Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 841 to 870 of 1287.
    rating


    Buckingham by Crown Perfumery

    This is a pleasant scent, fairly old-school in style (soapy, balsamic, spicy). It opens with a very nice lemony-citrus blast and resinous notes. Pine and juniper provide a fresh, bright aspect; and cypress gives it a slightly dusky quality. There are some spices here, not very pronounced but certainly apparent. They give a masculine, barbershop feel to the scent. The oakmoss gets a bit soapy as it often does in old scents. The drydown is aromatic and balsamic, a bit substantial but not oppressive.

    05th August, 2009 (Last Edited: 13th March, 2013)

    rating


    Sandringham by Crown Perfumery

    On me, this is a powerful, aromatic mossy-herbal scent. The citrus and floral escape me, or disappear instantly. The herbal notes are very interesting. I detect thyme in abundance, and also perhaps marjoram, mint and/or rosemary. There are supposed to be “sweet woody notes” but I find they are very minor, compared to the assertive and slightly sweet herbal notes. I appreciate herbal scents, and I enjoy this one. But for me, it is so assertive that I must apply lightly. I find it really gains in intensity in the drydown. It definitely has an old-school vibe.

    04th August, 2009

    rating


    Lavender and Italian Lemon by Potter & Moore

    This has a good opening: the lemon is green and fresh, and the lavender is dry and slightly smoky. This is a simple summer spritz, not complicated or deep, and it is inexpensive. The drydown is quite good. It is not heavy, sweet or powdery and it has reasonable longevity. The accompanying bath oil is lovely (it has a lemon-cream and lavender scent) and the luxury body crème is amazingly rich.

    03rd August, 2009

    rating


    Monsieur Rochas by Rochas

    Note: I have the gold-coloured EDT in concentrée form. The opening is lemony with a strong bergamot note. The scent quickly moves to a carnation/clove and spice phase which is warm and aromatic. There is a bit of dry wood from the cedar. The short-term drydown is that of a dry and lean patchouli, with its characteristic hint of leather. Monsieur Rochas is not a green fern-y fougere in the style of Crown Fougere. It is a gold/brown spicy-leathery fougere. The ultimate drydown is a dusky and slightly salty old-school oakmoss. This is well-done 70’s scent: it is assertive and yet mellow, and quite masculine in style.

    03rd August, 2009

    rating


    Traditional Cologne by D.R. Harris & co.

    This is a basic refreshing splash citrus cologne. Its distinctive feature is that it has orange oil. This gives a lovely, orange-y note, like orange skins. This is not sweet. It is fresh and enjoyable. A light scent, it can be applied liberally and often.

    21st July, 2009 (Last Edited: 31st July, 2009)

    rating


    Classic Cologne by D.R. Harris & co.

    This is a basic refreshing splash citrus cologne. Its distinctive features are lime notes and very light grassy notes, which give this a ‘green’ character. This is a light, subtle scent – so splash it on liberally and enjoy. It has a pleasant light musk drydown.

    21st July, 2009 (Last Edited: 31st July, 2009)

    rating


    Gold Medal by Atkinsons

    Looking at these notes I had a good idea of what this would be like -- and I was right. This is a gorgeous, neroli-based scent. It is very simple, a classy version of an EDC. The longevity of such a citrus scent is predictably brief, so splash it on liberally and often. Orange blossom: special.

    17th July, 2009

    rating


    Fresco by Victor

    This is lemony-green and minty, with an old-school barbershop aspect that might due to a bit of patchouli. It has a slightly powdery drydown which is cool, airy and smooth. Not as citrusy as V Victor. A nice green bottle, in splash format.

    16th July, 2009 (Last Edited: 31st July, 2009)

    rating


    Olibanum by Profumum

    Orange blossom, frankincense, myrrh, sandalwood
    This has a magnificently resinous incense opening. It is dry, slightly smoky, and very satisfying. Myrrh contributes a pleasant depth, and sandalwood provides a woody spine – but this is a frankincense scent, and a great one. . Its notes are green, austere, contemplative, and slightly cool. My kind of scent. Highest endorsement.

