Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 31 to 60 of 1236.
    rating


    Armani Privé Oud Royal by Giorgio Armani

    An excellent scent. Oud-centric, to be sure. But everything is well blended, the oud is distinctive but not problematic. Sure, there is the rubbery band-aid and medicinal aspect, but that is the charm of oud. It is quite addictive when you get used to it.
    The opening is charming and aromatic. The hint of licorice is a brilliant combination with the soapy-sweet myrrh. Here, it reminds me of Fou D'Absinthe by L'Artisan Parfumer.
    The scent is dry -- a welcome feature. Good hints of wood appear from time to time.
    The dry-down has amber, musk and vanilla but these are softening background agents rather than prominent features.
    Oud fans should check this out, and those curious or new to oud could find this an acceptable introduction to the genre.

    13 May, 2014

    rating


    Jewel For Him by Martine Micallef

    Delightful scent! Brilliant.
    Starts with very good citrus and spice -- attractive, invigorating, natural.
    There are supported by wood notes.
    The patchouli-vetiver is earthy and interesting. That chord, plus the incense (probably oud) suggests a mitti attar with an intriguing clay or mineral note.
    Perhaps there is also rose in the oud, which lends a lovely floral aspect.
    Perfectly blended, everything is in balance.
    Special commendation to the oud, which is very attractive and not weird in any way.
    The scent is not heavy, and can be reapplied as desired.

    09 May, 2014 (Last Edited: 06 July, 2014)

    rating


    De Bachmakov by Different Company

    This is a scent in three very distinct phases.
    1. Green leaves and a toasted-nut chord. Green fig is fairly prominent. Like the leaf, not sure about the toasted nut.
    2. Prolific use of spice. Nutmeg is listed but it smells much more like cinnamon. Not a favorite note in the spice repertoire.
    3. A lovely, delicate floral-wood chord. So beautiful, but very restrained and fleeting.
    In my opinion only #3 is good, and it is so ephemeral that I can't muster enthusiasm for the scent overall.

    07 May, 2014

    rating


    Greene Street by Etro

    I am voting "neutral" on this, but that is somewhat charitable.
    Really -- shouldn't a scent with GREEN(E) in the title be at lease somewhat green in style? This isn't. The basil is missing in action. This is a basic spicy scent, at times a bit sweet. Perhaps there is a hint of incense and resin, but not much more. Violet and geranium? Likewise nowhere to be found. The spice is OK, at times bland but at other times a bit "dirty" and interesting. However, the drydown is a bit sweet and ambery, and I don't like it.

    06 May, 2014

    rating


    La Liturgie des Heures by Jovoy

    Don't like it.
    Has a sweet, even candied or gourmand note. Spicy-sweet. That is the first impression.
    Further application and analysis yields a myrrh-prominent scent, with a hint of frankincense. A sweet version of myrrh, and not very interesting.
    Where's the cypress? Missing in action.
    An incense scent should be drier and more intriguing.
    Washed it off.

    04 May, 2014

    rating


    L'Humaniste by Frapin

    I don't like it. I think it squanders potentially interesting elements in an attempt to make a rather sweet, bland, "fresh" scent.
    The bergamot dominates throughout, and is a rather plummy, rich and ultimately tiresome note. The juniper-gin is fresh and a bit synthetic, rather than coniferous and natural. The cardamom and other spices are a little too sweet to suit me. Perhaps some of the spices give a slight woody note, otherwise it is from some unnamed element.
    In sum -- a little too sweet, fresh in a shallow way, and just not my style. Irritating in the long run, after an hour I washed it off.

    04 May, 2014

    rating


    Armani Privé Rose d'Arabie by Giorgio Armani

    This is a simple scent, in that it features only a few prominent notes: saffron, oud, and rose. The saffron gives a dusky quality, the oud is bright but not weird, and the rose is also bright and fresh. The scent is well-balanced and wears well. It has excellent longevity, many hours in duration. I don't find the patchouli or amber to be pronounced, certainly no problem with them (they are not among my favorite notes). A good scent.

