Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 571 to 600 of 1237.
    rating


    Hugo by Hugo Boss

    Negative rating because it wastes potentially great coniferous and herbal notes.
    What is this? Fresh, minty laundry detergent.
    Uber-synthetic smelling, hints of faux leather (perhaps plastic-leather).
    Quickly gets very tiresome. Does not evoke nature in any sense.
    Pino Silvestre is MUCH better than this stuff.

    23 December, 2010

    rating


    Boss Pure by Hugo Boss

    Young, very young in style.
    Suggests an orange frozen treat.
    Doesn't last long at all. Fleeting, lightweight, even ephemeral.
    Orange -- clean -- gone.

    22 December, 2010

    rating


    Boss Soul by Hugo Boss

    I can't believe I'm giving this a neutral rating. It is not my style at all, but it does a good job.
    It is very sweet, a gourmand-candy sort of thing. For me, a deep chocolate note dominates, perhaps with hints of nut and or coconut. A tasty little bonbon. I'd never wear such a thing, but some will like it.
    Dry-down retreats a bit from the candy, gets hints of leathery musk. Rather sophisticated in tone.
    Not too bad at all.

    22 December, 2010

    rating


    Boss Number One by Hugo Boss

    I don't get it. "Macho, masculine, powerhouse"? Doesn't seem quite like that to me.
    The notes suggest a classic fougere but this doesn't have that unique perky-green note I associate with that type of scent. The scent starts as aromatic and herbal. It quickly assumes its main character, a soapy-clean style. It is pleasant and simple. It gets sweet and a bit powdery in the dry-down but not excessively so. As well, I find an airy, salty tang from the patchouli and oakmoss. I just don't find this as heavy as many reviewers suggest. Odd, since I usually am very sensitive to scent. Pleasant, but I have other fougeres I like much better.

    22 December, 2010

    rating


    Boss in Motion by Hugo Boss

    Very very sweet and cloying.
    Synthetic, obnoxious. Cheap spices, nasty faux oudh scent.
    Avoid this -- it will give nightmares.

    21st December, 2010

    rating


    Hugo XY by Hugo Boss

    Neutral shading into positive.
    This isn't bad. Just a little too sweet for my taste, but otherwise acceptable.
    Leafy-herbal notes and a touch of wood.
    Smooth, pleasant. Not synthetic.
    A little too smooth, and a little too sweet to suit me -- but many would enjoy it.

    21st December, 2010

    rating


    Boss Selection by Hugo Boss

    Opens with citrus.
    Sweet, smooth, powerful.
    Inoffensive, with a clear-clean character.
    No particular or distinctive features. Neither good nor bad.

    21st December, 2010

    rating


    Voyage by Nautica

    Cantaloupe + celery leaves + laundry detergent = Voyage.
    A voyage I'd never take. Headache-inducing!! :-(

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Contradiction for Men by Calvin Klein

    Citrus mostly, of a synthetic-fresh kind. Vague herbal notes. Kinda fresh.
    Where are the spices? There should be lots, but I don't find any.
    Lemon lifesaver candy with some laundry detergent.
    Simple, shallow, most uninteresting.
    For a quite young crowd, I guess.

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Chrome by Azzaro

    Relentlessly blue in packaging and concept.
    Starts sweetish, aromatic and fresh -- no surprise.
    Smells like many current scents, quite generic.
    Ozonic. Metallic, and in fact the ad boasts of this quality. :-(
    Where is the citrus?
    Where are the potentially interesting green notes of ivy and lichen?
    Where are any wood notes.
    None to be found.
    A somewhat sour dry-down. Very scrubbable. Double-scrubbable.

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Ghost Man by Ghost

    Quite sweet at first, and a bit spicy.
    Gets very sugary, floral, and a bit metallic.
    Precious, twee, cloying.
    Minty note like mouthwash.
    Florals are achingly sweet.
    Don't like it.

