Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Ivy Mansion


Brit for Men by Burberry

I prefer this to london, it smells so pleasant, great winter scent. I also use it for clubbing cause its sweet yet dark. Not too common where im from so its even more fun to wear. I could see this being a everyday scent to work. However, I would stay away from it during the hotter months, it will be too overpowering.

I would definitely buy this again.
30th July, 2010

Joop! Homme by Joop!

Bought this as a present for my dad, its not too expensive and smells good. Its a great clubbing scent which will last for the whole night. I wore it last night and it still smells on my skin after a shower. I had to scrub it off so i could apply a different scent. Smells hell sexy, i can understand why girls like it.
30th July, 2010

Aramis by Aramis

The moment i splashed this on it just smelt offensive. Its a bit too manly and old fashioned for my liking. And that's coming from a 22 yr old guy who loves Old Spice.

Its far too strong. Ill leave this to the thick moustache wearing 60's anchormen.
29th July, 2010
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Custo Man by Custo Barcelona

Great green fragrance. The lemon in this is done beautifully and smells extremely natural. I thought it was lime at first, that is what attracted me to it.

Its clean and fresh and once the middle notes and base notes appear it becomes a very unique citrus/pepper/musk blend which smells amazing.

I would use this for daytime functions like bbq's, the beach, uni, house party's etc.
I wouldn't use it for winter, clubbing or on dates though as its not exactly a seductive smell.

I would buy this again, also, i doubt many have heard of it which is a good thing!, they sell it exclusively at the Perfume connection so im happy its somewhat unique.
27th July, 2010

Polo Explorer by Ralph Lauren

I got this first as a sample from Myer's. Great bottle, very rugged, masculine. The scent itself if very inoffensive, top notes are nice but I found that the spicy coriander note is the most surprising and most fascinating part of the fragrance. I loved the smell of it, very masculine yet subtle. The mate and amber drydown is nice but like I said before, it plays close to the skin. Not that it matters really, i re-apply after 4-5 hrs, but just one or two sprays.

It projects really well for the first 2-3 hours then plays close to the skin. All seasons use. Taking my small 40ml bottle with me to India on holiday because it suits the jungle. I also own the 125ml which i got for a good price (Gift pack with aftershave-125ml).

27th July, 2010 (last edited: 27th September, 2010)

Black XS by Paco Rabanne

I got this in the gift set, Shower gel, aftershave balm and fragrance.

I opened the cool looking black box which looked pricier than its worth. I took the bottle (great bottle, heavy and masculine) and sprayed it on my wrist. It blew my mind, i was expecting a heavy, masculine smell but what I got was a fruity, sweet, bubblegum like scent. And you know what? I loved it. I walked out of my room and went to my brother and said "smell this". He like it too. It is such a distinctive smell. My friend wore it after getting it from his brother as a gift. I smelled it while we were in the car and knew what it was instantly. He was surprised when I guessed it but truly, it is very distinctive.

I use it when i go clubbing, its a sexy smell which is inoffensive. I've worn it on a date and got compliments for it. I said it was Paco Rabanne Black XS with pride.

As for longevity..I woke up after a night of clubbing and i could still smell it on my chest and wrist (10+ hours).

I will be buying a bottle of this when I run out.
27th July, 2010

Old Spice by Procter & Gamble

Firstly, I bought this out of pure curiosity after watching the now famous viral Old Spice commercials featuring Isiah Mustafa. I guess I was just blown away by the ad and its promise of masculinity in a bottle that i just had to get a bottle. So I did. First impression, It smells like a spicy version of musk candy. Which I think is amazing. I probably wont wear it out much but i wear it after every shower for personal pleasure. It smells so warm and manly. I've worn it to work a few times just for a bit of variety and experimentation. It seems pretty long lasting. I wear it the night before after I shower and can smell it the next morning.

I think I will be buying this for the rest of my adult life. 22.
27th July, 2010

cK be by Calvin Klein

I got this as a gift. I tried it and almost instantly i thought "is this for guys". It's unisex. I gave it two stars out of five because it smells cheap, overly floral for a guy to wear and not very complex. I gave this to my brother. Nice looking bottle though. I could see myself using it as an air freshener (which it really does smell like) but never again as a scent for me. There are far better floral and green scents out there. This is just too simple and floral for my personal tastes.
27th July, 2010

Brut by Fabergé

A classic. My dad used, uncles used it, I know this because i can smell it when im in the same room with them. It projects well and and amazing silage.

I never wore this growing up or even after highschool into uni. However, after looking for razors in my dads bathroom i cam across some brut aftershave and gave it a smell. I fell in love with the lavender and oakmoss smell. I went out and bought the cologne version for pretty cheap at my local chemist. I wear it after a shower when im at home just for personal pleasure and when im out playing poker with my mates. Its a manly smell which I just can't get enough of.
27th July, 2010