Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 181 to 210 of 1251.
    rating


    Kapsule Light by Lagerfeld

    A pleasant spice scent. Not sweet, not heavy.
    Generic but acceptable. Don't get any bitter orange.

    04 November, 2012

    rating


    Multiple Rouge by Humiecki & Graef

    Ozone!!!
    Fruit loops!!!
    Frosty spice!!!
    Gee, lets sing along with Justin Bieber as we skip down the lane...
    Wretched stuff.

    01st November, 2012

    rating


    Eau Radieuse by Humiecki & Graef

    Smells like a tropical fruit candy or chewing gum or a fruit punch.
    Quite fruity with some odd unripe green notes, fairly sweet. Citrus - check. Mint - check.
    It is not ghastly but it is rather bizarre and not appealing.
    Too quirky for a young person, too juvenile for anyone over 18.

    31st October, 2012

    rating


    Askew by Humiecki & Graef

    I think it is a very interesting scent. When I saw the ingredients of spice, birch tar, and leather I feared that it would be a heavy brute. To the contrary, this is a restrained and somewhat cool scent. It has hints of sweetness and ginger spice. It is cool, even somewhat aquatic in style. The leather is quite restrained and the birch tar adds the merest smokey and woody note. Unfortunately, there is also a faint whiff of wet cardboard here, otherwise I'd give it a thumbs up. Still, I think it is worth checking out.

    30th October, 2012

    rating


    Armani Privé Pierre de Lune by Giorgio Armani

    I can endorse this scent. It is not my style, but I find it has many attractive points and is well constructed. It starts with a very authentic violet note, and some perfumey-green notes. It is not too sweet. The florals are slightly rich but not cloying. The iris is buttery and opulent. There's lots going on here. The amber thankfully is very subdued. Overall, it is a pretty and attractive scent, probably of more interest to women than man. What is intriguing is that it does achieve a kind of silvery-cool aspect in the dry-down. How appropriate for a "moon stone."

    30th October, 2012

    rating


    Armani Privé Eau de Jade by Giorgio Armani

    This is an attractive scent.
    It starts with a very good trio of bergamot, orange/neroli and pepper. The pepper has a good bite, and the scent is crisp and appealing. At this point it has a sort of green tone and so 'jade' is an appropriate name. Gradually the orange notes get a bit woodier, and the scent takes on a creamy-soapy character. There are dusky hints and something a bit like iris or smoke. Intriguing and appealing.

    29 October, 2012

    rating


    Orange Flower & Lychee by Kiehl's

    Meh.
    very sweet and fruity. Tinned fruit cocktail. Rather syrupy.
    Where is the orange blossom?
    This is not a horrible scent but I have to say it has little to commend it.

    24 October, 2012

    rating


    Les Lilas by Florascent

    This is a soft, perfume-y floral. It is a reasonable approximation of lilac flower -- which is a difficult scent to convey. The scent is lovely, sweet and feminine.

    23 October, 2012

    rating


    Nashi Blossom & Pink Grapefruit by Kiehl's

    Notes: nashi (pear) blossom, pink grapefruit, mandarin orange, ginger, soy mil, white musk.

    It starts with a very realistic and tasty-smelling chord of grapefruit and orange. These become softened by a light floral note and the merest hint of ginger spice. The scent settles into a creamy white musk which is a bit sweet and is certainly delicate and pretty. At times it suggests warm pears (faintly) and at other times a mildly woody note.

    22 October, 2012

    rating


    Vanilla & Cedarwood by Kiehl's

    Well, here I am reviewing a dreaded vanilla scent.
    The things I do for Basenotes.
    It opens with a sweet vanilla note. No surprise here. The vanilla dominates. I can't detect anything else. Certainly no wood.
    A SA told me this is the most popular of the line. Obviously vanilla is a comfort scent for many people. Not me -- it is a discomfort scent.
    Eventually, the broad-shouldered and aggressive vanilla steps slightly back, and perhaps very, very faintly I can detect a silvery-earthy iris note.
    Still no wood. :/
    And still much too sweet.

    22 October, 2012

    rating


    Fan di Fendi pour Homme by Fendi

    The card on the sample vial identifies "tangerine from Sicily" as the citrus and "cedarwood from Texas" as the wood.
    Sweet opening, quite sweet. Sugary. Some lemony citrus notes as well.
    Spices are more evident than the herbal notes.
    As the sweetness burns off, the wood notes start to appear. They are OK, nothing amazing and are not very woody.
    Don't get any leather but I'm not a fan of leather anyway.
    This is a decent scent, acceptable if you like things slightly on the sweet side.
    Seems generic to me, nothing special to stand out.

    18 October, 2012

    rating


    Touch of Blue by Wild Flowers

    WHEW! Having tried "Touch of Pink" which is dreadful, this is a decent scent.

