Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 91 to 120 of 1303.
    rating


    Executive by Atkinsons

    Long discontinued, hard to find. The fresh bloom of youth has faded from this vintage juice.
    Basically, it is a nice chypre in the citrus-herbal vein, with a bit of pepper spice and a real old-school mossy drydown. Not sweet, not heavy.
    I don't see much similarity to Eau Sauvage. I have the (basic) Executive and perhaps it has some affinity to Carven Vetiver (a mossy sort of scent) though Executive lacks the rootsy-woody vetiver of Carven.
    I don't think this vintage juice is worth big bucks or great efforts to acquire. It is a charming but basic thing, a solid and somewhat simple men's chypre typical of the 70's.

    29th April, 2014

    rating


    Armani Privé Myrrhe Impériale by Giorgio Armani

    I am voting "neutral" on this.
    The scent is an excellent myrrh rendition. However, in time the vanilla and benzoin keep ramping up and I find the scent to be extremely tedious. It actually has too much longevity for me! Easily 12 hours, even more in fact. I recognize that the vanilla/benzoin aspect is a personal taste thing, and thus some may like this. The scent is well made, no question.
    It starts with a great myrrh note: heady, green and slightly coniferous, at times slightly rubbery-soapy and at other times woody. Myrrh is a rounder, plumper and deeper note than frankincense (the other main incense sort of note) and I prefer the crisp coniferous notes of frankincense. But myrrh is certainly intriguing and exotic, and does combine well with frankincense. Eventually, the benzoin adds too much intensity, and the vanilla and amber get a bit too sweet for me. The scent becomes quite dense and heavy, and it doesn't suit me.

    29th April, 2014

    rating


    Blu Mediterraneo Ginepro di Sardegna / Juniper of Sardinia by Acqua di Parma

    It starts with a very pleasant and lively juniper note. That is fresh, invigorating, and smells like juniper berries rubbed in your hands. It picks up some spice and woody notes. Where it fails is in the dry-down. That gets fairly sweet, the cedarwood at this point seems monolithic and heavy and perhaps synthetic. Certainly tiresome and a bit ambery.

    28th April, 2014

    rating


    Fraiche by Rancé

    The full name of this scent is Eau Fraiche. It also has Eau de Plasir Extra Fine on the box.
    It is under the label of RNC (Researche Nature Cosmetique) which is a distribution affiliate of Rance.
    Top: Lemon, orange, bitter orange
    Mid: Geranium, sage, galbanum
    Base: Sandalwood, ambergris, opoponax

    This is a classic style EdC, with a green tone. It starts lemony and natural. Herbal notes develop and the scent has a refreshing, pleasant character. Perhaps there is a bit of Verbena here, since I get its typical profile of lemon - basil - baked bread.
    A slightly soapy quality in the drydown, which is pleasant.
    Overall, a good scent. Not ground-breaking, but nicely done in the classic EdC style.

    25th April, 2014

    rating


    Bahiana by Maître Parfumeur et Gantier

    Here is fuller notes list.
    TOP: Brazilian orange, Caipirinha lemon, yellow mandarin
    MID: Tagette, leafy greens, rosewood, gaiac wood, elemi
    BASE: musk, amber, coconut.

    First of all -- the coconut and amber are very subtle and (as a fan of neither) not a problem here. No suntan-lotion vibe, no buttery-rich sweetness.
    This is a lovely unisex scent, certainly dry enough for a guy to enjoy.
    Starts with lovely orange-citrus notes: soft and gentle, rather than acidic.
    Then there are leafy and woody notes, all of which are very natural and subtle.
    Settles into a very pleasant citrus-wood.
    There is only the merest hint of coconut -- more in the green fig line.
    Lovely woody dry-down.
    A subtle scent, should have a broad appeal.

