Reviews by Notreveh

    Notreveh's avatar
    Notreveh
    Brazil Brazil

    Showing 61 to 90 of 160.
    rating


    Jaïpur Homme by Boucheron

    Jaipur has a spicy opening where cardamom and cinnamon are the main players.

    Through time these notes fade away a little bit giving space to a chord between benzoin and tonka bean. A very good fragrance that even launched in 97, remains better than a lot of things today.

    17 October, 2011

    rating


    Infusion d'Homme by Prada

    Infusion D'homme opens up with a rich iris note accompanied by a touch of neroli giving to this particular fragrance a soap aroma, a WELL made soap.

    Through time vetiver appears leaving a differentiated smell that we usually find in soapy fragrances.

    Anyway, a very good clean scent, perfect for casual days.

    17 October, 2011

    rating


    Bulgari pour Homme Extreme by Bulgari

    This one opens up with grapefruit and bergamot accompanied by light neroli note.

    Through time the trademark note from Bvlgari kicks in, the tea, dominating the entirely fragrance. A good and peaceful scent, but sadly it lasts only for about 4 hours on my skin.

    17 October, 2011

    rating


    Michael for Men by Michael Kors

    Spicy and boozy acting at the same time. Mix this with dried fruits and we have the opening in Michael Kors for men.

    Through time the tobacco kicks in leaving a very good impression in the drydown. At the base we then finally have somehow an ambery smell ending this scent.

    17 October, 2011

    rating


    Private Collection - Querelle by Parfumerie Generale

    Querelle opens up with a citric vibe accompanied by a light vetiver note that within minutes, give space to a black cumin note mixed with cinnamon taking us to a more spicy aspect of the fragrance, but not something overdone.

    Here the cinnamon followed by a light incense note appears giving to this particular fragrance, a very nice mysterious vibe, as if the incense was not on my skin, but surrounding me in the environment.

    Through time, the base shows up leaving a slightly heavy incense aroma, but again, not something overdone, making me think about L'air du Desert Marocain a little bit.

    11th October, 2011

    rating


    Égoïste / L'Égoïste by Chanel

    Egoiste opens up with a heavy wood aspect accompanied by a spicy aroma which trough time enters into agreement with rose, but not a pure rose, in here we have a semi-sweet one, thanks to the appearance of a light vanilla.

    A rich fragrance, dense with a woody chord mixed with spices in a wonderful combination which makes me think about the edible aspect of Ambre Narguilè. Egoiste does not remembers at all his younger brother Platinum Egoiste which I also love. Do not blind buy it just because you enjoy platinum and they share the same name.

    09 October, 2011

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Kyoto by Comme des Garçons

    This one starts out with a blast of incense followed by a cypress note giving a woodsy aspect to this fragrance.

    In the drydown the burned wood aroma still present and so, the fragrance stays until the end. The coffee note which was the note that awakened my curiosity about this fragrance was not detectable on my skin, sadly.

    09 October, 2011

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Ouarzazate by Comme des Garçons

    Ouarzazate opens up with a clearly anise note that disappears in a blink of an eye giving space to a guaiac wood note accompanied by spicy notes, specially pepper.

    through time this combination almost completely disappears leaving a herbal/incense tone which gives a very peaceful sensation in a wonderful drydown.

    09 October, 2011

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Jaisalmer by Comme des Garçons

    A rich incense opening! But not the kind of incense that we can find in Avignon, where mixed with myrrh gives us a church feeling.

    Here we have a incense note accompanied by spicy notes like cardamon upon a resinous base where benzoin shines. A very versatile incense based fragrance if I may say.

    09 October, 2011

    rating


    Gold Man by Amouage

    Gold opens with a rich floral notes, specially Lily-of-the-valley and rose that together makes me think about a vanilla aroma. Strange since you can't find it on the notes. Anyway, very different from what I was expecting: an incense based fragrance like Jubilation XXV, Epic Man and even Ciel Man. The drydown gives you an animalic combo around the civet note.

