Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 61 to 90 of 1236.
    rating


    Dia Man by Amouage

    On my skin, this is basically POWDER. Ambery, sweet powder. "Talc for the gods" as one reviewer has called it. If you like powdery scents then you will probably find this to be a very classy scent. I don't like sweet scents and after a while I find it to be cloying.
    The cistus labdanum in the top notes and the amber in the base frame the scent solidly in amber. For me, the amber dominates at the expense of the other more interesting notes. I get no citrus, little spice. The florals are squished into a narrow sweet range. The dry-down develops a few leathery and woody notes.

    21st January, 2014

    rating


    Prada Amber pour Homme Intense by Prada

    A complete and utter waste of time.
    Sweet. Uber-sweet.
    Powdery.
    Tinny-metallic.
    Extremely irritating.
    A scrubber.

    04 December, 2013

    rating


    Bottega Veneta Pour Homme by Bottega Veneta

    Woody, sweet, simple, a bit thick.
    Perhaps a slight metallic tinge.
    Smells inexpensive and generic.

    03 December, 2013

    rating


    Tzora by Anat Fritz

    A pleasant scent. For me it is not as distinctive, flinty or interesting as Terre D'Hermes.
    The main similarity is in the opening, which is a dry peppery citrus. This is very nice, and very dry.
    The scent moves to its second phase. At times like paper, other times a floral - celery leaf - baked bread note.
    The dry down is light and mossy. There is a slightly earthy note due to the vetiver.
    Overall, pleasant and classy.

    29 November, 2013

    rating


    Arso by Profumum

    Given the price, I am neutral on it.
    It is wood. Good wood, to be sure. But for me, it is simply wood and not much else.
    The wood is pleasing. It reminds me of bark, with a rough texture.
    Simple, outdoorsy, natural, and beautiful.
    But I don't get much (if any) coniferous notes, or incense.
    So after a while the wood seems monolithic to me.
    I think it could be more interesting.

    28 November, 2013

    rating


    Black Tourmaline by Olivier Durbano

    An interesting scent. Basically a smoky wood scent, with strong rubbery oud notes.
    Starts with a dark green element and some piney incense. Unfortunately, these are brief.
    It quickly settles into a rubbery-smoky scent. Interesting, quite intriguing.
    The dry-down is cool/metallic, herbal-minty, and a bit earthy -- typical of a good patchouli.
    And that dry-down is pleasant.
    Not a Conehead delight, and not enough incense.
    But pretty good.

    25 November, 2013

    rating


    Sous le toit de Paris by Atelier Cologne

    This is a pleasant, pretty scent. Nothing ground-breaking here, but nothing problematic.
    Starts with a hint of candied orange peel. Nice, too brief.
    Then some silvery violet leaf. Again, too brief... and a bit of a disappointment since this is proclaimed as a violet scent. Could be more interesting here.
    It settles into a light, slightly soapy-clean scent, with light musk and the merest hint of a leather note.
    Very safe, non-controversial. Suitable for office wear.
    Unisex, but some guys might find it a bit soft, pretty and sweet.
    Sits close to the skin.

    25 November, 2013

    rating


    Eau Mohéli by Diptyque

    Floral, a bit sweet. Reminds me of green jasmine tea.
    Develops a metallic, slightly cool aspect.
    Benzoin and patchouli are evident.
    Doesn't do much with the ylang-ylang.
    Dry-down is a light, inoffensive musk. Has sweet and slightly buttery aspects.
    Not remarkable, not complex.

    07 November, 2013

    rating


    Eau de Mandarine Ambrée by Hermès

    acceptable fruit goes south

    Starts with a crisp, realistic mandarine orange note. Pleasant.

    There may be passion fruit lurking underneath but I can't detect it.

    At this point the scent is not sweet and is refreshing and light.

    Then the amber kicks in. Not heavy or cloying, but odd. Sometimes a bit metallic, other times sort of toasted-wheat, like whole wheat cereal left soaking in milk for too long. Blah.

    Pros: nice orange notes
    Cons: odd amber"

    22 October, 2013

    rating


    Cristalle Eau Verte by Chanel

    Stale celery leaves

    Well if you like musty old celery leaves then this definitely is for you. Tired and unappealing.

