Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 31 to 60 of 1239.
    rating


    Bahiana by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

    Here is fuller notes list.
    TOP: Brazilian orange, Caipirinha lemon, yellow mandarin
    MID: Tagette, leafy greens, rosewood, gaiac wood, elemi
    BASE: musk, amber, coconut.

    First of all -- the coconut and amber are very subtle and (as a fan of neither) not a problem here. No suntan-lotion vibe, no buttery-rich sweetness.
    This is a lovely unisex scent, certainly dry enough for a guy to enjoy.
    Starts with lovely orange-citrus notes: soft and gentle, rather than acidic.
    Then there are leafy and woody notes, all of which are very natural and subtle.
    Settles into a very pleasant citrus-wood.
    There is only the merest hint of coconut -- more in the green fig line.
    Lovely woody dry-down.
    A subtle scent, should have a broad appeal.

    23 April, 2014

    rating


    Artisan Acqua by John Varvatos

    Points in its favour: not sweet, not heavy, fresh but not screechy, modestly citric and green.
    Points against: not terribly interesting. "A bright aftershave" as one reviewer put it. Perhaps some very mild herbal notes. Somewhat aquatic in style as the name suggests.
    I think the "notes" are puffery. Few if any are detectable.
    A fresh, light green aquatic. Dat's all, folks.

    16 April, 2014

    rating


    Fleur d'Or & Acacia by L'Occitane

    Lemony and fruity, at times an apricot-peach sort of note.
    Fairly sweet with a round, plump texture.
    Pleasant florals. Sunny, cheery, definitely a "yellow" sort of scent.
    Young in style, aimed at a feminine market.
    No woods to speak of, and a sweet musk dry-down.
    Harmless.

    15 April, 2014

    rating


    Eros by Versace

    The usual tiresome, sweet, fruity, synthetic, charmless, obnoxious, loud dreck.

    15 April, 2014

    rating


    Verveine / Verbena by L'Occitane

    No problems, just a basic scent.
    Very green lemon. Refreshing. Hints of a the classic verbena (basil, lemon, warm bread) but could be developed more.
    Simple.

    10th March, 2014

    rating


    L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme Yuzu by Issey Miyake

    Pleasant, good. Natural-smelling.
    Very green lemon opening. Hints of spice and a very light but persistent wood in the dry-down.
    Not complex, but refreshing. Dry, not a hint of sweetness. I like that.

    10th March, 2014

    rating


    Juniper Gin by Love&Toast

    Great value and a really nice scent.
    Fresh, green, refreshingly light.
    Lemon-citrus notes and a hint of juniper berry.
    Not boozy or gin-like, despite the name.
    Inexpensive, natural. Doesn't last a long time but is easy to reapply.

    06 March, 2014

    rating


    Moss & Ivy by For Strange Women

    To my mind (and nose) this is a superb scent! Being oil-based, it has a lovely slow evolution and great longevity.
    One of the most natural and complex basil scents I have encountered. Definitely rocks the natural appeal of basil leaf: anise, mint, herbal, green. Works very well with the minty-herbal lavender.
    Not sweet at all. Very refreshing, natural and pleasing.
    Later it develops a classic salty-moss drydown which has real legs.
    Excellent!

    14 February, 2014

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 6 Synthetic: Garage by Comme des Garçons

    Odd and not my style. Yet it is a well-made and interesting fragrance.
    The kerosene and leather notes are accurate. I also get the rubbery smell of tires. With a bit of a wood note, this definitely suggests a workshop or garage. A fairly straight-forward garage -- I don't get any science-fiction THX 1138 elements, as some reviewers have.
    A little sweet in the dry down. Does not appeal to me.

    14 February, 2014

    rating


    Cipro (Essenza Tripolo) by Santa Maria Novella

    This is what perfumed USED to be like: powerful, heady, concentrated, incredible longevity. It is incredible to find a commercial product in today's market that delivers that incredible, old-world, old-school vibe but this certainly does that! Wearing it is like time travel.
    Substantial and dense, yet not cloying or heavy. Resinous and a touch of sweetness, but not oppressive. Very natural and yet quite antique. Beautiful! Hard to find -- you have to be at a dedicated and well-stocked SMN outlet in Europe, I think. But worth the hunt. I think people would scent their pocket handkerchiefs with this -- part of a dandy's repertoire. Well, a small dab on the wrist works equally well.

