Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 481 to 510 of 1264.
    rating


    Oud Wood by Tom Ford

    I'll register a neutral on this -- but there really is nothing wrong with it, aside from being a bit sweet at times. There are attractive spicy notes, and even when it gets somewhat powdery it isn't oppressive. The oud is very restrained (non-medicinal), and modulates into a nice rose note at the end. In fact, the scent is quite rose-y as it dries down.

    10th April, 2011

    rating


    Tuscan Leather by Tom Ford

    I was surprised to find that I like this, since I don't normally gravitate to leather scents. This has a haunting, smokey aspect and despite being powerful has a translucent quality which works well. The leather note is attractive, at times slightly rubbery in an oddly compelling way. Because this is dry and restrained I definitely can appreciate it.

    10th April, 2011

    rating


    Womanity by Thierry Mugler

    An odd, excessively metallic and synthetic scent. Quite unattractive.
    Synth fruit-punch opening. Ghostly silver and vaguely figgy notes. Tinny, thin and metallic. Then a quirky toasty-savory note that really bugs me. This vibrates in intensity, gets rather bright and reminds me of some of the CB I Hate Perfume offerings... cold corn cobs in a metal can.
    Don't care for this in any sense.

    06th April, 2011

    rating


    Polo Crest by Ralph Lauren

    I like this scent very much. It is classy and very satisfying to wear, and attractive in all its phases. The opening has an appealing herbal-lemon chord. Quickly some nice spices appear (not too heavy). The scent is not sweet nor is it heavy. The dry-down becomes mossy and this works well with the dry spice notes. I don't get any coniferous notes here, just herbal ones. Very well done.

    01st April, 2011

    rating


    Black Tie by Washington Tremlett

    This is a very classy scent. It has gentlemanly restraint and poise.
    The spice notes are light, attractive, interesting... and not the usual clove/barbershop sort of thing. The geranium rose note is simply lovely and quintessentially British. This scent is not as languid as Hammam Bouquet or as assertive as No. 88, but it is is the same camp. It never gets sweet or heavy. The wood and light oud in the dry-down are noteworthy and enjoyable. Complete endorsement.

    22nd March, 2011

    rating


    Balsamo della Mecca/ Mecca Balsam by La Via del Profumo

    This is a very good scent, quite beautiful in fact. It is not quite what I would want, but I certainly recognize its quality.
    It has a dark, intense, majestic opening. A rich pipe tobacco note appears -- very aromatic, slightly spicy, hints of dried fruit and also something like clay or mineral (like an old pipe bowl). The typical rich (almost honeyed) sweet hay note of coumarin adds to the pipe tobacco chord. The drydown is charming and gracious, and can be savoured for many hours.
    So what are my reservations? On my skin, the scent immediately goes to tobacco-coumarin. I'm looking for the resinous labdanum and coniferous frankiincense notes. I can't find them. Nor can I find any rose. Those would all be terrific. The tobacco dominates, and gets a bit sweeter in the drydown. This is never problematic, but a tobacco-centric oriental (in and of itself) isn't something I'd seek out. I can appreciate its beauty but it isn't something I'd buy.

    18th March, 2011

    rating


    Rose d'Homme by Les Parfums de Rosine

    This is a huge disappointment for me. I'm very open to the idea of a dark, brooding, majestic rose scent. Not sweet, but beautiful in a simple but powerful way. This is none of that.
    Instead, "sickening powdery accord that smells very lipstick-like" is a good statement which I'll endorse. Very, very sweet. No rose in sight, absolutely none. In fact, no florals. Thick, metallic, instantly tiresome. Sweet powder, like baby powder. Stale and obnoxious leather note. Yuck. Uggh. This is sooooo sweet and cloying I have to scrub it off.

    08th March, 2011

    rating


    Emporio Armani He by Giorgio Armani

    Bright, clean, fresh. Generic allusions to spice and vetiver and wood. Completely inoffensive, a safe choice and an acceptable introduction to a nice sort of scent.

    07th March, 2011

    rating


    Lacoste Challenge by Lacoste

    Sweet, synthetic. No citrus that I can detect. Nothing natural here, or interesting. A boring clone of many other scents. Banal. Wimpy. Get thee gone.

