Reviews by Francois Blais

    Showing 1 to 30 of 82.
    rating


    Les Notes de Lanvin : Oud & Rose by Lanvin

    Actually a very nice one.
    I'd have given a thumbs up if it wasn't for the more feminine phase in the middle if its development.
    Start and finish are definitely masculines though.

    16 July, 2014

    rating


    Vizzari by Roberto Vizzari

    I mostly agree with SirSlarty on this one, but don't really get the Zino similarity though.
    It's nevertheless a very good fresh woody oriental, not overpowering like many scents in that style.

    P.S. This is incidentally the best use of nutmeg I've found yet in a scent, by the way!

    25 March, 2014

    rating


    Loud for Him by Tommy Hilfiger

    Very nice modern masculine floral scent.
    The patchouli and tobacco are giving the right amount of depth to the rose top note.
    The first TH scent I like!

    07 March, 2014

    rating


    Kenzo Pour Homme Boisée / Woody by Kenzo

    Nothing ground-breaking here, but a nice spicy woody smell that stays close to the wearer so it's a safe scent for the office.
    Got it blindy in a swap, and I'm happy I did.
    The original Kenzo was more original, but also kind of harder to wear in real life.

    28 November, 2013

    rating


    Salvatore Ferragamo pour Homme by Salvatore Ferragamo

    Nice stuff!

    The comparison to Déclaration de Cartier is obvious.

    Granted it doesn't smell the same, but uses the same structure.

    Also, there's cardamom in both of them.

    SF is a very nice woody spicy scent, ideal for the office, or when you need something that doen't project too much, but still carries confidence, elegance and maturity.

    Pros: Confidence, seriousness, elegance
    Cons: Longevity could be better"

    02 August, 2013

    rating


    PS Onyx by Paul Sebastian

    My favorite fougere these days!
    A blind buy, and I'm very happy I did!
    Smells very italian to me, spicy, rich, full bodied yet very warm and masculine.
    Bravo!

    16 April, 2013

    rating


    Horizon by Guy Laroche

    I was immediately reminded of Horizon when I tried Aramis' New West this morning.
    However, i prefer Horizon to New West.
    The calone (or whatever aquatic note used) fades more quickly, and the drydown is more complex and interesting than NW.
    Stocked two bottles by the way... :)

    11th April, 2013

    rating


    Black Label by Mayfair

    Wow!
    This is really a superb lavender scent.
    Very natural, smooth yet solid, it's a joy to wear.
    I see it like a man's version of their English Lavender scent.
    It has more woods so feels more masculine.

    12 February, 2013

    rating


    Cabaret Homme by Grès

    Excellent fougere that reminds me strongly of YSL's Jazz.
    This one is darker, woodier and less green.
    Good stuff!

    20th December, 2012

    rating


    PS by Paul Sebastian

    Great barbershop type fragrance, and a real bargain!
    The sage-lavender combo here is simply great, and enhanced by the sweet woody undertones, it has tremendous presence and masculinity.
    Better on mature men though.

    16 November, 2012

    rating


    Homme Nature by Yves Rocher

    I expected something that smelt natural, but it feels quite synthetic to me.
    Fresh, but harsh and nauseating.

    23 June, 2012

    rating


    Anucci Man by Anucci

    Albeit a nice scent, this is not for me. (yet...)
    Too feminine in the balance between the florals, the powder and the citrus top.
    Don't get me wrong, I think it's nice, but I don't like it on me.
    I don't feel comfortable with it.

    16 June, 2012

    rating


    Citrus & Wood by Yardley

    A nice clean chypre, inexpensive but very well done.
    Longevity is average, but it's nice for office use.

    01st November, 2011

    rating


    L'Eau Homme by S.T. Dupont

    Very nice fresh scent for the summer.
    As stated previously, you get a ghost of Declaration through a more generic aquatic type of scent, but it remains above the competition with a better balance between the elements, and the tea notes which I love.
    Nothing ground-breaking, but much better done than other aquatics.

    10th September, 2011

    rating


    Preferred Stock by Coty

    A very nice fougere for a cheapo.
    There are better offerings in the genre, but for its price, it's hard to beat!
    I match it with the after-shave and find it smooth and not overpowering at all.

