Perfume Reviews

Reviews by mademoiselle_nicole

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 61

Sortilège by Long Lost Perfume

Ladylike but not at all outdated or boring. Classy and chic. Sth Lauren Bacall could wear. Soft, not loud but yet undeniably enigmatic While clearly a fragrance transporting the vibe of the 1950s it is by far not what the old lady would have worn by that time. Consider Lauren Bacall was female member of honour to the rat pack. Sexy, nonchalant , deeply classy , symphonic yet uncomplicated to wear. Genious
31st May, 2017 (last edited: 12th June, 2017)

La Rose by Le Galion

Dewy, cheerful, extremely feminine. Somewhat modern ... if it was a couloir it would be a rosy coral . Not faceted but nice for a happy day with a summer picnic
31st May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Iris by Le Galion

A very soft and subtle fragrance , close and powdery through the iris and atlas cedar adding with a fresh tad due to the mimosa and lily. Not an all forward iris fragrance yet sth you would love to smell on a person close to you in the morning or on a hot summer day. Clean and delicate
31st May, 2017

222 by Le Galion

Soft, subtle, elegant. This departs with a soft , round sandalwood inviting you gently to want to smell more. An accord of smokey leather which gains depth through the presence of Myrrhe and styrax is held rich but tamed through white Moschus and vanilla. This is understated , sexy and elegant and will be equally suitable for a male or female. Very well balanced ... thinking about a bottle
31st May, 2017

Collection Notes de Fond : Vanille-Benjoin by Affinessence

Leathery,dirty, slightly animalic notes form the basis , a resinous heart gives depth and density and on top sits a soft, delicious, high end vanilla
The whole collection of affinescence is pricey but worth it. If you have a trained nose you will realise that the ingredients are high class fine quality
27th May, 2017

Collection Notes de Fond : Cèdre-Iris by Affinessence

The whole collection of affinescence is pricey but worth it. If you have a trained nose you will realise that the ingredients are high class fine quality . Said that cedre iris is a powdery, slightly gourmand nutty scent that departs similar to Bois farine by artisan. Soft round engaging without being edge less. In the beginning I smell iris and sandalwood , the cedar comes out only very late adding some edge to this smooth nose hugger
27th May, 2017

Collection Notes de Fond : Santal-Basmati by Affinessence

Surprising, the smell of white fresh boiled basmati rice instantly makes you smile.?develops to a soft, nonchalant fragrance which is at the same time relaxing and exciting
18th May, 2017 (last edited: 19th May, 2017)

Superstitious by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

Old school huge Jasmin and rose concoction. A 1950s fragrance. The feel it creates is similar to fleurissime by creed. Nothing you wear when you want sth understated . I bought a bottle but it is not an everyday fragrance
23rd April, 2017

Casamorati 1888 Lira by Xerjoff

A November day in north Italy, fog hanging over the lake of iseo. All you see is facettes of grey. And then a small golden spot... A small chocolate shop with handmade pralines...champagne orange truffles....

I was there this November day. This is what Lira smells like
29th September, 2016

Vinaigre de Toilette by Diptyque

This is born from a story. During the times of black pest in France , the men who had to carry the cadavers out of the living quarters in Paris used this to clean themselves..... And did not get contamined by the pest. This is why this toner had been reproduced ... You can layer it under other fragrances and it makes the hair very shiny
29th September, 2016

Hermèssence Cuir d'Ange by Hermès

I did classic ballet for many years. The little leather shoes dancers use always have a smell of warm , soft leather mixed with the scent of the powder you use in order not to slip out on the floor while dancing..,, this is exactly what cuir d'ange smells like. To me it is oddly familiar but elegant . I love it
07th September, 2016

Cuir Garamante by MDCI

This fragrance is so aquiline and beautiful. I think it needs to be worn by a woman. On a man it might get too dark or dusty . It has a unique balance between a warm and an icy impact. Cutting but cozy .
01st August, 2016
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Une Rose by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

this is the ultimate english garden rose. a real, fresh, genuine big red rose, standing proudly in a garden emanating it´s fragrance with intoxicating power. I love it.
14th February, 2016

