Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 541 to 570 of 1238.
    rating


    B*Men by Thierry Mugler

    What an odd scent!
    Sweet, sharp, dense.
    Has a toasty note, like slightly burned toast.
    And something like old celery leaves.
    The amber is kinda wierd here, even diabolical.
    I know what rhubarb smells like -- none.
    I know what sequoia should smell like -- none.
    I know what vetiver's range should be -- can't find it.
    This is disquieting, kind of freaks me out. Away with it...

    06 January, 2011

    rating


    Alien Eau Luminescente by Thierry Mugler

    This is a a spring and summer limited edition of Alien.
    Rather than Alien's purple colour, this is a bright orange.
    Notes: mandarin, tiaré flower, white amber.
    Fairly sweet but not candy-like. Fruity, a vague sort of citrus note.
    I've never found a mandarin note that was very strong.
    The floral note is pretty, tropical, a bit woody.
    The scent is translucent. Not as heavy as the purple monster Alien regular.
    overall -- OK. Strikes me as something marketed exclusively to women.

    06 January, 2011

    rating


    Ice*Men by Thierry Mugler

    No controversy here, nor anything noteworthy.
    A banal, generic, synthetic "freshy".
    Smells like a wintergreen dangly car deodorant.

    05 January, 2011

    rating


    A*Men / Angel Men by Thierry Mugler

    Very gourmand-candy. Super-sweet, with caramel and sugar. But I really feel they have missed the boat here, I think they need jelly beans, peanut butter, cotton candy and marshmallows as well.
    The tar gives an odd, burning, vibrating note quite at odds with the confections.
    Don't like it. No sir.

    05 January, 2011

    rating


    Roberto Cavalli Black by Roberto Cavalli

    The key to understanding this scent is to acknowledge that it is a fougère. Lavender + coumarin (in the tonka) = the basic fougère chord, and style. Certainly that is here: the distinctive soapy-mossy tone is very nice. This scent is called an “oriental fougère” perhaps due to its smooth and slightly rich character. I would call it a “woody fougère” because I get attractive lingering wood notes. The scent has airy, grassy notes. It is dry and wears well. It is a comfortable, non-challenging introduction to a low-key fougère. The term “black” here is a complete marketing ploy, there is nothing ‘black’ about this in any way, as far as I can detect.

    04 January, 2011

    rating


    Michael for Men by Michael Kors

    Starts sweet and plummy. The sweetness abates somewhat.
    The tobacco note is OK, flits in and out.
    The woody-incense note (when it is present) is interesting and attractive.
    At times the scent seems a bit acidic, tangy, metallic. Sometimes it suggests green grapeskins in the warm sun.
    Perhaps that is the dried fruit note.
    I'll give it a neutral for its complexity.

    04 January, 2011

    rating


    Si Lolita by Lolita Lempicka

    Very rich and smooth.
    Don't get ANY pepper. Don't get any sweet pea.
    Heliotrope -- very difficult to replicate that complex vanilla - powder - cinammon/spice chord. I get a vague presentation along those lines, but quite synthetic.
    Basically, this seems like a floral/ green aquatic sort of scent, and a bit buttery.
    Harmless but not particularly interesting, in my opinion.

    04 January, 2011

    rating


    Pot Pourri by Santa Maria Novella

    This is an amazing, complex, and beautiful scent. Thanks to Arlecchino who helped me understand some of the structural elements which make this so successful and pleasing. This certainly is a scent of another time: not simply old-school but rather a timeless classic.
    For me, the strength and appeal of this lies in its balanced structure: it is a well-conceived and executed scent. On the one hand, it is a treasure chest of richly dark and warm spices (clove, nutmeg, pepper). On the other hand, there is a sustained bright note of cool eucalyptus. These two happily co-exist and compliment each other. Grasses and herbal notes (laurel, thyme, mint, oregano, sage), along with some resins, add aromatic and even slightly medicinal tones. I appreciate these greatly.
    The sum of these parts is a compelling, unique and quietly thrilling scent. There is little like it on the market. In my opinion, LV Spezie or Piper Nigrum strive to attain these qualities, but SMN Potpourri did it first and does it best. The dry-down is sustained, and very pleasing. One of my favorites. The highest rating.

    04 January, 2011

    rating


    Kenneth Cole New York Men by Kenneth Cole

    Starts citrus and a bit aromatic.
    Essentially a nondescript, generic scent. Not offensive, not interesting.
    What has this got to do with New York? With anything?
    At least it is not super sweet or dense.

