Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 271 to 300 of 1241.
    rating


    Peoneve by Penhaligon's

    This is a gorgeous floral. The opulent flowers are deep but not overwhelming, and are brightened by violet leaf. Peony and rose are very similar (to my nose) and they certainly work well in concert here. The flowers are well done and have considerable longevity.
    After a while, the vetiver and musk join the flowers, and compliment them. The grassy vetiver in particular suits the rose note. This is a BIG floral cloud, creamy and dreamy. It is not a dark, brooding rose -- and thus perhaps will be of more interest to women than men.

    28 July, 2012

    rating


    Vétiver Vert by Czech & Speake

    I'm neutral on this. It is not a bad scent, not significantly problematic in any way. My reservations are two-fold: it is not as green as a scent called "Vert" should be, and I find the balsamic note to be a bit too sweet and heavy for my taste.
    All the layers appear at the outset, a surprising development. Smoke from the vetiver, balsamic notes from the dusky laurel and galbanum, and sweet notes from the sandalwood show themselves, along with the citrus.
    Things sort themselves out after this overture. The citrus retreats, and a dusky bay leaf note remains. This is quite good. The scent gets a bit heavier and sweeter, and takes on a balsamic quality. At times, the scent has the character of an old metal ashtray, with its smoky and metallic notes. As the balsamic note settles, a grassier note emerges from the vetiver. This is really a freshly-cut sort of grass, and it too is pleasant. The drydown is sweet and woody, from the sandalwood.
    Thus, I like some of the notes but not all, and the rich heaviness of the balsamic style doesn't quite suit me. But, as I said, it is a good scent and some will like it.

    28 July, 2012

    rating


    Opoponax by Santa Maria Novella

    Like Potpourri, SMN Opoponax is truly a scent from another era -- it is powerful and suggests different sensibilities and perspectives. For that reason alone, I admire this scent.
    It is a complex scent: dry, aromatic, very powerful, at times dry in a resinous dark-green manner and at other times somewhat sweet. There are smoky notes reminiscent of Russian Caravan tea, and other dusky notes which suggest celery leaves or old books in a library. The celery-leaf aspect deepens in the dry-down to a hay-like note.
    Quite an experience, and quite beautiful. It takes verve to wear it.

    26 July, 2012

    rating


    Iperborea by Lorenzo Villoresi

    In Greek mythology, Hyperborea was a distant, exotic land. I'm not sure how that relates to this scent.
    This is a very sweet, apricot/peach scent, with powdery orris root notes and other airy qualities.
    Not at all my style, and I don't even find it particularly attractive.
    Seems like a mis-step from the usually excellent Villoresi house.

    26 July, 2012

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 1 Leaves: Calamus by Comme des Garçons

    As a fan of green scents, I've long wanted to try this. I was deeply disappointed in it.
    It starts with a very leafy and grassy note -- quite intense and more of an experience than an attractive scent per se. Then, and very quickly, it got intensely sweet, cloying, fusty, odd and unpleasant. I don't know what on earth it smelled like but whatever it was, I did not like it at all and had to wash it off.

    26 July, 2012

    rating


    Jubilation XXV by Amouage

    (revised) I like this a lot. It is an excellent dry incense scent. Spicy, woody, mossy notes augment the resinous incense. It is not heavy, not sweet, and quite satisfying. Perhaps there is a touch of oud in the incense, giving a bright piercing note. The drydown gets warmer and woodier.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Lyric Man by Amouage

    It starts with a lovely rose note. This subsides but never entirely goes away. It settles into a saffron-dusky note with some musky aspects. Perhaps there is a little pine to be found, if one searches. The dry-down is a dewy green sort, with traces of celery leaf and some substantial sweetness. An interesting scent, not compelling for me.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Vetiver by Murdock

    Good job: grassy, quite smoky, green and crisp in style. Not a huge vetiver per se, but there's enough there to satisfy.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Patchouli by Murdock

    I'm not a fan of patchouli but this has lots of other things going on, so I can tolerate it. In fact, the patchouli is very subdued. Mostly a light-spicy and woody scent.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Fougère by Murdock

    Intriguing, and quite powerful. Very herbal with a big blast of camphoraceous lavender. Quite woody and mossy. Substantial, even a bit heavy. For old-school fougere fans.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Bright Leaf by Murdock

    Not my style -- a bit sweet and rich. Brown tobacco leaves -- if you like that note, check this out.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Black Tea by Murdock

    Not bad. Soapy-clean opening, light spices and a hint of leather. Overall, a smooth, pleasant, masculine scent.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Avalon by Murdock

    Acceptable, not particularly distinctive. Light, lemony, a bit creamy.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Monsieur Léonard by Léonard

    I like this, it is a classy and fairly straight-ahead old-school fougere. It comes in a lovely green bottle. It starts with a refreshing though brief citrus note, and quickly takes on a green/herbal and soapy character. The herbs are fresh and pleasant, well blended and have a charming and comforting character. This seques into a very pleasant mossy note which is green, slightly salty and wears very well. I agree that any florals are strictly in the background; as are the the patchouli and vanilla. This is not a powerhouse, as others have noted. It is a discreet charmer.