    A dated fragrance to my nose. Not pleasant at all compared to masterpieces like Jub. XXV, Epic Man.

    25 September, 2011

    rating


    Black Aoud by Montale

    Black Aoud starts out with a pure medicinal note of Aoud accompanied by rose. Very, very strong! It basically screams to everyone else: AOUD+ROSE!!!!

    Through time the Aoud note begins to decay (when talking about Black Aoud, decays = looses 10% of it's power) giving an even more evident space to roses where the fragrance starts to get better on my skin but even with this happening, I still can't enjoy this fragrance. Too overpowering to my nose, and with a lot of roses in it.

    Advise: you only need the 20mL bottle of this fragrance. Anything more than that and it will stay in your collection for generations! 1, 2 sprays max and you're done.

    25 September, 2011

    rating


    Wazamba by Parfum d'Empire

    Wazamba starts with incense and myrrh right on the spot, associated with a very evident resinous combo, but without being too pungent. The opening does not screams in your face since a light apple aroma kicks in leaving things softly. Anyway, a very pleasant fragrance that I recommend to everyone to at least try it instead of only look to Ambre Russe.

    25 September, 2011

    rating


    Sel Marin by Heeley

    This one opens up with dominant citrus chord guaranteed by bergamot and lemon, without leaving behind a very salty smell resembling perfectly a bright sea breeze aroma. A very linear fragrance perfectly made for hot days. Even tough I don't love (but I like) the juice, I will give a thumbs up because among aquatic fragrances, this is the best so far, capturing perfectly the sea aroma.

    25 September, 2011

    rating


    Bois Blonds by Atelier Cologne

    This one opens up with a rich neroli note at it's most citrus aspect accompanied by orange blossom, where at the end of this fragrance, we have a decrease in the citrus notes giving room for a herbal tone with the appearance of vetiver. Nothing special on this one, guys.

    18 September, 2011

    rating


    Ciel Man by Amouage

    In Ciel we have a flower opening with a dominance of rose and lavender supported by a light bergamot aroma with a faint note of incense.

    After about 10 minutes, the floral composition decays a little bit, leaving room for an almost creamy aroma of sandalwood and peach which stays for the rest of the fragrance's life. A great fragrance in my opinion.

    18 September, 2011

    rating


    Timbuktu by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Timbuktu Opens very dark with incense and spices, but nothing exaggerated, where over time, acquires a certain soapy character but nothing overdone. This particular fragrance seems to me a much less intense version of L'air du desert marocain, making this a much more versatile and unisex fragrance, but without the mysterious and powerful personality of Andy Tauer's creation.

    17 September, 2011

    rating


    Passage d'Enfer by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Passage d'Enfer is the most spiritual fragrance that I've had the opportunity to meet. We don't have here the pure abstraction of the environment inside a church, as in Avignon, but instead, a full transposition to a rite of passage.

    L'artisan was able to capture with this scent, the end point of every life, death, especially it's religious aspects.

    This scent opens with a cadaverous smell, similar to the smell of bodies as being veiled. That distinctive smell of flowers combined with incense, a mysterious opening where Lily is fully present along with a very characteristic aroma of myrrh.

    Named gates of hell, I was expecting the same as knightz expected. A pungent scent, extremely strong, invasive, and even repulsive, representing to me within it's evolution, the nine circles of hell as described by Dante Alighieri in hi's most famous work The Divine Comedy, instead we have in this smooth scent(and no less remarkable), the final part of Purgatory, with the removal of sins committed by Dante in life and thus the subsequent ascension into heaven.

    Passage d'Enfer is the embodiment of the liturgical chant Kyrie eleison (Lord have mercy on us). A spiritual masterpiece. Definitely a scent that is not for everyone. When you have the opportunity to smell this fragrance, track it's progress by watching this video on youtube (watch?v=L1lz7JAXe54&feature) and so you will understand the perfect image that Giacobetti Olivia was able to capture with her creation.

