Reviews by bonzo

    bonzo's avatar
    bonzo
    Germany Germany

    Showing 91 to 120 of 172.
    rating


    Rive Gauche by Yves Saint Laurent

    these were still times..........but these times are gone.....evrything has been said-great and outstanding fragrance!sophisticated,elegant and classical-a perfectly composed feminine fragrance.A really wonderful opening of aldehydes but at the same time a perfect drydown-you cannot get enough!Very well balanced and orchestrated.This is a fragrance that makes you dream of more.....Cool, glamorous and sexy!And a nice bottle!

    25 February, 2007

    rating


    L'Homme by Yves Saint Laurent

    yves saint laurent is to my opinion one of the really great genius of fashion.He launched the very interesting ysl pour homme as well as rive gauche and y pour femme-absolutely delightful.And now this!?yves saint laurent isn´t running anymore his company and he has left a longtime ago-very sad-he must be totally shocked!
    this scent is a cheap,vulgar and very simple edt and does smell as all the other stuff being launced in 2006-this is a bad smelling and boaring fragrnace and this company has reached the bottom-they can´t sink deeper! you spray it and nothing-you want to run away-it is a mixture of i don´t know what-you have smelled this so many times in all different variations and now they wanna make you believe that this is something unique or special or what?!Incredible that this company has the courage to launch such a bad,bad tasting water and on top they ask you to pay a lot of money for it!!Disgusting and ridiculous-incredible!
    anyway the bottle´s design is quite nice but the advertising with this so called actor is a huge deception-
    to my opinion at the end of the 70ties it was over-joy,tabac blond,first, bandit,eau sauvage ,jolie madame,vent vert,the old chanel and caron-these were times and what outstanding scents-nowadays they present the worst stuff you ever can imagine for an incredible amount of money?!where are the successors for the great,great germaine cellier,edmond roudnitska , ernest beaux, jean charles etc.
    the company of ysl should either ask ysl to come back or to have a look at chanel and jacques polge-he is doing a perfect and admirable job and now he has launched rue cambon-if you really wanna smell a perfect scent of 2006-then go to the next chanel boutique and buy them all-they are outstanding!
    But l´homme by ysl is really really sad and one of the worst perfumes ever made- a gifle pour toute la parfumerie!sorry monsieur saint laurent-come back and create something as gorgeous as rive gauche pour femme or y again-not to talk about your unforgettable haute couture-thanks anyway for a grat time in fashion.
    okay in conclusion-do not waste your money for a boring,uninteresting,short living fragrance of some spicy and fresh ingredients!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    23 February, 2007

    rating


    Sagamore by Lancôme

    this is a fresh,clean, light citrus scent.Well balanced,good start and nice drydown.In comparison to pour monsieur of chanel it is not so warm, sensual and smooth.Eau sauvage by christian dior is more intense and harsh- to much lemon.Sagamore is decent and pleasant eau de toilette.On the other hand it is simple ( what you may love).If you look for an outstanding scent,you want to inhale all the time, you want to become obsessed with, a scent that inspires you and makes you dream etc. then sagamore is definitely not the right choice.There are other perfumes that smell unique and very special-you will have to look at the old perfumes of guerlain, caron and chanel.

    23 February, 2007

    rating


    Jules by Christian Dior

    it reminds me of halston z14....woody, spicy and really intense and dominating.typical scent of the 8oies.very rich and aromatic-a full blend.for all those who long for such a fragrance are right.ito me this fragrance is too strong and too intense and unfortunately there is one ingredient htat bothers me too much-sad.
    oh if you wanna a leather scent-look for a creed scent or chanels cuir de russie-awesome!

    22 February, 2007

    rating


    Jicky by Guerlain

    unfortunately and despite of all the positive reviews it does not work for me.i find it too warm, too sensual,too smooth and too powdery.maybe it´s because i am addicted to the chypre scents and the aldehydes.jicky is shalimar and shalimar is pure vanilla.i miss the edges.jicky is too nice.

    18 February, 2007

    rating


    Eau Sauvage by Christian Dior

    beautiful bottle and great citrus scent-elegant and classical.Decent,discret,fresh, clean and light.i used to wear this edt for years and although i gave it up it remains an eternal and timeless fragrance that i can highly recommend to all the people looking for a good and well done scent.you don´t do any mistakes using this classical scent-very lemon and french.It may be a bit strong, herb ab´nd harsh but if you look for a smoother and warmer edt i can recommend pour monsieur par chanel.
    They will always remain and be there forever.......