    07th March, 2011

    rating


    Axe Kilo by Axe / Lynx

    Very vague lavender, fresh-synthetic. A workmanlike freshener, hardly a scent. Freshly-laundered shirt. Use for about 2 minutes and then ya move on. Gets sweeter in the dry-down, and to my taste tiresome. And then the vanilla hits and it's scrubby time.

    06th March, 2011

    rating


    Perry Ellis for Men (new) by Perry Ellis

    A bit sweet, fruity, kind of odd. Raisins? Old tea bags? It is different from a lot of other things... I'll give it that. Seems somewhat edible, foody. And yet vaguely fresh-aquatic too. Others have noted the subtle melange at work here, I concur. Not my style at all, but it OK if you like that sort of thing.

    06th March, 2011

    rating


    L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

    Fresh and slightly aquatic. Vaguely green. Generic spice notes. Smooth, synthetic. Doesn't appeal to me.

    04th March, 2011

    rating


    L'Eau Bleue D'Issey Eau Fraîche by Issey Miyake

    Light, herbal-minty. An improvement over L'eau bleue pour homme, for a while.
    Somewhat lightweight and inoffensive. Clean, fresh, refreshing. Harmless, until it dries down to the same odd, metallic-synthetic vibe as L'eau Bleue ph. Then I say "I'm outta here."

    03rd March, 2011

    rating


    L'Eau Bleue D'Issey pour Homme by Issey Miyake

    Sweet, light spice and aquatic. A sort of odd, toasted note -- soggy old cereal in a metal bowl? Vaguely disquieting tone, piercing in a muted, synthetic way. I don't find this at all attractive.

    03rd March, 2011

    rating


    Acqua di Parma Colonia Essenza by Acqua di Parma

    Carded vial information adds the following notes: bergamot, orange, vetiver.

    I like the original AdP Colonia, but I like this even better. It retains the gorgeous orange-blossom and citrus notes. It loses much of the sweet and powdery notes. It clears up the floral notes -- they are less dense, more focused and fresher. Cleaner, leaner, keener.

    01st March, 2011

    rating


    Big Pony 3 by Ralph Lauren

    Well, the bottle was green so I thought I'd give it a try. An extremely bland, synthetic scent with a main note of freshly-laundered sheets in a sunny breeze. Not much green here, not much more that what I've described. The cool mint note gets tiresome after a while.

    01st March, 2011

    rating


    Gucci by Gucci Sport Pour Homme by Gucci

    A rather blah scent -- not terrible, not innovative, not distinctive, not interesting.
    Fresh and green. Big hit of fig up front but that doesn't last. Fleeting coniferous note that is really brief.
    Then, simply an inoffensive watery-aquatic style.
    At least it is not heavy, sweet, or wretchedly synthetic.

    01st March, 2011

    rating


    04 / Boisé by Patyka

    Notes: grapefruit, pine, Virginia cedar, oakmoss
    Very good, in a natural, minimalist style. Incredibly woody. Dry as a bone and yet round and full at the same time. Wood and slight spice notes are the essence of this scent. At times, in the early stage of the scent, there is sometime rather similar to bittersweet chocolate. I think that is a kind of balsamic note.
    There are hints of pine but centre stage is for cedar. The cedar has a vital, fresh, sappy quality of a freshly-cut board. At time the scent is a bit dense because of the solid nature of this wood note.
    This scent has the same "hangin' out in the woodshop" vibe as Hinoki but it is not as severe. At times, it takes on a slightly medical quality -- like lineament.
    The gentle, warm wood notes have good longevity.
    (revised from earlier review)

    27th February, 2011 (Last Edited: 09th August, 2014)

    rating


    He Wood Rocky Mountain Wood by Dsquared2

    This is a superb scent, I fell in love with it immediately. It is a construct of three types of note: rocky (mineral amber, incense, musk), mountain (violet, Canadian lily, white pepper), and wood (vetiver, cedar). To say that this is a woody vetiver is accurate but only scratches the surface. This is a complex and subtle scent. The ingredients are well blended and convey a "gray" and suave character. Hints of violet, peppery spice, and minerals introduce a bright vetiver note. As the scent develops, it shows a haunting, slightly smoky note. This is dry, and it is masculine without being macho or loud. A very nice scent!