    01st September, 2011

    rating


    Pino Fifty by Silvestre

    I get a very cedary smell from his one.
    I give a neutral rating because longevity is quite short on my skin.
    Otherwise very nice.

    17 April, 2011

    rating


    Fresh Uomo by Trussardi

    I really like this one!
    Fresh, but still complex, and the fruit notes are not too strong, which I dislike in general.
    Thumbs up!

    11th January, 2011

    rating


    Lancetti Monsieur by Lancetti

    Reminds me strongly of Boucheron pour homme, but softer.
    Take Boucheron, tone it down, remove some floral and add some spices, et voilà!
    Excellent!

    25 October, 2010

    rating


    Edwardian Bouquet by Floris

    Amazingly good!
    Very refined, yet discreet, with a special "melancholy" aura.
    Something reminds me of Eau de Guerlain, although it's not as citrussy.
    Great floral chypre, and very unisex as already said.

    24 September, 2010

    rating


    Burberry the Beat for Men by Burberry

    It took me two hours to figure out what other scent I know it was similar too: Lagerfeld Man. (discontinued)
    Lagerfeld is just more floral while The Beat is more peppery.
    But scents are nice, but I prefer The Beat.
    Soft and subtle, so good for the office when something smooth is desirable.

    08 May, 2010 (Last Edited: 11th March, 2014)

    rating


    Passion for Men by Elizabeth Taylor

    What a pleasant surprise!
    I got a bottle of this in a swap many years ago, and juice was probably turned bad, in retrospective.
    A great balance between sweetness, spices and leather.
    OK, it smells more like a drugstore-type fragrance, being somewhat on the synthetic side, but very nice nonetheless!

    07 January, 2010

    rating


    Dirty English by Juicy Couture

    Actually one of my favorite scents.
    Not loud, it has a great balance of woodyness, florals and spices in my book.
    I love the cypress in that one!
    A great office scent, very clean and masculine.

    23 December, 2009

    rating


    Antidote by Viktor & Rolf

    Nice stuff.
    Smells very similar to Cristobal pour homme, IMHO.
    (a bit of Canali thrown in too)

    19 November, 2009

    rating


    Sergio Tacchini by Sergio Tacchini

    My nicest recent discovery!
    I fell in love immediately!
    Soapy-green is what comes to mind, but I'm in total love with this scent, who may become my signature scent!
    (never thought I'd find it someday)

    11th August, 2009

    rating


    La Nuit de L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    Reminds me of Pi fraicheur.
    Not bad, but nothing new under the sun...

    11th June, 2009

    rating


    Aromatic Fragrance of Guajaco Wood by I Coloniali

    I love it too!
    Very nice blend of woods and spices.
    There may be some fruit note in, and I'm usually not fond of fruity scents, but I love this one!

    26 March, 2009

    rating


    12 by Jean Couturier

    The most similar scent I know is Sung Homme.
    Dark, spicy woody leathery chypre.
    Even better than Sung Homme, IMHO.
    We don't make this kind of scent anymore, unfortunately!


    Smelling it now five years later, it feels more like a classic fougere than a chypre.
    I get something similar to Polo, but without the pine.

    Great stuff nevertheless!

    01st February, 2009 (Last Edited: 30th January, 2014)

    rating


    Habanita by Molinard

    To my nose, this is the model upon which Jaïpur pour homme has been created.
    Jaïpur is spicier and habanita fruitier, but I feel they share a lot of similarities, and the same structure and feeling.
    Kudos!

    08 January, 2009

    rating


    Fraîche Badiane by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

    For those concerned, the comparison has been made with YSL pour homme (original, red packaging), not the newer L'homme YSL, which is indeed very different.

    There's some Annick Goutal flavor in this scent, to my nose.
    Excellent!

    17 December, 2008

    rating


    Jacomo de Jacomo by Jacomo

    This is a real beauty, and a complete rediscovery for me!
    Indeed, the start is heavy with the rubbery note, but it quicky settles into a very warm woody spicy aura which remains close to the wearer.
    Deeply masculine and comforting, it could be my ultimate cold season scent.
    Two thumbs up!

    03 December, 2007

    Showing 1 to 30 of 82.