    05 October, 2013

    rating


    Cristalle Eau de Toilette by Chanel

    Not all it is cracked up to be

    Something here didn't sit well on my skin. Quickly developed a tiresome, sad buttery note. Dense and unappealing. Synthetic peaches?

    05 October, 2013

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 6 Synthetic: Tar by Comme des Garçons

    An interesting experiment

    This is a very interesting and complex scent. It has three stages.

    First, there is a clean, industrial, plastic-y bright stage. Like a plastic doll, left in the sun. Definitely some tar notes, but not the warm smell of freshly-poured road asphalt, more like well-aged or well-tempered old tar. An old industrial site... whiff of a metal ashtray... yet attractive, interesting and wearable. Not my style but I am intrigued. Then a great pyrogenic/flinty note develops. The reviewer who mentioned "old concrete basement" really captured this. Old, but clean -- not musty or moldy. Thus, this stage is high-concept and well done.

    The second phase stalls. It gets a bit sweet and tiresome. I wonder if the scent is losing its edgy nerve. It gets dense, like plasticine.

    Then, a third stage appears! A woody incense! Quite a surprise, given what has gone before. Though, in thinking of the CdG line, that really is their signature or house style. This is very nice and has good longevity.

    Overall, a very interesting scent. Try it, don't be put off by the synthetic aspect. :coolold:

    Pros: The synthetic notes work well
    Cons: Stalls but recovers"

    29 September, 2013

    rating


    Vetiver Racinettes by Ayala Moriel

    Amazing!

    This is an outstanding scent. It does two things well.

    First, it gives a very unique vibe at the beginning. It is spicy, dusty, "ancient". It is like the interior chamber of an Egyptian pyramid -- very evocative. The mitti gives it these aspects, with earthy, clay notes. The mushrooms give more earthy, slightly sweet forest-floor aspects. And the hint of a very deep, rooty vetiver can be found here. Thus, this stage is so distinctive and completely intriguing.

    Then, the vetivers of various kinds emerge. Earthy notes combine with grassy and even lemony notes. This stage is a vetiver fan's delight. Many-layered and completely satisfying. I find that fine vetiver scents have a real comfort aura, and this one certainly has that.

    Powerful at first, and then very classy at the end.

    Try it!

    Pros: Unique, beautiful
    Cons: The earthy note will challenge some"

    29 September, 2013

    rating


    Incense Pure by Sonoma Scent Studio

    Not much incense

    I have to disagree with the opinions below. I don't find this to be a very incense-y scent, and certainly not anything remarkable.

    It has a very green, dry opening. The incense (such as it is) is largely myrrh, and seems to be the soapy-sweet variety of that rather than the haunting earthy kind.

    There are woody notes and labdanum.

    Hints of an earthy-minty patchouli and a rich, slightly buttery orris.

    Nothing suggesting the quiet tones of a church or temple here -- nothing.

    Thankfully the vanilla is not noticeable.

    The drydown has a somewhat irritating detergent-laundry note, slightly sweet. Perhaps a dusky note contribution from the angelica.

    Pros: Green, pleasant
    Cons: Bit sweet"

    29 September, 2013

    rating


    Flash Back by Olfactive Studio

    Pleasant, dry peppery-fruit

    This is not much like the sublime Terre D'Hermes.

    Main similarity is the peppery-citrus opening. However, it lacks the marvelous flinty note of TdH.

    Here, the citrus notes are plumper, rounder, very juicy.

    Then, the granny smith apple note kicks in. I have to admit it is well done and very realistic.

    But I have some reservations about a juicy apple note in a scent -- seems very young and like something you'd find in a Bath and Body Works store.

    Dry-down is a bit sweet and fruity, very young and cheery.

    Give this to your 10 year old niece. Save Terre D'Hermes for yourself. :coolold:

    Pros: notes are well done
    Cons: apple gives very young vibe"

    29 September, 2013

    rating


    Autoportrait by Olfactive Studio

    Sweet, boring

    Too sweet, people... too sweet.

    The citrus-wood opening is the best part (the least sweet).

    The so-called "benzoin slam" gives a very sweet chime along with the musk in the mid-notes.

