Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 31 to 60 of 1265.
    rating


    Les Elixirs Charnels - Chypre Fatal by Guerlain

    Notes: white pear, rose, patchouli and vanilla.
    Very feminine, sweet. Some would find it pretty.
    Pears are prominent, kind of a warm pear or cooked pear note.
    The patchouli gives an earthy but also metallic note.
    Don't really care for this. Not sure why it is called a "chypre".

    29th June, 2014

    rating


    Nuit d'Amour by Guerlain

    Definitely not my style.
    Starts as a rather watery (aquatic) rose. Gets quite sweet. A bit metallic from the aldehydes. At times something like apricot skin. Powdery-sweet dry-down.

    29th June, 2014

    rating


    Cologne du 68 by Guerlain

    Certainly a lot going on here. The many notes produce a rather rich and dense scent. Overall, I get a sweet and pretty floral, with spicy notes and some powdery vanilla in the dry-down. Certainly a good approximation of the heliotrope flower, among other things. Hints of musk and even perhaps leather. Not my style, but as I said it is a pretty scent and would be enjoyed by many.

    29th June, 2014

    rating


    Adam Levine for Men by Adam Levine

    Generic fresh fruity glop. Like a Lifesaver candy.

    26th June, 2014

    rating


    Adam Levine for Women by Adam Levine

    I can't diss it and I won't endorse it.
    Basically, a simple woody scent.
    Not sweet. No florals that I can detect. No vanilla thankfully.
    Just a kind of bland, woody scent. Kinda pencil shavings. Not very exciting.

    26th June, 2014

    rating


    François Charles by Rancé 1795

    Disappointed. The product hype suggested a "walk in the forest" and the notes show herbs and woods. But this turns out to be a "fresh" - spice - musk sort of scent.
    The herbal notes are much too brief to count for anything. The spices are done in a sweet style and are prominent. The scent has a synthetic tang.

    12th June, 2014

    rating


    Armani Privé Cuir Noir by Giorgio Armani

    Not my style but a good scent.
    Sweet and floral opening, with good spices. Distinguished leather and a hint of wood. The oud is very well done and adds a distinctive counterpoint. The scent is quite sweet and rich, with a luxurious and elegant air. Creamy notes from the sandalwood, and a powdery dry-down. At times, the final note is like foundation make-up or a metallic makeup case. Perhaps more feminine in style, with that last element.

    10th June, 2014

    rating


    Idole de Lubin by Lubin

    Not my style but a good fragrance.
    Boozy opening, somewhat sweet and spicy. Well-made, but rather sweet. Good wood and a hint of leather. Rich and dense. Masculine in style but could be attractive for a woman. The dry-down is classy, high quality, with leather and creamy sandalwood. The sweetness abates somewhat, though the scent remains rich.

    10th June, 2014

    rating


    Triomphe by Rancé 1795

    EdP formulation.
    Opens with citrus and spice. Settles into a dry, dusky pepper note. Conveys a classy aura: well-blended, close to the skin. The florals are muted rather than foreground. Definitely a masculine style. HInt of wood and dry musk in the dry-down. For me, the pepper is the dominant note and I appreciate its dry spicy quality.

    08th June, 2014

    rating


    Néroli by Annick Goutal

    A gorgeous orange blossom scent -- one of the best.
    Very crisp and yet very floral in the opening stages. Blossoms... Spring in a bottle.
    The crispness from the green and cypress notes is a great counterpoint to the lovely florals. Simple, satisfying. So what if the longevity is a bit short? Re-apply! Enjoy quality as it appears.

    08th June, 2014

    rating


    L'Eau Neuve Figaro by Lubin

    A witty name for a fig-based scent, also a reference to the opera Marriage of Figaro.
    This is a good scent. Starts with a fresh, very realistic and pleasant grapefruit note, combined with pepper and spice. The heart is green. The cilantro (coriander leaves) and clover give a perky, leafy, slightly crunchy note. The merest hint of pine is evident. The scent settles into fig, framed by green apple and plum fruit. The fruit provides an interesting backdrop to the fig. The scent is well blended and holds everything in balance. A refreshing scent for the summer, it is not sweet or heavy. Not remarkable, but nice. Certainly a very safe bet for daytime and office wear.

    05th June, 2014 (Last Edited: 02nd July, 2014)

    rating


    Sahara Noir by Tom Ford

    Apparently aimed at a feminine market -- but really, this is such a dry, assertive scent that it seems quite masculine to me.
    Starts with dusky orange and resinous notes. Quickly moves to spice and smoky incense. The style is powerful and yet restrained. It seems intriguing, even haunting. Quite smoky at times, and at other times there is an earthy tang from the patchouli and oud. Wears very well and has great longevity.

    03rd June, 2014

    rating


    Caligna by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Wow! A great scent! Hits all the right buttons for me.
    The opening is excellent. It is a fig note which is green and refreshing. It works well with the dusky clary sage and a hint of violet leaf, which ameliorate the fig note and provide a very nice, complex opening chord.
    The lentisk further develops the dusky-green theme. I also get a forest and forest-floor note from the pine needles.
    Overall, this is a very good scent in the garrigue style -- a breeze wafting over resinous shrubs.

