Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 601 to 630 of 1287.
    rating


    Pi by Givenchy

    alleged notes: tangerine, pine needles, infinium, ironwood, benzoin crystals.

    One of the nastiest scents I've encountered. Cloyingly grotesque in its sweetness.
    Candy floss, cream soda, and vanilla on a sugar cube.
    It is delusional to claim that there is anything like pine needles here.
    Could only stand this for about 30 seconds before I scrubbed it off.

    01st January, 2011

    rating


    Pi Neo by Givenchy

    Notes: citrus, toscanol (synthetic anise), cedar, patchouli, benzion.

    Aromatic and somewhat sweet. Fairly synthetic and dense in texture.
    I've smelled worse (e.g., original Pi).
    Comes across as cheap and banal.

    01st January, 2011

    rating


    Givenchy pour Homme Blue Label by Givenchy

    Not bad.
    Aquatic but not ozonic.
    Starts spicy, bergamot-citrusy, and fresh.
    A summery scent but a bit heavy in texture (though not sweet or cloying).
    Not my style but it is OK.
    Not irritating nor synthetic in character.
    Inoffensive.

    01st January, 2011

    rating


    L'Eau Guerrière 20 by Parfumerie Generale

    Notes: cinchona bark, sky aldehydes, olibanum resin (frankincense), aloe wood (oudh), musk.
    This is a marvelous, subtle scent – and a wood lover’s delight! It has a dry, coniferous opening due to the frankincense. There’s a touch of aromatic herbs and woody bark, from the cinchona, from which quinine is derived. The oudh is very restrained, the merest hint which brightens the scent. Some early notes I had suggested that there is myrrh here as well. If so, there is a marvelous assortment of incense notes. As others have noted, this is a restrained, quiet scent which sits close to the skin. My new favorite!

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    David Beckham Instinct by Beckham

    I'm amazed! I hadn't expected to like this. I find it to be quite good!
    I'm impressed by how accurate the notes are.
    The citrus notes are complex and pleasing. The licorice/anise and spice notes are true, the vetiver is simple but enjoyable. Each is distinct.
    The scent is not sweet nor heavy.
    The patchouli and amber are happily restrained.
    Well, I endorse this scent! Perhaps not remarkable, but certainly well done.

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    Summer Night by Canali

    Here are the official product fragrance notes --
    Top: Tangerine, bergamot, coriander, nutmeg, cardamom, apple, pineapple, melon
    Mid: Orange blossom, jasmine, lily of the valley, violet leaves, "sea breeze"
    Base: Leather and suede skin, musk, amber, vetyver, tonka beans, oakmoss, cedarwood, sandalwood, orris root

    What DOESN'T this have in it? Just your basic citrus - spice - fruit - floral - wood - leathery/musk/moss combo.
    Predictably sweet and fruity, like a hard candy. Gets musky and powdery.
    Don't get much of a marine note, despite the blue colour and "sea breeze" note.
    Smooth, rather banal in my opinion. And much too sweet. Uggh.

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    Eternity for Men by Calvin Klein

    Green, fresh, vaguely herbal.
    It gets a bit ozonic and thin -- seems to lack depth or any interesting features.
    Strikes me as an attenuated clone of Casswell-Massey's Greenbriar.
    Quickly gets tedious.

    31st December, 2010

    rating


    Harmatan Noir 11 by Parfumerie Generale

    Jasmine, cedar, mint tea, salt, patchouli
    Interesting assortment of notes. Minty, florals are not too sweet, smokey and silvery incense, a bit of spice. This is a cool, dry scent and so far I like it. It gets more floral and spicier, bigger and smokier. I have a marvelous image – old stones anointed by incense and prayers. Interesting! It hovers at the edge of sweetness but does not go over the line. The tangy notes of salty patchouli get bigger. Yet it remains cool, translucent (not dense), mysterious and intriguing. Slightly metallic in an interesting way, quirky, elusive, intriguing. Obviously I need to think about this and try it again…

    30th December, 2010

    rating


    Onde Extase by Giorgio Armani

    Developed by Bruno Jovanovic.
    The fragrance note should be "sesame absolute", typo in the listing.
    This is a fairly dense cloud of deep and sweetly rich floral notes.
    Despite the colour of the juice, the scent suggests pink rather than green.
    It settles into an opulent yet fresh musk note with a hint of good peppercorn.
    Not my style. I can't see many men wanting to wear this. But it is an interesting scent.