    23rd April, 2014

    rating


    Artisan Acqua by John Varvatos

    Points in its favour: not sweet, not heavy, fresh but not screechy, modestly citric and green.
    Points against: not terribly interesting. "A bright aftershave" as one reviewer put it. Perhaps some very mild herbal notes. Somewhat aquatic in style as the name suggests.
    I think the "notes" are puffery. Few if any are detectable.
    A fresh, light green aquatic. Dat's all, folks.

    16th April, 2014

    rating


    Fleur d'Or & Acacia by L'Occitane

    Lemony and fruity, at times an apricot-peach sort of note.
    Fairly sweet with a round, plump texture.
    Pleasant florals. Sunny, cheery, definitely a "yellow" sort of scent.
    Young in style, aimed at a feminine market.
    No woods to speak of, and a sweet musk dry-down.
    Harmless.

    15th April, 2014

    rating


    Eros by Versace

    The usual tiresome, sweet, fruity, synthetic, charmless, obnoxious, loud dreck.

    15th April, 2014

    rating


    Verveine / Verbena by L'Occitane

    No problems, just a basic scent.
    Very green lemon. Refreshing. Hints of a the classic verbena (basil, lemon, warm bread) but could be developed more.
    Simple.

    10th March, 2014

    rating


    L'Eau D'Issey pour Homme Yuzu by Issey Miyake

    Pleasant, good. Natural-smelling.
    Very green lemon opening. Hints of spice and a very light but persistent wood in the dry-down.
    Not complex, but refreshing. Dry, not a hint of sweetness. I like that.

    10th March, 2014

    rating


    Juniper Gin by Love&Toast

    Great value and a really nice scent.
    Fresh, green, refreshingly light.
    Lemon-citrus notes and a hint of juniper berry.
    Not boozy or gin-like, despite the name.
    Inexpensive, natural. Doesn't last a long time but is easy to reapply.

    06th March, 2014

    rating


    Moss & Ivy by For Strange Women

    To my mind (and nose) this is a superb scent! Being oil-based, it has a lovely slow evolution and great longevity.
    One of the most natural and complex basil scents I have encountered. Definitely rocks the natural appeal of basil leaf: anise, mint, herbal, green. Works very well with the minty-herbal lavender.
    Not sweet at all. Very refreshing, natural and pleasing.
    Later it develops a classic salty-moss drydown which has real legs.
    Excellent!

    14th February, 2014

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 6 Synthetic: Garage by Comme des Garçons

    Odd and not my style. Yet it is a well-made and interesting fragrance.
    The kerosene and leather notes are accurate. I also get the rubbery smell of tires. With a bit of a wood note, this definitely suggests a workshop or garage. A fairly straight-forward garage -- I don't get any science-fiction THX 1138 elements, as some reviewers have.
    A little sweet in the dry down. Does not appeal to me.

    14th February, 2014

    rating


    Cipro (Essenza Tripolo) by Santa Maria Novella

    This is what perfumed USED to be like: powerful, heady, concentrated, incredible longevity. It is incredible to find a commercial product in today's market that delivers that incredible, old-world, old-school vibe but this certainly does that! Wearing it is like time travel.
    Substantial and dense, yet not cloying or heavy. Resinous and a touch of sweetness, but not oppressive. Very natural and yet quite antique. Beautiful! Hard to find -- you have to be at a dedicated and well-stocked SMN outlet in Europe, I think. But worth the hunt. I think people would scent their pocket handkerchiefs with this -- part of a dandy's repertoire. Well, a small dab on the wrist works equally well.

    12th February, 2014

    rating


    Violin in the Attic by For Strange Women

    An unusual, distinctive scent. It is in solid form, in beeswax. Thus it is slow to develop and has very good longevity.
    It is meant to evoke an old violin, stored in an attic for many years. Thus, it profiles some very woody notes, and the rosin one would expect in a violin. There is the strong note of linseed oil, giving this a putty sort of smell and a woodshop/industrial vibe. Attractive, a bit quirky, certainly seems uber-masculine to me. I didn't get any rose or cocoa, perhaps these simply soften the overall scent. Noble old wood, furniture, a bit monolithic in the early stages. Very much later, some lovely incense notes develop and last for a good while.

