Reviews by Fleurine

    Fleurine's avatar
    Fleurine
    United States United States

    Showing 31 to 60 of 125.
    rating


    Nuit de Tubéreuse by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    The SA from Barney's sprayed this one me the other day, as it was a personal favorite of his, and I was very pleasantly surprised. This to me is an airy aquatic floral (albeit somewhat synthetic) that is not overwhelmingly tuberosey. To me this is very niche- L'artisany, fresh and woody, much more sparse and spacious than I would expect a tuberose scent to be. But the tuberose does peek it's petals out here and there. Sexy. Incredible tenacity. Wearable.

    19 April, 2012

    rating


    Tubéreuse Criminelle by Serge Lutens Les Salons du Palais Royal Shiseido

    One of the strangest openings out there...

    19 April, 2012

    rating


    Muguet des Bois by Coty

    Top notes: aldehydes, orange, green leaves and bergamot
    Middle notes: cyclamen, lilac, jasmine, lily-of-the-valley and rose
    Base notes: sandalwood and musk

    This is a review, mostly, of the vintage EdT, but also layered with a touch of the vintage Parfum Extrait.
    The jus is supposed to be a yellow/green color, not brown as the one in the photo.
    The vintage bottle I have is the same, I am sure many many vintage versions of this fragrance are floating around.
    Anyway, what is going on here? Well, MdB opens on a strong bitter/ green note, with lilac and bergamot, which may take you through WWII era romance. You could find yourself sitting under a tree in a forest, near a lily of the valley patch, wearing a ton of hairspray. This may not be your cup of muguet. Maybe not yet at least.
    But, if you give it 20 minutes or so, you will start to get the Bois of MdB, along with some rose, more sandalwood, and more soapy lily. It's very nice. What it is NOT, is a sparkly, silvery or sheer Muguet. This is what I would call a wartime floral, similar to Caron's Muguet de Bonheur, but more with more woods. MdB has enough heft to withstand some times of hardship and desperation. It does transcend them.

    I had worn this 2-3 times, but it wasn't until I decanted some out of the enormous, bell-shaped 4 oz EdT splash bottle into a little atomizer that I could experience some of the many other notes listed.


    30th March, 2012

    rating


    Jicky by Guerlain

    OK, here I am on the 2nd floor of the Hotel de Place des Vosges in Paris, with the 6 foot french windows wide open above the 400+ year old Rue Birague relaxing after a lunch of celeri remoulade, and feuillete au fromage. As I have been all week, I am (still) wearing Jicky parfum. In the street below, Le 9 Birague Cafe is filled with customers enjoying their evening wine or cocktail and cigarette as well as the mild spring air. The famed flat twilight of spring in Paris, enhances the city's devastating and at the same time transcendent beauty. To me, Jicky is the smell of this Paris... a unique refinement, elegance, and creativity, supported by sheer humanity. I am fnding myself only wanting to wear it this week while I am here honeymooning.
    Basically, as another BNer (le MdM) explained to me Guerlain's organic approach to parfumerie is to embrace the smells of the body and exalt them, rather than to mask them. After wearing it for a week straight, I am going to having to agree with that. Jicky is a very pretty scent, that also has a bit of torrid passion mixed in there...but not too much. It smells to me, like skin but better, and I am finding that I crave the smell of it while here...I will have to see how it wears in NYC. I did however,pickup a 250ml bee bottle of the EdP at the Guerlain on the Champs Elysees.

    16 March, 2012 (Last Edited: 18 March, 2012)

    rating


    Ombre Rose L'Original by Jean-Charles Brosseau

    Notes: rosewood, geranium, rose, cedarwood, vanilla, ylang ylang, lily of the valley, orris, sandalwood, coumarin, musk and honey

    L'Ombre Rose (The Pink Shadow) in vintage parfum is my Valentine's Day fragrance. The name as well as the fragrance remind me of the dreamy Edith Piaf torch song "La Vie En Rose", swirling down a glamorous 1920's hotel hallway covered in gold and pink wallpaper and landing in a big powdery dressing room. If I could source enough of it, L'Ombre Rose (vintage) could easily be a signature for me, as it's a floral aldehyde with a delicately gourmand sensibility. A simple bouquet of soft flowers
    on top of a huge powder puff and somewhere in that scene, a fat little honey bee is buzzing around.
    Old-fashioned but not Old Lady, with a softness that seems to reference Guerlain. Hard as it may be to believe, there was at least one whispery soft treasure from the 1980's, L'Ombre Rose. A must for any
    powdery fragrance fan.