    25 June, 2012

    rating


    Voyage d'Hermes Parfum by Hermès

    I did a side-by-side comparison between the EdT and Parum versions.
    The EdT is very bright, crisp, lemony. It is dry and translucent.
    The Parfum, as expected, is more substantial and has greater longevity. It is not as lemony, is a bit sweeter and spicier. The juniper is a different note, and it adds a welcome brightness and an aromatic note. At times there is a note which reminds me of geranium rose, and which is very pleasant. There is a bit of buttery amber, but this is restrained.
    Both scents finish with a birch note. The Parfum version is warmer, richer, and smoother.
    My preference is for the EdT because of its dry crispness. But the Parfum version is quite good.

    11th June, 2012

    rating


    Jardins d'Amalfi by Creed

    This starts with a lovely classic cologne sort of opening -- lots of lovely citrus notes. The scent is very soft and gentle, but not sweet or floral (actually, there are no floral notes listed or evident). It is quite suitable for a man. Gentle wood and some sheer grassy-green notes from the vetiver lurk in the background.
    Then, appears a note which causes me to downgrade the scent from thumbs up to neutral. The scent takes on a "fresh" musk character in the drydown. It is a clean and pleasant note, but it seems a bit synthetic and oddly out of place in a Creed scent.

    10th June, 2012

    rating


    Blu Mediterraneo Bergamotto di Calabria by Acqua di Parma

    This is a pleasant, well-made scent. It doesn't make a big statement nor it is particularly original. However, it wears well and is enjoyable.
    Phase one is a very good citrus basket of lemon and plummy bergamot. This is clean, refreshing, and renders the citrus notes accurately.
    Phase two brings ginger and a bit of wood. These work well together. A hint of grassy and even nutty vetiver lurks in the background.
    The scent is not heavy or sweet. It sits quite close to the skin.

    10th June, 2012

    rating


    Spice and Wood by Creed

    Aside from the price/format issue, this is an excellent scent.
    It is dry, translucent, stylish, and quite masculine.
    It starts with good bright citrus and plummy bergamot. Dry-bark wood and peppery spice notes emerge. The scent is restrained and dignified -- introspective in mood and a bit haunting in style.

    08 June, 2012

    rating


    Royal Oud by Creed

    This is an oud for those who fear ouds! It is a very soft, pretty, smooth scent with a hint (and only a hint) of oud. It is primarily a soft floral-musk type of scent, arguably aimed a the women's market.
    There's a brief introduction of citrus notes, and dusky angelic root. Perhaps some faint wood lurks at the very periphery of the scent. Then something a bit unusual and shape-shifting appears: tangy, vinous, at times suggesting a rainforest or tropical fruit punch, and other times the merest whiff of fish at a dock (not unpleasant). Must be the oud!
    The scent remains centered on a floral/musk aspect, and the oud never really asserts itself. Perhaps there is a hint of celery leaf from the galbanum. The scent settles into a soft, close-to-the-skin scent which is attractive, if a bit feminine in style.
    But those expecting a challenging or even prominent oud will not find it here.

    07 June, 2012

    rating


    Ael-Mat by Lostmarc'h

    Notes include: herperidia (citrus melange), jasmine, chamomile blossom, juniper, musk.
    The scent is meant to suggest heather, gorse, salt sea spray, seaweed.

    This is a nice scent, different from many others. It is NOT an oceanic/marine sort of scent -- no ozone or synthetic notes here. It starts with a salty citrus, emphasizing lemon and then moving into a green citrus style with perhaps a hint of plummy bergamot. It opens into a dusky floral, of a white-green sort. Suggesting jasmine but of a muted sort, not sweet nor heavy. Very crisp and invigorating overall, and then it softens into a chamomile/hay note with sunny fields and an ocean breeze beckoning. A spring-like, sunny day, quite enjoyable. Definitely unisex on the soft/floral side. Enjoyable, limited longevity (1-2 hours).