    11th February, 2014

    rating


    Love and Tears by By Kilian

    Meh... bleah.
    Has a very promising start of lovely white florals. gets a bit soapy. Pretty and sweet. Though at times earthy and apricot-like. Quickly gets cloying and tiresome, even in micro-doses.
    And there is nothing (and I mean NOTHING) remarkable or interesting here.

    08th February, 2014

    rating


    Wild Plum Campground Backpacker's Cologne by Juniper Ridge

    A nice scent -- very green and woody. Similar to Siskyou, a little darker and not as dusky-"plump".
    Coniferous, invigorating. Sap and resins are here. Bit soapy, as is Siskyou.
    earthy, woody, bark, even a mineral note.

    08th February, 2014

    rating


    Mysore Sandalwood Attar by AbdesSalaam Attar Profumo

    Very nice sandalwood: natural, woody, close to the skin, wears well.
    Clean and bright, slightly medicinal-lemony as some sandalwoods are.
    High quality.

    08th February, 2014

    rating


    Blue Encens by Comme des Garçons

    This is a superb scent, and a lovely friend has kindly gifted me with it.
    Exactly my cup of tea. Cool/warm vibe, dusky green with solid incense notes. Designed to enter and stay in my comfort zone.
    The cool is from the artemesia, which has a minty-herbal character. The warm is from the dry spices and the smoke of the incense notes. The overall effect is moire -- shimmering.
    Also there is a good mineral note -- wet stones. And true to the "blue" designation there is even a marine sort of note which is subtle and fits well into the overall scheme.
    Refreshing, comforting, introspective, subtle yet assertive.
    Very well constructed and wears well throughout the day. Haunting woody dry-down with continued cool incense. Top marks!

    06th February, 2014 (Last Edited: 28th September, 2014)

    rating


    Flower of Immortality by By Kilian

    Completely daft name. The peach note is dominant, so why not "Peach Melba" or "Sorbet a la Peche"?
    The peach is plump, juicy and appealing. However, uber-fruity scents always seem juvenile to me and I can't imagine anyone over 20 wanting to wear such a thing unless they were in a very goofy, light-hearted mood. Which, as I think of it, isn't such a bad thing...
    But back to the review. Young, girly, yet not cloyingly sweet. Some crisp aspect. Check it out and see what you think. Not in my purview but I've smelled far worse.

    06th February, 2014

    rating


    Le Poivre Rose by L'Antichambre

    This is a lovely scent. The notes listed are very similar to Raison Pure, yet the two scents are quite different.
    This does not have the minty-herbal aspect of RP. Rather, it develops the dry pepper, wood and incense notes. It suggests scrubby hills with wood and earth tones. It is more subtle than RP, and does not last quite as long. But the character is very classy and pleasing. I can particularly pick out a nice nutmeg note.
    Update -- the clary sage is very well done. The scent can be re-applied several times during the day. It has a lovely, subtle incense note in the dry-down.

    03rd February, 2014 (Last Edited: 11th April, 2014)

    rating


    La Raison Pure by L'Antichambre

    The listed notes for Raison Pure are very similar to Poivre Rose -- and yet the scents are substantially different.
    Here, the emphasis is on a minty-herbal note which comes from the sage. This note is very persistent. It has a kind of soapy-fresh aspect which is pleasant and at times powerful.
    The spices are subtle and the incense likewise. The wood is a rather minor component.
    The cool mint works well with the warm spices, they contrast each other well.

    03rd February, 2014

    rating


    Citrine by Olivier Durbano

    Oud, people. Oud is prominent. Hence a smokey note, hard to pin down. Almost like grillled sausage or bacon, at other times like rubber or a plastic bandage.
    Now, none of the above is bad! It is appealing if you like oud (aloewood, here as lignam vitae).
    And this combines with a languid, heady rosewood note.
    Not sweet, despite the rosewood and beeswax. But substantial.
    Very little citrus at any point, so the name is a bit confusing.