    12 February, 2014

    rating


    Violin in the Attic by For Strange Women

    An unusual, distinctive scent. It is in solid form, in beeswax. Thus it is slow to develop and has very good longevity.
    It is meant to evoke an old violin, stored in an attic for many years. Thus, it profiles some very woody notes, and the rosin one would expect in a violin. There is the strong note of linseed oil, giving this a putty sort of smell and a woodshop/industrial vibe. Attractive, a bit quirky, certainly seems uber-masculine to me. I didn't get any rose or cocoa, perhaps these simply soften the overall scent. Noble old wood, furniture, a bit monolithic in the early stages. Very much later, some lovely incense notes develop and last for a good while.

    11th February, 2014

    rating


    Love and Tears by By Kilian

    Meh... bleah.
    Has a very promising start of lovely white florals. gets a bit soapy. Pretty and sweet. Though at times earthy and apricot-like. Quickly gets cloying and tiresome, even in micro-doses.
    And there is nothing (and I mean NOTHING) remarkable or interesting here.

    08 February, 2014

    rating


    Wild Plum Campground Backpacker's Cologne by Juniper Ridge

    A nice scent -- very green and woody. Similar to Siskyou, a little darker and not as dusky-"plump".
    Coniferous, invigorating. Sap and resins are here. Bit soapy, as is Siskyou.
    earthy, woody, bark, even a mineral note.

    08 February, 2014

    rating


    Mysore Sandalwood Attar by AbdesSalaam Attar Profumo

    Very nice sandalwood: natural, woody, close to the skin, wears well.
    Clean and bright, slightly medicinal-lemony as some sandalwoods are.
    High quality.

    08 February, 2014

    rating


    Flower of Immortality by By Kilian

    Completely daft name. The peach note is dominant, so why not "Peach Melba" or "Sorbet a la Peche"?
    The peach is plump, juicy and appealing. However, uber-fruity scents always seem juvenile to me and I can't imagine anyone over 20 wanting to wear such a thing unless they were in a very goofy, light-hearted mood. Which, as I think of it, isn't such a bad thing...
    But back to the review. Young, girly, yet not cloyingly sweet. Some crisp aspect. Check it out and see what you think. Not in my purview but I've smelled far worse.

    06 February, 2014

    rating


    Blue Encens by Comme des Garçons

    This is a superb scent, and a lovely friend has kindly gifted me with it.
    MMM exactly my cup of tea. Cool/warm vibe, dusky green with solid incense notes. Designed to enter and stay in my comfort zone.
    The cool is from the artemesia, which has a minty-herbal character. The warm is from the spices and the smoke of the incense notes.
    The overall effect is moire -- shimmering.
    Also there is a good mineral note -- wet stones. And true to the "blue" designation there is even a marine note which here fits well into the overall scheme.
    Refreshing, comforting, introspective, subtle yet assertive.
    Very well constructed and wears well throughout the day.
    Top marks!

    06 February, 2014

    rating


    Le Poivre Rose by L'Antichambre

    This is a lovely scent. The notes listed are very similar to Raison Pure, yet the two scents are quite different.
    This does not have the minty-herbal aspect of RP. Rather, it develops the dry pepper, wood and incense notes. It suggests scrubby hills with wood and earth tones. It is more subtle than RP, and does not last quite as long. But the character is very classy and pleasing. I can particularly pick out a nice nutmeg note.
    Update -- the clary sage is very well done. The scent can be re-applied several times during the day. It has a lovely, subtle incense note in the dry-down.

    03 February, 2014 (Last Edited: 11th April, 2014)

    rating


    La Raison Pure by L'Antichambre

    The listed notes for Raison Pure are very similar to Poivre Rose -- and yet the scents are substantially different.
    Here, the emphasis is on a minty-herbal note which comes from the sage. This note is very persistent. It has a kind of soapy-fresh aspect which is pleasant and at times powerful.
    The spices are subtle and the incense likewise. The wood is a rather minor component.
    The cool mint works well with the warm spices, they contrast each other well.

    03 February, 2014

    rating


    Citrine by Olivier Durbano

    Oud, people. Oud is prominent. Hence a smokey note, hard to pin down. Almost like grillled sausage or bacon, at other times like rubber or a plastic bandage.
    Now, none of the above is bad! It is appealing if you like oud (aloewood, here as lignam vitae).
    And this combines with a languid, heady rosewood note.
    Not sweet, despite the rosewood and beeswax. But substantial.
    Very little citrus at any point, so the name is a bit confusing.

