Reviews by Weimar27

    Weimar27's avatar
    Weimar27
    United States United States

    Showing 151 to 180 of 223.
    rating


    L - L.A.M.B by Gwen Stefani

    I whould describe this as submerging a
    bouquet of flowers in water the ultimate
    Aqautic Floral. The the note of pear seems to dominate this fragrance in a
    few minutes sweet aromatic scent of Freesia makes it's presence and the prevalence of musk marks it's drydown.
    these three notes overshadows the less
    dominent like jasmine fragrapini lily of the vally but i can detect a bit of rose peach & sweetpea.

    The bottle is unique like a swank rastafarian vibe like almost a 1970's
    Bling bling kind of a mentality like a
    Pimp dressed in Gold chains Gold rings and jewelery walking down Kingston Jamaica in 1972 in one of thoese cheesy
    70's Blaxpolitaion Films.

    But Neverless a one of a kind of Perfumes.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Quizás, Quizás, Quizás by Loewe

    This has to be the strangest smelling perfume ever the opening is pleasant with
    citrus but it wont last long then in a few
    seconds later it turns to an odd latex scent which i thought it was strange and it repelled me then it dries to an honey
    note with woods i don't have a lot to say
    about perfume but i glad i just had a sample not a bottle because i would swap
    this in a minute.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Bel Respiro by Chanel

    The mossy green note conjours up an english garden in a early misty morning
    smelling the wet orris ground sipping
    earl gray tea the leather note conjours up
    an mysterious lady who allways wear black an icy couture an ireapporcible
    goddess. this is an scent for a girl
    who has an old soul refind and elegant
    with an air of agatha christie or the
    cold ellusive British Aristrocracy
    stuffy like dust covered grand piano
    or books of the 19th century.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Ange ou Démon by Givenchy

    Every angelic face hides a devilish persona ange ou demon definse that. it starts sweet and half a hour later transform to an deep intoxicating notes
    of dark florals and dry woods makes it
    a versitile frangrance for the ages.

    The opening starts sharp with a note of mandrian orange dries gracfully with the velvety feel of Saffron and dries
    the top notes with the innocent notes
    of thyme and White Lily, The middle section starts to become more deeper
    with the presence of dark orchid and the wisting scent of nocturnal jasmine bloom though the night.

    The drydown is an dry finishing scent of oakmoss vanilla adds to the angelic sweetness to the frangrance exotic brazilian rosewood and ends with the nutty accord of tonka bean.

    I just love the flacon design and color the coloring is reminisent of the sun setting though the twillight sky on a clear night i also love the jagged artwork of the bottle worthy of it's demonic edgeiness there is nothing soft about this scent this is for a girl who is sweet on the outside but deliciouslly bad from the inside.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Patchouli by Réminiscence

    All natural not fooled around Patchouli
    it does not have the oily greasy synthetic
    feel in most patchouli perfumes it's dry
    and comfortable to your skin i just like
    the way the Sandalwood opens strongly it mixes beautifully with the patchouli dries warmly with amber with milky note of benzoin and dries to an powder nuances of vanilla, Labdanum sweetish
    in smell ends this fragrance with the patches of musk.

    this is my favorite scent from the patchouli series not oily nor synthetic
    just comfortable to wear.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Extraordinary by Avon

    Luxury in a bottle with one spray your
    addicted! the opening starts off with a
    blast of Rich dark Chocolate with a nuance of pepper and an unsual concoction of tangerine and grapefruit
    for the drying down. Ginger is easy to
    detect but the chocolate is the dominate note here orchid with it's
    semi-sweet Orchid as the suporting basis. the drydown has an bitter end with sandalwood the patchouli is barly
    noticable the musk makes it sexy with
    musk can make perfumes sexy. animalistic qualties are prevalent in one single spray.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Envy Me by Gucci

    The opening starts off with a note of
    tangy pineapple drying off with juicy peach and mango with an top drying edges
    of Pink Pepper and shy Peony. the drydown is made luscious with Deep Ruby Red Pomegrante and sweet Litchi supported by a powdery rose note the Green tea makes it fresh. there is a note of amber missing i do smell also an faint scent of musk but barely notices it. I love the Flacon design
    it's like pink lace from a ladies Lingerie very cute and sexy or conjours
    up a Pink bedroom covered with pink rose petals with the intoxicating aroma of pink roses caressing your senses
    this perfume represents First Love Innocence and purity if you want a perfume to fit these qualities this is the one.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Shades by Navy by Dana