    10th September, 2011

    rating


    Encre Noire by Lalique

    This fragrance has an opening recalling the aroma of abandoned houses where the wood has just taken a shower of rain. Very dark and mysterious smell also combined with a wet earth aspect.

    After a few hours, we still have the aroma of vetiver but toned down, remembering somehow He Wood Rocky Mountain but without the floral notes. Anyway, an awesome fragrance!

    10th September, 2011

    rating


    Moschino Friends Men by Moschino

    This one starts out with a blast of citrus (the strongest I have ever came across) with the aroma of mandarin dominating the entirely opening, but not a pure mandarin, instead, a salty one, similar to the salinity in coastal regions. Anyway, a very potent fragrance, which becomes acceptable only after about 2 hours, where a semi-sweet chord appears and the opening notes decay a little bit.

    Definitely leaned towards citrus-lovers.

    09 September, 2011

    rating


    Jazz by Yves Saint Laurent

    Jazz opens up with some spices mixed with an herbal tone making possible to sense an acid aroma which thankfully doesn't last a long time.

    After about 5 minutes, bergamot kicks in giving a citric chord to this fragrance which combined with a gorgeous floral heart, makes this a very clean and peaceful fragrance that projects good enough and stays for quite a good time on skin as well.

    08 September, 2011 (Last Edited: 03 October, 2011)

    rating


    L'Air du Desert Marocain by Tauer

    One of the most mysterious and complex fragrance that I've tasted so far. L'air du Desert Marocain is a masterpiece created by Andy Tauer that captures the full aroma of a dry, dusty and smoky caravan crossing the desert's arid and hot environment.

    We have in the opening, a light aroma of incense similar to the one in Jubilation XXV , but with the dried fruit of this Amouage being replaced by intense spices present in his brother Epic Man, combined with the scent of burnt wood, forming in L'air Desert, a theatrical picture of Arabia.

    A fragrance much more focused on the male side that praises for the perfection in which it describes the environment that the name proposes. A work of art.

    06 September, 2011

    rating


    Iris Ganache by Guerlain

    Could it be possible to have an iris-based chocolate, which lacks the sweetness associated with the second ingredient? If so, take this new creation and place in a glass full of cognac. This is the opening of Iris Ganache, and so it remains until the end (decreasing the intensity of some notes, like cognac that appears only in the opening), faithful to the name. A feminine scent that could easily be shared with the opposite sex.

    06 September, 2011

    rating


    Dior Homme Intense by Christian Dior

    How sexy a fragrance can be? Well, go on and try Dior Intense, and you will find out...

    This fragrance is a masterpiece in my eyes (I'm talking about the old formula, since I have never come across the reformulation yet)

    The pyramid of this one should not be described in notes, but in adjectives. And it should be like this:

    Top: Classy
    Heart: Sexy
    Base: Elegance

    Dior Homme Intense starts out with a dominant orris note, but without being too intense as in the original formula of Dior Homme with all that makeup smell. Here we have a velvet aroma of it leaving a wonderful impression.

    Throughout time, the cocoa and vanilla kicks in giving this fragrance a very sexy aroma that projects and lasts a long time without suffocating you people around you. And so it goes on, with all it's elegance aroma.

    A true masterpiece that should be in the wardrobe of every man.

    04 September, 2011

    rating


    Ubar Woman by Amouage

    This one opens up with a a very strong floral composition remembering the vintage climate present in Hermes Rouge Eau Delicate, but without the soapy smell attached to it.

    Throughout time, the floral notes settles down a little bit acquiring a hint of civet. But flowers still the main character on this one. Not for me.

    04 September, 2011

    rating


    Dzongkha by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    This one opens up with rich spices, accompanied by a faint/velvety tone of orris mixed with a hint of vetiver. Amazing!

    Trough time, the velvety aspect tones down and the spicy combo becomes even more prominent, now combined with leather and a hint of incense.

    Anyway, a very good scent that truly captures the Buddhist temples aura with a good longevity and projection.

