Perfume Reviews

Reviews by odysseusm

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 1609

Merry Maker by Pinrose

Surprisingly good, given all the fruit notes (which I normal don't like). A light fruit punch, not sweet. The fruit notes are subtle, not cloying, quite pleasant. The florals are discreet -- indeed, the scent overall is subdued and sits close to the skin.
25th March, 2017

Pinrose by Pinrose

Not at all what I expected. Not really a rose-centric scent.
Quite alcohol-y at first. Then substantial clove/spice. A sharp, strong note, with a very faint hint of licorice/anise in the background.
The rose is slow to appear and is only a minor note for a while. Initially the scent is a dark green, somewhat rich and sweet spice fragrance.
Then, the rose asserts itself more. Rich and heady. Feminine market.
15th March, 2017

Wild Child by Pinrose

Not at all my style but nothing wrong with it.
Floral, sweet, young-feminine market.
A bit metallic in moments.
Could not pick out individual flowers.
Hint of buttery amber in the dry-down, but thankfully no vanilla cookie in sight.
15th March, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Tambourine Dreamer by Pinrose

Fresh and springlike. Pretty and innocent. Young but not juvenile. Orange blossom and lily of the valley are well done. Not sweet though certainly floral. Very attractive. Female market.
12th March, 2017

Garden Gangster by Pinrose

This is an odd scent. It starts with a very strong green citrus and bergamot opening. Brash, almost harsh in its delivery. Reminds me of a sour lime hard candy. That moderates somewhat but not entirely, as some springtime florals emerge. The white musk is predictably sweet, soapy and generic. Kind of an odd hodgepodge of elements.
10th March, 2017

Treehouse Royal by Pinrose

I had not expected to like this. It is pretty good.
Starts with a very accurate and pleasant pear note. That combines well with a green fig note. The cassis may be cassis leaf -- I don't get a berry note. Slight florals and a mere hint of vanilla develop, but they are sidelights to the prominent and persistent fig note, which is green and crisp. Base settles into fig with a hint of grassy vetiver and moss. Admirably dry and not heavy.
10th March, 2017

Black Pepper by Comme des Garçons

This is a nice scent. I don't think it is amazing but it is pleasant. Has a dry, peppery opening. Wood notes develop, and it gets very smoky. Then, the oud asserts itself for an "old sneakers in the sun" flourish. Settles into a very safe, crowd-pleasing wood and light musk scent.
08th March, 2017

Essences Insensées by Diptyque

Sweet, floral, powdery. Spring-like, feminine market. The violet adds an interesting note to the sweeter flowers. There is a note sometimes like rubber, other times like freshly-cut grass. At times a vaguely metallic note. Not my style, but it is OK.
19th February, 2017

Cologne Indélébile by Editions de Parfums Frederic Malle

Nice, pleasant, soapy, green.
White florals. When I tried the scent I didn't know what they were and speculation included tuberose and violet. Didn't really get narcissus and orange blossom.
05th February, 2017

L'Eau Serge Lutens by Serge Lutens

The citrus is ok. The cool is, well, cool.
But generally this is a synthetic, metallic, sharp, loud, and shrill scent. Generic, at times has a watery melon note. Avoid.
04th February, 2017

L'Eau de Paille by Serge Lutens

Paille = "straw" in French.
Agree that this is a generic style of fresh woody scent. The L'Eau series are supposed to be cool/frosty alternates to the usual rich opulent SL style. This one smells very synthetic, detergent-y, a bit metallic and quite unappealing. I like vetiver and incense, and find nothing of the sort here. I would get a headache wearing this.
04th February, 2017

Bergamotto Positano by Floris

I will only give this a neutral rating. Even though it is not my style, I could have given a slight thumbs up. But the scent style is so different from what is promised that I have to take that into account. This is not a warm breeze off the ocean. It is a cozy tea-and-cookies scent.
Starts with a green-tinged citrus note. Tea notes alternate with a marine (slightly rubbery, but pleasant) note. Then spices and a warm buttery/vanilla chord emerge and carry the scent for a while. This is foody. I don't like that style but this is OK. The vanilla is not obvious, and the scent smells like a very tasty, freshly-baked cookie. Surprisingly, some hints of the tea note and even the marine note persist. Suddenly, there is a flourish of the awaited orange blossom -- surprisingly late in the game but welcome.
Overall, a little too sweet for me. Gourmand-ish. Pleasant. The elements are good, nothing offensive here. Just not my style.
01st February, 2017

Florida Water by Murray & Lanman

Winner of the "excellent budget/drugstore fragrance" award -- in a class with Pino Silvestre and Agua de Colonia Concentrada (Alvarez Gomez). Great value and interesting scent.
Citrus. "Fizzy" note. Herbal component of bay leaf/laurel. With spices, it sits near the bay rum category but is not as bold or strong.
Masculine. Not too sweet, a bit perhaps in the initial stages. Hint of rich tobacco leaf. A gentle spice dry-down.
A basic, but also a solid citizen.
01st February, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Zara for Him Silver Edition by Zara

Not my style: very sweet, full of vanilla from the get-go.
Some good spices (pepper and cardamom). Perhaps a bit of wood in the dry-down A basic "guy" scent, seems more dated than 2014. It is not wretched. Some guys like sweet and vanilla, but I can't even be neutral on it since I absolutely don't.
08th January, 2017

Comme une Evidence Homme by Yves Rocher

Soft, warm peppery spices and a faint rose note. Non-offensive, dry, quite light and translucent. Clean, pleasant, a safe bet for any public space. Peppery cedar dry-down is quite good.
01st January, 2017

