Reviews by maggie

    maggie's avatar
    maggie
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 30 of 37.
    rating


    Parure by Guerlain

    Very nice. It is still available as eau de toilette (bee bottle like Apres L'Ondee). Lovely, soft, grown-up.

    15 December, 2007

    rating


    Ysatis by Givenchy

    Boy do i lurve this; luscious, elegant, dries down softly animale. what's not to like?

    20th May, 2007

    rating


    Vanisia by Creed

    Hmm. Not a classic vanilla; it's dry, even some sharpness to it. Not sure if it's a keeper, but i'm considering it. Nice option.

    20th May, 2007

    rating


    Fantasia de Fleurs by Creed

    Amazing how a scent can be over 100 years old and so wearable. Fresh, floral with a "shocking" dose of musk. Very nice indeed.

    20th May, 2007

    rating


    Panthère de Cartier by Cartier

    Totally agree with calchic on eau legere. it was a very nice surprise, esp. the drydown. light yet sexy. waiting to compare to original...

    11th May, 2007

    rating


    Calypso Ambre by Calypso Christiane Celle

    Here's the great thing about Calypso. Mimosa stands alone, but Ambre, as Gardenia are as close, equal or better than many scents out there. Can't afford
    Creed's Angelique? Try this. Gardenia can match Fracas. Just my observation.

    02 May, 2007

    rating


    Mon Peche / My Sin by Long Lost Perfume

    An extraordinary scent, exquistely feminine and superior to No.5. I found a tiny original on ebay (God Bless). Bravo to LLP securing the formula.

    02 May, 2007

    rating


    J'ai Osé by J'ai Osé

    I have had this scent in my stable since it first came out- pawned it off Mom. I don't wear it often, but- it's there. Maybe that's the definition of a signature scent.

    02 May, 2007

    rating


    Fleur Oriental by Miller Harris

    Very sexy and wearable.

    11th March, 2007

    rating


    1000 by Jean Patou

    I got prime samples of this along with Joy. Both are still top rank quality. This is Patou's sexy perfume, quietly, refined. Woodsy, soft, mossy, fern-like. Really impressive. I'd much rather wear something that will make a man mutter "what the hell was that?" and want to invistigate further rather than get the Tex Avery response ;).

    21st February, 2007

    rating


    Joy by Jean Patou

    Here is, as seen in all foregoing reviews, the rub. Perfume is a highly personal matter. What smells delicious on one, smells like vingar on another. Here is what I can say about Joy.

    I've sniffed and spritzed this before at some mid-level retail stores. No magic. Recently I got a set of samples which were either from Neiman Marcus or directly from Paris. Night and day.

    The Joy EDT was rosy, soft, ultra-feminine. High quality. What I expected from No.5 and sorely missed. It does not scream sex. I found it warm, alluring, soignee.

    21st February, 2007

    rating


    Calypso Gardenia by Calypso Christiane Celle

    Very nice. Fresh, as Lizzie said, but still instantly recognizable as gardenia. Warm, womanly never offensive or trashy. Better than Chanel's (which is still one of their best), because Chanel's is a more complex, finetooled, almost berry-like scent.

    16 February, 2007

    rating


    Noix de Tuberéuse by Miller Harris

    Miller Harris fragrances are def.high quality and of a high degree of natural ingredients, so much so that I'm not sure I'd be able wear them in the summertime.

    That said, I found NdT an even higher quality than Fracas (which more than one person described as smelling like bubble-gum). Two, it is heady and strong, so wear with care. Somewhere else it was mentioned women love tuberose scents, while I have yet to meet a man who likes them. give them vanilla and musk and you're it. God bless them :)

    I guess this means save this one for lunch with the girls or scare the broads at work :)

    16 February, 2007

    rating


    Coeur de Fleur by Miller Harris

    Ach, where do I begin. This is so lovely and ladylike and womanly, without being prissy. I was bowled over.

    As with the other Miller Harris scents, it does boast a high element of natural essences, therefore somebody who suffers with hayfever may have to do some juggling with it.

    Def. loverly tho.

    16 February, 2007

    rating


    Calypso Mimosa by Calypso Christiane Celle

    Just lovely. Fresh, sweet, flowery feminine, yet not cloying. It may need refreshing during the day, but sometimes that's a good thing. Dolce vita, dolce far niente scent. Can create a nice balance.

    16 February, 2007

    rating


    Ce Soir Ou Jamais by Annick Goutal

    Hmm, whilst yet footloose and fancy free-it's always good to note what's available to our feminine arsenal. I adore nahema, but this is nice.