    15 February, 2012

    rating


    Muguet du Bonheur by Caron

    Top notes: neroli, bergamot and lily-of-the-valley
    Miiddle notes: jasmine and tincture of rose
    Base notes: musk, sandalwood and heliotrope

    The backstory of Caron's Muguet de Bonheur involves Caron House founder, Ernest Daltroff's apprentice, Michel Morsetti, who served as perfumer when Daltroff fled Paris during WWII. According to the information available, fragrances composed by Michel Morsetti include: Caron Coup de Fouet (1954), Caron Farnesiana (1947), Caron Muguet du Bonheur (1952), Caron Or et Noir (1949), Caron Poivre (1954), Caron Pour Une Femme (1949), Caron Rose (1949), Caron Tabac Noir (1948), and Caron With Pleasure (1949). So, Caron's Muguet de Bonheur has a very different aroma profile than Tabac Blond, En Avion, Narcisse Noir and the other heavies from this house (i.e. no Caronade). As a collector of Muguet scents, as well as Caron parfums, I was very excited to acquire a lovely glass-stoppered, .9 oz collectible bottle of MdB. While at the Caron boutique, I was informed by the SA that the fragrance is now also available as an EdP (while the EdT has been discontinued).
    So what does MdB smell like? To me, this is the scent of a well-scrubbed child in her starched white First Communion dress. A simple and modest Muguet opening on a shrill-lemony citrus note, and then filling in with the cleanest, soapiest lily of the valley I have ever smelled. The clean white musk in the base reinforces the uncomplicatedness of clean laundry. When you smell this, you might be shocked or disappointed at how basic the scent is, but for me, this is a proper Muguet. If you are looking for elegance or sophistication in a LOTV soliflore, there are more appropriate choices, but if you like your Muguet "vanilla", try the Caron.

    12 February, 2012

    rating


    Lily of the Valley by Penhaligon's

    TOP NOTES
    Bergamot, Lemon and Geranium

    MIDDLE NOTES
    Lily of the Valley, Rose, Ylang Ylang and Jasmine

    BASE NOTES
    Oakmoss and Sandalwood

    Penhaligon's Lily of the Valley is the tomboy of the Muguet soliflores. The addition of unusual notes like geranium and oak moss take what is usually an utterly feminine white floral scent, and cast it in a more complex chypre-like role. Do I detect teensiest weensiest bit of rubbery/leatheriness in there?
    If the Guerlain Muguet is Grace Kelly on her wedding day, and Diorissimo is Diana Spencer during her engagement to the Prince of Wales, then the Penhaligon Lily of the Valley is Katherine Hepburn in khakis and a polo shirt. Green, clean, and wholesome.

    12 February, 2012

    rating


    Coeur-Joie by Nina Ricci

    Notes: bergamot, hyacinth, gardenia, violet, orange blossom, Oriental rose, jasmine, violet, and iris from Florence

    If you have spent enough time in a major city like Paris or New York, you will know Coeur Joie. She is that arrestingly beautiful, tall, thin, immaculately dressed, mystery woman who you see on the street. The one you know MUST be a celebrity, yet from where you cannot place. She is alone, in the middle of an afternoon, not at work, strolling aimlessly through a fashionable neighborhood, wistfully window shopping. She has the right sunglasses, not too much. Her ivory colored coat puts just the right light in her face. She smiles easily. But, Coeur Joie doesn't give up her secrets easily. Maybe her love life is a bit *complicated*, or her family a bit *difficult* She has many more acquaintances than she she does friends. She may let you know a little something about her relationship with gardenia or iris, but you still don't feel you know her. Then you remember, of course, it's Coeur Joie, isn't she one of the sisters of L'Air du Temps? She must be, the perfect posture, the aquiline nose, AND the pedigree. I've read about her in the society pages. Always with those pretty sisters. Well, there she is. In person. What a nice surprise.

    10th February, 2012

    rating


    China Rain by TerraNova

    Notes: musk, lily, green notes

    This is one of the original clean laundry musk oils, very soothing and pure without being either overly soapy or powdery. A wonderful scent for a sensitive environments like certain offices. China rain could easily be worn by men, women, or children as it really just smells like freshly cleaned laundry from the dryer. And dirt cheap. Try it.