    27th February, 2011

    rating


    English Pear & Freesia by Jo Malone

    There's nothing dreadful about this scent, but I'm slightly disappointed.
    If a scent is going to claim to have pear in it, then I expect a prominent pear note.
    Here, that note is very subdued, the vaguest wisp of gritty pear skin rather than ripe fruit.
    Indeed, the entire scent is very subtle -- slightly sweet florals, hints of green.
    Refreshing, but I'm not sure it is a stand-alone scent.
    It doesn't have a lot going on, at least on my skin.

    25th February, 2011

    rating


    Red Roses by Jo Malone

    Notes: "seven varieties of rose", lemon, honeycomb

    This is a very rosy scent. Rich, floral, quite natural -- like burying your face in a gorgeous bouquet of roses with a bit of greenery. It is more heady than sweet. Quite charming. The dry-down adds a lovely clover-honey note which is sweet and quite attractive. Good longevity. Rose lovers should check this out.

    25th February, 2011

    rating


    Eau de Pamplemousse Rose by Hermès

    PC lists notes of orange, rhubofix (synthetic green rhubarb note), lemon, grapefruit, and vetiver.
    This starts by smelling exactly like a tasty pink grapefruit. It has a very accurate and pleasant rendition of that note. The scent settles into a light grassy vetiver. The longevity is acceptable, given that this is a citrus-based scent.

    24th February, 2011

    rating


    Baie de Genièvre by Creed

    Revised review.
    Good, but not compelling.
    To me, this scent plays it a bit too safe. I keep wanting it to be more daring and assertive, more crisp and more coniferous, more lively....
    The scent starts with a good aromatic note. Suave and rich, suggests juniper bark more than berries. Then there is a somewhat sweet woody spice from the cinnamon leaves. This is more languid and less intense than cinnamon bark. The scent has a round texture. At times it seems soapy, even suggesting Ivory bar soap. The dry-down is quite woody and a bit powdery.
    A pleasant scent, languid and rich in the Creed style.

    21st February, 2011 (Last Edited: 30th September, 2014)

    rating


    Coach The Fragrance by Coach

    Yes, this is a very girly scent. Young, pretty, sweetish florals. The orange blossom is reasonably well done, gorgeous with a hint of wood and soap. Pleasant for its kind. Amber and vanilla are admirably restrained.

    21st February, 2011

    rating


    DKNY Men (New) by Donna Karan

    Inoffensive and fairly bland citrus-fresh scent. Smooth. Smells like fresh paper and ink, perhaps crisp dollar bills and a bit of cucumber and herbs. A poor man's Bond No. 9 Wall Street, without the quirky charm.

    21st February, 2011

    rating


    Angel Garden Of Stars : Rose Angel by Thierry Mugler

    Interesting. What is here? Something herbal? Salty crackers? Pineapple juice in a tin cup? Old rainwater?
    Whatever it is, the rose is nowhere to be seen.

    19th February, 2011

    rating


    Angel Garden Of Stars - Violet Angel by Thierry Mugler

    I expect violet to have a dusky and somewhat piercing grey note.
    This scent is sticky-sweet, syrupy-thick, somewhat juvenile. No violet in sight. Perhaps raspberry lifesaver candy, with an irritating metallic tinge.

    19th February, 2011

    rating


    Scuderia Ferrari Black by Ferrari

    Maybe the automobile connection is that this would make a good dangly car mirror air freshener.
    Synthetic, metallic, sweet, cheap, irritating.

    16th February, 2011

    rating


    David Yurman Eau de Parfum by David Yurman

    Hmmm, I don't see what all the fuss is about. I find a light green, watery scent. Translucent, not especially sweet. Delicate, a bit young in style. Not brilliant, but not wretched.

    16th February, 2011

    rating


    Ferrari (Red) by Ferrari

    Sweet, citrus notes. A bit metallic at first. Simple, in fact a monolithic mound. A warm lemon cookie segues into a breezy fresh-aquatic note and a synthetic musky dry-down. Not dreadful, but not particularly interesting.

    15th February, 2011

    Showing 481 to 510 of 1264.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000