    18 February, 2007

    rating


    Chanel Pour Monsieur by Chanel

    i have been using this scent for years but within the time i realized that, although it is a classical, fresh and clean scent-a nicely composed and well mixed fragrance of citrus and neroli-comparable to eau sauvage,bois de portugal,armani pour homme-to my opinion too warm and powdery i was missing the special note.it is a decent and discret scent.if you look for a sweet,warm ,sensual lemon fragrance with a little oriental touch it will be right for you.But if you look for a unique and special fragrance with depth and this very special touch of being outstanding you may look for something else.pour monsieur,devin,aramis etc. was ok in my twenties and thirties but then i discovered the secret scents....scents full of history and with a soul.....do not misunderstand me-pour monsieur is an elegant classical and nice scent but you may come to a point where you long for more-there are more subtle and refined scents-did you know that bois des iles from chanel is a kind of egoiste but definitely better, or the vintage bandit by piguet, blenheim bouquet and hammam bouquet-smell them and you know what iam talking about.smell tabac blonde,derby-and you will feel this sensation-pour monsieur is ok(like a good car)but the older you get you realize that there is more , a better one, heaven....(like a porsche 911 or an old ferrari, old aston martin....)okay?!pour monsieur is ok but there is so much more left to discover.....the old creed scents , the old chanel(take a smell of cuir de russie and you will feel something very,very special..this is perfection and far away from reality-this is the top(as an example)and this is what i am missing.....pour monsieur is nice and ok but not the perfect artistic work-not a rembrandt,monet,dürer etc.Getting older you will feel perfumes you will never ever forget....by the way JHL by estee lauder is a rembrandt too....an american...a perfect scent with a beautiful history,very personal,unique and really outstanding!

    17 February, 2007

    rating


    Canali Men by Canali

    not bad-a simple edt comparable to kiton for men,nothing special, quite boring-to take it once but you won´t ask for more-well it is not chanel,guerlain or caron...........it is canali-why do all have to launch a perfume???!!!

    08 February, 2007

    rating


    David Beckham Instinct by Beckham

    one of the worst and bad stuff i ever put my nose in-why are these people allowed to launch a perfume?this stinking fragrance is really causing bad dreams!you wouldnßt even take this stuff to clean the lavatory!

    08 February, 2007

    rating


    Agua Brava by Antonio Puig

    strong herbal annoying and nerving old fashioned perfumed spanish water!

    08 February, 2007

    rating


    Hammam Bouquet by Penhaligon's

    having tasted a lot of outstanding floral,fascinating,rich but unfortunately feminine scents i nearly was giving it up-but accidentally it was recommended to me and it has been one of my my most amazing experiences-hammam bouquet is a male-definitely a scent for a man!-perfume:rich, elegant,warm oriental,floral, classy and it so distinguished and decent!Discret and elegant-you feel it but it is never dominating, nerving or exhausting-you feel surrounded by the memories of a journey into the ancient oriental baths and palaces....oriental countries...and on the other hand it is the old british empire....you live the upper class life in a british colony....remember a passage to india or similar books....this perfume captures the complete british history...and as time goes by this scent becomes more and more interesting and fascinating...a fragrance with heart and soul.....it is absolutely a gentleman´s eau de toilette-so sophisticated and exceptional-a timeless really great scent specially for those who look for the unique!Absolutely gorgeous-you can´t describe the perfection of this scent-you have to taste it!and 1872-are there any questions?!hey it´s 2007 and hammam bouquet is a thrilling and outstanding scent!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    07 February, 2007

    rating


    Dior Homme by Christian Dior

    i have tried a sample but it is a huge deception.Sadness!If you have a look at the outstanding fragrances launched by Dior specially ib the 50ties,60ties and seventies-Miss dior,Eau Sauvage,Diorissimo,Diorella this is really disappointing-very feminine,light and clean,warm Iris smell-it does not start that bad but within some seconds sweetness overcomes you and this scent reminds you of a cheap old ladie´s cologne...you feel it..powdery,dusty.a bit androgyneous-maybe for a slim, feminine boy of 20-definitely not a man´s scent!

    06 February, 2007

    rating


    Hermèssence Vétiver Tonka by Hermès

    nicely composed-well balanced note of vetiver-not too strong,quite smooth-very agreable.well the tonka note is ok but the more you know the fragrances of ellena you will get used to some mysterious and strange compositions and mixtures and at the end you may like the result.this one is ok-if you look for a tough and loud note of vetiver then take the scent of guerlain-if you look for something more distinguished and superb try annick goutal´s vetiver.this one is ok-not less not more but hermes has done the superb caleche -but in the end they should stick what they can do best: leather goods and ties! perfumes by hermes 2006 are ok but nothing outstanding or amazing-oh yes!the price is ridiculous high and not understandable!