    My Long lost childhood is here! this brings back memories for me, With one
    sniff your transported to a placid Rainforst with the opening of citruses
    and sharp bergamot coinciding with green basil leads off an earthy scent,
    as you walk into the forest the semi sweet scent of Green Tea and the brightness of mint carresses you, when you look into beautifully colored flacon you dive into the endless sea of
    cool colors of the barrier reef and as
    dive farther in to the clear ocean you see beautiful floral and ocean life
    as you emerge to the surface you swim around the lily pads and watery freesia intoxicating to your senses.

    Finishes with the drydown of Grounded
    Orris and drywoods, Shades is the New Age of fragrances it brings you to an
    new awarness to nature and for youself.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Wet Garden by Demeter Fragrance Library

    This is an hard frangrance to describe
    it smells a cross between Lettuce
    from a sandwitch and a the after rain
    from a forest it's sweet and it does
    get a bit overwhelming at times
    this may not be my favorite but
    it's unique if someone wants to have
    something different from the conventional Perfume

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Jicky by Guerlain

    The perfect winter perfume the top notes
    first applied to my skin is an warm scent of Lavender then dries down to an
    dusty note of Rosemary, sparkling and invigorating Bergamot and zesty Lemon.
    i Dissagree with the placement of Basil
    in this perfume when first to my skin
    there was a scent of Basil right on top
    with Lavender and Rosemary so Basil should be a top note the drydown turns sweet with the note of Amber with it's dry and powdery nuances of Vanilla.
    and to add warmth to an cold and Winter's day is the note of exotic spices and the fiery spirit of Sandalwood. and i can also detect the scent of Frankincense& Myrrh the holiest of Raisens.

    Jicky despite it's sparkling
    opening it has also a cold clinical
    and refindess that is rare in perfumes
    today.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Diva by Ungaro

    Impressive just impressive if you want to make an impression this perfume is for you. the aldehydes the cinnamon
    and i can pick up some incense and with
    it's stately bottle design and bold red
    label says it all. an 80's high powered bussiness executive wearing a white italian bussiness suit heavy gold jewelry thick gold round earrings 4 inch bleck stellto heals hair fashioned
    like brigette nielson kind of a woman.
    this perfume is for women with strong
    style sense and Confidence not for the meek.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Bandit by Robert Piguet

    Bandit is a woman who loves to take control of the opposite sex with one scent Leather! not fooled around with
    leather not synthtic uncut muskiness that makes it's appeal for ages.
    So what makes Bandit special? of course
    we have the main ingredient leather what makes it diffent then other leather scents is the supporting florals that makes it a bit of an Feminine touch with the powdery feel of violets dries to a underpining of Spicy texture of Carnation and jasmine with it's secretive aura is a mysterious
    personality that rarely exsist in today's perfumery and veltet feel of
    rose.

    I also admire is that green notes that consists of artemesia not listed are a bit of grass and the freshness of Aldehydes adds to the sharp and clean scent that is unique to Bandit.

    The Drydown is a dark rasianish drydown of myyrah adds to the esoteric feel the warm amber with it's sweet raisenish scent blends to make it a bit sweetish
    with patches of musk makes it a bit masculine The Amimalistic properties
    of Civet makes it primal and untamed.

    And with the mossy finish of oakmoss
    and the elusive undertone of Patchouli ends with an earthy finish.

    This is not a Girlie Girl scent not for a woman who does not want make waves or shy quiet passive personality this is
    an scent that demands repect and your
    Attention

    09th October, 2010 (Last Edited: 14th October, 2010)

    rating


    Ô Oui! by Lancôme

    'If you like Pina Coladas and getting caught in the Rain' reminds me everytime
    i smell this Perfume the Pina Colada
    song spring into my head. The bright Yellow Lemons and Vodka are very Dominate in this Perfume. i can't Detect the other notes Because ther so
    Powerfull and Dominating to me.
    Wear this only in the Summertime when it's hot or humid and wear this Lightly this is a strong Perfume.

