Reviews by wedge

    Showing 1 to 30 of 69.
    rating


    Divine Bergamote by Different Company

    Found this to be very pleasant and uplifting, however it is very reminiscent of laundry powder and I don't feel that the price is justified for such a generic smell. However, if you wallet permits, I highly recommend this fragrance as a summer scent.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Daim Blond by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    A very soft and smooth fragrance, the leather is very subtle and the floral notes tend to predominate, nonetheless, a great scent.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Perry Ellis m by Perry Ellis

    Reminds me of Allure with less synthetic sweetness and freshness. The cinnamon and anise add a dry aspect to this wonderful fragrance and makes it more suitable for use in cool weather than Allure.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Luctor et Emergo by People of the Labyrinths

    A heady mixture of florals and sweet vanilla that rreminds me of cheap, synthetic vanilla essence you can buy at the supermarket for muffins etc. Quite disappointed at the lack of development.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Magnetism for Men by Escada

    Smells very luxurious, very different from many of the other fragrances these days. Subtle and powdery sweetness with a great leather base.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 6 Synthetic: Garage by Comme des Garçons

    Highly synthetic, I don't know if I like it but it consists of very familiar notes of oil-based chemicals, concrete, etc.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 6 Synthetic: Dry Clean by Comme des Garçons

    Smells like exactly what the name suggests. Very synthetic, and very dry. It made my throat go dry just from smelling it! :D

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    L'Instant de Guerlain pour Homme by Guerlain

    I felt that it was quite similar to Baldessarini without the mint and more woodiness and a rich vanilla basenote.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Armani Code / Black Code by Giorgio Armani

    Shares similar notes to Miracle Homme, except I find Black Code to have a heady floral note that is quite prominent (must be the olive flower). Fresh and floral yet sophisticate and masculine.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Scarlett by Keiko Mecheri

    Just smells like another light-floral-sweet scent, and found it very feminine. Uninspired.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Individuel by Mont Blanc

    A fruity, fresh and sweet fragrance that is in the same idea as Xeryous Rouge. The berry notes are prominent initially but mellows down to a sweet ambery oriental that lasts a very long time.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Polo Blue by Ralph Lauren

    Not your average aquatic scent. The 'aquatic' note is implicit, due to the use of cucumber. Very refreshing and pleasant, quite inoffensive. Can definitely detect the 'Ralph Lauren house note' of oakmoss.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Baldessarini by Baldessarini

    A pleasant and masculine fragrance which is an well-balanced blend of mint and ambery sweetness (but not overly sweet)over a masculine tobacco base. Sophisticated and conservative. Strangely enough, I too get the feeling that this fragrance smells like crisp money.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Marc Jacobs for Men by Marc Jacobs

    Found it to be a very refreshing fragrance with the green notes from the fig and the nuttiness of the coconut combining to produce a surprisingly pleasant fragrance. It is quite different from all the run-of-the-mill fresh scents out there.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    M7 by Yves Saint Laurent

    Before I purchased M7, I was looking for fragrances that would fill in my gap of spicy and woody fragrances. Many basenoters recommended M7, which I bought blind. When I first smelt it, I knew this was exactly what I needed. Not only did it fill the gap in my collection, it brought in a construction team and built a whole new level on top. A truly magnificent scent that starts off with a mellow bergamot and quickly develops into a smoky, woody and ambery scent that is pure nose candy.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Avignon by Comme des Garçons

    One of the best incense-based fragrances I have ever smelt. It pulls you into its world and when you wear this you will have its aura surrounding you and anyone within noseshot.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Gucci pour Homme by Gucci

    A very dry, very smoky and very woody scent that is extremely masculine and stands out like a large block of wood. Great for colder weather as it comforts you in its dry heat.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Musc Ravageur by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

    Musc Ravageur is an awesome blend that takes you to a lemon tree in a lavender field on its topnotes. The citrusy-fresh accords transition seamlessly into a creamy vanilla yet retaining their zest. Hints of phantom chocolate titilate you like Maurice Roucel's moustache. Dries down to exotic, sensual, creamy woods

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Xeryus Rouge by Givenchy

    Fresh, fruity, ambery and sweet fragrance that has GREAT projection and longetivity (more than a day), so a light trigger finger is recommended. The initial fresh notes leave a faint imprint throughout the fragrance's duration.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Voleur de Roses by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    A unique fragrance that I only wear in special occasions. An earthy blend of rose and patchouli. Truly transports me into its mysterious, gothic and surreal garden.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Ultraviolet Man by Paco Rabanne

    Ultraviolet Man starts off with a fresh-minty blast which softens to a warm vanilla with a rich ambery sweetness. Highly versatile.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    The Dreamer by Versace

    The floral notes are well balanced with the dry tobacco and tarragon notes. Extremely masculine. Grat longetivity and projection power, use with a light hand.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    "Vintage" Tabaróme by Creed

    Smells like old mothballs, or some sort of cleaning agent. Feel that is it a bit 'of its time'.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Silver Mountain Water by Creed

    One of the most pleasant fragrances I have ever smelt. Tea, fruits and some implied aquatic notes completely rejuvenate my day when I get a whiff of my own sillage when wearing Silver Mountain Water.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Rush for Men by Gucci

    An extremely woody fragrance, feels as if the fragrance is one big block of cedar. However this is not negative, the pure simplicity of the woody-smoky blend makes me feel like a hippy lumberjack. Great for cold and wet Winter weather.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Romance for Men by Ralph Lauren

    Smells similar to Tommy, except with an additional note which reminds me slightly of urine. Overall it's a pleasant fresh scent with the common oakmoss note found in many Ralph Lauren fragrances.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Visit by Azzaro

    Perfect fragrance for a cool, damp Winter's day, going for a walk through the forest or drying concrete. The dry wooden frame of the spice cabinet are at the brink of ignition due to the presence of smouldering incense sitting below. Visit has been compared to Gucci Rush, although the two do bear an initial resemblance, Rush lacks the spicy development of Visit.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Platinum Égoïste by Chanel

    Herbal and citrusy topnotes dominate at first, but the woody/mossy nature is unveiled. The herbal notes linger with the woodiness. A very classy scent.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Odeur 53 by Comme des Garçons

    Wow! What an experience it is to wear this fragrance. A complex mix of various familiar synthetic smells that had me wondering where I had smelt many of the notes from.

    29 September, 2005

    rating


    Nightflight by Joop!

    A fresh and soapy fragrance that I feel is in the same idea as Platnum Egoiste. Very different from JOOP Homme, Nightflight is an initially sparkling citrus fragrance which develops into a fruity-soapy floral that never loses its masculinity.

    29 September, 2005

    Showing 1 to 30 of 69.