Iris Nazarena by Aedes de Venustas

a beautiful fragrance, a conservative idea put into practice with a modern feel. classy, well balanced, Schwieger´s pièce de résistance are the iris based powdery scents. I love lipstick rose and expected much from iris nazarena.I have not been disappointed. He does special or nothing. here he did special again
02nd March, 2015

Oeillet Bengale by Aedes de Venustas

Great, much more significant than artisan´s new pale new edition of oeillet sauvage. understated, elegant. not loud, not into the eye, just velvety and classic.
This might not be a signature scent or something overly complex, it is linear, simple and powdery. Who loved the old oeillet sauvage will love this
01st March, 2015 (last edited: 14th February, 2016)

Rose de Siwa / FK2 by MDCI

I am with NIB here. This rose opens delicate, classy and victorian. It is a child´s dream grown up. A pink rose garden, fresh, lovely, classic yet not boring. Next to une rose di malle one of my favorite roses. Not overly bursting of fantasy, but really good mannerly done.I think I will buy one at this point
23rd July, 2014 (last edited: 07th January, 2017)

Péché Cardinal by MDCI

This fragrace was playing with my nerves. I liked it from the first time I got a whiff of it. ... Yet this is absolutely nothing I would normally go for. I like classy, spicy, elegant. This is lush, fruity,sweet. The name is perfect for it because first of all I felt like doing sth forbidden when I bought it in the end.... due to the mentioned fact that it seems not to be in my line normally. If You feel obliged to wear fragrances which are noble, elegant and demure, then this big tubereuse, coconut,peach concoction makes you feel a tad ashamed. Like a chic lady that You catch accidently during a holiday wearing hotpants... this stuff is sexy, lush, lovely, delicious and yet well done so you kind of cant get around it. It is that little sexy thing that you need in your wardrobe. addictive.
23rd July, 2014

Hanbury by Maria Candida Gentile

The botanical garden of Hanbury is based in Ventimiglia which lingers on the italian side of the costa azzurra.
Explosions of flowers wait behind high walls which protect the gardens from the curious eyes of the outsider. The flowers lift up under the strikingly blue morning sky like the song of a single flute. During the day they warm up getting fuller, adding up to a heavier and opulent chant , yet never losing their elegance and tone of white.
They linger along when the dawn resolves them from the torture of the heat donating a bit of rest in a cool wind from the sea. A symphony swelling on and off during the day. This beauty plays with you .Once catapulting you right into the middle of a flower bush, once letting you rest under it.
And sometimes, in the moments of greatest desire, it allows you only to perceive its beauty as a whisper from afar while you are waiting impatiently to be let into the palace and a soft breeze carries the promise of eternal beauty over the thick walls...

painfully beautiful... I cant get around a bottle
18th June, 2014

Exultat by Maria Candida Gentile

Exultat, the name says it. It exceeds my expectations. A very well balanced fragrance made with passion. Round and edgy at the same time. I tried this on recommendation of a friend and fell in love. The oranges give just a nearly undetectable wiff of sourness and freshness to the depart which is yet essential for the balance of the fragrance. Then you immediately perceive the dry elegant cedar, the earthy vetiver and by this point you should already be in love. The incense is balsamic, eccelsiastic, yet not too tamed. It curls through the whole construction like a clean grey smoke directed to heaven but clearly coming from earth. Exultat has depth, is resoundingly spiritual and creates a bridge between you and your reflecting inner self. A cloud of soft ethereal violets embrace the feminine side of this beauty. Wearabel for both genders a real discovery. Worth every penny. I adour
I will soon head off to get a bottle
18th June, 2014

La Belle Hélène by MDCI

so.... I really wanted this bottle.... and couldn´t find any fragrance of this house that I really liked. Until they released la belle hélène. When i read Ducheaufour made it, I wanted to give it a try. It is a gourmand Chypre. Even though the Chypre notes are not all present, this is the effect of it. Elegant, rich, gourmand but not overly sweet. Candied pear in a bed of gourmand and oriental notes. Nice and warm. Definitely worth a try for who dislikes the sweetness of crushed fruit salad in perfume. nicely done
27th December, 2013 (last edited: 09th June, 2016)

La Haie Fleurie du Hameau by L'Artisan Parfumeur

this is young ornella muti in a white fur coat. a gorgeous 1950s inspired jasmine accord. lovely
27th December, 2013