    19 December, 2010

    rating


    Fuel For Life pour Homme by Diesel

    What an odd scent!
    It starts rather aromatic and citrus... OK.
    Develops a note more herbal than anise.
    Oddly dry at that point.
    Metallic.
    No lavender, no fruit, and certainly no heliotrope (I was dubious about that).
    Celery leaves? Perhaps.
    Stinky socks and blue cheese? Possibly.
    Gets more powerful and finally develops the inevitable sweet note with the added tang of obnoxiousness and synthetic-ness.
    I think Dante missed a circle of hell, this definitely could qualify.
    Arggh.

    19 December, 2010

    rating


    H2 by Hummer

    For me this is a fresh-ozonic, rather sweet, vaguely greenish scent.
    'Greenish -- with the emphasis on ish rather than green.
    In fact, thish is incredibly ish.
    Simple, a bit bland, certainly predictable.
    The usual freshly-laundered smell of towels and the recent zap of a lightening bolt.
    It does not appeal to me.

    19 December, 2010

    rating


    Davidoff Adventure by Davidoff

    Peppery-citrus, melding into aromatic (herbal-tea) and light wood notes.
    Dry, for a while.
    Not a clone of every sweet/fresh thing on the market.
    However, it dries into a somewhat sweet and screechy note that is quite unpleasant.

    18 December, 2010

    rating


    Amor Pour Homme by Cacharel

    Notes: rose, "purple wood", vetiver
    Ghastly stuff. Sweet, completely generic. I've smelled clones of this dozens of times.
    Obnoxiously synthetic.
    The rose and vetiver are missing in action.
    On the other hand, this is the most ACCURATE rendition of purple wood I've EVER come across. :-(
    "Igor, come to the laboratory and see what I've cooked up today..."
    "Yes, master..."
    An Avon catalogue reject.

    18 December, 2010

    rating


    Laura Biagiotti by Laura Biagiotti

    Starts with an aromatic-green note, one that is ozonic and herbal at the same time.
    At this point it is rather interesting.
    Then it turns left at Albequerque and gets powdery, metallic, heavy and somewhat obnoxious.

    17 December, 2010

    rating


    Tokyo by Kenzo

    This isn't bad.
    The spices are somewhat sweet and certainly generic -- I don't detect ginger at all.
    Some citrus-y notes brighten the mix.
    The scent is smooth, attractive, not heavy, and quite pleasant.
    There is a faint hint of smoke towards the end.

    17 December, 2010

    rating


    Bleu Marine by Pierre Cardin

    Well, with a name like "Bleu Marine" I hadn't expected to like this at all. Actually, it isn't bad.
    I'd call it an aquatic herbal. A bit ozonic and metallic, but not screechy. Some good green-herbal notes, also the typical silvery sheen of armoise. Not terribly sweet, not too heavy. The Halston Z-14 comparison is apt, I'd call this a "lite" version of that scent. Definitely a warm-weather scent due to its frosty vibe.

    16 December, 2010

    rating


    Silver Light by Escada

    Notes: apple, grapefruit, patchouli, vanilla.
    Well, I've smelled worse.
    Essentially a slightly green scent, fresh and a bit aromatic.
    Soapy -- like clean laundry. A bit ozonic.
    Not too sweet, certainly not heavy.
    Curiously, I don't get any of the alleged notes. No fruit, no vanilla, no patchouli.
    If you want to smell like a bar of green soap or fresh towels, this one's for you.

    16 December, 2010

    rating


    Corduroy by Zirh

    Sweet, creamy, fresh.
    Very sweet. Tinny.
    Where are the spices?
    What is "aquacoral"? A fancy name for an aquatic chord.
    "Suede"? Don't really get it.
    If this has Bay Rum, where is the laurel leaf?
    Just another cheapo, sweet scent. Arggh.

