Perfume Reviews

Reviews by syidi_radzi


Dior Homme Sport (original) by Christian Dior

This is one of Dior's worst frags line.
Nothing new to offer, too safe for a frag creation, which is lack of characters, and somehow the notes are basically citrus.
29th April, 2009

Pure Poison by Christian Dior

The jasmine notes are very dominant, as it appears on every stage as the frag develops from the opening to the drydown. Longevity is truly excellent. The lingering drydown notes is exactly the same smell of the flower, either still on the tree or plucked. Great!
29th April, 2009

Diorella by Christian Dior

Briefly it's a citrusy, flowery and fruity fragrance.
The citrus opening is somehow overpowering, but soon tamed by the mellow and subtle flowery notes. The fruity notes are quite dominant for the drydown.
29th April, 2009
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Ferré for Men by Gianfranco Ferré

Agreed with Sir Slantry... IMO this frag is best described as liquid lipstick in a bottle, the initial burst is lipstick+crayon-like scent till the end. Very rare and quite unsual. Just like Dior Homme, but this one is more intense. The bottle is great, but not the frag. Regardless of the long listing of the notes accord, the pyramid notes should be like this:

top : kiss me red lipstick,
heart: half-used lipstick
base: grandma's lipstick
31st October, 2008

Live Jazz by Yves Saint Laurent

The mint is not really prominent, quite weak, but pleasant, IMO the vanilla note is so intense as it overpowers every accord. All and all, it's a good fragrance, longevity is okay.
31st October, 2008

Jazz by Yves Saint Laurent

Very unsual, and rare scent. It's a fresh spicy fragrance but there's a hint of sweetness in every accord.
31st October, 2008

Polo Explorer by Ralph Lauren

nice, green frag, just like the bottle, it's nice too, very simple with no label on it. the only downside of this frag is that it fades super quick, last for about 5 minutes, once you get outdoor, it disappears...
29th July, 2008

Prada Amber pour Homme by Prada

the opening note is very refreshing, a subtle amber and yes, it's soapy, later it settles down to be very intense and sickly sweet... the longevity is great, but it's only the horrid drydown notes that lingers...

29th July, 2008

Black XS by Paco Rabanne

Like this frag very much! Simple blend of humble notes that turned out to be a superb frag! It's tartly sweet, seductive and most importantly, long-lasting!
25th June, 2008

212 Sexy by Carolina Herrera

A candy sweet fragrance with a little touch of floral scent. Nothing much can be said about this frag, the notes transition (top to bottom) is an ultimate disaster. I do believe that the idea of having to relate the 'sweet scent' with 'of being sexy' at the first place is wrong at all.

25th June, 2008

Vetiver by Guerlain

A truly classic, earthy, 'cut grass' fragrance, very serene, warm yet fresh. A worth having fragrance!
25th June, 2008 (last edited: 19th July, 2008)

Chic by Carolina Herrera

smells like a fruit punch carbonated drink... breezy sweet, not to floral, fresh and welcoming. love this frag!
23rd May, 2008

Body Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

Salute to Annick Menardo for brilliantly mixing up 6 humble notes which turn out to be an absolute timeless fragrance, the opening is so subtle which both notes eucalyptus and incense do not overpower each other, which later on the scent evolves to something that is medicinally fresh. Love it!
14th May, 2008
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Polo Black by Ralph Lauren

I do agree with DULLAH, rather to have it named Black, it is supposed to be called either Chrome or Aluminium, but i'm trying to be fair here, regardless of its name, Black, the fragrance is actually excellent.