    Incense notes are poorly rendered and hard to find.

    Dry-down is sweet, woody with a trace of coconut. Sweet pencil shavings, that's about it.

    No moss or vetiver that I can detect.

    Unremarkable to say the least. High concept, low execution.

    Pros: attempts to render some wood notes
    Cons: nothing remarkable here"

    29 September, 2013

    rating


    Eau Dynamisante by Clarins

    Unpleasantly sweet and spicy

    If you like a very sweet, gourmand, coriander-like spice biscuit, then this is for you. I find it intensely sweet and unpleasant.

    26 September, 2013

    rating


    Caruther's Canyon Backpacker's Cologne by Juniper Ridge

    "shrubs & sap"

    This is an unconventional scent. Nothing pretty, floral, or sweet here. The notes are listed as "tree pitch, plant sap/juice, steam-distilled EO's". There is a top note that is something like cumin or dried male sweat. This is brief but assertive. Then there is a minty eucalyptus, coniferous and resinous note. This has a woody foundation. There are still traces of a rubbery, terpene note, a lot like paint stripper. The scent is like walking through scrubby shrubs, getting the sap and leaf notes on you. The dry-down reminds me of Hinoki, though perhaps a bit less graceful. Not for everyone, but if you love nature in a bottle then you have to try this.

    Pros: Distinctive, nature in a bottle
    Cons: Challenging, powerful"</p>

    Update -- the woodiest of the ones I've sampled. More wood, less resin or conifer than the others. Rough, textured bark is suggested.

    11th September, 2013 (Last Edited: 25 August, 2014)

    rating


    El Mono de la Tinta by Fueguia

    Excellent sandalwood

    This has a truly excellent opening: resinous, woody, complex. This is from the copaiba, which has terpene aspects. To my nose, there is only the merest hint of a very dry, woody cinnamon -- not at all an "apple-pie spice" note. The spice is subtle, not a loud 1980's spice. Indeed, the scent is dry throughout and thus very pleasing to me. The sandalwood is dry and translucent (rather than dense, as it sometimes can be). At times, there are hints of a toasted nut chord, a bit like almonds or even marzipan. On my skin, this is a very good sandalwood scent, with spice playing a minor, supporting role. Nothing gourmand here at all in my opinion. Dry, subtle, very classy.

    Pros: Subtle, classy, dry
    Cons: no downside"

    09 September, 2013

    rating


    Fumidus by Profumum

    Powerful, masculine

    Very smokey! Very peaty-earthy-rubbery! What an experience... not for the faint of heart. I found this to be a tremendously interesting, organic scent.

    While these are the attributes of some single-malt Scotch whiskeys, I don't feel this has a Scotch note per se.

    Here's an interesting aspect. On my skin, the scent quickly went to a rather pleasant dry-down of smokey birch and dry/grassy vetiver. Here, it is almost exactly like Chanel Sycomore (new version).

    On paper, the scent remained at a very smokey, ashtray stage for hours and eventually came to the pleasant stage.

    The sheer power of the first phase will be challenging to some. But it is a worthy scent for sure.

    Pros: Distinctive, assertive, bold
    Cons: may be too strong for some"

    09 September, 2013

    rating


    Chaparral by Roxana Illuminated Perfumes

    Intriguing, distinctive

    Notes: tinctured plant material, sage, frankincense, wood, oud, "california" notes.

    Very aromatic and powerful -- notes of sweetgrass, hay, herbs. The scent seems more brown than green in tone. There is a hint of something like root-beer, but it is intriguing and attractive. It develops along smoky, leathery, even slightly rubbery lines. It suggests a saddle or old gloves, a cowboy riding the range.. a masculine image. The scent doesn't stay sweet for long, and this is a natural hay sweetness rather than a sugary, syrupy, floral sweetness. It develops into an even smokier, more powerful scent, The dry-down has a beautiful incense note, frankincense and myrrh.

    Pros: Green, herbal, incense
    Cons: distinctive, takes getting used to"

    03 September, 2013

    rating


    Chant de Bois by Le Labo

    Pleasant citrus-wood

    I am commenting on the solid format of this scent. I don't get any resemblance at all to Terre D'Hermes. Chant de Bois lacks the mineral note which is characteristic of TdH.

