Reviews by GenuineImitationLife

    GenuineImitationLife's avatar
    GenuineImitationLife
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.
    rating


    Yatagan by Caron

    What on earth is this? The smell of a sweaty chef after a hot day in the kitchen, chopping up massive quantities of celery, ladel-fulls of chicken soup with parsley and celery salt, and chunks of bloody black pudding. Very carnivorous.

    Perfume? Odour of a dubious kind certainly, but I wonder how anyone could want to wear this in any situation? Some things will always remain mysteries I guess.

    The weirdest "fragrance" I have yet encountered.

    18 August, 2006

    rating


    Grapefruit by Jo Malone

    Jo Malone Grapefruit is one of the most remarkable of all citrus scents. It succeeds in duplicating, most convincingly, the zesty cloud of mist that rises from freshly sliced grapefruit. The effect is so realistic, and the recognition so immediate that it uplifts the spirit, just as the smell of the real fruit would.

    This does not turn sour or sulphurus over time, like some grapefruit frags are prone to do, but remains fresh and bright throughout a wearing.

    Grapefruit lasts well for a citrus, but should be refreshed now and then during the day for best effect. A good one for layering with other fragrances if you are feeling adventurous!

    Highly recommended.

    06 August, 2006

    rating


    Cozé 02 by Parfumerie Generale

    This is fantastic! Dark, moody and exciting. The rich gourmand notes are delicious and more-ish. Straight away I loved this scent. It's truly unique.

    29 July, 2006

    rating


    Terre d'Hermès by Hermès

    So perfect. So lovely. This is a scent I could wear anytime. I get a warm amber-like glow from it; vetiver and woods at the base, and bright, sunny grapefruit on top. Everything is blended so harmoniously.

    Terre D'Hermès is a masterpiece. My favourite of all.

    29 July, 2006

    rating


    Idole de Lubin by Lubin

    What an exquisite composition!

    Idole sparkles darkly like opening a chest of old jewellery lined with velvet. A rich blend of delicious spice, rum liquor and smoky wood with the brightness of bitter orange peel soaring above, Exotic, complex and beautiful.

    29 July, 2006

    rating


    Isfarkand by Ormonde Jayne

    The pink pepper in this is wet and fresh, sharpened by the addition of juicy citrus; such a delicious combination. Everything about this unique scent is bright and colourful.

    Recommended for those who want something a bit different!

    29 July, 2006

    rating


    L'Eau Bleue D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

    Oh no! This has a horrid chemical flavour to it. Revolting.

    I see another reviewer used the word "toxic". I think that's about right.

    29 July, 2006

    rating


    Le Mâle by Jean Paul Gaultier

    I could not wear Le Male anywhere, and would not like to smell it on anyone else either. It horrifies me that anyone would willingly spend money on this atrocious concoction. What is it with Gaultier fragrances that they all have that depressing chemical tang? It's the fragrance equivalent of Diet Vanilla Coke or something, with dirty old paraffin mixed in for extra bitterness.

    Dreadful.

    29 July, 2006

    rating


    L'Homme Sage by Divine

    L'Homme Sage is such a delicious spice overdose that I seem to just want more and more of it; it certainly has an addictive drug-like quality.

    Top notes: saffron, mandarin, cardamom and lychee

    Middle notes: balm, aromatic woods, everlasting flowers and patchouli

    Basenotes: oak moss, amber and incense.

    There is a warm, emotional aspect to the fragrance. It has depth, sparkle and brightness. This is a very powerful scent and a small amount goes a long way; wonderful sillage and the longevity is exceptional.

    A unique and unusual fragrance that has quality and originality. Full marks!

    24 July, 2006

    rating


    Terre de Bois by Miller Harris

    One of the finest perfumes I've found so far, this is a gentle woodland/earthy aroma with warm amber overtones and intriguing spices. The drydown is sublime, long-lasting, and almost indescribable in its beauty.

    Terre de Bois is suitable for all seasons, but especially autumn I think. Each time I wear it new secrets are revealed; it always fascinates. So subtle, you might occasionally think it has faded, then suddenly it returns, in new richness, and the magic goes on and on.

    The Eau de Parfum comes in a beautiful 30ml crystal bottle; luxury defined.

    I am planning to get the 100ml Eau de Toilette spray also in the near future, and hope it will be as excellent as this EDP. I'm sure they would be very good layered together.

    24 July, 2006

    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000