    16 December, 2010

    rating


    Mustang by Mustang

    Well, I've smelled worse. The cheesy adverts look like something out of an Avon catalogue.
    The scent: simple, sweet. Very simple, rather sweet.
    Redeeming features? Not screechy-synthetic. Tolerable.
    Downfall? Anything that claims to have fir balsam either delivers or else slinks away in defeat.
    Defeat is the word here, not even a whiff of anything coniferous.
    But really guys, there are far more interesting things out there. This is pretty basic and rather bland stuff.

    15 December, 2010

    rating


    RSVP by Kenneth Cole

    Very sweet. Metallic. Aluminum foil with an old cherry lifesaver on it. Synthetic, shallow.

    15 December, 2010

    rating


    Puma Man by Puma

    GOSH what a surprise! A sweet, fresh, young-oriented scent! Well I've never imagined I would see such a thing. Simple, smells a bit like freshly-picked carrots from the garden with some laundry detergent tossed in.

    15 December, 2010

    rating


    Herrera Aqua by Carolina Herrera

    Fresh, lemony, quite sweet. Synthetic.
    Develops into quite a tiresome lemon-freshness that verges on the obnoxious.
    Gives me a headache.

    14 December, 2010

    rating


    Kenzo Power by Kenzo

    The opening is quite sweet, plummy and fruity (the bergamot). I don't get any spice, and I don't get any wood. There is a toasted, buttery note from the amber. Basically, this is a sweet and simple amber scent. Its redeeming feature (of sorts) is that it is not heavy. But it is really is not very interesting, either.

    14 December, 2010

    rating


    L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme Intense by Issey Miyake

    The scent seeks to be "warm and noble." Not really.
    Has an interesting spicy-incense opening which is quite different from the Pour Homme (regular).
    Then from time to time there is an vague and odd perfumey-plasticine note.
    A bit aquatic and fresh, in the tiresome way that so many CB I Hate Perfumes have -- a metallic, shallow note.

    13 December, 2010 (Last Edited: 04 March, 2011)

    rating


    LP No. 9 by Penhaligon's

    Top: lemon, geranium, bergamot, tarragon, lavender
    Mid: carnation, rose, jasmine
    Base: cinnamon, patchouli, musk, amber, cedar, vanilla

    Kind of an odd duck. The juice is a pink-purple colour. It starts with a good green note, from the tarragon (hay, grass) and geranium (perky green rose). It is so green at this point that I suspect the presence of galbanum. A dusky and almost metallic note is in the middle. Translucent in style. Is it pleasant? Not sure. Certainly different. Vanilla takes over, eventually. Sweetens things somewhat, fights with the wood. The metallic note lingers. Not particularly attractive.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Eau Pure by Caron

    Notes: rosewood, "aquatic fruits", spices, guiac wood
    This is a fresh, slightly green, cool, ozonic-aquatic scent. Pleasant if you like that style. Suggests freshly-laundered fluffy towels. Not any depth or complexity, but then one would not expect that in this sort of scent. Not particularly distinctive, or interesting.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    Shalimar by Guerlain

    Not anything I could wear, but I give it a whirl to understand it and appreciate a true classic.
    This is a rich, vanilla-bomb oriental. Quite languid, lovely and gracious.
    Very sweet. Plummy deep bergamot notes open. Spicy oponax gives depth. Vanilla certainly is present. Eventually it comes to dominate. The dry-down is very sweet, powdery, with a touch of leather.

    12 December, 2010

    rating


    L'Air de Rien by Miller Harris

    I’m astonished that I can tolerate and even appreciate this scent. Looking at the notes, I approached it with trepidation. It starts with a note which, although quite sweet, is interestingly spicy. The scent is luxurious and yet has a quiet restraint at the same time. Animalic and leathery notes from the musk appear. Suddenly the sweetness retreats, and a rather salty-mossy chord is evident. Finally, the drydown is quite powdery due to the musk. This phase starts quite dry but sweetens as some vanilla appears. Not my style, but I admire it.

    09 December, 2010

    Showing 571 to 600 of 1237.