Reviews by Sportsman5

    Sportsman5's avatar
    Sportsman5
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.
    rating


    Rochas Man by Rochas

    Positives: Sweet chocolate/ coffee dry down that both women and men notice and compliment on. Has a decent scent life of 6+ hours.

    Possible Drawbacks: the opening smells very sugary and sweet. Therefore, it can potentially be cloying for the first 30 minutes. The dry down is close to the skin.

    Overall: This is an amazing date or intimate occasion scent. However, it is limited in use due to the significant decrease in projection after the first hour.

    07 October, 2010

    rating


    Givenchy Play Intense by Givenchy

    Positives: decent projection and solid longevity of 8+ hours. A great fall and winter night out or date scent.

    Possible Drawbacks: Could be cloying if do not like sweet scents. However, I have worn it in the summer with no problems.

    Overall: a light gourmand that many women will love, but is not as overpowering as angel men or as feminine as pi.

    25 July, 2010

    rating


    Boss Bottled by Hugo Boss

    Positives: decent longevity and projection. Fairly versatile scent that can be worn in the office, on a weekend, or out to dinner. Works well for people of all ages.

    Possible Drawbacks: the sweetness could potentially be a little cloying in really hot weather if worn as a signature scent. However, it does not project to the point where people would feel sick from the sweetness. Therefore, wearing it occasionally in warm weather should be fine. May not be unique enough for some people. It smells a lot like apple pie, so if you don't like that, then I would not recommend the fragrance.

    Overall: a solid and versatile scent. Something that would work well as a signature scent, especially in the cooler months.

    14 July, 2010

    rating


    212 Sexy Man by Carolina Herrera

    Positive: If you like sweet fragrances, then this may appeal to you. Apparently some women like it.

    Possible Drawback: Be aware that there will be people who hate this smell. The spicy note makes it smell like bad body odor to me.

    Overall: Some people like this, so I would give it a try. An individual's body chemistry will make the scent smell slightly different on each person.

    12 July, 2010

    rating


    Dior Homme by Christian Dior

    Positives: inoffensive very fresh scent. I can't see how someone would not enjoy smelling this.

    Possible Drawbacks: Longevity is a big concern. If you are looking for a day time scent for the warm weather or signature scent this may not be for you. It seems to last 5 or 6 hours and doesn't have great projection. So if you don't want to reapply at some point during the day, then I would avoid this fragrance.

    Overall: great for a lunch date in the summer or spring. Otherwise, it would be tough to find a time to wear the scent without reapplying.

    12 July, 2010

    rating


    John Varvatos by John Varvatos

    Positives: Great sweet, yet masculine, scent. Fairly unique. It may work well for an evening date.

    Possible Drawbacks: the scent life is unbelievably disappointing. A great scent from start to finish, but it just finishes way too quick. 4 or 5 hours is all I get, and the projection is not very impressive

    Overall: If you're willing to reapply this scent at some point during the day or night, then this could be a great buy.

    12 July, 2010

    rating


    Truth Calvin Klein Men by Calvin Klein

    Positives: clean and slightly woody scent that is great for the office or maybe a formal occasion. Inoffensive and fairly masculine. If you want to purchase just one cologne for all occasions, then this could be a possibility.

    Possible drawbacks: plain, boring, similar to some other colognes.

    Overall: when I think of a generic cologne this is what comes to mind. Somewhat mature and masculine smell. Not a bad thing, but not something that will stand out.

    12 July, 2010

    rating


    Le Mâle by Jean Paul Gaultier

    Positives: Longevity and projection are amazing. It lasts all day. People around you will notice this without a doubt.

    Possible Drawbacks: Difficult to wear in an office or classroom setting. It is extremely popular in clubs, bars, and college parties.

    Overall: This will attract women, but the popularity of it may be a problem. However, if you don't mind smelling like others around you, or possibly someone's ex-boy friend, then I highly recommend this.

    12 July, 2010

    rating


    Cool Water by Davidoff

    Positives: Great versatility. Clean masculine smell that anyone can wear in almost any situation. Will not be cloying or offensive. If you only want to purchase one cologne, then this may be a good option.

    Possible Drawbacks: Has been very popular for the last 20+ years. Therefore, many people in a lot of different age groups wear it.

    Overall: As long as you don't mind smelling like others, then this is a great and safe option.

    12 July, 2010

    rating


    212 Men by Carolina Herrera

    Positives: very popular scent that a lot of young people wear. Therefore, there must be a lot of people out there who like it. Fairly unique. Is a versatile fragrance.

    Possible drawbacks: the synthetic grass smell can be a turn off for some people.

    Overall: This could work as a signature scent. Definitely try before you buy though.

    12 July, 2010

    rating


    Chrome Legend by Azzaro

    Positives: Very good longevity for this type of fresh fragrance. I get 8-10 hours consistently. Projection is really good as well. Great for Spring and early fall.

    Possible Drawbacks: Can definitely be cloying in really warm weather. It's so strong and synthetic that I usually do either one spray on the chest or a half spray on my neck with two full sprays on my wrists and I'm more than good to go for 8+ hours. Difficult to wear everyday because of the strong fruity sweetness to the top. If you have 5+ fragrances, then chances are you have something similar.

    Overall: Fruity and sweet fragrance that is great if you're looking to start a collection.

    11th July, 2010

    rating


    The Dreamer by Versace

    Positives: Great sweet tobacco dry down. Definitely a compliment getter. Good longevity of 8-10 hours. Fairly unique and uncommon scent. Bottle is also interesting and unique.

    possible drawbacks: Is edging towards a unisex fragrance. Opening is very floral and may be overpowering for some people. However, this drys down into a great scent after 30-45 minutes.

    Overall: a romantic scent that I would highly recommend to anyone who likes sweet smells.

    11th July, 2010

    Showing 1 to 12 of 12.