    01st May, 2014

    rating


    Executive by Atkinsons

    Long discontinued, hard to find. The fresh bloom of youth has faded from this vintage juice.
    Basically, it is a nice chypre in the citrus-herbal vein, with a bit of pepper spice and a real old-school mossy drydown. Not sweet, not heavy.
    I don't see much similarity to Eau Sauvage. I have the (basic) Executive and perhaps it has some affinity to Carven Vetiver (a mossy sort of scent) though Executive lacks the rootsy-woody vetiver of Carven.
    I don't think this vintage juice is worth big bucks or great efforts to acquire. It is a charming but basic thing, a solid and somewhat simple men's chypre typical of the 70's.

    29 April, 2014

    rating


    Armani Privé Myrrhe Impériale by Giorgio Armani

    I am voting "neutral" on this.
    The scent is an excellent myrrh rendition. However, in time the vanilla and benzoin keep ramping up and I find the scent to be extremely tedious. It actually has too much longevity for me! Easily 12 hours, even more in fact. I recognize that the vanilla/benzoin aspect is a personal taste thing, and thus some may like this. The scent is well made, no question.
    It starts with a great myrrh note: heady, green and slightly coniferous, at times slightly rubbery-soapy and at other times woody. Myrrh is a rounder, plumper and deeper note than frankincense (the other main incense sort of note) and I prefer the crisp coniferous notes of frankincense. But myrrh is certainly intriguing and exotic, and does combine well with frankincense. Eventually, the benzoin adds too much intensity, and the vanilla and amber get a bit too sweet for me. The scent becomes quite dense and heavy, and it doesn't suit me.

    29 April, 2014

    rating


    Blu Mediterraneo Ginepro di Sardegna / Juniper of Sardinia by Acqua di Parma

    It starts with a very pleasant and lively juniper note. That is fresh, invigorating, and smells like juniper berries rubbed in your hands. It picks up some spice and woody notes. Where it fails is in the dry-down. That gets fairly sweet, the cedarwood at this point seems monolithic and heavy and perhaps synthetic. Certainly tiresome and a bit ambery.

    28 April, 2014

    rating


    Fraiche by Rancé

    The full name of this scent is Eau Fraiche. It also has Eau de Plasir Extra Fine on the box.
    It is under the label of RNC (Researche Nature Cosmetique) which is a distribution affiliate of Rance.
    Top: Lemon, orange, bitter orange
    Mid: Geranium, sage, galbanum
    Base: Sandalwood, ambergris, opoponax

    This is a classic style EdC, with a green tone. It starts lemony and natural. Herbal notes develop and the scent has a refreshing, pleasant character. Perhaps there is a bit of Verbena here, since I get its typical profile of lemon - basil - baked bread.
    A slightly soapy quality in the drydown, which is pleasant.
    Overall, a good scent. Not ground-breaking, but nicely done in the classic EdC style.

    25 April, 2014

    rating


    Bahiana by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

    Here is fuller notes list.
    TOP: Brazilian orange, Caipirinha lemon, yellow mandarin
    MID: Tagette, leafy greens, rosewood, gaiac wood, elemi
    BASE: musk, amber, coconut.

    First of all -- the coconut and amber are very subtle and (as a fan of neither) not a problem here. No suntan-lotion vibe, no buttery-rich sweetness.
    This is a lovely unisex scent, certainly dry enough for a guy to enjoy.
    Starts with lovely orange-citrus notes: soft and gentle, rather than acidic.
    Then there are leafy and woody notes, all of which are very natural and subtle.
    Settles into a very pleasant citrus-wood.
    There is only the merest hint of coconut -- more in the green fig line.
    Lovely woody dry-down.
    A subtle scent, should have a broad appeal.

    23 April, 2014

    rating


    Artisan Acqua by John Varvatos

    Points in its favour: not sweet, not heavy, fresh but not screechy, modestly citric and green.
    Points against: not terribly interesting. "A bright aftershave" as one reviewer put it. Perhaps some very mild herbal notes. Somewhat aquatic in style as the name suggests.
    I think the "notes" are puffery. Few if any are detectable.
    A fresh, light green aquatic. Dat's all, folks.