    31st January, 2012

    rating


    1000 by Jean Patou

    Top notes: coriander, green notes, bergamot and tangerine
    Middle notes: iris, violet, jasmine, chinese osmanthus, lily-of-the-valley, rose and geranium
    Base notes: sandalwood, amber, musk, patchouli, civet, oakmoss and vetiver

    In my humble opinion, Jean Patou 1000 is a vintage-only affair, as this fragrance has done extremely poorly in reformulation, however if you are able to track done a well preserved vintage then you are in for a decadent treat. 1000 is an opulent and abstract floriental with a heart of indolent osthmanthus and dark, complicated violets. Heady, intoxicating, narcotic.
    It is such a well-blended fragrance that comparisons to other scents do not come easily, although I was able to identify a distant relationship to Narciso Rodriguez for her, based on the osthmanthus note.
    The EdT wears like and EdP or stronger, with a touch a sweetness, velvety smoothness, and about a mile of depth. A scent with classic grandeur, if you get the right bottle.

    30th January, 2012

    rating


    (Untitled) by Martin Margiela

    Notes: Galbanum, box green, bigaradier, jasmine, incense, cedar, musk

    Untitled by Martin Margiela is an inventive, original modern take on the green chypre. Yes she does open with a bitter blast of green but in short order she departs from the expected trajectory, with the addition of some warm musky incense, orange, jasmine and amber, which lend Untitled much of the allure of a warm cuddly oriental. This is a fragrance that might get your attention, making you think, "who smells so good?", only for you to realize, it's you!
    Anyone who likes Chanel No.19, Vent Vert, or Miss Dior might find a new love in Untitled. But also, more interestingly, incense fragrance fans might find an expected match here as well. Give it a proper full wearing before you make up your mind.

    30th January, 2012

    rating


    Diorissimo by Christian Dior

    Dior Diorissimo is my go-to pretty princess scent. From 1956, she is very much a product of her wholesome, innocent era. She goes well with pearls and a sweater set.
    Warning, you may be accidentally transformed into any princess you want when you wear her. Princess Diana, Princess Grace,
    This fragrance is an obvious choice for a spring or summer wedding scent.
    Princess Diorissimo is a green lily of the valley soliflore with jasmine, ylang ylang and frangipani and it is HEADY heady heady, so beware.
    I find Diorrissimo somewhat perfumier than other great muguets (such as the most recent Guerlain, and CdG Lily), but the perfumey aspect allows Diorissimo to across as slightly more formal and polished. The dry down, however, is entirely muguet.
    Now, the more you research this scent, the more you will hear about how Diorrissimo has suffered in reformulation, and I would not doubt it. Although I have the modern EdT, and have no trouble wearing it. I would recommend at least sampling the vintage Parfum to anyone interested in exploring the LOTV note. A treasured fragrance to me, in my top 5 always.

    29 January, 2012 (Last Edited: 12 April, 2012)

    rating


    Dia Woman by Amouage

    Top notes: fig, cyclamen, bergamot, tarragon, sage and violet leaves

    Middle : precious and fresh flowers: peach blossom, rose oil, orange flower, peony

    Base: white musk, misterious incense, vanilla, heliotrope, cedarwood, sandalwood and Guaiac wood

    Created by Jean-Claude Ellena in 2002.

    Dia is a spacious white airy floral bearing all the best hallmarks of a Jean Claude Ellena creation. Very rosey, like many Amouages, and extremely well-crafted.
    Just heady enough, just sweet enough, just green enough, and rich and deep without being overly strong.
    Dia seems custom-made for me, and I would see it as a sister to the Jardin series fragrances Ellena has made for Hermes. A wonderful floral made without cutting corners, and the packaging completes it.

    29 January, 2012

    rating


    L'Air du Temps by Nina Ricci

    Top notes: carnation, peach, neroli, bergamot, rose and Brazilian rosewood
    Middle notes:rosemary, carnation, gardenia, violet, orchid, cloves, orris root, jasmine, ylang-ylang and rose
    Base notes: spices, iris, amber, sandalwood, amber, musk, benzoin, oak moss, vetiver and cedar

    I disliked this fragrance for so long, despite wanting to like it, and repeatedly testing it, I thought it smelled shrill and headachy and then I tried the vintage.
    Let me just say, that whatever yellow water they are churning out these days is not the same L'Air du Temps, the original fragrance by Nina Ricci.
    What L'Air du Temps should be is a thick, rich peppery carnation scent with
    a healthy dose of gardenia, and not really all that "airy" despite the name.
    I also find the Lalique dove/ splash Parfum bottle a little "much", clumsy and awkward to open.
    What I did come across online (and am very pleased with,) is a vintage Parfum spray tester.
    that provides a big spray of the classic vintage scent without all the packaging. That
    has been my experience with L'Air, If you can wrestle the original fragrance from all the subsequent branding and reformulations, it is sheer deliciousness.