    02nd June, 2014

    rating


    Eau Rose by Diptyque

    A complex, shifting scent. Very distinct phases.
    1. Green, aquatic opening. Very green and sappy, quite natural and pleasing.
    2. A DEEP DEEP rose, really excellent. Velvety, romantic yet not heavy.
    3. An quirky, celery-leaf or toasted nut chord. Quasi-leather, rather clover-y honey.
    4. The re-emergence of the rose. This is a pleasant surprise. I had given up on it. But it is back, and improves phase 3. Phase four is lovely, with rose and hay-moss notes in combination. This is another excellent phase, and certainly something a guy could enjoy. Something like a blond tobacco-leaf note here.
    Phase #2 (the rose) is excellent but brief.
    It makes an interesting return in phase 4, with complexity.
    To my taste the honey could be kicked back two notches in phase 4, otherwise a real winner.
    well, rose fans should check this out. It is a volatile chimera. Intriguing.

    17th May, 2014

    rating


    Dot by Marc Jacobs

    Very watery-aquatic.
    Fresh in a synthetic way.
    Dominant notes of star fruit and also cucumber.
    Fairly sweet.
    Doesn't seem at all attractive to me.

    16th May, 2014

    rating


    Armani Privé Oud Royal by Giorgio Armani

    An excellent scent. Oud-centric, to be sure. But everything is well blended, the oud is distinctive but not problematic. Sure, there is the rubbery band-aid and medicinal aspect, but that is the charm of oud. It is quite addictive when you get used to it.
    The opening is charming and aromatic. The hint of licorice is a brilliant combination with the soapy-sweet myrrh. Here, it reminds me of Fou D'Absinthe by L'Artisan Parfumer.
    The scent is dry -- a welcome feature. Good hints of wood appear from time to time.
    The dry-down has amber, musk and vanilla but these are softening background agents rather than prominent features.
    Oud fans should check this out, and those curious or new to oud could find this an acceptable introduction to the genre.

    13th May, 2014

    rating


    Jewel For Him by Martine Micallef

    Delightful scent! Brilliant.
    Starts with very good citrus and spice -- attractive, invigorating, natural.
    There are supported by wood notes.
    The patchouli-vetiver is earthy and interesting. That chord, plus the incense (probably oud) suggests a mitti attar with an intriguing clay or mineral note.
    Perhaps there is also rose in the oud, which lends a lovely floral aspect.
    Perfectly blended, everything is in balance.
    Special commendation to the oud, which is very attractive and not weird in any way.
    The scent is not heavy, and can be reapplied as desired.

    09th May, 2014 (Last Edited: 06th July, 2014)

    rating


    De Bachmakov by The Different Company

    This is a scent in three very distinct phases.
    1. Green leaves and a toasted-nut chord. Green fig is fairly prominent. Like the leaf, not sure about the toasted nut.
    2. Prolific use of spice. Nutmeg is listed but it smells much more like cinnamon. Not a favorite note in the spice repertoire.
    3. A lovely, delicate floral-wood chord. So beautiful, but very restrained and fleeting.
    In my opinion only #3 is good, and it is so ephemeral that I can't muster enthusiasm for the scent overall.

    07th May, 2014

    rating


    Greene Street by Etro

    I am voting "neutral" on this, but that is somewhat charitable.
    Really -- shouldn't a scent with GREEN(E) in the title be at lease somewhat green in style? This isn't. The basil is missing in action. This is a basic spicy scent, at times a bit sweet. Perhaps there is a hint of incense and resin, but not much more. Violet and geranium? Likewise nowhere to be found. The spice is OK, at times bland but at other times a bit "dirty" and interesting. However, the drydown is a bit sweet and ambery, and I don't like it.

    06th May, 2014

    rating


    La Liturgie des Heures by Jovoy

    Don't like it.
    Has a sweet, even candied or gourmand note. Spicy-sweet. That is the first impression.
    Further application and analysis yields a myrrh-prominent scent, with a hint of frankincense. A sweet version of myrrh, and not very interesting.
    Where's the cypress? Missing in action.
    An incense scent should be drier and more intriguing.
    Washed it off.

    04th May, 2014

    rating


    L'Humaniste by Frapin

    I don't like it. I think it squanders potentially interesting elements in an attempt to make a rather sweet, bland, "fresh" scent.
    The bergamot dominates throughout, and is a rather plummy, rich and ultimately tiresome note. The juniper-gin is fresh and a bit synthetic, rather than coniferous and natural. The cardamom and other spices are a little too sweet to suit me. Perhaps some of the spices give a slight woody note, otherwise it is from some unnamed element.
    In sum -- a little too sweet, fresh in a shallow way, and just not my style. Irritating in the long run, after an hour I washed it off.

