Reviews by rainmaker

    rainmaker's avatar
    rainmaker
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 18 of 18.
    rating


    Voyage by Nautica

    The opening is wonderful, it's like a slightly salty breeze from the sea. It quickly turns into a slightly sweet and fruity aroma, but it's not cloying like Chrome for instance. This is a well behaved fragrance.

    The dry down is the biggest let down here. It literally smells like you just washed off your neck with soap. So, certainly not offensive, but nothing special either.

    Al in all, I think this is a nice scent especially considering the low cost. It's quite similar to Versace Pour Homme, except less sweet and less woody in drydown. Give it a try!

    18 May, 2011

    rating


    Bulgari Man by Bulgari

    Thumbs way up for this one.

    It is very subtle, very modern. Perfect for all weathers and all occasions. I think it replaced L'Homme in my mind as the perfect signature fragrance.

    As for the smell, I really get something that resembles both Gucci PH2 and Terre d'Hermes. Something in the middle of those 2, and lighter and more subtle.

    22 February, 2011

    rating


    Allure Homme Sport by Chanel

    I also found this synthetic and cheap smelling. I don't understand why anyone would go with this instead of AdG, Versace PH or Dior Homme Sport.

    16 February, 2011

    rating


    Infusion d'Homme by Prada

    This is nice, although on my skin it never turns powdery, but keeps carrying the neroli and vetiver pretty strongly. THis was a blind buy for me, and it was different than what I expected, much more dry and masculine. But so far, I like it.

    26 January, 2011

    rating


    Hugo by Hugo Boss

    Used to own this, and girls went crazy for it.
    The opening is delightful, and stays very nicely on the skin for a couple of hours. However, a non-descript dry down follows that great beginning, which is a shame. Otherwise it would be a perfect scent.

    Edit: Just bought another cheap bottle of this. Despite all its shortcomings, I really think it's great stuff and it is a great value. Another plus is that it's not that popular any more, so it is actually a really unique smell and it certainly gets ladies' attention.

    12 December, 2010 (Last Edited: 04 January, 2011)

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Intensa by Acqua di Parma

    fantastic smell, but with this longevity I wouldn't pay that ridiculous price.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Grey Vetiver by Tom Ford

    I find Guerlain's Vetiver to be vile and unwearable, bug-spray like. However, this one is almost a perfect smell to use in the office, very subtle and sophisticated.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

    One of those smells that smelled great on paper, but turned into a disgusting mess on my skin, just like Channel Bleu did. Unfortunate...

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Le Mâle by Jean Paul Gaultier

    I used to own this. I think it is beautiful and girls love it. However, I feel like it's not a very masculine smell, and it is so overplayed that I don't want to smell like everyone else.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Bleu de Chanel by Chanel

    I really wanted to like this one. Smelled incredible to me on paper. I thought this would be my new signature scent. Then I tried it on my skin and it smelled disgusting for some reason. I don't understand why but that happens with some smells (like Mugler Cologne as well).

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Pasha by Cartier

    very sophisticated!
    The mint note soothes down the spicy accord, which makes is wearable during the day as well. I like it!

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Brit for Men by Burberry

    This is such a pleasant smell, but I wish it held up better and more complex in the drydown. Incredible top notes though.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Polo Blue by Ralph Lauren

    For me, this is the perfect scent for summer. I think the cucumber makes it for me. It becomes a very pleasant fresh scent without smelling like a bathroom product or axe deodorant.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Chrome by Azzaro

    I don't get a metallic note from this, just a ctrusy aquatic.
    I'm not the biggest fan, smells like a cheap bathroom product to my nose, but I got so many compliments for this from women that I keep wearing it.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Azzaro pour Homme by Azzaro

    Got this blindly from marshall's, it was just 15 bucks.
    I'm very impressed, little bit too strong to wear often, but very masculine and my gf loves it!

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Bulgari Black by Bulgari

    Beautiful and interesting smell. I just don't see myself wearing this everyday.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    Great signature scent. Very inoffensive, can wear it day and night, winter and summer. Great value overall and not as overplayed as Acqua di Gio.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Mugler Cologne by Thierry Mugler

    This smells horrible on my skin. I can't believe it's considered as a clean and inoffensive smell. My girlfriend didn't come near me for a day after I sprayed this on.

    12 December, 2010

    Showing 1 to 18 of 18.