    06 February, 2007

    rating


    Armani Eau Pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

    unfortunately the head note-the strong citrus and sharp lemon notes are dominating in a very strong way and within the time these notes become harmful and annoying....i am sorry but even if you spray a very,very small amount you do not feel the middle and basic notes-it is all about lemons and lemons-nothing else-a it stays this sharp-no harmony of the notes, a full and warm cologne-definitely not-clean lemons.Comparable to eau sauvage but not as complex and decent-armani is hard-cool-loud and the citrus very strong-too strong.pour monsieur is to my opinion the better choice-a warm blend, the ingredients better mixed and a nicer softer drydown.anyway armani 1984-the cool yuppies-no soul -no heart and this is reflected by the fragrance-choose an old guerlain, chanel or penhagalion´s scent-you feel the intimacy, the soul, love and the heart of a scent...

    01st February, 2007

    rating


    Eau de Guerlain by Guerlain

    fresh,light but to much citrus , too crispy and too harsh and herbal-after 5 minutes i go nuts because it feels unbearable-eau sauvage by dior is definitely better or eau imperiale by guerlain-not so intense and not so much citrus!

    28 January, 2007 (Last Edited: 02 June, 2011)

    rating


    Hermèssence Poivre Samarcande by Hermès

    hermes-leather goods, pure luxury and fascinating scents as caleche or eau d´hermes.now jean claude ellena presents hermessance.Poivre samarcande is a nicely composed scent-not less not more.quite spicy- lots of pepper but not disgusting.But the longer you use this scent you realize that it is nothing special and easy to substitute by something else-whatever....or to replace by -i don´t know what.You realize the simplicity of this scent the more you use it-a scent for the masses-totally overprized and definitely not a masterpiece-nothing exquisite, nothing special, nothing to remember-oh, spray it wherever you like to- if you really want to feel and smell and taste great unforgettable scents-being fine, sublime,distinguished and eternal then give a try to scents launched till 1975-the old guerlain,chanel and caron scents-these are real scents-have you ever tasted cuir de russie?what a scent....well balanced, you feel the whole history about it and you´ll never, ever forget this unique and superb smell of leather.....hermessance are replacable, quite boring scents, too expensive and definitely not timeless masterpieces or alltime favourites......put your nose into the old dior,chanel, caron, carven,gres,piguet flacons-and then you will know what great scents are!but only then.....

    28 January, 2007

    rating


    Après L'ondée by Guerlain

    another great scent for all times-if you smell this scent you can feel what is meant.....after the storm,the sun shines again, the wet grass, the wind brings all different kind of smells-all this and much more has been captured by the perfumeur.Amazing how all the different feelings and emotions after a storm have been transferred - you can really feel the smell after the storm-what an intelligent scent.What an incredible work -perfect!I remember on a flight from Hongkong to frankfurt an amazing looking lady in her 50ties-the purserette-walking by-i never ever will forget the way she walked, thick,long curly hair, beautiful legs and the way she looked-and the smell of her perfume....it will always be on my mind and at the end of the flight i asked her and the way she glanced at me and replied....apres l´ondee.....unbelievable!she was this scent!this is perfume making on the highest level!as all the old guerlain scents.....

    28 January, 2007

    rating


    Quadrille by Balenciaga

    one of the great etrnal masterpieces of perfume making-there is nothing to say about it-try it and you know what´s about-very elegant,classical and unique-perfectly composed-perfect harmony and balance of ingredients!Amazing -and a scent for a good looking, elegant and charismatic woman! not a girl-a real woman!

    28 January, 2007

    rating


    Vol de Nuit by Guerlain

    this is really a milestone in perfume history, as many other scents launched by guerlain-timeless,but with an inmortal history and you are a part of it.....very special, difficult to describe and to analize....a secret of ingredients-soft, warm but daring and a bit harsh on the other side...daring, coming, leaving and being again there...and you love to inhale the touch you are surrounded by.It is always in the air, in so many different ways-in my eyes it is well suited for a man.Never exhausting or boring-when i tried it for the first time i put it on my wrist- it was ok -i left the store and hours later i felt suddenly this amazing perfume all around me...but always in very very small doses coming in....and i was longing for more and more.....and i went the next day straight away to the perfumery and bought the edt.Vol de nuit is exceptional, very special and too dificult to describe what it is and what you smell....but it changes permanently it´s colours....so many different colours....what a picture...vol de nuit is a perfume for conaisseurs, vol de nuit is the top of the top!

    16 January, 2007

    rating


    Déclaration by Cartier

    again a famous and very well known house of jewellry tries to launch a perfume-why?!.It is a waste of time and money!Again the will to make more money but it ends in a desaster.....declaration is a fruit basket,badly composed,definitely to intense and sweet for a man,to powerful in the head notes,the drydown is ok but in conclusion:fresh,clean,simple and ordinary-nothing special or interesting.If you look for a jeweller who has succesfully launched a perfume ,have a look at van cleef and arpels or boucheron-great scents!But Cartier´s declaration is a declaration of having lost the battle......If you look for a decent, interesting and memorable perfume then have a look at chanel, robert piguet, guerlain, caron etc-the great eternal french perfumeurs-and specially the scents of the last centuries-unbelievable classy and good!