    29 August, 2011

    rating


    Rouge Eau Délicate by Hermès

    This one lives up to it's name. It's delicate!
    Here we have a powdery opening mixed with a soft floral aspect, granted by a dominant smell of rose.

    Rouge Eau Delicate passes a huge feeling of cleanliness in a smell that is almost like one of those classic soaps based on floral aromas. Very good longevity and projection, but too floral for me.

    28 August, 2011

    rating


    The One for Men by Dolce & Gabbana

    This fragrance whispers class, elegance! It has an opening with grapefruit and ginger, but with a tropical vibe into it, with a reminiscent aroma of coconut. An opening that is almost like a drink combining all these notes.

    Imagine this drink being taken at the same time you enjoy a good pipe, with a mixture of a not so strong tobacco leafs, something very soft and pleasant. This is the heart of this fragrance, where there is also a very evident amber note giving a sweet aspect to it.

    A delight! The only problem with this fragrance is the longevity. After 4 or 5 hours The One drops out of the skin.

    22 August, 2011

    rating


    Daim Blond by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    This one opens with a slightly fruity and very velvety aroma guaranteed by damask and suede, this note of animal origin, which is very evident trough the whole life of this fragrance! Also from the opening, I can also smell the scent of iris, but not a very dominant one as in Dior Homme, with that makeup smell. Here, the iris only contributes to give more texture to the obvious aroma of suede.

    Over time, the scent does not change much. It just decreases the suede, leaving the scent with it's character more focused on the feminine side.

    22 August, 2011

    rating


    Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

    I will speak now, quickly, how, in my point of view, Fahrenheit was created.

    Launched in 1988, under the creative direction of Jean-Louis Sieuzac and Maurice Roger, the creation process of this fragrance became clear almost instantly when I felt it today, for the very first time!

    Dior executives called these two perfumers, put them in a movie theater and began to exhibit the movie Over the Top. Yes, that movie where Sylvester Stallone incarnates the role of Lincoln Hawk, a trucker whose life was a failure in both personal and professional way, and which at present was carrying loads throughout the United States, while claiming the custody of his son, now in the hands of his rich grandfather. Without forgetting the roadside bars where in his spare time, he earns money with a drop-in-arm challenge.

    Well, after the end of the film, the executives turned for both perfumers and spoke: "Did you see this explosion of testosterone in the movie?! It is exactly this atmosphere that we want to catch in our next creation!"

    So, months later, in 1988 the fragrance Fahrenheit was launched in the market, a completely innovative scent for the standards of that time! A perfume that when applied, left on my skin for a good two hours, the smell of oil and kerosene. Do you know when someone is working in a car for the whole day and at the end of this day, he's smelling like engine fluids?! Well, this is exactly the smell of this fragrance! Incredible, I had never felt anything like it before!

    Over time, the fragrance also develops like the movie Over the top, where the main character decides to take a more peaceful path in his life, and is in this moment that starts to appear in the fragrance, a new character.

    We now have Stallone Cobra!
    A fragrance which then acquires a more reserved sense, but without losing 5% of its masculinity.

    In this final part of the fragrance, we have the emergence of a fresh floral base, supported by notes of leather. We don't have the Tuff guy from the first movie anymore, but something more reserved, but always maintaining the masculinity, always keeping the law of its initial creation that is the exact power, the surgical precision that distinguish between perfection exaggeration.

    And that's how even after restatements, Fahrenheit persists. A fragrance that is not ashamed to show itself. A fragrance made to embody the 80's masculinity. A fragrane which to me, even 22 years after its release, remains unbeaten among the most acclaimed men's fragrance, a true work of timeless art.

    21st August, 2011

    rating


    Chergui by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    An explosive combo of honey / amber accompanied by notes of tobacco. Simply sensational! I finally found the perfect scent for occasions that require a suit and tie, and are not very formal.

    It is not a projection monster but the longevity exceeds 20 hours on my skin.
    To conclude: it was worth every penny. I really recommend everyone to at least try this piece of art.

    21st August, 2011

    Showing 61 to 90 of 160.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000