    29 January, 2012

    rating


    Eau Dynamisante by Clarins

    Top notes: orange, coriander, caraway and amalfi lemon
    Midddle notes: rosemary, carnation and cardamom
    Base note: patchouli
    The first thing you notice about Clarins fragrances is that their bottles look like facial toner, or makeup remover and not perfume, so the first sniff is always very "blind". You don't really know what you are sniffing, or what you are supposed to do with it, and Eau Dynamisante is no different. First thing to know, is there are no rules with these fragrances, or any for that matter, but you can pretty much douse yourself with this, and it won't be overpowering.
    For me Clarins Eau Dynamisante is something very special, and of all things, minimal from the 80's, I am going to call it an EdT, although Clarins does not specify the formulation.
    Clarins is a clean citrusy woody skin scent that you could wear in almost any situation, from dance class, to school, to work, or out on a date. It doesn't scream sexy, but more like healthy, and put-together. It's a well-balanced understated somewhat masculine scent that smells wonderful on everyone. Clarins ED is a good scent to wear if you don't want to appear to be trying too hard. It would also be wonderful for those first evenings in August, when it is still hot and summery but there is just a hint of fall in the air. A wonderful buy for the price.

    24 January, 2012

    rating


    Fleur de Fleurs by Nina Ricci

    Top notes: aldehydes, green notes, bergamot and lemon
    Middle notes: cyclamen, rosemary, magnolia, iris, lilac, jasmine, hiacynth, ylang ylang and lily-of-the-valley
    Base notes: sandalwood, musk and civet
    To me this is a classic Nina Ricci floral on a slightly richer base, that sets it apart in maturity from the other young lovelies in the Ricci line-up. While Fleur de Fleurs is still very feminine and soft, it also has a slighly bolder, womanly aspect, that is the teensiest bit sexy.
    FdF opens with a lavish cloud of sweet flowers, from which I was able to discern something purplish like violette, iris or lilac as well as the famous Ricci flowers. Immediately, I noticed that Fleur de Fleurs has more staying power than some of her sisters, which I definitely appreciate. For some reason, although they do not smell similar, FdF reminds me of Guerlain's Insolence as they are both classic French florals, with a sweet strong thickness that gives it some presence and strength.
    As is true with all NR, these must be experienced in the vintage to be properly appreciated.

    23 January, 2012

    rating


    Farouche by Nina Ricci

    Top notes: aldehydes, mandarin orange, galbanum, peach and bergamot
    Middle notes: honeysuckle, carnation, iris, lily, clary sage, jasmine, lily-of-the-valley rose, geranium and cardamom
    Base notes: sandalwood, amber, musk, oakmoss and vetiver

    Count me in as a Farouche fan! This is a grand Parfum in the classic French style. A creamy, snowy white floral with a generous pouf of aldehydes, and a springtime twig of green over a mildly powdery warm base. The reason this type of fragrance can seem to smell generic, is because they have been imitated and copied so many times, but Farouche is an original.
    To me Farouche is a pretty princess scent, opening very formal and dressy but slowly evolving into wholesome, warm, flowery/powder/soapy innocence. Farouche is a girl-next-door in an old world French neighborhood.

    22 January, 2012

    rating


    Azurée by Estée Lauder

    top: basil, jasmine, and citrus
    heart: armoise, sage, spearmint, vetiver, and rose
    base: patchouli, moss, and amber

    I'm making my way through a set of Estee Lauder minis and it seems each is more fascinating than the one before. I'm now up to Azuree, and I can't believe how much I am enjoying this complex herbal citrus concoction.
    Azuree is a wonderful sparkling green aldehyde-laden chypre launched in 1969, and she shares some DNA with several of her bell-bottomed siblings like Alliage, Cabochard, No. 19, Diorella and Miss Dior. There is a familiar bitterness in the opening, although in Azuree, this is also clean and citrusy, very smooth, and rather subdued. An interesting addition in this fragrance, are the herbal notes of sage and basil, as well as the earthy, herbal absinthe (armoise). To me, the base is a rather austere, oak moss, and vetiver. Just lovely.
    I have seen many reviews reference the Mediteranean beach, for which this fragrance is named, and in it's complexity, Azuree does evoke a cloudy but warm coastal spot, with a flourishing herb patch of basil, mint and sage, of a sleepy walled-garden with flowering orange trees, and cool moss climbing an old stone wall. Transformative.