    14 February, 2007

    rating


    Opium by Yves Saint Laurent

    There is truth to the notion certain scents work best with certain body chemistries.

    On certain women this is HEAVEN. The rest of us are left to shake our heads in dismay and plain old envy. It never blossoms to the beauty it simply is on these other women.

    ps. for a fragrance that is produced on such a huge mass-market scale, it is a masterpiece of quality. Truly.

    12 February, 2007

    rating


    Y by Yves Saint Laurent

    Not bad. Strict yet flowery but inoffensive. Haven't decided if it's for me but it could be very fitting for the right woman, type Stephane Audran.

    12 February, 2007

    rating


    Chance by Chanel

    Oy gewalt. Like a very pretty girl with the personality depth of a paper plate. Pass.

    12 February, 2007

    rating


    Coco Mademoiselle by Chanel

    Please make it stop. An affront of fake fruit and brain cell-eroding chemicals that reminds of nothing human or natural. It made the cat and the man recoil in horror and me run for the soap.

    Do yourself a favor. Save your dosh, buy anything from Woolworth's on the shelf and you still wouldn't be cheated. No shame in Tabu, Charlie, Norell, Love's Baby Soft, Intimate, Chantilly et al compared to this disgrace.

    At least they don't pretend to be mink.

    12 February, 2007

    rating


    Cristalle Eau de Toilette by Chanel

    Yes, the Eau de Toilette blend of Cristalle is still very lovely and seems to have kept its quality. This is the "good' Chanel.

    12 February, 2007

    rating


    Chanel Pour Monsieur by Chanel

    I do concur with jon remy. something's been happening to the Chanel fragrances. The recent batches have smelled different, watered-down and cheap. Worrisome.

    11th February, 2007

    rating


    Allure Eau de Toilette by Chanel

    Putrid. Should be renamed "Appalling". A vulgar, noxious cloud that seems to be the choice of females who already draw enough attention to themselves by their unpleasant nature (clawing, materialistic, shallow and predictably difficult and demanding towards all lesser mortals) and make themselves only appreciated by their abscence. Like this insult to Mlle. Chnel's philosphy 'Luxe is simplicity". Next!

    11th February, 2007

    rating


    Gardénia by Chanel

    this is great. and it's true, it doesn't smell like GARDENIA. Classy.

    06 February, 2007

    rating


    No. 5 by Chanel

    Lucky No.5 had Marilyn to tote it and now the impossibly romantic Luhrman commercial with Nicole Kidman. Chanel was above all- a top showwoman. Gifted designer.

    This scent is, however difficult to wear and overrated. Cold. Unsexy. Sorry.

    30th January, 2007

    rating


    La Nuit by Paco Rabanne

    Yup. definetely filthy. I was about 14 when this came out. My mother had gotten a tiny card vial as a sample and left it aside, uninterested. I sniffed it once, blushed up over my ears and slunk away, as if I had been caught reading a dirty book. Oh my virgin senses. Careful where you wear it.

    29 January, 2007

    rating


    Nahéma by Guerlain

    I've come to like this very much. I'm too delicate looking to pull off a full-blow oriental without coming across like Thumbelina wanting to be Verushka. :)

    The note top notes are indeed voluminous, but I must say not cheap-smelling. The delight of this scent is the warm, luscious dry-down, indeed Mata Hari like- but regular-cat size, not a snarling panther :)

    14 January, 2007

    rating


    Frangipane by Chantecaille

    I tried all four of Chantecaille's scents, namely Wisteria, Tiare, Frangipane and Le Jasmin. First of, much better quality than expected.

    The first (Wisteria) was too musty for my taste, Tiare was watery (not unpleasant, but not me), Frangipane very good, but also not something I could relate to.

    Le Jasmin was, however, just right. A delight. Discreet yet sexy. I'd wear it all year round, but esp. good in the warmer weather.


    29 October, 2006

    rating


    Calèche Eau Délicate by Hermès

    The "weakest" of the four scents I'e tried. Still better than many others out there. A soft, fruity top dries down quickly, it doersn't last long, but if you have experienced New York on a typical summer's day- that's about all you can take. Feminine, sweet, light.

    19 September, 2006

    rating


    Amazone (original) by Hermès

    A really great outdoor or run about town scent. Casual, but not too citrusy, still feminine. Thats the thing with the Hermès scents. Always feminine, but not like a "poule" or blowsy.

    19 September, 2006

    Showing 1 to 30 of 37.