The composition is quite rare, mango + sage + armoise + patchouli etc, which to me it appears just too overwhelming, as every note is composed to overpower each other, it is long lasting, it stays for up to 8 - 10 hours. Great!
08th May, 2008

Herrera for Men by Carolina Herrera

Nothing special about this frag than its bottle. The design is superb but the frag composition is not. Fern + Clove + Tobacco etc, clean fresh for the opening that lasts about 10 minutes then it dries out to strong powerful smell of tobacco.
08th May, 2008

Polo Double Black by Ralph Lauren

Purchased a bottle of RL DB last year, really like the scent. It is highly seductive and long lasting. I would prefer if it is given other name than DB, yup, maybe the opening is quite similar, the mango scent (DB) and the iced manggo (B) but the middle notes and the drydown is absolutely different, to me, Black portrays modernity, confident (and playful as well) while DB more to seduction from within, a true gentlemen. Worth every cent, and what's best, it is bottled in 75 and 125 ml, while most frags sold either in 50ml or 100ml bottle.
23rd April, 2008

Acqua di Giò pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

A classic frag I wuld say, the scent is long lasting, fresh floral, sweet ad masculine. The only problem with this is that it's everyone's favorite, making it kind of a typical scent smelled everyday once you entered the staffroom...
23rd April, 2008

212 Sexy Men by Carolina Herrera

I'm a big fan of CH frags, I like CHIC FOR MEN, and 212 MEN very much and always looking forward to having this 212 SEXY MEN, and I did. The main attraction is I just love the deep/dark maroon color of the bottle, and the scent has a weak hint of the original version. The opening scent is superb, I would describe it as something that is fresh, and seductive, regardless of the notes, the opening is kind of a citrus splash with a touch of something that is sweet, (orange and honey perhaps?) The opening scent lingers for about only half an hour :-( Nothing much I can say about the middle notes, but the dry down is great, i would say that the dry down as something sweet and dark, it is like sandalwood, vanilla, coffee and smoke. All and all, the smell is really great but the longevity is extremely poor. Would last for about 2, 3 hours when applied on skin, but last for days on cloth.
22nd April, 2008 (last edited: 25th June, 2008)

Chic for Men by Carolina Herrera

Excellent! A mellow scent with superb longevity. The citrus opening is not intense, the middle + the drydown is dark, sweet and seductive but not overpowering. It is a kind of seduction from within, a tamed beast, a true gentleman.
22nd April, 2008

Vera Wang for Men by Vera Wang

What is so special about the blend of green mandarin leaf, yuzu, nutmeg, tobacco etc... nothing distinctive but I do love the bottle design, very masculine.

All and all, it is a typical fragrance, a fragrance which is best said created just to make someone smells good, and if that would be its only purpose, indeed the frag has fulfiled it.
22nd April, 2008 (last edited: 14th May, 2008)

cK one Summer by Calvin Klein

Kind of fresh, zesty and fruity fragrance, love the new orange hue (previously the hue of the bottle was yellow green), I would rather have this applied throughout the year rather than the original CK one.
06th May, 2006

Higher Energy by Christian Dior

Fahrenheit would be my Dior number 1 fragrance and this would be my last. I purchased once and that was my last buy. Nothing special, it smells like typical fresh male fragrance. I will never ever buy this one again eventhough it comes with free sling bag or pouch for every purchase.
06th May, 2006

Kenzoair by Kenzo

The bottle might appear 'photogenic' in ad, but horrid when you hold it, as well as the fragrance, none of the notes could convey or define 'Kenzoair' to me.
06th May, 2006

Crave by Calvin Klein

Nothing is special about this fragrance... horrid looking bottle
06th May, 2006

Kenzo pour Homme by Kenzo

I don't know either this is a fragrance or not. Some might say, yes it is, but to me, this would be one of the most horrid fragrance I have ever smelled. The composition of the notes somehow didn't work at all!
06th May, 2006

Higher by Christian Dior

80% love the bottle
20% love the fragrance
not really long-lasting
06th May, 2006

Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

Less is more... having not too many notes composed for Fahrenheit yet this is always my number one Dior fragrance. Woody + flowery scent. Smells like fresh cut grass to me, though to some it smells like fuel.
06th May, 2006

Escape for Men by Calvin Klein

Excellent! Always my number one CK fragrance.
06th May, 2006

Dune pour Homme by Christian Dior

Very distinctive and original. The scent is fresh but not that typical male zesty citrus fresh. Warm, subtle, and powdery as well. Longevity is excellent.
06th May, 2006 (last edited: 19th July, 2008)

Contradiction for Men by Calvin Klein

Typical fresh fragrance for men. The composition of notes might be different but there are many male fragrances sold over the counter have similar scent.
06th May, 2006