Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 301 to 330 of 1265.
    rating


    Fougère by Murdock

    Intriguing, and quite powerful. Very herbal with a big blast of camphoraceous lavender. Quite woody and mossy. Substantial, even a bit heavy. For old-school fougere fans.

    24th July, 2012

    rating


    Bright Leaf by Murdock

    Not my style -- a bit sweet and rich. Brown tobacco leaves -- if you like that note, check this out.

    24th July, 2012

    rating


    Black Tea by Murdock

    Not bad. Soapy-clean opening, light spices and a hint of leather. Overall, a smooth, pleasant, masculine scent.

    24th July, 2012

    rating


    Avalon by Murdock

    Acceptable, not particularly distinctive. Light, lemony, a bit creamy.

    24th July, 2012

    rating


    Monsieur Léonard by Léonard

    I like this, it is a classy and fairly straight-ahead old-school fougere. It comes in a lovely green bottle. It starts with a refreshing though brief citrus note, and quickly takes on a green/herbal and soapy character. The herbs are fresh and pleasant, well blended and have a charming and comforting character. This seques into a very pleasant mossy note which is green, slightly salty and wears very well. I agree that any florals are strictly in the background; as are the the patchouli and vanilla. This is not a powerhouse, as others have noted. It is a discreet charmer.

    25th June, 2012

    rating


    Voyage d'Hermes Parfum by Hermès

    I did a side-by-side comparison between the EdT and Parum versions.
    The EdT is very bright, crisp, lemony. It is dry and translucent.
    The Parfum, as expected, is more substantial and has greater longevity. It is not as lemony, is a bit sweeter and spicier. The juniper is a different note, and it adds a welcome brightness and an aromatic note. At times there is a note which reminds me of geranium rose, and which is very pleasant. There is a bit of buttery amber, but this is restrained.
    Both scents finish with a birch note. The Parfum version is warmer, richer, and smoother.
    My preference is for the EdT because of its dry crispness. But the Parfum version is quite good.

    11th June, 2012

    rating


    Jardins d'Amalfi by Creed

    This starts with a lovely classic cologne sort of opening -- lots of lovely citrus notes. The scent is very soft and gentle, but not sweet or floral (actually, there are no floral notes listed or evident). It is quite suitable for a man. Gentle wood and some sheer grassy-green notes from the vetiver lurk in the background.
    Then, appears a note which causes me to downgrade the scent from thumbs up to neutral. The scent takes on a "fresh" musk character in the drydown. It is a clean and pleasant note, but it seems a bit synthetic and oddly out of place in a Creed scent.

    10th June, 2012

    rating


    Blu Mediterraneo Bergamotto di Calabria by Acqua di Parma

    This is a pleasant, well-made scent. It doesn't make a big statement nor it is particularly original. However, it wears well and is enjoyable.
    Phase one is a very good citrus basket of lemon and plummy bergamot. This is clean, refreshing, and renders the citrus notes accurately.
    Phase two brings ginger and a bit of wood. These work well together. A hint of grassy and even nutty vetiver lurks in the background.
    The scent is not heavy or sweet. It sits quite close to the skin.

    10th June, 2012

    rating


    Spice and Wood by Creed

    Aside from the price/format issue, this is an excellent scent.
    It is dry, translucent, stylish, and quite masculine.
    It starts with good bright citrus and plummy bergamot. Dry-bark wood and peppery spice notes emerge. The scent is restrained and dignified -- introspective in mood and a bit haunting in style.

    08th June, 2012

    rating


    Royal Oud by Creed

    This is an oud for those who fear ouds! It is a very soft, pretty, smooth scent with a hint (and only a hint) of oud. It is primarily a soft floral-musk type of scent, arguably aimed a the women's market.
    There's a brief introduction of citrus notes, and dusky angelic root. Perhaps some faint wood lurks at the very periphery of the scent. Then something a bit unusual and shape-shifting appears: tangy, vinous, at times suggesting a rainforest or tropical fruit punch, and other times the merest whiff of fish at a dock (not unpleasant). Must be the oud!
    The scent remains centered on a floral/musk aspect, and the oud never really asserts itself. Perhaps there is a hint of celery leaf from the galbanum. The scent settles into a soft, close-to-the-skin scent which is attractive, if a bit feminine in style.
    But those expecting a challenging or even prominent oud will not find it here.