    16 April, 2014

    rating


    Fleur d'Or & Acacia by L'Occitane

    Lemony and fruity, at times an apricot-peach sort of note.
    Fairly sweet with a round, plump texture.
    Pleasant florals. Sunny, cheery, definitely a "yellow" sort of scent.
    Young in style, aimed at a feminine market.
    No woods to speak of, and a sweet musk dry-down.
    Harmless.

    15 April, 2014

    rating


    Eros by Versace

    The usual tiresome, sweet, fruity, synthetic, charmless, obnoxious, loud dreck.

    15 April, 2014

    rating


    Verveine / Verbena by L'Occitane

    No problems, just a basic scent.
    Very green lemon. Refreshing. Hints of a the classic verbena (basil, lemon, warm bread) but could be developed more.
    Simple.

    10th March, 2014

    rating


    L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme Yuzu by Issey Miyake

    Pleasant, good. Natural-smelling.
    Very green lemon opening. Hints of spice and a very light but persistent wood in the dry-down.
    Not complex, but refreshing. Dry, not a hint of sweetness. I like that.

    10th March, 2014

    rating


    Juniper Gin by Love&Toast

    Great value and a really nice scent.
    Fresh, green, refreshingly light.
    Lemon-citrus notes and a hint of juniper berry.
    Not boozy or gin-like, despite the name.
    Inexpensive, natural. Doesn't last a long time but is easy to reapply.

    06 March, 2014

    rating


    Moss & Ivy by For Strange Women

    To my mind (and nose) this is a superb scent! Being oil-based, it has a lovely slow evolution and great longevity.
    One of the most natural and complex basil scents I have encountered. Definitely rocks the natural appeal of basil leaf: anise, mint, herbal, green. Works very well with the minty-herbal lavender.
    Not sweet at all. Very refreshing, natural and pleasing.
    Later it develops a classic salty-moss drydown which has real legs.
    Excellent!

    14 February, 2014

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 6 Synthetic: Garage by Comme des Garçons

    Odd and not my style. Yet it is a well-made and interesting fragrance.
    The kerosene and leather notes are accurate. I also get the rubbery smell of tires. With a bit of a wood note, this definitely suggests a workshop or garage. A fairly straight-forward garage -- I don't get any science-fiction THX 1138 elements, as some reviewers have.
    A little sweet in the dry down. Does not appeal to me.

    14 February, 2014

    rating


    Cipro (Essenza Tripolo) by Santa Maria Novella

    This is what perfumed USED to be like: powerful, heady, concentrated, incredible longevity. It is incredible to find a commercial product in today's market that delivers that incredible, old-world, old-school vibe but this certainly does that! Wearing it is like time travel.
    Substantial and dense, yet not cloying or heavy. Resinous and a touch of sweetness, but not oppressive. Very natural and yet quite antique. Beautiful! Hard to find -- you have to be at a dedicated and well-stocked SMN outlet in Europe, I think. But worth the hunt. I think people would scent their pocket handkerchiefs with this -- part of a dandy's repertoire. Well, a small dab on the wrist works equally well.

    12 February, 2014

    rating


    Violin in the Attic by For Strange Women

    An unusual, distinctive scent. It is in solid form, in beeswax. Thus it is slow to develop and has very good longevity.
    It is meant to evoke an old violin, stored in an attic for many years. Thus, it profiles some very woody notes, and the rosin one would expect in a violin. There is the strong note of linseed oil, giving this a putty sort of smell and a woodshop/industrial vibe. Attractive, a bit quirky, certainly seems uber-masculine to me. I didn't get any rose or cocoa, perhaps these simply soften the overall scent. Noble old wood, furniture, a bit monolithic in the early stages. Very much later, some lovely incense notes develop and last for a good while.

    11th February, 2014

    rating


    Love and Tears by By Kilian

    Meh... bleah.
    Has a very promising start of lovely white florals. gets a bit soapy. Pretty and sweet. Though at times earthy and apricot-like. Quickly gets cloying and tiresome, even in micro-doses.
    And there is nothing (and I mean NOTHING) remarkable or interesting here.

