Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Francois Blais


Club Aficionado by Jeanne Arthes

Smells rather simple and nondescript.
Fresh sweet woody scent.
Smooth, stays close to the wearer.
Nice but nothing to call home for.
Can be interesting for someone on a budget since it has a good quality/cost ratio.
25th September, 2015

Lanvin L'Homme by Lanvin

I used to have a few bottles of this along the years.
Got a full bottle recently, and it's a rediscovery!
In fact, I'm wondering if the formula didn't change somewhat.
The citrus top seems more tamed, and the bottom rounder.
Overall, the scent has more body while still being light and clean.
29th June, 2015

Les Notes de Lanvin : Vetyver Blanc by Lanvin

Beautiful dry woods summer scent.
Light, but still elegant and smells natural.
14th June, 2015
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Acqua di Selva by Visconti di Modrone

Really nice, natural-smelling cologne with an herbal piney character, but could have more strenght and longevity.
It's very light and short-lived, sadly.
09th June, 2015

Fathom by Dana

Nice work.
Another cool-water derivative, but less citric, more lavender and woods.
A clean and fresh scent, uncomplicated but basically gets the job done. :)
05th June, 2015

Oxford Street by Hugh Parsons

I don't really like this one. (though it's not bad)
A spicy rose scent, similar to Déclaration d'un soir and Habit Rouge Sport.
Too spicy to my taste.
27th May, 2015

Hugh Parsons (Yellow) by Hugh Parsons

If this is what's been called "King's Road" now, it's nice woody-spice lemon scent, with some barbershop notes thrown in.
Rich and complex, very nice for the warmer seasons.
27th May, 2015

Whitehall Street by Hugh Parsons

A soft, nice peppery vetiver scent, perfect in all occasions!
22nd May, 2015

Florida Water by Murray & Lanman

I must admit I smelt this stuff for the first time today, at 55! :)
When I was a child, there was a bottle sitting on the bathroom shelf.
A gift from my godmother to the family, and it was never opened. (no idea why!)
A few days ago, I saw a bottle at my local pharmacy.
This stuff is now in a plastic bottle, but the label is exactly the same as in memories.
It was a glass bottle back then.
Bought it today, and finally tried it!
My god, this stuff is way much better than I expected! :)
I was ready for a thin, dry, cheap citrus scent, but this stuff smells quite natural, and is also spicy and has a round sweet base.
I'll probably use it as an after-shave during the summer, along with 4711.
12th April, 2015 (last edited: 13th April, 2015)

English Leather Spiced by Dana

I love this one!
To me it smells like a mix of English Leather and Old Spice, but it's better than the sum of these parts!
21st March, 2015

Vetiver by Dana

Just bought this blindly for $14 on Fragrancex and I must admit I'm pleasantly surprised!
It's soft, in the same mood as Malizia, but IMHO much better.
Could be compared to Chopard's Noble Cedar as well.
21st March, 2015

Iceberg The Fragrance for Men by Iceberg

This scent smells quite similar to Brit for men.
It's however softer and spicier.
A nice alternetive if you like Brit but find it a bit sharp as I do.
02nd February, 2015

David Beckham Homme by Beckham

Nice aromatic fougère!
I get mostly wood from it, but it's not a bad thing. :)
I think it's a scent for a mature man.
This one and Instinct are excellent products with a very affordable pricetag.
23rd December, 2014
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Quartz pour Homme by Molyneux

A nice fresh woody scent, although I enjoy Silver Quartz more than this one.
There is an apple note (olfactory illusion?) up top, but it's not the hissy crab apple note of Cool Water.
Here, everything is more understated.
Like Silver Quartz, this would make a great office scent.
30th August, 2014

Quartz Silver pour Homme by Molyneux

Honestly, I bought this blind and was ready for the worst.
But it's actually very nice, a fresh spicy scent in the lines of Déclaration de Cartier.
Very affordable, it's a pleasure to wear.
Can be a nice scent for the office.