    07th June, 2012

    rating


    Ael-Mat by Lostmarc'h

    Notes include: herperidia (citrus melange), jasmine, chamomile blossom, juniper, musk.
    The scent is meant to suggest heather, gorse, salt sea spray, seaweed.

    This is a nice scent, different from many others. It is NOT an oceanic/marine sort of scent -- no ozone or synthetic notes here. It starts with a salty citrus, emphasizing lemon and then moving into a green citrus style with perhaps a hint of plummy bergamot. It opens into a dusky floral, of a white-green sort. Suggesting jasmine but of a muted sort, not sweet nor heavy. Very crisp and invigorating overall, and then it softens into a chamomile/hay note with sunny fields and an ocean breeze beckoning. A spring-like, sunny day, quite enjoyable. Definitely unisex on the soft/floral side. Enjoyable, limited longevity (1-2 hours).

    06th June, 2012

    rating


    Touch for Men by Burberry

    It starts off OK, kind of a soft musk with some bright violet leaf and citrus. However, it quickly gets sweet, and powdery. I do get hints of wood, and it does not smell synthetic, so I give it a neutral overall.

    05th June, 2012 (Last Edited: 22nd June, 2012)

    rating


    The Fir Tree by CB I Hate Perfume

    This does NOT pass the Conehead test for an acceptable coniferous scent.
    Points in its favour: it is somewhat fresh green, not sweet, and has no cold corncob scent (the usual destination of most CBs on my skin).
    Points against it: lasting power of about 2 minutes maximum, and it has no particular resemblance to fir, pine, spruce or any other conifer.

    15th May, 2012

    rating


    Wild Hunt by CB I Hate Perfume

    I had really high hopes for this one. Pine, forest, mossy floor... sounded perfect.
    When I sprayed it on, my initial impression was of a rather grassy and green scent. It reminded me slightly of CdG's Airborne. That impression lasted for about 5 minutes. Then, the blasted thing settled into the all-too-familiar vibe of cold corn cobs which I swear is how 99% of the CBs react on my skin. Bleh.

    15th May, 2012

    rating


    Quorum by Antonio Puig

    I used to wear this in "the day". I spritzed some on in a shop and was pleasantly surprised.
    Yes, it is an 80's scent. Yet is it still sprightly and wears well. It has nice green notes up front, and settles into a patchouli - tobacco - leather vibe in the drydown (typical of its era).
    But during the journey I could smell pine and artemsia, resinous and bitter-green notes which are very pleasant.
    Definitely a blast from the past, but green and powerhouse fans definitely should check it out.
    Not as heavy as Jules, the other scent of my younger days.

    11th May, 2012

    rating


    Set Sail Martinique for Men by Tommy Bahama

    It is OK -- a cool, aromatic, pleasant aquatic. It has some good wood notes and a non-synthetic vibe.
    Hints of spice, wood, and a clean crisp white shirt. This is a very safe, non-controversial choice. The wood notes develop a little bit and are joined by a light white musk note in the dry-down.

    08th May, 2012

    rating


    Series 2: Solar Donkey Power by Henrik Vibskov by Six Scents Parfums

    Notes: bergamot, sage, geranium, patchouli, moss, incense, pine.

    Coneheads note -- this is a lovely mossy scent but it has very little pine that I can detect.
    It starts with a really lemony-citrus note. This is joined by geranium rose and that is a pleasing combination. It gives a lemony-soapy air. The scent becomes greener, developing a theme of lemon and herbal-moss notes.
    I waited for the incense and pine, which would have moved this into the excellent category. Those never did appear, but this is a lovely mossy herbal scent, gentle and attractive.