    03 January, 2011

    rating


    Guess Man by Guess

    Sweet, vaguely aromatic.
    Hard to pick out any distinctive notes. Certainly fir or balsam notes are utterly, utterly lacking.
    Bland. Cheap. Synthetic.
    This is like a car dangly mirror deodorizer, scent "green".

    03 January, 2011

    rating


    Guess Suede by Guess

    Fruity, uber sweet.
    Yeah, it starts like Pi lite.
    Gets a note like rotting banana skin or cantaloupe rind, about 30 seconds in.
    Vaguely aromatic in a faux way.

    03 January, 2011

    rating


    Baldessarini Ambré by Baldessarini

    This went south on me so fast that it is somewhere in Antarctica.
    Starts off spicy and sweet, briefly takes on a macho persona before it becomes a shape-shifting alien.
    It has an odd, outer-space tangy and metallic note. Old tuna fish in a rusty tin can? A robot wearing rotting leather underpants? Whatever it is, it is distinctive! And unpleasant.

    02 January, 2011

    rating


    Essential by Lacoste

    HAH! What a wimpy excuse for a scent!
    Tomato leaf? Give me a break! Try Eau de Campagne by Sisley, or even the wispy CB I Hate Perfume "Memory of Kindness" for some of the real tomato leaf scent.
    What is this? A lemon-orange lifesaver, with a feeble ozone dry-down.
    The only thing green here is the packaging.

    02 January, 2011

    rating


    Lacoste pour Homme by Lacoste

    Lacoste pour un tres jeune homme.
    "Jejune": devoid of significance or interest, dull.
    How many times have I smelled this sort of scent? Many, many... too many.
    Sweet, simple, smooth. That's all.

    02 January, 2011

    rating


    Isfarkand by Ormonde Jayne

    Oh my, this is a peppery scent. It starts with a smell of freshly-ground pepper, combined with some bright citrus notes. Dusty, dusky, even haunting... I like it so far. The scent profile grows a bit, and develops woody notes and a slight toasty-smoke character. Vetiver comes down the chute, with grassy-woody notes. The vetiver combines well with the previous notes. Last to appear is the cedar, in a quiet and classy way. It winds up as a lovely dry woody scent.
    This is an austere, minimalist scent; and it is pretty good. But it is quite low-key. I wrestle whether it is bottle-worthy, given the price. I'll have to try it more times.

    01st January, 2011

    rating


    Zizan by Ormonde Jayne

    For me, this has both good points and things which give me pause. On the plus side, it has marvelous green notes: they are herbaceous, leafy-stalky and vital. Much is due to the clary sage and bay leaf. The scent gets big and spicy, in a 1980's macho style... still OK. The violet leaf adds a bright fresh note, and I'm neutral on violet leaf. It also develops a fresh-synthetic note that seems at odds with what has come before. It reminds me of laundry detergent and seems ozonic. Here is where I lose interest. The 'freshy' quality abates in the dry-down but never quite goes away.

    01st January, 2011

    rating


    Pi by Givenchy

    alleged notes: tangerine, pine needles, infinium, ironwood, benzoin crystals.

    One of the nastiest scents I've encountered. Cloyingly grotesque in its sweetness.
    Candy floss, cream soda, and vanilla on a sugar cube.
    It is delusional to claim that there is anything like pine needles here.
    Could only stand this for about 30 seconds before I scrubbed it off.

    01st January, 2011

    rating


    Pi Neo by Givenchy

    Notes: citrus, toscanol (synthetic anise), cedar, patchouli, benzion.

    Aromatic and somewhat sweet. Fairly synthetic and dense in texture.
    I've smelled worse (e.g., original Pi).
    Comes across as cheap and banal.

    01st January, 2011

    rating


    Givenchy pour Homme Blue Label by Givenchy

    Not bad.
    Aquatic but not ozonic.
    Starts spicy, bergamot-citrusy, and fresh.
    A summery scent but a bit heavy in texture (though not sweet or cloying).
    Not my style but it is OK.
    Not irritating nor synthetic in character.
    Inoffensive.

    01st January, 2011

    rating


    L'Eau Guerrière 20 by Parfumerie Generale

    Notes: cinchona bark, sky aldehydes, olibanum resin (frankincense), aloe wood (oudh), musk.
    This is a marvelous, subtle scent – and a wood lover’s delight! It has a dry, coniferous opening due to the frankincense. There’s a touch of aromatic herbs and woody bark, from the cinchona, from which quinine is derived. The oudh is very restrained, the merest hint which brightens the scent. Some early notes I had suggested that there is myrrh here as well. If so, there is a marvelous assortment of incense notes. As others have noted, this is a restrained, quiet scent which sits close to the skin. My new favorite!