    30th December, 2010

    rating


    Onde Mystère by Giorgio Armani

    Developed by Maurice Roucel.
    I like it. There is nothing here to keep a man from wearing and enjoying this.
    It has a fresh, enjoyable quality. The potentially heavy and sweet elements are restrained.
    Rose lurks appealingly in the background, along with a very light incense note.
    I am super-sensitive to vanilla and find hardly any here.
    Thus, I find this attractive. It is sheer and perhaps short-lived, but otherwise it is an admirable light summery scent.

    30th December, 2010

    rating


    Onde Vertige by Giorgio Armani

    Developed by Jacques Cavallier and Azniv Buzantian.
    Aromatic and a bit vegetal, suggesting celery leaves and fennel.
    The sudden appearance of something like soy sauce and ginger makes me say,
    "bring on the sushi!"
    A metallic note, very much like tinned peaches. I suppose those are floral notes.
    Kind of an odd duck.

    30th December, 2010

    rating


    Dunhill for Men by Dunhill

    This is a fine, classic scent. Light lemony notes mingle with hints of herbs from the clary sage. The florals are dusky and not sweet. The overall scent is refined and elegant. My slight reservation is with the orris note, which never is a favorite of mine. Here it is restrained, and gives a slightly fleshy - tangy - minty note. It adds a cool and distinctive character to the scent. The dry-down is only slightly powdery, and there is a hint of sheer woods and a trace of leather.

    29th December, 2010

    rating


    Desire for a Man by Dunhill

    Very, very sweet. Heavy, **dense**
    Fruity-spicy. Monstrous sillage. Tends towards the screechy-metallic-synthetic side of the red cloud.
    Simple, brash, unattractive verging on obnoxious.

    29th December, 2010

    rating


    Jaguar (new) by Jaguar

    Rather sweet and musky. At times, it suggests bug spray or a screechy synthetic.
    Boiled celery leaves?
    Verges on irritating, what saves it a bit is that it is not too heavy.

    28th December, 2010

    rating


    Intimately Beckham Men by Beckham

    I'm surprised by this one. It isn't bad!
    Things in its favor: not sweet, not heavy, not synthetic in character.
    Opens with a leafy, stalky green note.
    Has a bit of freshness but is not soapy or ozonic. Perhaps mint leaf, but not a toothpaste note.
    Gets smooth but is a very pleasant scent overall.

    28th December, 2010

    rating


    Boss Bottled by Hugo Boss

    Very sweet, slightly fruity. Aromatic and a bit spicy.
    No particular distinguishing features, and the sweetness gets oppressive almost immediately.

    28th December, 2010

    rating


    Hugo Dark Blue by Hugo Boss

    This scent is a crime against humanity.
    Something that has lime, ginger, cypress and olibanum (frankincense) should be terrific, lean, zesty, aromatic.
    This is so sweet and heavy it is nauseating.
    Suggests an old purse with lipstick and foundation make-up.

    23rd December, 2010

    rating


    Hugo Energise by Hugo Boss

    An odd duck -- there's hardly anything here.
    A vague scent, somewhat sweet.
    Where are the spices?
    Coriander leaf (aka cilantro) should be very green, perky and aromatic. Don't get anything of that here.
    Don't even get cocoa bean.
    Very smooth and very very laid-back.
    I can see no reason to want this scent, or spend money on it.

    23rd December, 2010

    rating


    Hugo by Hugo Boss

    Negative rating because it wastes potentially great coniferous and herbal notes.
    What is this? Fresh, minty laundry detergent.
    Uber-synthetic smelling, hints of faux leather (perhaps plastic-leather).
    Quickly gets very tiresome. Does not evoke nature in any sense.
    Pino Silvestre is MUCH better than this stuff.