    08th May, 2012

    rating


    Series 2: End/Beginning by Damir Doma by Six Scents Parfums

    Notes: purple ginger, olibanum, vetiver, cedar, guaic, cardamom, coriander seed, cistus, birch tar, styrax, banzoin, tonka, sandalwood, beeswax, gurgum balsam, patchouli, myrrh, opoponax, olibanum hyperessence

    This has lots of ginger and wood! It is a warm, cozy scent -- dry, not heavy or sweet. It has spicy wood, with a hint (only a hint) of incense. It is quite nice, probably a cool-weather sort of scent. Its notes are well blended and smooth, and the scent wears well through the day.

    08th May, 2012

    rating


    Marlborough by D.R. Harris & co.

    This is a simple, straight-forward scent. Essentially, it presents cedar and sandalwood in a pleasing, natural way.
    It has a citrus-lemon opening. This quickly moves to a nice, woody chord. The cedar is sweet, like a cedar chest. It is woody, bright and refreshing. The sandalwood is creamy and is a good counterpoint to the cedar.

    08th May, 2012

    rating


    Gucci Guilty pour Homme by Gucci

    Very sweet, strong, verging on obnoxious.
    Cheap-smelling. No redeeming features.
    Very aggressive faux citrus notes. Bleh. Avoid, avoid, avoid!

    08th May, 2012

    rating


    Island Bermuda by Michael Kors

    Very sweet and floral, quite pretty. At times it reminds me of lily of the valley. A "pink" sort of fragrance, quite girly. Not the sort of thing I'd like to wear. Nothing wrong with it, no unpleasant synthetic notes. But it is quite sweet and floral, and "young" in style I'd say.

    08th May, 2012

    rating


    Lalfeorosa by O'Driù

    Today I'm trying Lalfeorosa. I have a somewhat different reaction than others; I don't care for it although I do find some good moments.
    Juice: golden-olive.
    It starts with a very vanilla - biscuit - toasty caramel note, which almost immediately disappears and then reappears and persists at the very end. Here is the deal-breaker. I don't like foody or gourmand scents and despite the other good qualities, I can't warm up to this scent.
    After the opening chord, the scent moves to an aromatic stage which is smooth, substantial, spicy and which has a hint of leather. Nice.
    Then, gorgeous rose notes appear, and the scent reaches its apex for me. The rose notes are lovely, and combine with the "incense" which may well be oud since oud combines well with rose and is a traditional accompaniment. Sadly, this phase is very brief, perhaps two minutes maximum.
    Then, a very assertive tonka/hay/coumarin note blusters in and utterly vanquishes the rose. The coumarin increases, picks up all the stray spice molecules, and works to create a rather tangy tobacco-leaf note with hints of toasted nuts.
    Finally, the scent lapses back to a semi-gourmand style, gets sweeter, and I wash it off. :/

    06th May, 2012

    rating


    Le Vetiver Itasca by Lubin

    It starts with good citrus and fresh juniper notes. It quickly moves to spicy notes (clove, nutmeg) and with a few herbal ones (mostly clary sage). It is a woody-spice scent, and quite good. Never sweet but fairly powerful due to the spice. There are some cool aspects to the dry-down, probably the juniper, frankincense and fir. However, these are background elements -- I would not call it a fir-forward or pine-prominent scent. Basically, it is a spicy scent with some wood notes.
    Update. I purchased a full bottle, having had a decant. I like this scent. I get more of the incense notes throughout, and the dry-down is very pleasing I still say it is not very coniferous in style. Rather, it is a spicy, woody, incense scent. The vetiver has an earthy-root note which also is a bit smoky.

    02nd May, 2012 (Last Edited: 02nd June, 2014)

    rating


    Neroli Portofino by Tom Ford

    A very nice barbershop-clean scent -- simple and satisfying.
    It starts with gorgeous orange blossom and very zesty citrus notes. The scent is light and invigorating, and also quite smooth. There is a hint of wood bark which is typical of orange blossom. Splash this one with abandon, and re-apply often. Good longevity, essentially a cheery orange blossom and soapy scent.

