Reviews

Reviews by apayne182

Advertisement

Millésime Impérial by Creed

I was really expecting the top notes to 'wow' me but in all honesty, they did not. I was completely 'wowed' by the top of green irish tweed but that is not the case here. I get a mix of sea salt and melons up top, but not watermelon that everyone says. It becomes a bit more sweet in the end and the salt mellows out a bit, but overall linear. Longevity and projecting kinda suck so i have to spray it on my shirt. I'm fine with spraying on my shirt if the smell amazed but it just doesn't. Yes, i think it is unique, but i will run through my 30 ml decant and that will probably be the end. Nice to experience, has a good smell, longevity and projection are bad, and i do not wear it much. The fact that it did not amaze me like i thought it would (along with other factors) leads to a neutral review
30th July, 2011

The One for Men by Dolce & Gabbana

For the smell, It keeps from being a thumbs down, but i was not that impressed by the smell as some others wer. It is a rather musky fragrance, and i can see what people mean by tropical vibe but it's not really tropical. I get a little grapefruit up top along with that 'tropical vibe' and stays relatively linear on my skin. the longevity and projection are poor, so i spray on my shirt (as i do with all fragrances with poor longevity and projection). I do not reach for this often as i only find it good for going out and sometimes it can be worn at school in the fall. I do not think this is that good for the summer because i feel the smell is a little heavy even though it does not project, the smell is just kinda heavy. I will finish my 50 ml and probably not buy another bottle because i have other fragrances for this kind of use that i enjoy more.
26th May, 2011 (last edited: 30th July, 2011)

Versace Man Eau Fraîche by Versace

Definitely not a bad fragrance. I get an apple vibe which feels more like a bubblegum. Not much else to say, nice. Good everyday summer scent that I will wear. Yeah, projection and longevity are ho-hum but i usually put one spray on my shirt. Nice smell, bubblegum/fruit vibe, with a little sweetness in the dry-down with slight pick up of the spice. Because I do enjoy it, it gets a thumbs up
04th May, 2011

Polo Double Black by Ralph Lauren

Can't give it a thumbs up due to the longevity (projection is not horrible though) and due to the mid and base notes. After the top notes fade (which are by far the best part with a nice mango accord) the fragrance gets worse and i lose interest. that was really a disappointment, but oh well. safe and good for a summer night.
26th March, 2011

Polo Blue by Ralph Lauren

Good, a little different than the status quo in terms of aquatics. however, once my decant runs out, i do not see myself repurchasing it unless i just need a really safe and pleasant summer scent. i do not often reach for my little decant anyway. the longevity is rather poor and projection is not very strong as well
26th March, 2011

F pour Homme Black by Salvatore Ferragamo

Will definitely be getting a bottle of this. Did not expect much coming from this fragrance when I was given a sample but was pleasantly surprise. Starting with versatility, this is much better for winter and fall but can be worn spring and summer nights quite nicely. projection is decent, nothing groundbreaking, and longevity is pretty good at about 6 hours with a weak little sample. I expect more when I get the bottle. As for smell, I get a very elegant lavender from the lavender absolute. It is very sophisticated and this can definitely be a formal-wear scent in my opinion, best worn at night. It is a melange of the elegant lavender and creamy tonka to my nose. I do not smell much in the way of the pepper nor much coriander. It stays pretty linear to me with the tonka emerging a little more with time and the lavender fading a little. The labdanum I feel is definitely there too, integrating with the creamy tonka. It is slightly sweet from the labdanum but mostly a smooth and creamy, almost velvety with the creamy feeling, wrapped lavender. nicely done by ferragamo in my opinion
21st March, 2011

The Dreamer by Versace

The most unique thing I've ever tried. A powdery floral with some vanilla maybe and a bit of amber. I don't get the synthetic mess at the start, it just smells like a more intense version with the powdery florals part
16th January, 2011

A*Men Pure Malt by Thierry Mugler

Better than original, extremely creamy, sexy. I can't stop sniffing myself
16th January, 2011

Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

Great fall-spring scent. Beautiful orange but not like a burst of citrus. This makes me think of going on a hike after a rain. You look down and notice the mossy, wet dirt on the ground with a few branches and some orange peels that were left there from a previous hiker. Beautiful, longevity could be better but projection is decent
16th January, 2011

L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

great longevity even though im pretty sure my bottle is a few years old. great scent, perfect for summer, staple for the summer. synthetic, yes. but it smells so good that i dont care. Not much else to say other than you can't go wrong with this
29th December, 2010 (last edited: 29th March, 2011)

A*Men / Angel Men by Thierry Mugler

I dont think the top notes are that bad. they are a little harsh. There is lavender there and i detect some of the middle notes. after a couple of minutes it dies down a little and the lavender is still there but tar and patchouli have found their way in as well as the chocolate and tonka. over time, the chocolate becomes more pronounced and the tonka still stays. i still detect something else there, perhaps the lavender and tar. the top notes are a little harsh but not too bad to my nose and they're worth it for the dry down and development. very happy to get this for christmas. if you don't like chocolate in a fragrance, its not for you but then if you dont, you probably shouldnt review it in the first place. and we all know its a projection and longevity beast. great scent, colder months only
29th December, 2010 (last edited: 26th January, 2011)

Green Irish Tweed by Creed

not much to say that hasnt been said. green, slightly sweet (you wont hate it if you like sweet scents, it just adds a little to the fragrance), good for all year, just amazing smell that i cant describe. my favorite scent
29th December, 2010

Burberry London for Men by Burberry

great scent as we all know and one of the safest out there. not offensive to the nose even though it is full of spice and you cant go wrong with it. I bought it blind and am happy I did. only problem is on my skin it doesnt project that well or last very long, maybe 4-6 hours. I still give it a thumbs up due to the smell and its relatively cheap so reapply isnt that big of a deal
29th December, 2010

Guerlain Homme L'Eau by Guerlain

A really fresh and well done citrus scent. This works great and will be my go to in the summer. It is extremely refreshing and smells overall wonderful. it has pretty good projection and longevity for a summer frag. definitely recommend
10th December, 2010 (last edited: 12th December, 2010)