    15th July, 2009

    rating


    Victrix by Profumum

    Pink pepper, coriander (see below), laurel, vetiver, oakmoss (see below).
    This has a very green, grassy opening – a bit of surprise but I appreciate it. The pepper gives a slight tingly-warm aspect to the green notes. As an EDP this is substantial (even rich) but not heavy. The notes are seamless and cannot easily be distinguished. My impression is of a grassy field in the sun. The scent is so green in a low-key way that I suspect that coriander leaf (cilantro) as well as coriander seed plays a role. The leaf adds a minty, perky note; and the seed gives a faint sweet-nut whiff. Great dry-down – slightly grassy and even hay-like. Subtle, sits close to the skin. Note, the final element is oakmoss (muschio di quercia), not musk.

    14th July, 2009

    rating


    V by Victor by Victor

    It opens with lots of lemon and bergamot, and only a hint of lavender. Verbena adds a powerful lemon-green note. The scent is quite citrusy, overall. It is a refreshing and substantial summer spritz. Some soapy wood notes emerge, and the scent settles into a clean mossy-green finish. Not complex, but nice and certainly inexpensive! I like the lovely squat green bottle.
    PS -- this is not discontinued. I just bought some (July 2009), in a Roman pharmacy. It is widely available in Italy.

    14th July, 2009

    rating


    Passage d'Enfer by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    What an odd name for this sort of scent. “Gates of Hell” sounds like a ferocious brew, and yet this is a lovely delicate floral. Think of white flowers, with a hint of green and a soft musk drydown. An aura of springtime is here. Not dry, not sweet, situated mid-point in every way. Incense notes are very light. This is a bit like Mugler Cologne, though not as green and more subtle. Not especially distinctive, and I certainly don't get any pine here.

    09th June, 2009

    rating


    Hermèssence Paprika Brasil by Hermès

    Pimento, clove and paprika
    Iris and green leaves
    Reseda, ember wood, woody notes.
    The opening has dusky green notes and is attractive. The spices are dry and peppery, and the clove is not overdone. The scent overall is subtle and translucent, as is typical of this line. The myrrh-like note from the reseda is heady and perfumed-green, giving a pleasant and soapy quality. The scent is quite enjoyable; dry not sweet. The peppery-myrrhy drydown is really enjoyable.

    08th June, 2009

    rating


    Dzongkha by L'Artisan Parfumeur

    Peony, lychee, chai tea with milk, vetiver, incense, cyprior grass, cedar, leather, iris.
    I am slightly disappointed in this scent. On me, it is essentially a light green, leather/iris scent. I was hoping for more interesting and exotic incense notes. The opening is very aromatic, green, tangy, and acidic. I’m not sure what that note is, it seems familiar to me but I can’t place it. Perhaps it is a green treatment of vetiver with the grassy notes. Where are the “wild smoky teas” and the “woods mixed with spices”? I didn’t notice them.

    08th June, 2009

    rating


    Greyland by Montale

    Wood notes: cedar, sandalwood, vetyver, kayak
    Spice notes: ginger, black pepper
    Base: Arabian leather, musk, Tibetan rock rose
    These notes are from the Montale site. I note that oud is not mentioned, and I believe it – I don’t detect any here. This is a woody scent through and through. The opening is a bit sweet, but not challenging. Lovely cedar notes emerge – they are woody and not suggestive of pencil-shavings. Pepper spices accompany the wood. And that chord maintains itself for several hours. So, while I appreciate the woody notes, I don’t think this especially distinctive in the world of cedar scents. Nothing wrong with it at all; it just doesn’t bring something new to the table.

    03rd June, 2009

    rating


    Eau de Camille by Annick Goutal

    This is a charming floral with a young air of innocence and yet depth. The opening is soft, green and pretty – suggesting spring flowers, honeysuckle and lily of the valley. The scent develops a soapy character that is pronounced but not challenging. The drydown has some earthy, heady aspects. This is a bit too floral and sweet for me, but it is very good scent.

    03rd June, 2009

    rating


    Derby by Guerlain

    I was very interested to try this – I know it has many fans. I find that there is much to appreciate here. Ultimately the leather/patchouli combo isn’t quite my cup of tea.
    I find that this has three distinct phases. Also worth mentioning is that the fragrance note elements are quite clear and distinguishable from each other. The first phase is the opening, which is bracingly spicy and green. It is big, aromatic, and pleasing. In particular the artemesia has a vibrant and powerful presence. The second phase is that of peppery spice, with some florals given a dark and earthy tone. This too is well done. The last phase is true to the scent’s 1980’s origin: a big ol’ tangy-brown chord of leather and patchouli. The patchouli really hangs in there, and takes on a kind of salty, minty character.
    So, this is classed as a leathery chypre, but I think that a case can be made that it is a leathery oriental (given the spices and patchouli). Well crafted, and worth checking out if you like this sort of thing.

