Reviews by MarkStar

    MarkStar's avatar
    MarkStar
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.
    rating


    Givenchy Gentleman by Givenchy

    Raw strength in a bottle.

    A scent so very rich it has a palpable texture.

    The reformulation is as good as the vintage. Slightly different, but just as good. I layer the two and find incredible depth in this masterpiece...

    Easily in my top 5.

    23 August, 2012

    rating


    Rive Gauche pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    Un parfum doit avant tout sentir bon. (A perfume must above all smell good.)
    ~Guy Robert~

    And that's exactly what Rive Gauche pour Homme does!

    A "modern fougere".

    IMO, everyone should have RGpH in their collection. It's not my #1 favorite but it's a solid, clean smelling, non-offensive performer that's perfect for when you just want to smell good.

    I will never be without it...

    26 June, 2012 (Last Edited: 24 October, 2012)

    rating


    Fleur du Male by Jean Paul Gaultier

    Fantastic stuff!

    I live in hot & sunny Florida and while I own, wear, and love many "heavy" scents, every now and then I just need something light and summery and this is where Fleur Du Male comes in. A clean, powdery, floral with great longetivity and sillage.

    Is it kinda feminine and flowery? Well, I guess I can see how certain guys might have a problem wearing this, and that's OK for them.

    As for me, I'm secure enough to wear what I like, when I like. And I like Fleur Du Male very much.

    18 April, 2012

    rating


    L by Lolita Lempicka

    Were it not for the undeniably girly bottle, this could easily pass for a unisex scent. The immortelle balances out the vanilla, making what could otherwise be way too sweet into an almost "rough" feeling and frankly, to my nose, fairly masculine scent.

    But what do I know? I wear Jicky and Shalimar and even Insense... Oh, wait, Insense is actually made for men...

    Guys, I am just saying, "Try it. You might like it. Don't be scared off by the bottle."

    01st April, 2012

    rating


    Kouros by Yves Saint Laurent

    A work of genius!

    Deliciously dirty yet crisp and clean at the same time.

    May I never be without it...

    26 March, 2012

    rating


    Insensé by Givenchy

    A masterpiece!

    This is the smell of hot bright sunshine on a cloudless blue-sky day in the still slightly chilly and crisp early days of spring...

    24 March, 2012

    rating


    Vetyver Uomo by Malizia

    A deliciously dry, crisp, vetiver. Couple this with the even less expensive aftershave and you have pure vetiver heaven!

    Does it last forever? Well, no. But on a hot summer's day, for which this is perfect, what does?

    04 March, 2012

    rating


    Saat Safa by Al Rehab

    Not bad stuff at all. Not earth-shaking, but for $3.99 for a 6ml bottle of oil I am quite pleased with it.

    Description © by Al-Rashad Books: "Saat Safa has a Sophisticated Woody Fragrance with Oudh, Jasmine,musk,citrus,moss,Amber and Moss. Sweet and smokey. For men and women."

    I get a not-overly-sweet amber, a touch of citrus, and some nice oud/musk peeking out from the background. I was non-plussed at first, but I finally gave it a good wearing and came back here to add a star.

    27 February, 2012

    rating


    Jicky by Guerlain

    It all started more than a year and a half ago with Agua Lavanda Puig. First it was just a small bottle of the cologne, then the big jug o' splash, and then the hunt for the larger sized green glass cologne bottle (found @ La Tienda).

    And by then it was too late...

    Lavender. I was hooked. Then somebody threw in some vanilla. Vanilla! Sweet syrupy kid's stuff! I remember wearing Coty's Raw Vanilla back in '96 when I didn't know any better...

    Caron Pour un Homme. Fantastic stuff! Delicious! Classy! Understated.

    And then there came Jicky. Not delicious. Classy? Try dirty. Not understated. More like a muffled and muted scream. But even more fantastic!

    I'm done-for. Ruined. I search the shops and the net for something similar, but it's futile. My fragrant hobby is dead.

    All I need is Jicky. All I want is Jicky...

    22 February, 2012

    Showing 1 to 9 of 9.