30th August, 2014

Sculpture Homme by Nikos

I'm so happy I discovered that one!
Bought it blindly and don't regret it!

The scent is quite close to Minotaure, my very first scent about 20 years ago.
It's lighter, and it's a good thing because you can easily wear it in the summer.
The tobacco trail is lovely.

Two thumbs up!
24th August, 2014

Tokyo by Kenzo

Could have been great, but too soft and shy.
Kenzo pour homme Boisée is much better!
07th August, 2014

Ultrasense by Jil Sander

Not bad, but not great either. Made by Coty Prestige.
A safe scent for the office.
The scent itself smells of citrus and violet-leaf to me.
Throw in some spices and woods, stir, and voilà, you have Ultrasense.
Mellow and inoffensive, don't expect a wow from this one.
07th August, 2014

Les Notes de Lanvin : Oud & Rose by Lanvin

Actually a very nice one.
I'd have given a thumbs up if it wasn't for the more feminine phase in the middle if its development.
Start and finish are definitely masculines though.
16th July, 2014

Vizzari by Roberto Vizzari

I mostly agree with SirSlarty on this one, but don't really get the Zino similarity though.
It's nevertheless a very good fresh woody oriental, not overpowering like many scents in that style.

P.S. This is incidentally the best use of nutmeg I've found yet in a scent, by the way!
25th March, 2014

Loud for Him by Tommy Hilfiger

Very nice modern masculine floral scent.
The patchouli and tobacco are giving the right amount of depth to the rose top note.
The first TH scent I like!
07th March, 2014

Kenzo Pour Homme Boisée / Woody by Kenzo

Nothing ground-breaking here, but a nice spicy woody smell that stays close to the wearer so it's a safe scent for the office.
Got it blindy in a swap, and I'm happy I did.
The original Kenzo was more original, but also kind of harder to wear in real life.

2014/08/07 edit:
The more I wear it, the more I like it!
I get a very nice leather feel under the spices that's great!
28th November, 2013 (last edited: 07th August, 2014)

Salvatore Ferragamo pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

Nice stuff!

The comparison to Déclaration de Cartier is obvious.

Granted it doesn't smell the same, but uses the same structure.

Also, there's cardamom in both of them.

SF is a very nice woody spicy scent, ideal for the office, or when you need something that doen't project too much, but still carries confidence, elegance and maturity.

Pros: Confidence, seriousness, elegance
Cons: Longevity could be better"

02nd August, 2013

PS Onyx by Paul Sebastian

My favorite fougere these days!
A blind buy, and I'm very happy I did!
Smells very italian to me, spicy, rich, full bodied yet very warm and masculine.
16th April, 2013

Horizon by Guy Laroche

I was immediately reminded of Horizon when I tried Aramis' New West this morning.
However, i prefer Horizon to New West.
The calone (or whatever aquatic note used) fades more quickly, and the drydown is more complex and interesting than NW.
Stocked two bottles by the way... :)
11th April, 2013

Black Label by Mayfair

This is really a superb lavender scent.
Very natural, smooth yet solid, it's a joy to wear.
I see it like a man's version of their English Lavender scent.
It has more woods so feels more masculine.
12th February, 2013

Cabaret Homme by Grès

Excellent fougere that reminds me strongly of YSL's Jazz.
This one is darker, woodier and less green.
Good stuff!
20th December, 2012

PS by Paul Sebastian

Great barbershop type fragrance, and a real bargain!
The sage-lavender combo here is simply great, and enhanced by the sweet woody undertones, it has tremendous presence and masculinity.
Better on mature men though.
16th November, 2012

Homme Nature by Yves Rocher

I expected something that smelt natural, but it feels quite synthetic to me.
Fresh, but harsh and nauseating.
23rd June, 2012

Anucci Man by Anucci

Albeit a nice scent, this is not for me. (yet...)
Too feminine in the balance between the florals, the powder and the citrus top.
Don't get me wrong, I think it's nice, but I don't like it on me.
I don't feel comfortable with it.
16th June, 2012