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    David Beckham Instinct by Beckham

    I'm amazed! I hadn't expected to like this. I find it to be quite good!
    I'm impressed by how accurate the notes are.
    The citrus notes are complex and pleasing. The licorice/anise and spice notes are true, the vetiver is simple but enjoyable. Each is distinct.
    The scent is not sweet nor heavy.
    The patchouli and amber are happily restrained.
    Well, I endorse this scent! Perhaps not remarkable, but certainly well done.

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    Summer Night by Canali

    Here are the official product fragrance notes --
    Top: Tangerine, bergamot, coriander, nutmeg, cardamom, apple, pineapple, melon
    Mid: Orange blossom, jasmine, lily of the valley, violet leaves, "sea breeze"
    Base: Leather and suede skin, musk, amber, vetyver, tonka beans, oakmoss, cedarwood, sandalwood, orris root

    What DOESN'T this have in it? Just your basic citrus - spice - fruit - floral - wood - leathery/musk/moss combo.
    Predictably sweet and fruity, like a hard candy. Gets musky and powdery.
    Don't get much of a marine note, despite the blue colour and "sea breeze" note.
    Smooth, rather banal in my opinion. And much too sweet. Uggh.

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    Eternity for Men by Calvin Klein

    Green, fresh, vaguely herbal.
    It gets a bit ozonic and thin -- seems to lack depth or any interesting features.
    Strikes me as an attenuated clone of Casswell-Massey's Greenbriar.
    Quickly gets tedious.

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    Harmatan Noir 11 by Parfumerie Generale

    Jasmine, cedar, mint tea, salt, patchouli
    Interesting assortment of notes. Minty, florals are not too sweet, smokey and silvery incense, a bit of spice. This is a cool, dry scent and so far I like it. It gets more floral and spicier, bigger and smokier. I have a marvelous image – old stones anointed by incense and prayers. Interesting! It hovers at the edge of sweetness but does not go over the line. The tangy notes of salty patchouli get bigger. Yet it remains cool, translucent (not dense), mysterious and intriguing. Slightly metallic in an interesting way, quirky, elusive, intriguing. Obviously I need to think about this and try it again…

    30th December, 2010

    rating


    Onde Extase by Giorgio Armani

    Developed by Bruno Jovanovic.
    The fragrance note should be "sesame absolute", typo in the listing.
    This is a fairly dense cloud of deep and sweetly rich floral notes.
    Despite the colour of the juice, the scent suggests pink rather than green.
    It settles into an opulent yet fresh musk note with a hint of good peppercorn.
    Not my style. I can't see many men wanting to wear this. But it is an interesting scent.

    30th December, 2010

    rating


    Onde Mystère by Giorgio Armani

    Developed by Maurice Roucel.
    I like it. There is nothing here to keep a man from wearing and enjoying this.
    It has a fresh, enjoyable quality. The potentially heavy and sweet elements are restrained.
    Rose lurks appealingly in the background, along with a very light incense note.
    I am super-sensitive to vanilla and find hardly any here.
    Thus, I find this attractive. It is sheer and perhaps short-lived, but otherwise it is an admirable light summery scent.

    30th December, 2010

    rating


    Onde Vertige by Giorgio Armani

    Developed by Jacques Cavallier and Azniv Buzantian.
    Aromatic and a bit vegetal, suggesting celery leaves and fennel.
    The sudden appearance of something like soy sauce and ginger makes me say,
    "bring on the sushi!"
    A metallic note, very much like tinned peaches. I suppose those are floral notes.
    Kind of an odd duck.

    30th December, 2010

    rating


    Dunhill for Men by Dunhill

    This is a fine, classic scent. Light lemony notes mingle with hints of herbs from the clary sage. The florals are dusky and not sweet. The overall scent is refined and elegant. My slight reservation is with the orris note, which never is a favorite of mine. Here it is restrained, and gives a slightly fleshy - tangy - minty note. It adds a cool and distinctive character to the scent. The dry-down is only slightly powdery, and there is a hint of sheer woods and a trace of leather.

    29 December, 2010

    rating


    Desire for a Man by Dunhill

    Very, very sweet. Heavy, **dense**
    Fruity-spicy. Monstrous sillage. Tends towards the screechy-metallic-synthetic side of the red cloud.
    Simple, brash, unattractive verging on obnoxious.

    29 December, 2010

    rating


    Jaguar (new) by Jaguar

    Rather sweet and musky. At times, it suggests bug spray or a screechy synthetic.
    Boiled celery leaves?
    Verges on irritating, what saves it a bit is that it is not too heavy.

    28 December, 2010

    Showing 541 to 570 of 1238.