    29th January, 2014

    rating


    Siskiyou Backpacker's Cologne by Juniper Ridge

    Bright, grassy, a bit hay-like. Kind of lemony at first, in fact at times like a lemon hard candy. Then it develops a dusty-dusky herbal aspect. Powerful, slightly sweet, with a distinctive and somewhat round or "plump" character. The smell of scrubby hills. Could be more camphoraceous or coniferous. It does develop an interesting minor note of earth or mineral. Very natural, lasts about an hour.
    Update --
    Notes (from Juniper Ridge site):
    "Warm ginger, spicy cedar, driftwood, citrus, deep conifer forest, mountains and rivers without end."
    This is a distinctive scent. I should like it more. It has a rich, "plump", sort of musky quality that I can't quite identify and which I assume is the Siskiyou Cedar. It is not unpleasant, yet it doesn't fully appeal to me.
    Scent starts with a good lemon-citrus note. It quickly develops that rich note. I really struggle to describe it. It is something like fruit, perhaps tinned pineapple (tart with a metallic tang) or star fruit. But when I say "fruity" I don't mean it reminds me exactly of those fruits, rather those fruits share a weight/heft/quality with this scent. Perhaps the ginger adds to the mix.
    It settles into a light and vaguely coniferous scent. It is OK, and certainly worth a try. But this one was not bottle-worthy for me.

    21st January, 2014 (Last Edited: 29th August, 2014)

    rating


    Dia Man by Amouage

    On my skin, this is basically POWDER. Ambery, sweet powder. "Talc for the gods" as one reviewer has called it. If you like powdery scents then you will probably find this to be a very classy scent. I don't like sweet scents and after a while I find it to be cloying.
    The cistus labdanum in the top notes and the amber in the base frame the scent solidly in amber. For me, the amber dominates at the expense of the other more interesting notes. I get no citrus, little spice. The florals are squished into a narrow sweet range. The dry-down develops a few leathery and woody notes.

    21st January, 2014

    rating


    Prada Amber pour Homme Intense by Prada

    A complete and utter waste of time.
    Sweet. Uber-sweet.
    Powdery.
    Tinny-metallic.
    Extremely irritating.
    A scrubber.

    04th December, 2013

    rating


    Bottega Veneta Pour Homme by Bottega Veneta

    Woody, sweet, simple, a bit thick.
    Perhaps a slight metallic tinge.
    Smells inexpensive and generic.

    03rd December, 2013

    rating


    Tzora by Anat Fritz

    A pleasant scent. For me it is not as distinctive, flinty or interesting as Terre D'Hermes.
    The main similarity is in the opening, which is a dry peppery citrus. This is very nice, and very dry.
    The scent moves to its second phase. At times like paper, other times a floral - celery leaf - baked bread note.
    The dry down is light and mossy. There is a slightly earthy note due to the vetiver.
    Overall, pleasant and classy.

    29th November, 2013

    rating


    Arso by Profumum

    Given the price, I am neutral on it.
    It is wood. Good wood, to be sure. But for me, it is simply wood and not much else.
    The wood is pleasing. It reminds me of bark, with a rough texture.
    Simple, outdoorsy, natural, and beautiful.
    But I don't get much (if any) coniferous notes, or incense.
    So after a while the wood seems monolithic to me.
    I think it could be more interesting.

    28th November, 2013

    rating


    Black Tourmaline by Olivier Durbano

    An interesting scent. Basically a smoky wood scent, with strong rubbery oud notes.
    Starts with a dark green element and some piney incense. Unfortunately, these are brief.
    It quickly settles into a rubbery-smoky scent. Interesting, quite intriguing.
    The dry-down is cool/metallic, herbal-minty, and a bit earthy -- typical of a good patchouli.
    And that dry-down is pleasant.
    Not a Conehead delight, and not enough incense.
    But pretty good.

    25th November, 2013

    Showing 91 to 120 of 1303.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000