    The reason i'm giving this a 4
    Beacuse the Citruses and the Vodka
    can be overwhelming.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Bois Farine by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    The Opening reminds of a white chocolate with almonds. very refined
    and stately like a elegant white gown
    going to a cotillion during the 1900's in the deep south this perfume is ideal for southren belles it's subtile ladylike and sweet like the legendary georgia trees this might be the perfume that blanche du bois wore.
    it's a little to tame for Scarlet o' Hara And way to tame for blanche devereaux. this has a southren elegance to it.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    FlowerbyKenzo by Kenzo

    Less Is more i love the design a single
    Red flower stem verticly cuting though
    the clear white bottle.
    But I Didn't Care for the scent
    it smell too much like baby power
    it was to powdery on my skin

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    1000 by Jean Patou

    I think there's been a misconception
    with the name 1000 meaning One Thousand
    Flowers to me i'v dectect A heap of jasmine Patchouli orris root osmanthus
    rose floating with green tea.
    it's more of an earthy scent then elegance or urbane it also has an menthol scent collecting herbs for tea or Pharmasutical perposes like in chinese
    medicine e.t.c it's a very organic scent.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Joy by Jean Patou

    at first spray you get a cloyish oily
    texture of civet and synthtic rose' tuberose with it's distinctive scent almost equivalent
    to gardenia or a muskier version of the
    original rose makes it's presence
    i'm not a fan of green notes and there's
    a lot in here i do smell a bit of aldehydes but it's not prominate and it's diluted by the strong usuge of civet as the drydown begins there is an
    distant but noticible note of peach
    grounded ylang ylang hold it's own.

    the end notes is a strong presence of orris root a mild blend of sandalwood
    and musk.
    before i'v tried this i allways Wanted this in my collection because it is so
    acclaimed from all different perfumers
    and even actress Vivien Leigh said it was her favorite perfume' but for me
    this is'nt my favorite i don't hate it
    but i don't love it and the reason for
    that is they put too much civet in this
    and made it too oily if they put less civet and put a little more aldehydes
    and made it a bit dryer i whould love it.

    But i love the color and shape of the bottle comparing to luxurious gold.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Manifesto by Isabella Rossellini

    Manifesto is a scent of a forest after the midnight rain in a early morning dew
    a morning stroll though the grass feeling the wetness bettween your toes
    with yellow dandilions around you.
    with a morning cup of coffee you admire
    the the morning beauty around you.

    i can pick up a note of green tea and i just love mixing in with the basil and jasmine like a warm cup of scented jasmine green tea but my nose don't pick up any pears but only a wisp of
    white lily and musk for the drydown.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Chamade by Guerlain

    The opening starts harshly with green notes Hyacinth and Aldehyde as it dries down it gets a little more softer and warmer consisting of amber dry sandalwood
    and the oils of the tolu Balsam and i can
    detect nuances of civet in little patches
    Lilac with it's sharpness and spiciness
    with it's delicate powdery rose holds
    it own in a faintest of ways i'm going to be blunt here so.

    do you think you'll Surrender to the
    Magic of Chamade Unfortunily No.
    Do you love the bottle Yes.
    do you hate this fragrance no but it's not worth to purchase again.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Shalimar by Guerlain

    Guerlain's Shalimar conjoures images of
    an Luxurious Garden at Midnight on a
    clear dark Sapphire sky a full moon with it's beams shines above a bush of
    fragrant Jasmine the marble statues of
    angels kissing and looking wistful
    the ground is elegantly Displayed mosaic
    of Different colored stones red roses in
    Bloom. Hedy Lamarr doing her dance of the Seven Veils with clouds of Incense of Sandalwood swirling around her seven
    Shades of Blue Veils of Navy to baby Blue To match her Eyes Jet Black hair and Pale skin trying to seduce the sultan in one of those old 1940's Techicolor Movies or the Immortal
    Erotic power of Rudolph Valentino that
    graced upon the Silver screen in the movie the Sheik when he aducts and Tries
    to tame a British Aristrocat and the
    scent of Musky Leather from a sadle blazing in the sun and the two run off
    into the sunset.

    It's Sexy in a classy way. i love the
    Vanilla turns into an oudish woody reisin that is genious the drydown of
    Powdery Incense and Sandalwood makes this a Masterpiece BON VIVANT!