    21st January, 2012

    rating


    Alliage by Estée Lauder

    Top notes: green notes (galbanum), citrus, peach
    Heart notes: jasmine, rosewood, thyme, pine needle
    Base notes: vetiver, myrrh, musk, oakmoss

    Estee Lauder's Aliage is a complex and challenging green chypre that caught me off-guard, by kicking off with a remarkably unfriendly but head-clearing blast of bitter greens, peach, herbs and citrus. Helloooo. This opening might make you question, "Why Aliage?"
    Ok, if you make it through a few minutes of that without either getting a migraine, and/or scrubbing it off, then you could be in for a real treat.
    Aliage then starts opening a wonderful wicker picnic basket of surprises for you, deep in the forest, as you spread out your blanket in the shade underneath the soft fir trees.
    Aliage takes some of the bitterness, and slowly start to transform it into piney powdery woodiness, with a hint of jasmine and musk, and I would not be surprised to find out if juniper was in there as well. Although marketed as a "sport" scent, this doesn't smell like a gym, or locker room shower. Aliage to me is about the great outdoors, a cold wet morning in the forest that warms and dries in the sun. Very good.

    21st January, 2012

    rating


    Beautiful by Estée Lauder

    Top notes: Mandarin, rose, tuberose, marigold, lily
    Middle notes: Floral, ylang-ylang, jasmine, orange flower
    Base notes: Vetiver, sandalwood

    Estee Lauder's Beautiful is an iconic modern classic, in the same way as is Princess Diana's Wedding Dress. Enormous. Formal. Impressive. Luxe. Overdone. Not Sexy. Hard to Wear. Aloof. Regal. And did I mention 80's? This lady is loud and proud, with monster sillage a la Chanel Coco. It comes as no surprise that EL has marketed this for decades as a bridal fragrance.
    Beautiful has about every heady floral note going, from lily to ylang ylang to marigold, and vetiver in the base, for added formality.This fragrance is a hybrid of a floral/green/chypre. While I think I would have hard time wearing it, I do like it. It feels like a spring wedding to me, but a wedding of a *certain* type.
    If you plan on gathering 300 or more of your closest friends and relations in a formal sunny room, and are wearing a huge silk and tulle poof dress, and you need your fragrance to project "Beautiful" to the very last row, then this may very well be your wedding fragrance. A big scent for a big day.
    :)





    21st January, 2012

    rating


    French Cancan by Caron

    You are sitting at the bar in a small jazz club in Paris, where maybe at some point in the place's now-remote past, a few working gals once did a French CanCan. But the place was renovated a while ago. It's twilight in the spring, and the early flowers are finally here.
    The piano player flips open a notebook. He starts the intro, laying out a thick carpet of chords. A waitress walks by with a tray. And the singer steps up. He's tired, but in voice, and starts..

    "The scene is set for dreaming, love is knocking at the door.
    But oh my heart, I'm reluctant to start, cause we've been here before..."

    You are thinking, what song is this? I know this song. But what is it? You order a champagne cocktail, and go back to listening.
    What is the name of it this song? The singer sounds good, and continues...

    "The night is like a lovely tune,
    Beware my foolish heart..."

    Oh right. Of course. It's My Foolish Heart. How quaint. How romantic.Well, let's see if this guy can pull it off. You stare out the window into the flat blue twilight, wondering, is there a garden around here? The singer's pitch is dead on, and he's sailing over the high notes...

    "How white the ever constant moon
    Take care my foolish heart"

    You wonder, who is this guy? Have I ever heard of him?
    The wind carries the scent of some night-blooming flowers into the room, so delicate and intoxicating. Jasmine, Ylang-ylang.
    You remember you're in Europe, not New York, and take a sip from the glass.
    This guy is killing. He's right in the groove...