    02nd May, 2012

    rating


    Les eaux de toilette de Joséphine - Rosewood by Lothantique

    I assume this is what what I have. My bottle says Bois de Rose / Rose Wood and it is an EdT, but it doesn't say de Joséphine.
    The scent is woody and dry. It is not rosewood as far as I can tell (aka Brazilian Rosewood oil or Tulip wood oil) which has a distinctively rich, furniture-polish characters. This rose wood is something like rose + wood and might be rhodium oil, which has elements of rose, cedar and sandalwood. And that's exactly what I get when I smell this -- very nice.

    02nd May, 2012

    rating


    Lalfeogrigio by O'Driù

    This is a nice, old-school stye of scent. It is centered on a creamy sandalwood note, with a charmingly retro tonka-hay note which reminds me of vintage fougeres.
    The scent starts somewhat spicy, and at first the tonka is so vanilla-heavy that I wince. This quickly burns off, to reveal a dark and rich scent. It is somewhat sweet in the early going but is not problematic. Unlike other O'Driu scents, this is not a green machine, no herbal stew happening here. Rather, it is a burnished gold-brown, sort of like mahogany in my mind. The sandalwood, coffee and tobacco work together quite well.
    Suddenly and amazingly, there is a bright geranium rose note. Quite a surprise, and am amazing contrast to the darker tones.
    The sandalwood gets very creamy. I'd say this is a must for sandalwood fans.
    Great wood and fougere charm in the dry-down.

    01st May, 2012

    rating


    Series 1: The Spirit Of Wood by Cosmic Wonder Light Source by Six Scents Parfums

    This has a lovely fresh green opening. It quickly develops an excellent coniferous aspect, followed by a satisfying woody one. I think this is marvelous. It has the great cypress/hinoki notes of CdG Hinoki without the turpentine sharpness. It has the cool eucalyptus character of Jo Malone’s Christmas scent Pine and Eucalyptus, with more depth. Fig rounds out the wood notes and slightly sweetens. Elemi is an essential oil from a resin and it has a pine-lemon character. I think this a well constructed scent. The packaging and bottle are very good.

    01st May, 2012

    rating


    Strellson No. 1 by Strellson

    Here we have another fresh-spicy scent. Somewhat sweet, certainly rather bland and generic in style. And quite ‘synthetic’ smelling – I don’t get any natural citrus notes, nor florals. In sum, an airy-fresh light spice sort of scent, slightly sweet and slightly irritating in its relentless fresh musk drydown. For me, it proved to be a scrubber.

    01st May, 2012

    rating


    Royal Palm by Stéphanie de Saint-Aignan

    Sugary-sweet, almost candied. Only a bit spicy, certain much less than I espected given the notes. What I find is a chord almost exactly like Fruit Loops cereal: sweet, fruity, a bit garish. The grapefruit is more like a very synthetic orange. What spices there are burn off quickly, and one is left with a toasty, nutty, slightly metallic note. Despite what I’ve said I have smelled worse – but I fail to see the appeal of this. Where are the vetiver, good wood, and incense notes?

    01st May, 2012

    rating


    Laltrove 1002 by O'Driù

    The juice is a golden, light olive oil colour.
    On paper, it is a floral, sweet-spicy scent. The dry-down quicly moves to a dusky green note like clary sage and celery leaves.
    On skin, it is aromatic, woody, and not spicy at all -- in fact, very dry. It is quite satisfying. I get herbal notes (mint, anise, artemesia), floral (jasmine and rose), as well as hints of wood and leather. The spices are good and well blended. This has an interesting "dirty" sort of note, a bit smoky and like an old ashtrasy.
    An intriguing scent, I like it.

    01st May, 2012

    Showing 301 to 330 of 1265.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000