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Mitsouko by Guerlain

    An epic tale in minimalistic detail with
    clean sinuous lines reminiscent of Art
    nouveau made from an Occidental point of view of an Shinto temples of the island
    of Japan and an austere elegance.

    the note of Oakmoss predominates much of
    this scent drying in the sun with a gentil breeze dries to a suble orange note and with sweet peach that is not cloy to your
    senses.

    next Delicate white roses blooms in a
    simplistic Garden pathway where a Geisha
    with her modest aura plucks an rose and
    smells it gentily when the night falls
    the scent of night jasmine roams the nocturnal sky and the nuances of Ginger
    spices and cinnamon make this complete.
    every fragrance tells a story or conjoures feelings or images

    For me Mitsouko conjoures feeling of wistfulness and melancholia like star-crossed lovers from two different worlds
    ala Sayonara with Marlon Brando a romance between an american air force
    Major and an Japanese entertainer forbidden by both sides with tragic results Madame Butterfly with an american admiral and his Japanese Paramour or an small shrine silhouetted
    in the center of an island on the Rising
    sun dedicated to Amaterasu Goddess of the sun and the smoke of sandalwood incense dances to the heavens.

    Mitsouko can be spiritual wistful calm
    simple distant aristocratic distant and
    Melancholy.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Spellbound by Estée Lauder

    Ok i'm no Roger Ebert or Gene Shalit
    Because they Review Movies and their
    professionals this is a copycat Fragrance to Estee's Cinnabar and Paloma Picasso's Tentation in my opinion
    maybe except Tentations has more of a
    gardeniac syrupy cinnamon like melody
    but neverless copying off each other.

    it starts off the same a predictable
    Burning Cinnamon fire with a Cliche of
    woods and Spice leftovers.
    the most this will make you feel like a Jaded reviewer in the whold wide world.
    it has no Originalty to it. *Yawns*

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Youth Dew by Estée Lauder

    Estee Lauder's Youth Dew conjours dual contradictions Sex & Esoteric Seduction
    & Piety Animalistic & Innocent everyone
    has an different interpretation of what
    the scent means to an person and Youth
    Dew fits that Description.

    It opens with an synthetic note of
    Aldehyde with an drying of orange and
    the shapness of Bergamot it dries to an
    middle note of Raw uncut and pervasive
    amount of Spices Ginger Curry every spice note is in this. then the fiery
    sweetness of cinnamon shows up to the
    senses.

    The semi-spicy of the Cassia leaf mingles with the other spices with the
    spicy sweet notes of clove Florals are
    hard to detect because of the dominating notes of spices but i can
    dectect a faint note of rose.

    The drydown is an intoxicating scent
    of Sandalwood incense Burning in Hindu
    Temples in front of an deity clouds of
    smoke floats allover the temple a strong
    grounded note of Patchouli supports the
    basenotes along with sweet amber and musk but i also can pick up some Civet
    it dose add an animalistic quality to it.

    at the very bottom note of Balsam
    is an woodish scent has a bit of an
    fiery tinge.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Chaos by Donna Karan

    Michael Kors, kors opens with sandalwood
    and white flowers first tuberose with it's acidity sweet accord and with gardenia
    Lily starts the middle notes with spicy
    sweet crispy note dries to an air of fresh
    fressia amber provides the drying down
    that is warm with musk that makes it a bit animalistic there is an leather undertone which lurks under the delicate
    white florals freesia sandalwood and other notes in this.

    turns this into an mysterious with a bit
    of a clinical reputare.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Dolce & Gabbana by Dolce & Gabbana

    Floral Aldehydes for a modren crowd when you think of a aldehyde perfume you think of a granny scent not with this this perfume this one can balance between
    vintage and the modren it sweetins the
    the aldehydes with freesia and marigold
    to appeal to modren women but it also
    adds basil ivy coriador and sandalwood to add to a nostaligic zeiltgeist.
    it's spicy but not intrusive.

    i whould be picturing on a sunday mass circa 1950's Italy where women all wear white conservativly and men with their sunday but conservative best suits but suddenly the church doors open and to everyone shock dismay a beautiful woman tall slender with short black hair and dark skin wearing a bright cherry red
    form fitting dress with a red hibiscus in her hair walks slowly to the pews and sat down and everyone gasped. or
    i think of Margo Channings in
    All About Eve in all about eve this whould be a perfect scent for her a diva of a perfume just next to chanel no 5.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Tabu by Dana

    When it was first released in 1932 it shocked and 78 years later since it's
    release it stills managed to shock it achieved immortality in a roster of classics like Chanel no 5 L'air du Temps
    Joy Shalimar L'Heure Bleu & youth Dew.

