Reviews by BlackAmberMoon

    BlackAmberMoon's avatar
    BlackAmberMoon
    United States United States

    Showing 1 to 30 of 119.
    rating


    Stella by Stella McCartney

    Adore Stella. Wearing it, I feel like a well-heeled British lady in the 1930s, walking through a garden in the early morning. A cool, slightly sweet breeze lifts the scent of dewy roses to my nose, as my dashing suitor steals a kiss.

    Vintage romance at its best. Bliss.

    05 February, 2012

    rating


    RSVP by Kenneth Cole

    My boyfriend has been wearing this lately, and I like it more and more all the time. The drydown is especially sexy and makes me want to bury my face in his chest. Masculine and erotic, it has an animalic quality that I love in men's fragrances. Thumbs up!

    16 June, 2010

    rating


    Asja by Fendi

    A great spicy oriental which deserves to be more well known. Reminiscent of both Poison and Opium, Asja is much softer and easier to wear. Previous reviewers have described it very well, so I won't repeat, but I am definitely a fan. The bottle reflects the perfume's character perfectly, and it also allows you to display the scent without exposing it to light - a big plus. Asja is a must try for fans of classic, spicy orientals. It's getting harder to find online, but can still be had for a very low price.

    30th January, 2010

    rating


    Opium pour Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    Love this in the EDT (I understand the EDP is very different, but have not smelled it). It's amazing on my boyfriend, drying down to a masculine woody scent with just enough vanilla to round it out without sending it into the candy zone. He wore it tonight while we were out to dinner, and it was just right--I'd catch a slight whiff of it now and then--perfect sillage. Wonderful masculine evening scent.

    26 July, 2009

    rating


    Covet Sarah Jessica Parker by Sarah Jessica Parker

    Sometimes yes, sometimes no. Really have to be in a certain mood to wear Covet. Occasionally it smells clean and fresh to me, but at other times the white florals and lavender are just too much and bother my sinuses. Be careful not to over-apply or it can smell like cleaning products!

    At least it's nice to see a mainstream release that's a departure from yet another fruity floral. I give SJP a lot of credit for trying to create distinctive and classy perfumes. Lovely is wonderful.

    24 July, 2009

    rating


    B*Men by Thierry Mugler

    A*Men induces the same nausea for me that the women's Angel does, but B*Men is just right. It's drier and more masculine, with just enough gourmandy sweetness to make it a romantic scent. I really like this on my man.

    24 July, 2009

    rating


    A*Men / Angel Men by Thierry Mugler

    Ummm....no. This is just wrong for a straight man. Much too sweet and feminine--nauseatingly so, actually. Prefer the more masculine B*Men.

    24 July, 2009

    rating


    Euphoria Men Intense by Calvin Klein

    Very nice amber oriental. Sweet opening, but becomes less so as the vetiver, herbs, and cedar emerge. It's sexy and cozy at the same time. Long lasting. Masculine. Definitely one I'll want my man to wear often, especially during fall/winter.

    05 July, 2009 (Last Edited: 11th July, 2009)

    rating


    Jasmin Noir by Bulgari

    Well behaved, classic-smelling, with a very subtle seductive edge. In keeping with the Bvlgari aesthetic, Jasmin Noir is not a "big" perfume; it sits quietly on the skin. Good for women who are looking for a sexy yet mature scent. Appropriate day or night, for most any occasion--it's quite versatile. Gorgeous bottle.

    27 June, 2009 (Last Edited: 16 July, 2009)

    rating


    Crystal Noir by Versace

    Screechy, loud white floral. Ghastly.

    27 June, 2009

    rating


    Kenzo pour Homme by Kenzo

    Kenzo pour homme stands out in the genre precisely because it does not have that dreaded synthetic "marine" note. It smells salty, herbal, and slightly spicy. Very nice. Excellent longevity, too. Only eclipsed by Bvlgari Aqva--to me, Aqva smells exactly like the ocean, whereas Kenzo smells like a grassy field slightly inland.

    14 June, 2009

    rating


    Rush by Gucci

    Read Luca Turin's positive review on this, and wondered if we smelled the same fragrance. I find Rush to be obnoxiously vile. I love a good powerhouse scent, but this thing is just a mess to my nose. C'est la vie...

    14 June, 2009

    rating


    CK In 2U Her by Calvin Klein

    Basically a trashy citrus/vanilla/musk, but I admit, I like it. It's friendly and easy to wear. The cedar in it is reminiscent of the original Burberry scent in the round bottle. Will undoubtedly appeal to teens and the college crowd.

    06 April, 2009 (Last Edited: 11th July, 2009)

    rating


    Eau Parfumée au Thé Blanc by Bulgari

    As much as I love the house of Bvlgari (and Cavallier), I feel The Blanc is the most uninspired of the tea line. Smells like an average skin musk. It's not awful by any means, just doesn't intrigue me.

    22 February, 2009

    rating


    L'Eau par Kenzo pour Homme by Kenzo

    Simple, refreshing citrus that dries down to an aquatic musk. Not a groundbreaker, but I like it much better than others of its kind. Topnotes are addictive. Though it's made for men, easily unisex. I like to wear it on hot days or when I'm exercising.