    29 January, 2014

    rating


    Siskiyou Backpacker's Cologne by Juniper Ridge

    Bright, grassy, a bit hay-like. Kind of lemony at first, in fact at times like a lemon hard candy. Then it develops a dusty-dusky herbal aspect. Powerful, slightly sweet, with a distinctive and somewhat round or "plump" character. The smell of scrubby hills. Could be more camphoraceous or coniferous. It does develop an interesting minor note of earth or mineral. Very natural, lasts about an hour.

    21st January, 2014

    rating


    Dia Man by Amouage

    On my skin, this is basically POWDER. Ambery, sweet powder. "Talc for the gods" as one reviewer has called it. If you like powdery scents then you will probably find this to be a very classy scent. I don't like sweet scents and after a while I find it to be cloying.
    The cistus labdanum in the top notes and the amber in the base frame the scent solidly in amber. For me, the amber dominates at the expense of the other more interesting notes. I get no citrus, little spice. The florals are squished into a narrow sweet range. The dry-down develops a few leathery and woody notes.

    21st January, 2014

    rating


    Prada Amber pour Homme Intense by Prada

    A complete and utter waste of time.
    Sweet. Uber-sweet.
    Powdery.
    Tinny-metallic.
    Extremely irritating.
    A scrubber.

    04 December, 2013

    rating


    Bottega Veneta Pour Homme by Bottega Veneta

    Woody, sweet, simple, a bit thick.
    Perhaps a slight metallic tinge.
    Smells inexpensive and generic.

    03 December, 2013

    rating


    Tzora by Anat Fritz

    A pleasant scent. For me it is not as distinctive, flinty or interesting as Terre D'Hermes.
    The main similarity is in the opening, which is a dry peppery citrus. This is very nice, and very dry.
    The scent moves to its second phase. At times like paper, other times a floral - celery leaf - baked bread note.
    The dry down is light and mossy. There is a slightly earthy note due to the vetiver.
    Overall, pleasant and classy.

    29 November, 2013

    rating


    Arso by Profumum

    Given the price, I am neutral on it.
    It is wood. Good wood, to be sure. But for me, it is simply wood and not much else.
    The wood is pleasing. It reminds me of bark, with a rough texture.
    Simple, outdoorsy, natural, and beautiful.
    But I don't get much (if any) coniferous notes, or incense.
    So after a while the wood seems monolithic to me.
    I think it could be more interesting.

    28 November, 2013

    rating


    Black Tourmaline by Olivier Durbano

    An interesting scent. Basically a smoky wood scent, with strong rubbery oud notes.
    Starts with a dark green element and some piney incense. Unfortunately, these are brief.
    It quickly settles into a rubbery-smoky scent. Interesting, quite intriguing.
    The dry-down is cool/metallic, herbal-minty, and a bit earthy -- typical of a good patchouli.
    And that dry-down is pleasant.
    Not a Conehead delight, and not enough incense.
    But pretty good.

    25 November, 2013

    rating


    Sous le toit de Paris by Atelier Cologne

    This is a pleasant, pretty scent. Nothing ground-breaking here, but nothing problematic.
    Starts with a hint of candied orange peel. Nice, too brief.
    Then some silvery violet leaf. Again, too brief... and a bit of a disappointment since this is proclaimed as a violet scent. Could be more interesting here.
    It settles into a light, slightly soapy-clean scent, with light musk and the merest hint of a leather note.
    Very safe, non-controversial. Suitable for office wear.
    Unisex, but some guys might find it a bit soft, pretty and sweet.
    Sits close to the skin.

    25 November, 2013

    rating


    Eau Mohéli by Diptyque

    Floral, a bit sweet. Reminds me of green jasmine tea.
    Develops a metallic, slightly cool aspect.
    Benzoin and patchouli are evident.
    Doesn't do much with the ylang-ylang.
    Dry-down is a light, inoffensive musk. Has sweet and slightly buttery aspects.
    Not remarkable, not complex.

    07 November, 2013

    rating


    Eau de Mandarine Ambrée by Hermès

    acceptable fruit goes south

    Starts with a crisp, realistic mandarine orange note. Pleasant.

    There may be passion fruit lurking underneath but I can't detect it.

    At this point the scent is not sweet and is refreshing and light.

    Then the amber kicks in. Not heavy or cloying, but odd. Sometimes a bit metallic, other times sort of toasted-wheat, like whole wheat cereal left soaking in milk for too long. Blah.

    Pros: nice orange notes
    Cons: odd amber"

    22 October, 2013

    rating


    Cristalle Eau Verte by Chanel

    Stale celery leaves

    Well if you like musty old celery leaves then this definitely is for you. Tired and unappealing.

    05 October, 2013

    Showing 31 to 60 of 1239.