Life Essence by Fendi

A good scent, in the gentle spice category. Starts with good citrus and an excellent spice blend. The coriander seed and cardamom are true to form but not heavy. In fact, the scent has a pleasant, clean, fresh quality about it. Perhaps the hint of conifer contributes to this aspect. Settles into a light woody-spice dry-down.
01st January, 2017

Vetiver by Dana

Green, grassy, straightforward vetiver. A touch soapy. IMO not quite as good as Malizia, but an acceptable bargain frag.
29th December, 2016

Bois Marocain by Tom Ford

Dry, green, very resinous and coniferous. A pleasure to wear. Hints of pepper and incense and the camphor-mint quality of conifers which brightens any mood. Woods in the dry-down. Somewhat low-key and close to the skin for a Tom Ford.
28th December, 2016

Pino Silvestre Sport Cologne by Silvestre

Mild thumbs up. Of interest to Pino Silvestre fans, but it has very little in common with that iconic scent. This has a very lemony, citrus opening, supported by zesty ginger spice. Then, white florals appear, and finally a light white musk base. Pleasant summery spritz, short longevity. The tarragon herbal note is the one point of connection to classic Pino Silvestre.
23rd December, 2016

Black Collection : Wool by Commodity

Interesting concept, but it smells nothing like wool. A soft, fairly sweet fragrance. Pleasant, simple. A bit of vanilla and musk in a soft cloud. A slight metallic touch in the dry-down.
17th December, 2016

Black Collection : Moss by Commodity

A pleasant scent, but I don't get anything remotely mossy in it. I get a bright, cheery orange blossom scent with a hint of musk and woods. Since the profile doesn't match the name, I deduct marks.
04th December, 2016

Black Collection : Book by Commodity

A nice scent on its own, and it certainly succeeds in delivering its concept. Cucumber and mint cleverly suggest crisp paper. There is a dusky herbal quality lurking in the background. Some sort of peppery spice may be clinging to the mild amber. The dry-down is woody, with a hint of vanillin suggestive of aging books. Not sweet or heavy. Pretty good, not profound but it is satisfactory.
04th December, 2016

Encens Jinhae by Atelier Cologne

This is an interesting scent. Nothing wrong with it, but something doesn't quite trap me. In part, the citrus aspect strikes me a bit like a stale lemon lifesaver. In part I am not a big fan of cherry blossom, though it is a distinctive note and not at all fruity. In part, I wish the incense and resin notes were more prominent. It is a distinctive scent, not sweet or heavy. I recommend trying it, as I am sure it will register differently for each wearer.
03rd December, 2016

Emeraude Agar by Atelier Cologne

This is an excellent oud scent. Anything with the word "emeraude" (emerald) suggests green to me and I am always interested in that.
Starts with a peppery bite. The bergamot and angelica are subtle -- sometimes I find those notes too strong in some scents, but not here. The rose and geranium notes in the middle combine well with the oud -- a classic combination. Eucalyptus is a brilliant touch, brightening the scent. The oud here (perhaps with the geranium) has a bright, almost citrus-like note which is very attractive and not challenging. The base is very tasteful and the scent is dry, classy and wears well. A winner!
03rd December, 2016

Décou-Vert by Laboratorio Olfattivo

I will give it a very mild thumbs up for being green! Beginnings of lily of the valley and leaves, which by the way certainly include tomato leaf. Surprised that no one has picked up on that. At times a bit like Mugler Cologne, at times a bit like Sisley Eau de Campagne. That is the best part. Then it settles into a predictable and too-sweet and generic musk - wood chord.
03rd December, 2016

Kashnoir by Laboratorio Olfattivo

Too sweet and not all that interesting. I got zero lavender in the top notes. Mid is some interesting spice but not identifiably coriander. Segues into some interesting resinous notes. But the finale, a heliotrope-vanilla combo, is definitely an acquired taste.
02nd December, 2016

Armani Eau de Nuit Oud by Giorgio Armani

A competent if somewhat generic oud-spice/floral blend. The floral notes are pleasant, but there is a wet cardboard note at the beginning which muddles them. Somewhat spicy. The dry-down is not satisfactory -- sweet, musky and cloying. The oud note is identifiable but not particularly interesting.
27th November, 2016

Baptême du Feu by Serge Lutens

I was underwhelmed by this scent. I think it could have been much more interesting. The "scorched mandarin peel" and gunpowder should have produced a smokey, mineral note like fireworks. Not really any of that. Gingerbread + osmanthus should be a tea-and-cake chord... barely that. No animalic notes that I can see, nor any wood.
The main element is the osmanthus: a green-white floral, a bit like jasmine with a peach note in the background. Oddly metallic. A slight toasted note lurked in the far edges.
Different and unusual -- sort of. But not all that intriguing.
13th November, 2016

J'Adore by Christian Dior

A pretty, cheery and subtle floral. Slightly sweet but shows good taste. Light, nothing heavy here. Cute, clean and fun. If lightly applied it sits close to the skin and indeed becomes a good, somewhat sexy skin scent for a woman.
12th November, 2016

Colonia Intensa Oud Concentrée / Colonia Oud Concentrée by Acqua di Parma

This is an attractive, accessible oud scent. All of the intrigue and mysterious exoticism, with no challenging notes. A leather-spice chord mingles with oud and is framed by a old wood foundation. The impression is of an old spice trunk which has sailed the world on a clipper ship. Rich but not sweet. Warming.
08th November, 2016