Dzongkha by L'Artisan Parfumeur

just as the woollen capes of the monarchs in the mountains of nepal are scratchy as you put them on, so is this fragrance at first wiff. harsh and scratchy to the nose. the green unripe note of litchi gives us an uncomfortable start. But as the wool gets softer while warming up, so does dzongkha. notes of spiced milky tea, wood, metallic incense and an embrace of old leather wind up into a chant of dark and deep voices calling inner peace. an enigmatic fragrance. Quiet and mysterious as the temples of butan this is inspired to.
dark and vibrant colours. Like a belle del Nuit..... worth waiting for to open up
27th December, 2013

Fam by So Oud

nice. VERY nice. It has been a long time I was looking for an oud rose with a twist.
We all know the combination works. But- some just like black oud by montale , which i like, are too pungent or harsh. Some are too dirty, some too sweet. I wanted an oud rose combination that has that aquiline beauty of the fragrances you smell when the saudis walk by. I wanted natural and lush, but i also wanted saffron and softness without it being overly sugary. This is just the right balance of it all. A beautiful, warm embracing rose saffron oud to make you feel cozy and luxurious.
lovely
27th December, 2013

Un Balcón Sobre el Paseo del Prado by Loewe

this is a lovely one. it is nothing overly new or spectacular, but it is a nice, clean oud rose accord that is crystalline and wearable even in warmer days. It is elegant and pretty, nothing animalic here. a really well done oud that you could easily wear to the office. tamed and well done
27th December, 2013

Une Fleur de Cassie by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

They say you have to take time to understand this. true .I worked for years in the niche perfumery but with this I have trouble finding words. when I smelled it first I could hardly tell what it smelled like. But it smelled deliciously French, rich and chic..... yet it smelled antique and like a wiff from the old world.... without being dusty or old fashioned. it was as if you look at a painting of Lempicka.... and suddenly are standing in it. It felt as if your grandma shows you a photograph of herself as a young girl in the 1940s.... and then suddenly you are in the photograph with her. Antique and new at the same time. Like a seal never broken. This fragrance is sth so original , I cant compare it to any other fragrance I know or own. It is as if You found out what an apple tasted hundred years ago, what a new hat in the twenties felt like wearing. Fleur de Cassie feels like sth that comes out of a time when things still createdemotions in people.....
out of the world yet part of it. wonderful!!
27th December, 2013

Bottega Veneta by Bottega Veneta

milky elegance

I got to know this fragrance because a collegue wore it. It is a warm and soft fragrance. Yet as so many soft scents, it does not lack personality. A classy chypre with a modern edge to it. This scent is sturdy, head up high and the woman who wears it should be both: a lady and knowing where she wants to arrive in life. The frangrance is present, yet not opppressive, warm but not overwhelming, strong yet not intimidating. Apart but not vulgar. a Lady but a strong character. You cant miss it when she comes into the room. breathtaking but not breath-cutting. Very well done Almairac

Pros: warm and elegant
Cons: too much for summer"

04th August, 2013

Bois d'Iris by Van Cleef & Arpels

I was surprised by this one. usually iris fragrances struggle with the fact that they dont smell of iris due to the high price of the real thing. this one does not only smell of iris nobile but also has a nice smokey, woody, powdery warmth to it which makes it subtle but sexy. it has a good lasting power and remains elegant during the day.
very well done
07th April, 2012 (last edited: 29th June, 2012)

Hermèssence Poivre Samarcande by Hermès

please picture a country house somewhere in the hamptons, full of the rich ,young and beautiful. Large leather sofas you sink in when sitting down, finest cigars and old whisky.
poivre samarcande catapults you into the old world. the fragrance has the souverain sexyness of a man who was just born with it all. the understatement of the selfconfident. smokey peppery with a touch of soft wood. a very well balanced fragrance that makes me think of a man who knows to waer his white tie.
irresistable
07th April, 2012 (last edited: 29th June, 2012)

Carillon Pour Un Ange by Tauer

I am sorry again, I wear florals very well- usually. this was not only a dense, sweet cloying desaster on my skin, it did not even come off. I did not smell any of the flowers: lily of the valley is better be found in muguet blanc by van cleef, lilac in en passant . this fragrance disappointed me a lot. I really felt it smelled bad . no thank you
07th April, 2012 (last edited: 29th June, 2012)