    04th May, 2014

    rating


    Armani Privé Rose d'Arabie by Giorgio Armani

    This is a simple scent, in that it features only a few prominent notes: saffron, oud, and rose. The saffron gives a dusky quality, the oud is bright but not weird, and the rose is also bright and fresh. The scent is well-balanced and wears well. It has excellent longevity, many hours in duration. I don't find the patchouli or amber to be pronounced, certainly no problem with them (they are not among my favorite notes). A good scent.

    01st May, 2014

    rating


    Executive by Atkinsons

    Long discontinued, hard to find. The fresh bloom of youth has faded from this vintage juice.
    Basically, it is a nice chypre in the citrus-herbal vein, with a bit of pepper spice and a real old-school mossy drydown. Not sweet, not heavy.
    I don't see much similarity to Eau Sauvage. I have the (basic) Executive and perhaps it has some affinity to Carven Vetiver (a mossy sort of scent) though Executive lacks the rootsy-woody vetiver of Carven.
    I don't think this vintage juice is worth big bucks or great efforts to acquire. It is a charming but basic thing, a solid and somewhat simple men's chypre typical of the 70's.

    29th April, 2014

    rating


    Armani Privé Myrrhe Impériale by Giorgio Armani

    I am voting "neutral" on this.
    The scent is an excellent myrrh rendition. However, in time the vanilla and benzoin keep ramping up and I find the scent to be extremely tedious. It actually has too much longevity for me! Easily 12 hours, even more in fact. I recognize that the vanilla/benzoin aspect is a personal taste thing, and thus some may like this. The scent is well made, no question.
    It starts with a great myrrh note: heady, green and slightly coniferous, at times slightly rubbery-soapy and at other times woody. Myrrh is a rounder, plumper and deeper note than frankincense (the other main incense sort of note) and I prefer the crisp coniferous notes of frankincense. But myrrh is certainly intriguing and exotic, and does combine well with frankincense. Eventually, the benzoin adds too much intensity, and the vanilla and amber get a bit too sweet for me. The scent becomes quite dense and heavy, and it doesn't suit me.

    29th April, 2014

    rating


    Blu Mediterraneo Ginepro di Sardegna / Juniper of Sardinia by Acqua di Parma

    It starts with a very pleasant and lively juniper note. That is fresh, invigorating, and smells like juniper berries rubbed in your hands. It picks up some spice and woody notes. Where it fails is in the dry-down. That gets fairly sweet, the cedarwood at this point seems monolithic and heavy and perhaps synthetic. Certainly tiresome and a bit ambery.

    28th April, 2014

    rating


    Fraiche by Rancé

    The full name of this scent is Eau Fraiche. It also has Eau de Plasir Extra Fine on the box.
    It is under the label of RNC (Researche Nature Cosmetique) which is a distribution affiliate of Rance.
    Top: Lemon, orange, bitter orange
    Mid: Geranium, sage, galbanum
    Base: Sandalwood, ambergris, opoponax

    This is a classic style EdC, with a green tone. It starts lemony and natural. Herbal notes develop and the scent has a refreshing, pleasant character. Perhaps there is a bit of Verbena here, since I get its typical profile of lemon - basil - baked bread.
    A slightly soapy quality in the drydown, which is pleasant.
    Overall, a good scent. Not ground-breaking, but nicely done in the classic EdC style.

    25th April, 2014

    rating


    Bahiana by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

    Here is fuller notes list.
    TOP: Brazilian orange, Caipirinha lemon, yellow mandarin
    MID: Tagette, leafy greens, rosewood, gaiac wood, elemi
    BASE: musk, amber, coconut.

    First of all -- the coconut and amber are very subtle and (as a fan of neither) not a problem here. No suntan-lotion vibe, no buttery-rich sweetness.
    This is a lovely unisex scent, certainly dry enough for a guy to enjoy.
    Starts with lovely orange-citrus notes: soft and gentle, rather than acidic.
    Then there are leafy and woody notes, all of which are very natural and subtle.
    Settles into a very pleasant citrus-wood.
    There is only the merest hint of coconut -- more in the green fig line.
    Lovely woody dry-down.
    A subtle scent, should have a broad appeal.

    23rd April, 2014

    rating


    Artisan Acqua by John Varvatos

    Points in its favour: not sweet, not heavy, fresh but not screechy, modestly citric and green.
    Points against: not terribly interesting. "A bright aftershave" as one reviewer put it. Perhaps some very mild herbal notes. Somewhat aquatic in style as the name suggests.
    I think the "notes" are puffery. Few if any are detectable.
    A fresh, light green aquatic. Dat's all, folks.

    16th April, 2014

    rating


    Fleur d'Or & Acacia by L'Occitane

    Lemony and fruity, at times an apricot-peach sort of note.
    Fairly sweet with a round, plump texture.
    Pleasant florals. Sunny, cheery, definitely a "yellow" sort of scent.
    Young in style, aimed at a feminine market.
    No woods to speak of, and a sweet musk dry-down.
    Harmless.

    15th April, 2014

    rating


    Eros by Versace

    The usual tiresome, sweet, fruity, synthetic, charmless, obnoxious, loud dreck.

    15th April, 2014

    Showing 31 to 60 of 1265.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000