    23rd December, 2010

    rating


    Boss Pure by Hugo Boss

    Young, very young in style.
    Suggests an orange frozen treat.
    Doesn't last long at all. Fleeting, lightweight, even ephemeral.
    Orange -- clean -- gone.

    22nd December, 2010

    rating


    Boss Soul by Hugo Boss

    I can't believe I'm giving this a neutral rating. It is not my style at all, but it does a good job.
    It is very sweet, a gourmand-candy sort of thing. For me, a deep chocolate note dominates, perhaps with hints of nut and or coconut. A tasty little bonbon. I'd never wear such a thing, but some will like it.
    Dry-down retreats a bit from the candy, gets hints of leathery musk. Rather sophisticated in tone.
    Not too bad at all.

    22nd December, 2010

    rating


    Boss Number One by Hugo Boss

    I don't get it. "Macho, masculine, powerhouse"? Doesn't seem quite like that to me.
    The notes suggest a classic fougere but this doesn't have that unique perky-green note I associate with that type of scent. The scent starts as aromatic and herbal. It quickly assumes its main character, a soapy-clean style. It is pleasant and simple. It gets sweet and a bit powdery in the dry-down but not excessively so. As well, I find an airy, salty tang from the patchouli and oakmoss. I just don't find this as heavy as many reviewers suggest. Odd, since I usually am very sensitive to scent. Pleasant, but I have other fougeres I like much better.

    22nd December, 2010

    rating


    Boss in Motion by Hugo Boss

    Very very sweet and cloying.
    Synthetic, obnoxious. Cheap spices, nasty faux oudh scent.
    Avoid this -- it will give nightmares.

    21st December, 2010

    rating


    Hugo XY by Hugo Boss

    Neutral shading into positive.
    This isn't bad. Just a little too sweet for my taste, but otherwise acceptable.
    Leafy-herbal notes and a touch of wood.
    Smooth, pleasant. Not synthetic.
    A little too smooth, and a little too sweet to suit me -- but many would enjoy it.

    21st December, 2010

    rating


    Boss Selection by Hugo Boss

    Opens with citrus.
    Sweet, smooth, powerful.
    Inoffensive, with a clear-clean character.
    No particular or distinctive features. Neither good nor bad.

    21st December, 2010

    rating


    Voyage by Nautica

    Cantaloupe + celery leaves + laundry detergent = Voyage.
    A voyage I'd never take. Headache-inducing!! :-(

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Contradiction for Men by Calvin Klein

    Citrus mostly, of a synthetic-fresh kind. Vague herbal notes. Kinda fresh.
    Where are the spices? There should be lots, but I don't find any.
    Lemon lifesaver candy with some laundry detergent.
    Simple, shallow, most uninteresting.
    For a quite young crowd, I guess.

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Chrome by Azzaro

    Relentlessly blue in packaging and concept.
    Starts sweetish, aromatic and fresh -- no surprise.
    Smells like many current scents, quite generic.
    Ozonic. Metallic, and in fact the ad boasts of this quality. :-(
    Where is the citrus?
    Where are the potentially interesting green notes of ivy and lichen?
    Where are any wood notes.
    None to be found.
    A somewhat sour dry-down. Very scrubbable. Double-scrubbable.

    20th December, 2010

    rating


    Ghost Man by Ghost

    Quite sweet at first, and a bit spicy.
    Gets very sugary, floral, and a bit metallic.
    Precious, twee, cloying.
    Minty note like mouthwash.
    Florals are achingly sweet.
    Don't like it.

    19th December, 2010

    rating


    Fuel For Life pour Homme by Diesel

    What an odd scent!
    It starts rather aromatic and citrus... OK.
    Develops a note more herbal than anise.
    Oddly dry at that point.
    Metallic.
    No lavender, no fruit, and certainly no heliotrope (I was dubious about that).
    Celery leaves? Perhaps.
    Stinky socks and blue cheese? Possibly.
    Gets more powerful and finally develops the inevitable sweet note with the added tang of obnoxiousness and synthetic-ness.
    I think Dante missed a circle of hell, this definitely could qualify.
    Arggh.

    19th December, 2010

    Showing 601 to 630 of 1287.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000