    22 February, 2009

    rating


    Mira Baï by Chopard

    Casmir on training wheels. Not terribly fond of the overly-zingy bergamot topnote, but once that fades, it's a pleasant, sweet skin scent. The praline basenote is delicious, but the whole effect is VERY subtle. This woody oriental is best suited for warmer weather...would disappear in winter. Love the adorable bottle. Still much more fond of its big sister Casmir, though.

    22 February, 2009

    rating


    Emporio Armani Diamonds Intense by Giorgio Armani

    I really like this one. Has more personality than the original. I'm a spicy oriental girl normally, but I've been searching for something more subdued and work-appropriate that still has personality. This fits the bill nicely. My male friend said it reminded him of a really nice cup of tea, in a good way. Gets sweeter as it progresses, but never morphs into candy, thankfully. I find it soothing and subtly sexy. Reminds me a bit of Still by JLo (perhaps it's the freesia?), but this is much better. If you like Still, chances are good you'll enjoy this one.

    20th February, 2009

    rating


    Prada (new) by Prada

    To me, Prada is an "Obsession Lite". More transparent than Obsession (and Prada has more patchouli), but it's an Obsession knock-off without a doubt. I still like it, though, but the lasting power is awful. If I had to choose between the two, Obsession wins hands down.

    05 February, 2009

    rating


    Lolita Lempicka Au Masculin by Lolita Lempicka

    Intoxicating and intriguing fragrance for men - there is really nothing out there like it. It has a BIG personality and LOADS of anise, so stay away if you're looking for something subtle. Some men might think it too feminine; it is quite sweet. Requires the right sort of personality to wear it well--it's not for everyone. Most certainly try before you buy.

    03 February, 2009

    rating


    Dirty English by Juicy Couture

    Dirty English is old-school - in a good way - just like Burberry London. I love these leathery, spicy orientals on men. Very sexy!

    28 January, 2009

    rating


    Private Collection Amber Ylang-Ylang by Estée Lauder

    Elegant, comforting, and sensual at the same time. Doesn't smell like Gaultier2 per se, but has the same effect: warm, sweet, skin scent. Loving it this winter!

    27 January, 2009

    rating


    Pleasures Exotic by Estée Lauder

    A clear, refreshing, green scent that I enjoy wearing when I need a lift. It smells clean without being soapy or using that dreadful "marine" note. Quite calming, too - I wear it when I practice yoga. Not a seductive scent; rather, it's great for the office and/or hot weather.

    26 January, 2009

    rating


    Un Jardin sur le Nil by Hermès

    Calming, refreshing, Zen-like fragrance that I love to wear while doing yoga or when I need to be transported to the fresh outdoors. So well done. Enjoy it much more than Mediteranee, which is too bitter.

    25 January, 2009

    rating


    Aqua pour Homme Marine by Bulgari

    As much as I adore Bvlgari fragrances, this is a big no-no. MUCH too much of that overly done, synthetic "marine" note that I can't stand. Enough already! The original Aqva is fantastic, however.

    04 January, 2009

    rating


    Aqua pour Homme by Bulgari

    Bvlgari nailed it with this one - this is the best aquatic I have ever smelled. I agree with previous reviewers that it does indeed capture the true smell of the sea - minus that awful, synthetic "marine" note (steer clear of the newer version of Aqva, which has this note in abundance). Classy, fresh, and sexy at the same time - well done! Beautiful bottle, too.

    04 January, 2009

    rating


    Blu Notte pour Homme by Bulgari

    This is a "mood" fragrance for me. As a woman, I receive many compliments when I wear Blv Notte for men - no one has mentioned that it smells too masculine. It's refreshing and rich at the same time, like those delicious ginger candies dipped in chocolate, yet the wood notes prevent it from smelling like food. My boyfriend wears it occasionally, too, and it is sexy on him as well. For those searching for something unique and eccentric.

    01st December, 2008

    rating


    V Absolu by Valentino

    Very likeable scent for me...not a must have, so I won't purchase a bottle, but would happily wear it if received as a gift. Enjoy the original, too.

    08 November, 2008

    rating


    Rose Essentielle by Bulgari

    Just beautiful. Feminine in the extreme, even innocent. Delicate rose mingles with violet and blackberries, giving it a youthful vibe. This is not your grandmother's rose. I picture this on a blonde bride, or a young woman lunching at the country club. Not a femme fatale fragrance, just a femme one....

    07 November, 2008

    rating


    Sensuous by Estée Lauder

    I really like Sensous. Doesn't bowl me over with originality, but it's a very pleasant, warm skin scent. It's subtle (once the initial pepper note burns off) and appropriate for most occasions. Similar in feel to Gaultier2. Nice departure for Estee Lauder.

    03 November, 2008 (Last Edited: 04 January, 2009)

    rating


    Xeryus Rouge by Givenchy

    Love this on a man, even if a bit sweet. Yum!

    31st October, 2008

    Showing 1 to 30 of 119.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000