    06 June, 2012

    rating


    Touch for Men by Burberry

    It starts off OK, kind of a soft musk with some bright violet leaf and citrus. However, it quickly gets sweet, and powdery. I do get hints of wood, and it does not smell synthetic, so I give it a neutral overall.

    05 June, 2012 (Last Edited: 22 June, 2012)

    rating


    The Fir Tree by CB I Hate Perfume

    This does NOT pass the Conehead test for an acceptable coniferous scent.
    Points in its favour: it is somewhat fresh green, not sweet, and has no cold corncob scent (the usual destination of most CBs on my skin).
    Points against it: lasting power of about 2 minutes maximum, and it has no particular resemblance to fir, pine, spruce or any other conifer.

    15 May, 2012

    rating


    Wild Hunt by CB I Hate Perfume

    I had really high hopes for this one. Pine, forest, mossy floor... sounded perfect.
    When I sprayed it on, my initial impression was of a rather grassy and green scent. It reminded me slightly of CdG's Airborne. That impression lasted for about 5 minutes. Then, the blasted thing settled into the all-too-familiar vibe of cold corn cobs which I swear is how 99% of the CBs react on my skin. Bleh.

    15 May, 2012

    rating


    Quorum by Antonio Puig

    I used to wear this in "the day". I spritzed some on in a shop and was pleasantly surprised.
    Yes, it is an 80's scent. Yet is it still sprightly and wears well. It has nice green notes up front, and settles into a patchouli - tobacco - leather vibe in the drydown (typical of its era).
    But during the journey I could smell pine and artemsia, resinous and bitter-green notes which are very pleasant.
    Definitely a blast from the past, but green and powerhouse fans definitely should check it out.
    Not as heavy as Jules, the other scent of my younger days.

    11th May, 2012

    rating


    Set Sail Martinique for Men by Tommy Bahama

    It is OK -- a cool, aromatic, pleasant aquatic. It has some good wood notes and a non-synthetic vibe.
    Hints of spice, wood, and a clean crisp white shirt. This is a very safe, non-controversial choice. The wood notes develop a little bit and are joined by a light white musk note in the dry-down.

    08 May, 2012

    rating


    Series 2: Solar Donkey Power by Henrik Vibskov by Six Scents Parfums

    Notes: bergamot, sage, geranium, patchouli, moss, incense, pine.

    Coneheads note -- this is a lovely mossy scent but it has very little pine that I can detect.
    It starts with a really lemony-citrus note. This is joined by geranium rose and that is a pleasing combination. It gives a lemony-soapy air. The scent becomes greener, developing a theme of lemon and herbal-moss notes.
    I waited for the incense and pine, which would have moved this into the excellent category. Those never did appear, but this is a lovely mossy herbal scent, gentle and attractive.

    08 May, 2012

    rating


    Series 2: End/Beginning by Damir Doma by Six Scents Parfums

    Notes: purple ginger, olibanum, vetiver, cedar, guaic, cardamom, coriander seed, cistus, birch tar, styrax, banzoin, tonka, sandalwood, beeswax, gurgum balsam, patchouli, myrrh, opoponax, olibanum hyperessence

    This has lots of ginger and wood! It is a warm, cozy scent -- dry, not heavy or sweet. It has spicy wood, with a hint (only a hint) of incense. It is quite nice, probably a cool-weather sort of scent. Its notes are well blended and smooth, and the scent wears well through the day.

    08 May, 2012

    rating


    Marlborough by D.R. Harris & co.

    This is a simple, straight-forward scent. Essentially, it presents cedar and sandalwood in a pleasing, natural way.
    It has a citrus-lemon opening. This quickly moves to a nice, woody chord. The cedar is sweet, like a cedar chest. It is woody, bright and refreshing. The sandalwood is creamy and is a good counterpoint to the cedar.

    08 May, 2012

    rating


    Gucci Guilty pour Homme by Gucci

    Very sweet, strong, verging on obnoxious.
    Cheap-smelling. No redeeming features.
    Very aggressive faux citrus notes. Bleh. Avoid, avoid, avoid!

    08 May, 2012

    rating


    Island Bermuda by Michael Kors

    Very sweet and floral, quite pretty. At times it reminds me of lily of the valley. A "pink" sort of fragrance, quite girly. Not the sort of thing I'd like to wear. Nothing wrong with it, no unpleasant synthetic notes. But it is quite sweet and floral, and "young" in style I'd say.

    08 May, 2012

    Showing 271 to 300 of 1241.