    02nd June, 2009

    rating


    Vetiver Bourbon by Miller Harris

    This is a straightforward scent, essentially a soliflore expressing vetiver in an earthy way. The opening has notes of bark and dark soil. Then, a distinctive note of iodine appears. That is sometimes found in vetiver; here is not unpleasant. It gives a crisp, acidic note. This combines with the developing patchouli for an interesting effect – briny, almost marine! This was unexpected, and intriguing. A bit of toasty brown from oakmoss makes an appearance. This is a nice scent, and it will appeal to vetiver fans. Is it distinctive enough to justify the premium price, when there are many other competent vetiver scents out there? I’m not sure. But it is a very pleasing and satisfying scent.

    21st May, 2009

    rating


    Citron Citron by Miller Harris

    This opens with excellent, lovely citrus notes. These are very fresh and true, and have a tart green tone. The scent then moves into its herbal phase. This is well blended, being a green chord rather than distinct elements. The drydown is gentle and subtle, with very mild spices and hints of wood. This is a classy EDC – nothing particularly new or innovative here; but everything is well done.

    19th May, 2009

    rating


    Concorde by Metropolitan Collection

    This is a simple, fairly sweet floral scent. It starts with a green note, and then develops an earthy iris note on a musky base. That's about it.

    16th May, 2009

    rating


    Tabacco Toscano by Santa Maria Novella

    The full name of this is Tobacco di Toscana. It certainly smells of rich tobacco, a darker sort of tobacco than the blond leaf found in Acqua di Cuba. It is sweet and aromatic, and yet also powdery-dry and airy. I think it has a healthy dollop of coumarin (which often is used to scent pipe tobacco) and also tonka bean, since there is a strong vanilla note. Another rich and powerful scent from SMN, not my sort but quite interesting.

    16th May, 2009

    rating


    Melograno by Santa Maria Novella

    I agree with those who don't find any pomegranate/grenadine fruit here, also with those who find this to be a soapy scent. The image I get in my mind is a clear, powerfully-scented pink soap. It is a pleasant, clean smell and also quite rich. Not my sort of scent, but interesting.

    16th May, 2009

    rating


    M2 Black March by CB I Hate Perfume

    Well, this smells like most of the CB oeuvre -- which is to say thin, somewhat sweet, slightly green. This has the virtue of being non-offensive. It doesn't irritate me, and it does smell reasonably like damp earth and green growing things. But there is nothing here to get me enthusiastic. Rather pallid.

    13th May, 2009

    rating


    Ankh by Scents of Time

    Top: Sicilian bergamot and lemon, lime, junper, pink pepper
    Mid: Myrtle, cypress, lavender, geranium, jasmine, cassia, cinnamon, nutmeg, black pepper
    Base: Benzoin, labdanum frankincense, myrrh, sandalwood, vetiver, birch tar, cedar, guaiacwood, accord of honey, tobacco and vanilla
    This is a truly excellent scent, a woody oriental that I can whole-heartedly endorse. It is a very dry scent with pepper-spice, incense, and old stones/mineral notes.
    The citrus notes of the opening are good, but predictably brief. Myrtle and cypress give green, coniferous notes. So far, it is light and refreshing, but then it develops some really interesting spicy-earthy elements. The sandalwood is well done, quite authentic. The birch tar is smoky and tangy, and cedar and guaiac are good and woody. The hints of tobacco and vanilla are not problematic for me. They are not sweet nor heavy. They give an earthy tang which, combined with the spices, creates an old-stones note that I find pleasant. Romantically, it suggests the atmosphere of an old pyramid tomb. The scent here is like Eau D’Italie, but with less citrus and more stony character. It is most intriguing, and I like it very much.

    12th May, 2009 (Last Edited: 23rd October, 2014)

    rating


    Elite by Floris

    I'll respectfully disagree with the negative and neutral comments, for me this is a terrific scent.

