavender - labdanum and Paraguay tea - vetiver, sandalwood and patchouli - this cologne radiates sophistication and quality with no effort whatsoever. To the notes listed above, add a touch of fruityness and a dash of seasalt, and the picture will be more complete.

Gas for men smells modern, fresh, erotic, natural and attractive - and at the same time feels familiar and comfortable. The blend of ingredients is outstanding. But the drydown is where the pure chypre magic starts to begin: those low-frequency analogue vibrations of vetiver and sandalwood that get under your skin and together are more than the sum of its parts. This is awesome stuff of rare quality, both in artistic concept and execution - if you see this bottle standing somewhere in a corner of the shelf, just get it, you'll be glad you did.
05th November, 2014 (last edited: 24th December, 2014)

Bay Citrus by Arran Aromatics

At last - this excellent fragrance is in the directory. Fresh citrusy bay rhum with classy and clean barbershop vibe, excellent sillage and surprisingly good longevity. Five stars, and both thumbs up for one of my most-worn summer colognes.
15th July, 2014 (last edited: 16th July, 2014)

Vetyver Uomo by Malizia

Great inexpensive vetiver with a smell that ratiates quality. If you wonder, what it is similar to, imagine the excellent Nobile Vetiver by Chopard with a touch of Baime by MPG - there you have it.
12th November, 2013

Acqua di Giò Essenza by Giorgio Armani

Acqua Di Gio Essenza and Ralph Layren Polo Blue are as identical, as two cans of Coca-Cola. Just like that. So make your own conlclusions.
12th May, 2013

Tommy 10 by Tommy Hilfiger

Smells different from the original. No apple pie here, not even a hint on an apple sweetness. It's fresher, more somber affair, somewhat transparent - in a Tommy T fashion - and goes on forever. I like new one better.
30th October, 2006

Mugler Cologne by Thierry Mugler

Smells very much like good old 4711 on me, but with a modern twist - which is not bad at all!
21st July, 2003

Java for Men by Franck Olivier

The concept was to create the scent of some distant exotic islands, hence the name. OK, let's see - top: grapefruit, orange, lemon, nutmeg, wormwood. Heart: geranium, insence, lavender oil, cedar nuts. The base: patchouli, musk, vanilla.
27th December, 2002

Odeur 53 by Comme des Garçons

It smells of nothing. Pure air. Great for mixing with heavier fragrances - it gives your old favorites an unexpected twist.
27th December, 2002

Gillette Pacific Light by Gillette Series

Fresh and light scent with citrus top notes, herbaceous and floral heart and mossy base. Pacific Light was created by an advanced technology called "head space analysis" which is widely used today and allows perfumers to extract the aroma of a flower or plant while it is a living organism.
27th December, 2002
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Gillette Cool Wave by Gillette Series

Fresh chypre with citrus top notes and woody-mossy base. Cool, clean and masculine. I often come across people who wear Cool Wave or something like that.
27th December, 2002

cK one "Red Hot Edition" by Calvin Klein

Smells just a tad more fruity than original one to my nose.
27th December, 2002

Wings for Men by Wings

Floral oriental along the lines of Eternity, but with intriguing note that remind me wild berries. And stays forever!
26th December, 2002

VIP for Men by Giorgio Beverly Hills

Mossy, musky floral chypre. Not bad at all, but quite rare nowadays.
26th December, 2002

Denim by Denim

I remember this scent from the 80-s when it was still around - a somewhat leathery chypre with citrus opening notes, flowery heart and musky-leather drydown. It would be interesting to come across the bottle again.
26th December, 2002

Michael for Men by Michael Kors

This scent is like Rocabar gone hippy. Imagine a person in his young Aquarius days, long hair, smile, beads, spliff and The Byrds - it's Michael, then the very same guy in 90-s, formal suit, older, wiser, good credit history, house, cognac and opera - you get the Rocabar.
25th December, 2002

Duc de Vervins by Houbigant

Distinguished and sophisticated! The woodsy notes are interwoven with oak moss and lavender, then blended with oriental flowery-musky accord. Elegant. Long-lasting.
25th December, 2002

Aigner Pour Homme by Etienne Aigner

Great stuff. Very classic-smelling. Notes are Japanese yuzu, grapefruit, nutmeg, pepper, sandalwood, cedar, leather, musk. Cool bottle too - it doesn't have a top cap, you just turn the spray to the left and open the release, and the spray itself has a leather button on top that's always pleasant to touch.
25th December, 2002

Fire & Ice for Men by Revlon

Fresh and spicy floral oriental fragrance with notes of osmanthus, tangerine flowers, lavender and amber. Powdery drydown. Girls love it!
24th December, 2002

Imperial Jade Emperor by Agatha Brown

Light oriental with hints of florals is all I can recall about this fragrance that I encounter once in a while. The bottle is made of frosted grass, and the colour of juice is indeed reminds of jade - it's pale green.
21st December, 2002

Carlo Corinto Classic by Carlo Corinto

Corinto Pour Homme is a fresh, woody, mossy, lavender cologne. A bit too 'Eighties' overall.
21st December, 2002

Rockford by Atkinsons

Subtle and inviting fragrance with warm and masculine notes
21st December, 2002

Musgo Real by Claus Porto

Musgo Real men's soaps have been hand made and stamped in Portugal since 1887. Developed for the aristocracy, they are a lasting tradition from the century-old Claus & Schweder company. Musgo Real Concentrated Cologne is the essence of the Musgo Real scent. Blended with spice and woodland tones of patchouli and vetiver and the floral notes of lavender and geranium, this light, clean and sporty scent smells classic, sophisticated and masculine.
21st December, 2002

Les Copains Le Bleu by Les Copains

A combinartion of of mint, grapefruit and apple forms the top notes, the heart is composed of sage and cinnamon, which leads to a base of patchouli and sandalwood. Of three Les Copains scents that I know - Trend, Pour Homme and Bleu I like the last one the best.
21st December, 2002

Gerani pour Homme by Gerani

Interesting scent, modern but distinctly Mediterranean in flavour with its citrus and sea salt notes with hint of spices. The heart is flowery with notes of cyclamen, violet, jasmine and geranium. The base is a blend of amber, woods and mosses.
21st December, 2002

Chester & Peck by Carlo Corinto

Sporty, refreshing, a bit fruity fragrance - a blend of green tea, pineapple, amber and jasmine. Good for office, excellent to wear in summer. Classic-looking bottle too.
21st December, 2002

Best Company by Best Company

Sporty, fresh and young fragrance, supposedly consisting entirely of original American ingredients - Kansas water mint, Carribean lime, Central America geranium and Virginia juniper among others.
21st December, 2002