Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Sardu

Advertisement

KSM by Kristel Saint Martin

Starts with an off-putting anchovy note that is fortunately gone in about 20 minutes. What remains is very sweet in a clean, white, moisturizing cream kind of way. It's certainly not the heavy gourmand sweetness found in A*, Pi or Body Kouros, all of which I abhor. The sweetness on display here is even cleaner than that found in Rochas Man, which is more to my liking. The end result is that this is quite wearable.
06th March, 2011

Bozzini by Bozzini

The opening resembles Swiss Army, which is fair because the description says the fragrance is trying to evoke the Alps, and Swiss Army isn't bad. After a few minutes, it progresses into OH NO!!! IT'S THE ABOMINABLE SNOWMAN!!!! HE'S SWITCHED TO A HIGH FIBER DIET OF BLACK CURRANTS AND HE'S USING ME TO WIPE HIS ASS WITH!!! AAAARGH!!!!

Now I will have to immolate myself to get rid of the stench.
23rd February, 2011

Krizia Uomo by Krizia

Definitely harsh, but it's the sort of harsh that stimulates and fascinates and keeps you coming back again and again to see what it was that hit you, instead of making you turn away permanently in disgust. It's true that all of the harshness is gone after five hours, but by then this is just another good cologne. Wear this because of its rough texture, not in spite of it.
08th December, 2008
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Ho Hang Club by Balenciaga

Unlike its predecessor Ho Hang, which is a masterpiece in subtlety and takes at least two sprays to work, this one comes out full bore and has more in common with something like Trussardi. The whole thing is coated with the exact same honey note found in the much lamented Balenciaga Pour Homme. Great scent for the unafraid.
30th May, 2007

Déclaration by Cartier

I declare... what? That I am a cardamom pod? Get Cacharel's Nemo instead, which uses this ingredient properly.
19th January, 2007

Rykiel Homme by Sonia Rykiel

A friendly berry scent that gives off lots of sweet emanations, and evokes an overall ambiance of happiness and good feeling. But at the same time it remains dry at its core, and scores a perfect zero on the sappy/cloying scale. This means that it is the ONLY acceptable berry-based scent for men. All of the others (Wings, Dunhill Desire, Disel Zero Plus....) should stay in your bathroom, preferably as toilet fresheners.
05th November, 2005

Lolita Lempicka Au Masculin Fraicheur by Lolita Lempicka

I too like the original version better, but let's face it -- that stuff blows people away. I remember when I got a spray of the original on a card. I took it to the bar and gave it to the guy next to me to smell. He took a whiff, recolied, and asked me if I was trying to kill him. So that's why there's a need for this lighter version. It has just enough of what makes the original great, but you can wear it during the day without embarrasment; you can even wear it in summer. Watered-down Lempicka is regular strength when compared against most other colognes.
19th August, 2005

Hummer by Hummer

Hypermasculine mix of woods and spices is, curiously, completely non-sexual. (Thus it's safe for daytime wear). Then again, what would you expect from a cologne named after a jeep? Clearly designed for the man who prefers outdoor to bedroom adventures, but on those terms it's pretty good.
19th August, 2005

Habit Rouge by Guerlain

Great stuff, but I really don't see what's rouge about it. I rather think that this is white: I wear one spray of this (no more -- it's strong) to work when there's a foot of snow on the ground, which is most days between December and March here in Ottawa. It's just so appropriate for winter.
25th May, 2005

Van Gils by Van Gils

More patchouli horror. Not as offensive as Givenchy Gentleman, but that's not saying much.
09th May, 2005

Weekend for Men by Burberry

Extremely sharp citrus blend. Some might find this relaxed or casual, but I just find it crass.
26th March, 2005

Ungaro III by Ungaro

Probably the best fragrance I own. I am unable to disentangle all of the flowers, woods and who-knows-what-else that are in here because they have been blended so expertly. Everything hits you all at once and fires up a wide range of receptors, making this fragrance compelling and addictive. The only possible downside is that this is too rich and elegant for daytime use.
26th March, 2005

L'Essence de Must de Cartier by Cartier

True to its billing, this is stronger, longer lasting, and easier to sense than the original. But by ramping everything up like this, you lose the subtle, soft elegance that is the original's reason for being.
26th March, 2005
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Antaeus by Chanel

The dominant patchouli note brings to mind Givenchy Gentleman. But, unlike that vile, loathesome brew, this one doesn't punch you in the nose. The patchouli here has pleasant, complementary things mixed with it, making the cologne a bit more restrained and a lot more refined. If you wear, or are thinking of wearing Gentleman or some other patchouli horror, do yourself and those around you the favour of wearing this instead.
26th March, 2005

Safari for Men by Ralph Lauren

100% masculine, but easy on the nose: it has absolutely no elements that are jarring, boorish or overbearing. Just perfect for the office.
14th January, 2005

Intuition for Men by Estée Lauder

There is nothing wrong with this intrinsically. The problem is that this is labeled as a men's cologne -- it is most assuredly only for women. A man who wears this is sending the wrong message. I wouldn't hesitate to ravage any woman who had this on. But then, wouldn't a woman be better off with the original version?
18th December, 2004

Givenchy Gentleman by Givenchy

This will certainly get attention all right. But you could also get attention by, for example, rubbing dog urine all over yourself. Extremely unpleasant, and I can't think of anyone for whom this cologne would be appropriate -- not even the "old men" to whom we usually relegate scents we don't like.
10th December, 2004