    08 February, 2014

    rating


    Wild Plum Campground Backpacker's Cologne by Juniper Ridge

    A nice scent -- very green and woody. Similar to Siskyou, a little darker and not as dusky-"plump".
    Coniferous, invigorating. Sap and resins are here. Bit soapy, as is Siskyou.
    earthy, woody, bark, even a mineral note.

    08 February, 2014

    rating


    Mysore Sandalwood Attar by AbdesSalaam Attar Profumo

    Very nice sandalwood: natural, woody, close to the skin, wears well.
    Clean and bright, slightly medicinal-lemony as some sandalwoods are.
    High quality.

    08 February, 2014

    rating


    Flower of Immortality by By Kilian

    Completely daft name. The peach note is dominant, so why not "Peach Melba" or "Sorbet a la Peche"?
    The peach is plump, juicy and appealing. However, uber-fruity scents always seem juvenile to me and I can't imagine anyone over 20 wanting to wear such a thing unless they were in a very goofy, light-hearted mood. Which, as I think of it, isn't such a bad thing...
    But back to the review. Young, girly, yet not cloyingly sweet. Some crisp aspect. Check it out and see what you think. Not in my purview but I've smelled far worse.

    06 February, 2014

    rating


    Le Poivre Rose by L'Antichambre

    This is a lovely scent. The notes listed are very similar to Raison Pure, yet the two scents are quite different.
    This does not have the minty-herbal aspect of RP. Rather, it develops the dry pepper, wood and incense notes. It suggests scrubby hills with wood and earth tones. It is more subtle than RP, and does not last quite as long. But the character is very classy and pleasing. I can particularly pick out a nice nutmeg note.
    Update -- the clary sage is very well done. The scent can be re-applied several times during the day. It has a lovely, subtle incense note in the dry-down.

    03 February, 2014 (Last Edited: 11th April, 2014)

    rating


    La Raison Pure by L'Antichambre

    The listed notes for Raison Pure are very similar to Poivre Rose -- and yet the scents are substantially different.
    Here, the emphasis is on a minty-herbal note which comes from the sage. This note is very persistent. It has a kind of soapy-fresh aspect which is pleasant and at times powerful.
    The spices are subtle and the incense likewise. The wood is a rather minor component.
    The cool mint works well with the warm spices, they contrast each other well.

    03 February, 2014

    rating


    Citrine by Olivier Durbano

    Oud, people. Oud is prominent. Hence a smokey note, hard to pin down. Almost like grillled sausage or bacon, at other times like rubber or a plastic bandage.
    Now, none of the above is bad! It is appealing if you like oud (aloewood, here as lignam vitae).
    And this combines with a languid, heady rosewood note.
    Not sweet, despite the rosewood and beeswax. But substantial.
    Very little citrus at any point, so the name is a bit confusing.

    29 January, 2014

    rating


    Siskiyou Backpacker's Cologne by Juniper Ridge

    Bright, grassy, a bit hay-like. Kind of lemony at first, in fact at times like a lemon hard candy. Then it develops a dusty-dusky herbal aspect. Powerful, slightly sweet, with a distinctive and somewhat round or "plump" character. The smell of scrubby hills. Could be more camphoraceous or coniferous. It does develop an interesting minor note of earth or mineral. Very natural, lasts about an hour.
    Update --
    Notes (from Juniper Ridge site):
    "Warm ginger, spicy cedar, driftwood, citrus, deep conifer forest, mountains and rivers without end."
    This is a distinctive scent. I should like it more. It has a rich, "plump", sort of musky quality that I can't quite identify and which I assume is the Siskiyou Cedar. It is not unpleasant, yet it doesn't fully appeal to me.
    Scent starts with a good lemon-citrus note. It quickly develops that rich note. I really struggle to describe it. It is something like fruit, perhaps tinned pineapple (tart with a metallic tang) or star fruit. But when I say "fruity" I don't mean it reminds me exactly of those fruits, rather those fruits share a weight/heft/quality with this scent. Perhaps the ginger adds to the mix.
    It settles into a light and vaguely coniferous scent. It is OK, and certainly worth a try. But this one was not bottle-worthy for me.

    21st January, 2014 (Last Edited: 29 August, 2014)

    Showing 31 to 60 of 1236.