    Starts with a fruity-citrus note, comprised of plummy bergamot and pink grapefruit. Not sweet, but definitely fruity. I find a hint of pink pepper which develops nicely. Hints of wood and (to my nose) the merest hint of patchouli (minty-earthy, well done). As a solid, the notes are slow to develop.

    03 September, 2013

    rating


    Belle du Soir by Le Labo

    Pleasant, young, feminine

    Starts off floral, a bit sweet. Green notes, and soapy-fresh. Not much neroli, more gardenia. Pleasant, feminine, yong-cheery in style. Don't get much wood. Patchouli develops an earthy-leathery aspect. Dry down is sweet, and reminiscent of a cosmetic case. Not my style, but OK.

    Pros: pretty
    Cons: dry-down is a bit fusty"

    30th August, 2013

    rating


    Quince, Mint & Moss by Union

    Pleasing green

    Notes: quince, mint, juniper berries, thyme, sage, mountain ash extract, Irish moss

    This is a lovely, cheery green scent. Very fresh due to the mint and tangy quince. Uplifiting. Settles into a superb juniper note -- suggests a cool gin cocktail. Wears very well.

    Pros: natural, mood-elevating
    Cons: no downside"

    26 August, 2013

    rating


    The Maj by House of Matriarch

    Classy

    I can't claim to have much knowledge of attars, and this scent features several. Here are my impressions. This is a subtle scent, initially powerful and with a lovely drydown. There is a slight vanilla note and some sweetness in the early stages. Woody, earthy, clay-mineral (from the miti attar). Vintage and old-school because the attars were already aged prior to this scent's composition. The early stages remind me of a vintage fougere, with hay/coumarin sweetness. The later stages are drier and more woody.

    Pros: Stylish, subtle
    Cons: bit sweet/vanilla in early stage"

    26 August, 2013

    rating


    Holy Thistle by Union

    intriguing green

    Notes: Cnicus Benedictus (Holy Thistle), wild bracken, scots pine resin, sweet heather,bay leaf, juniper berry

    This is at times a lovely and distinctive green scent. At first bitter, then fresh-soapy, then reminiscent of pear or even fruit cocktail with syrup. Leafy and stalky. Hints of delicate floral from the heather. Can't detect the pine or juniper notes -- these could be more prominent. Scent is a bit sweet, and the fruity note is probably aimed at a female market. Could be drier and more resinous. The intriguingly dry resin notes are up-front, but they are quickly supplanted by the sweeter fruit notes (unfortunately, in my opinion).

    Pros: distinctive
    Cons: short on conifer, too sweet"

    23 August, 2013

    rating


    Royal by Geo F Trumper

    Old-school, acceptable

    I found this in a men's wear and accessory shop. Long discontinued, probably a 1980's left-over. Old school for sure, somewhat fusty perhaps. Slightly sweet moss, spices (cloves, nutmeg), and light wood. Pleasant and classy, but not remarkable. Because I'm a Trumper collector I bought it, but I wouldn't recommend going to extraordinary lengths to acquire it.

    Pros: classy, old-school
    Cons: not especially distinctive"

    22 August, 2013

    rating


    Oolang Infini by Atelier Cologne

    kinda nice but blah

    Has a nice citrus opening which segues to a white paper and ink smell, and also white shirt. Hints of a crisp green note. Pleasant, fresh, suitable for office wear. Agree with onaluna -- where's the tea? Not to be found here. :(

    Pros: citrus, green
    Cons: nondescript"

    23 July, 2013

    rating


    Grand Néroli by Atelier Cologne

    This is pretty good. It is in two parts. The first is a well-made orange blossom scent. It has the typical citrus and light wood notes, and the typical texture of a soft but dry cushion or cloud. The second part is a mossy-woody drydown. It gets nicer and nicer as it develops, and has great longevity. The vanilla is non-existent, thankfully.
    Nothing radical or edgy here, but a good neroli scent is always welcome.

    06 May, 2013

    rating


    Wisteria by Florascent

    Floral and ambery. Green, but a bit sharp. Not much more than that -- a simple scent.

    04 May, 2013

    Showing 61 to 90 of 1236.