    Bergamot, cedar leaf, grapefruit, juniper berry, petitgrain
    Bay, fir balsam, lavender
    Amber, cedarwood, moss, musk, patchouli, vetiver

    This has a lovely green, bergamot-rich opening. The juniper and leafy cedar add fresh notes. Bay (laurel) adds to a terrific aromatic green-herbal theme. The laurel is outstanding here, being reserved yet uplifting (as befits its ancient Greek usage in victory crowns). This is a dry, well-blended scent. There are good coniferous elements lurking in the background. The drydown continues the green theme, with mossy and light musk notes. The drydown gets cool: the moss-musk-vetiver/grass produces a classy, somewhat austere British sort of mood (which I love). I think this is a great green scent: it is aromatic, not sweet, lively and yet formal. At times it reminds me of Truefitt & Hills Grafton. Big endorsement.

    11th May, 2009

    rating


    Vetiver by Floris

    Bergamot, lavender, lemon
    Cinnamon, clove, coriander, geranium, vetiver
    Amber, frankincense, patchouli, sandalwood, cedarwood, tonka bean
    This is a superb, classy scent. It is a crime that this gem is being discontinued. The opening is rich with plummy-aromatic bergamot, freshened by citrus and the merest whiff of lavender. Vetiver quickly appears, along with lovely warm spice notes. These two elements combine in a most pleasing way. The vetiver is very well done: dry, grassy-woody, typically tangy. It is not heavy and soapy as in Guerlain. Then, great wood notes appear: sandalwood and its usual friend, cedarwood. The sandalwood is very natural and enjoyable. This is a complex scent – more than simply vetiver, I’d call it a woody-spicy vetiver. It has depth and endless charms as it drys down. The vetiver and spices provide a comforting yet also invigorating tone. I like to think that the frankincense adds a subtle green note. This has my highest endorsement!

    08th May, 2009

    rating


    Let Me Play The Lion by LesNez

    Incense, sandalwood
    This is a simple, minimalist scent. It has a dusty, dusky sandalwood which gets some notes from its usual neighbor (cedar) and other notes from a slightly sweet, aromatic incense. The incense is restrained and I only noted it upon a second application. Essentially a woody and dry scent, it is also somewhat delicate, sitting close to the skin. The sandalwood hints at creamy vanilla but never goes there. It also whispers a kind of salty tang . If you are looking for a very subtle and restrained sandalwood, this would suit you. (revised)

    06th May, 2009 (Last Edited: 30th December, 2010)

    rating


    Sweet Lime and Cedar by Jo Malone

    This has a complex list of ingredients, and it is difficult for me to characterize it. I get a good citrus opening, followed by hints of green mint and herbs which are quite interesting. There is also a slightly sweet fruit note which is somewhat like pomegranate, that must be the passion fruit. Quickly a rather heavy and creamy white floral note appears. The gardenia and jasmine are prominent, and they muscle aside the very light woody spice notes. I don’t get any coconut – the fact that I can’t detect it tells me it is restrained. The amber is also restrained, thankfully. Less thankfully I find restraint in the lime or cedar, which I expected due to the scent’s name. This is an interesting scent, but I can’t get particularly enthusiastic about it. The dry-down seems simply "fresh" and somewhat synthetic. (revised review)

    14th April, 2009 (Last Edited: 28th August, 2009)

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 3 Incense: Jaisalmer by Comme des Garçons

    Pimento berries, cardamom, cinnamon, incense, guiac wood, ebony, amber, benzoin.
    Revised review.
    Very dry, austere spices are a good accompaniment for the incense. The overall effect is a shimmering cool from the incense against a dry warmth. The wood tones are exotic and compelling. No sweetness here. Substantial but not heavy. A woody-incense. The amber is very restrained, and the benzoin gives intensity to the overall fragrance. I think this is quite distinctive.

    10th April, 2009 (Last Edited: 20th August, 2014)

    rating


    Vintage by John Varvatos

    Santolina is a Mediterranean shrub which is also known as Lavender Cotton – it is not a true lavender plant. It yields a oil which has a camphor-like fresh note.
    This was a major disappointment. Lavender, juniper, fir balsam – these have great potential. This is a somewhat bland, fresh scent. The opening is sweetish, with that disappointing generic synthetic note which is typical of many current fragrances. Mild hints of a soapy patchouli or a cool fir note linger at the periphery. There is the merest hint of tobacco smoke in the drydown, which then gets a bit candy-sweet due to the patchouli and tonka. Another fresh, clean smell. Blah.

    10th April, 2009 (Last Edited: 12th July, 2011)

    Showing 841 to 870 of 1287.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000