    If you want a perfume that makes you want
    to stand out and take control this is the one this is not a shy meek little
    wallflower of a scent it's Assertive
    Loud Demands your attention in a dry spicy and smoky kind a way of if your a
    person who is or likes perfumes that does not want to make a wave skip it!.

    when first sprayed to my skin i find a
    lot of Patchouli in a spicy fragrance
    which is a bit interesting and makes it dry and smoky but i really like is the
    Sandalwood mingles with orange and spices with the dry down of coriander
    for it's powder texture and of curse i can smell Mr Civet with all his Animalistic Glory. i bet June Miller
    wore this while seducing the Authoress
    Anais Nin.

    the drydown becomes more earthier with the presence of orris patches of musk and mossy undertones of Oakmoss.
    but i admire is the design with it's
    noirish deco goth Logo TABU Channels
    Bogart to it finest the flacon simple
    and elegant i love the color of the liquid it reminds me of a evening sunset
    over Los Angeles in the 1940's.

    this perfume is rich & luxurious But i
    don't understand why is it so cheap on the price and made it in to a Drugstore
    scent this perfume deserves to be expensive.


    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Coco by Chanel

    it's warm elegant and it's a league apart
    from the other Chanels. 95% of all Chanel perfume
    have a cold metallic aldehyde note, this one doesn't it's warm with the opening of
    spicy coriander orange blossoms semi-sweet
    mandarin oranges with the predominant note
    of juicy peach that which dominates Coco
    Chanel with nocturnal jasmine and delicate rose.

    Mimose dries the middle note cloves with
    it's pungent scent clover with it's earthy greenish note then it become deeper and more resinous with the opening of warm and sweetish amber labdanum petals sandalwood dry with arid
    texture tonka bean makes it grounded
    and of course civet the animalistic
    styling finishes this scent beautifully.

    This was made in the 1980's but it has a
    austere 1940's elegance in a time when there was Wartime shortages simple tailored elegance broad shoulders ala Joan Crawford clean lines and that what
    Chanel wanted simple and elegant nothing
    ultra feminine girlie with bright flowers just chic independent womanhood.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Deneuve by Catherine Deneuve

    Bon Vivant to Mme Deneuve for this Lovely
    Perfume this fragrance brings out her Personalty Cool refined elegant worldly
    sophisticated and French.
    Mrs Deneuve the Legendary screen goddess
    released her only fragrance Deneuve in 1986 the top notes first applied to my skin is an hearty note of greens crisp and bright with the coolly sophistication of Aldehyde; the heart notes dries to a scent of dry muguet
    Rose for an Powdery texture and grounded
    Orris for an earthy feel.

    I do smell a pervasive amount of Jasmine
    but the drydown is a bit oily but nice
    with Warm dry Sandalwood with a deep
    woodsy note of Oak moss musk for an masculine appeal and civet which i don't
    think it should be in this perfume but it is.

    I love Catherine Deneuve she brings French Elegance and Womanhood to the screen.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Nuit de Noël by Caron

    A softer less urbane version of Chanel no 5 this fragrance has a certian country elegance to it picturing oak
    trees lined side by side riding in a open horse drawn carrige to an elegant
    southern plantation full of white magnolias or going to a ketucky Derby wearing your finest.

    The opening has a aldehydic note next
    is the scent of bergamot and at it's base is rose gives it a powdery texture
    unlike chanel no 5 caron's nuit de noel
    avoids the clinical amount of Aldehydes
    and sharp citruses and adds a warm amber note that is inviting.
    this is perfect also winter and christmas eve parties.

    09th October, 2010

    rating


    Eternity by Calvin Klein

    Calvin Klein's Eternity is the cooly
    reserved younger Sister to Obsession
    but neverless a simply Elegant Monocrome
    Shaped Bottle the best bottle design in
    my collection in my opinion.
    but the scent is a mixure of menthol
    & powder. which is not my favorite
    perfume but not the worst and i think
    it smell to synthentic. to be my Favorite.

    09th October, 2010

    Showing 151 to 180 of 223.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000