    10th December, 2006

    rating


    Un Jardin sur le Nil by Hermès

    similar to un jardin en mediterranee but not so nerving and exhausting.It is a fresh and clean scent-herbal,spicy and some fruits....definitely a feminine scent!Not my cup of tea-would never give it as apresent to a woman-again quite boring,stining edt!

    12 November, 2006

    rating


    Un Jardin en Méditerranée by Hermès

    fresh,spicy,harsh,exotic-a very intense and powerful opening with to many impressions and too much of everything.The drydown becomes a nightmare-a long lasting spicy and dry scent.Makes you dizzy and rousy and nauseas.....To my opinion very feminine-badly balanced and not well composed!

    12 November, 2006

    rating


    Obsession for Men by Calvin Klein

    nicely composed-oriental,warm and sensual-seduction,attraction, sex and lust-that´s obsession.....but there are definitely better fragrances.....

    12 November, 2006

    rating


    Havana by Aramis

    one of the good perfumes launched in the 90´s -a decade where most of the perfumes launched were simple cheap trush!Havanna is dark,smoky,virile, unique scent.Everything very well put together and it reminds you of cuban life-tobacco,sun,handsome and dark men hanging around and chilling out.....Very nice bottle and package!Spicy,woody-long lasting, powerful and intense-really a good edt!

    12 November, 2006

    rating


    Envy for Men by Gucci

    okay,nice bottle and package.warm oriental and sensual scent for a dreamer, an androgynous type.....very gucci, very tom ford -this is the time when men became thinner and thinner, would wear very tight open shirts and jeans...everything very metrosexual, vain skinny boys.....if you are one of these guccimania slim guysgirls then this edt is right for you....the scent is quite intense, a bit sweet and lasts long.

    12 November, 2006

    rating


    Eau d'Orange Verte by Hermès

    A fresh,intense orange scent for summer.Maybe a bitt harsh and bitter but not uncomfortable.Lasts quite long.Nice opening, drydown ok if don´t spray too much.To me it´s a nice edt but nothing more.A bit boring.If you look for a great edt then please have a look at chanel, patou,guerlain,caron etc-there you will find great, really interesting perfumes!But if you wanna say -oh it´s hermes....then choose orange vert-it is as boring as the whole brand-and, this edt is definitely not very masculine.....metrosexual?androgyn?better for a boring,elderly,conservative lady.....

    12 November, 2006

    rating


    Aramis 900 by Aramis

    yes it is aromatics elixir for men!men??dry,sharp,herbal and floral notes,soft,sensual and warm and, as it has been said, with a feminine touch.Somehow unique,special but a bit old and dated.To me this fragrance does not fulfill my expectations-the mixture is not bad and the opening nice but the drydown is chaos.I want a scent to surround me as a wind breeze,you feel the touch of the perfume, it accompanies you discretely,in a decent and an elegant way-well aramis 900 is too much-too herbal,too dry,and even somehow exhausting....it is to present-put it on and it´s like poison-too impulsive to potent and within the time it is not getting better-it is a mass,chaos-all the indredients are getting nuts-where is the feeling of a great scent?the feeling of a perfect composition-this is bartok and not mozart,if you know what i mean...i wanna enjoy a perfume and feel the well balanced substances but aramis learned-have a look at JHL-PERFECT and MARVELLOUS!!!

    12 November, 2006

    rating


    Par Amour by Clarins

    oh my god-another great skincare company in search of more money-please stick to your roots and leave your fingers away from stuff you have no clue about!!!!!!!!!pricely exaggerated and badly stinking perfume-you will break up your relation using this so called perfume.....there won´t be love anymore-ladies if you love perfumes-have a look at caron,guerlain,patou,chanel and even estee lauder launched such great perfumes as private collection,white linen,youth dew etc.

    11th November, 2006

    rating


    Echo by Davidoff

    oh my god-what a shame and deception for the whole perfume industry-what a bad,simple and unintelligent scent-what did they think while producing this stuff?Boring, simple,a smell of what?- no this stuff should be forbidden....what´s the matter with this company???

    11th November, 2006

    rating


    Gucci pour Homme by Gucci

    very nice package and bottle.not my kind of perfume but nevertheless ok.spicy,woody,warm.well composed,very tom ford,very gucci-so, if you are one of these gucci boys and into the whole gucci mania you may like it....
    anyway-a good perfume is something else to me......

    11th November, 2006

    Showing 91 to 120 of 172.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000