    "There's a line between love and fascination
    That's hard to see on an evening such as this
    For they both give the very same sensation
    When you're lost in the madness of a kiss"

    And you just start watching him, now more like as a fan, than a critic. And you notice, man, the band is good too. The bass and drums are so solid. Locked in, they are just laying it down. He's at the top again...

    "Her lips are much too close to mine
    Take care, my foolish heart"

    Oh, geez, violets. That's the smell that's blowing in from outside. Are roses is season yet? The singer is smiling at you, so you smile back.

    "But should our eager lips combine
    Then let the fire start"

    And patchouli. You notice your face is flushed, maybe from the alcohol. But this band is so good it's embarassing. Baby powder is wafting up at you from inside your shirt. You glance around. The room filled up quickly. The piano player tosses out the last eight bars, and the singer drives them home.

    "For this time it isn't fascination
    Or a dream that will fade and fall apart
    It's love, this time it's love
    My foolish heart"

    And you wonder what you just experienced, at first you think you might know, but still you can't really describe it. How can such an old song with these goofy lyrics be so alive to you tonight? How can a thing transcend time like that? But what you do know is that it was pretty, and more than that, it made you happy. And you finish the drink, pay the tab, and walk out into the fading light.



    03 January, 2012

    rating


    Kelly Calèche by Hermès

    Wearable and wonderful. A floral leathery scent with a touch a sweetness. Ver clean and a compliment-getter.

    22 December, 2011

    rating


    Tubereuse 40 by Le Labo

    Very nice classic neroli and tuberose. Like the Fleurs D' Oranger of Lutens, but fresher and lighter and with a dash of citrus, and no spice note. A very summery tuberose EdP, and a standout in the Le Labo line. LOVE.

    21st December, 2011 (Last Edited: 14 May, 2012)

    rating


    Aqua Allegoria Lilia Bella by Guerlain

    I'm a huge LOTV fan, especially Guerlain's muguet. This is a nice, almost but not quite old-fashioned, fresh Muguet / lilac floral scent that sent me scouring the Internet for more lilies and more lilacs. Although I am not always "with" the aqua allegoria line, I am definitely with AA LB. There is a medicinal or moth balls note in there, which I think is actually interesting and well done. I really like it. It 's doscontinued. What else is new. If you come across one, and florals excite you, give it a try.

    17 December, 2011

    rating


    Love Etc... by Body Shop

    A pretty lollipop by Dominique Rupion, well worth the $12.99 I spent on it. Thumbs up!

    18 November, 2011

    rating


    Baiser Volé by Cartier

    I thought this was nothing special...but the bottle with the flip top os very nice.

    29 October, 2011

    rating


    Absolue Pour Le Soir by Maison Francis Kurkdjian

    This is a wonderfully decadent amber/incense/honey rose scent that lives up to it's name. There is nothing low cal, low-fat, low carb or anorexic about it. APLS for the woman or man who is looking for a big lush sensual fragrance.
    It juxtaposes two Marie Antoinette-type notes together, skank and powder, which actally works very well. To my nose, APLS belongs in the same family as L'Ombre Fauve by Parfumerie General and Labdanum 18 by Le Labo.
    Snuggly in the winter air.
    But don't say I didn't warn you.

    08 October, 2011 (Last Edited: 12 April, 2012)

    rating


    Black Fleece for Women by Brooks Brothers

    This is a wonderful and abstract incense/amber scent in the family of DK Black Cashmere, Keiko Mecheri Oliban, Jospeh Statkus EdP, and Tauer L'Air du Desert Marocain. Unique and unisex, dry, with both a earthy warm base accord, as well as some well done citrus top done. A must-sample for incense lovers.

    03 October, 2011

    rating


    Insolence Eau de Toilette by Guerlain

    I like this little violet candy...I can't help but think of Howard's violet candy that is in deli's all over NYC. This is a reinterpretation of L'Heure Bleue? Well, hmmmm...there is no spicy carnation here...and less pronounced vanilla, although it is sweet. This is a violet soliflore to me, so it mostly depends on how you feel about that specific note. I find this a fascinating well composed and sweet sweet little lady.

    22 September, 2011

    rating


    Shalimar by Guerlain

    Just incredible. I'm wearing it right now.

    The Shalimar ad says it so well in the tag line, "As close to forever as a perfume can go."

    The classic amber, complete with a colorful lineage.

    Everyone should do themselves a favor and at least sample it.

    18 September, 2011 (Last Edited: 27 January, 2012)

    Showing 31 to 60 of 125.