    A simple herbal-vetiver, but not cloyingly sweet and with the satisfying cushiony aspect of an intelligent vetiver. This is OK. Fans of Mugler Cologne will see a clone here. So be it. Simpler, but OK.
    This is not a brilliant scent, but it is better than Pink and thus the thumb pointed skyward for a while.
    What moved the thumb sideways is the flat character and the sweet dry-down which is densely floral and relentlessly sachrine.
    A big let down in the final analysis.

    17 October, 2012

    rating


    Touch of Pink by Wild Flowers

    Pretty, sweet, a young person's scent. Under 14 I'd say.
    Not floral -- more in the candy-berry fruity mode. Hyped-up strawberry.
    Very young in style, intensely sweet,
    Solid, dense. no layers.
    A lollipop.

    17 October, 2012

    rating


    Potion by Dsquared2

    Interesting. Not my style (too sweet and heavy) but certainly interesting.
    Good wood notes appear almost immediately for me. Substantial spices with a pronounced sweet tone. Rose notes are here, but they are synthetic rather than natural in style -- and quite powerful. Vanilla-amber in the drydown. The whole thing reminds me of Penhaligon's LP No. 9 for men: a similar vibe.
    I'd never wear it. But it's ok if you like sweet spicy scents. And the wood is pretty good.

    16 October, 2012

    rating


    Fig Leaf & Sage by Kiehl's

    Props to this for trying to be an interesting dry herbal scent.
    The citrus opening is very brief, really a lightening flash.
    The fig is very green, stalky-woody and also leafy. No creamy coconut here.
    Unfortunately, the fig and herbs quickly turned into "cooked celery leaves" on my skin. This note is powerful and not particularly attractive.
    Long-term dry down is ok, when the celery leaf burns off. A quiet thyme sort of herbal.
    Try it, it may work better on others.
    Amazingly powerful for this type of spritzy scent.

    15 October, 2012

    rating


    Artisan Black by John Varvatos

    There sure are a lot of notes listed. Puffery, in my opinion. It is actually a very simple scent.
    It has a good citrus opening. Then it quickly moves to a very dry, cool, "airy" chord. Synthetic, a bit detergent-y -- reminds me of the scent when one opens a freezer door.
    The base has some frosty leather and patchouli notes.
    I can't work up any enthusiasm for this, nor disdain.

    14 October, 2012

    rating


    Oolong by Zents

    Here's the notes on my sample card: lime blossom, lavender, petitgrain, oolong tea and green tea.
    Quite soft and sweet. Very feminine in style, also young.
    Smells like a bar of creamy floral soap. Pleasant.
    Don't get any tea notes.

    14 October, 2012

    rating


    Fig by Zents

    Not what I expect from a scent labeled "fig". No green leafy notes, no coconut cousin notes verging on creamy.
    Instead, this is spicy with a warm jammy preserves opening. Quite Serge Lutens in style. Veers into a heavy musk and lipstick case scent. That I don't care for at all. Eventually it settles into a warm and somewhat pleasant scent.
    But it is not something I'd seek out.

    13 October, 2012

    rating


    Mandarin by Zents

    A pleasant little scent, conveying mandarin orange in a realistic way. Very mild verging on innocuous. Aside from the merest hint of ginger, where are the spices? Missing in action. Such a wee little scent might suit a beginner perfumista, perhaps someone under 16.

    11th October, 2012

    rating


    Ore by Zents

    This is a soapy-clean, simple (even innocuous) scent. It has very light violet notes. Delicate, slightly sweet, feminine in style. It gets a bit sweeter and heavier in the dry-down. Nothing special, nothing problematic.
    Looking at the base notes, I half expected a bay rum chord at some point. Nope, nowhere to be found.

    10th October, 2012

    rating


    Rume by Slumberhouse

    Notes: bay leaf, myrrh, labdanum, clay, cola, filbert, hay.

    The comparison to Serge Lutens is very true, this is definitely in that style (sweet, powerful, dried-fruit).
    The website has a fanciful description, "pralined fur laced in dark red spice" -- and that did not cause me to look forward to the trial in happy anticipation. :(
    It is very sweet, intensely sweet, aggressively sweet. It is like dried dates steeped in warm, spicy rum. That may sound attractive to some -- to me, not.
    There is a clay-mineral note behind the sweetness.
    Very quickly a coumarin note appears to suggest hay and cured tobacco.
    The scent gets more interesting as the uber-sweet blitz burns off.
    This becomes a very gentleman's club sort of scent: it evokes images of humidors, polished wood furniture, pipe tobacco, old leather books.
    Very powerful... and yet I don't find it to have longevity. Essentially done in an hour for me.
    Not my style, but more problematic for me was the relentlessly sweet opening.

    04 October, 2012

    rating


    Artemisia by Penhaligon's

    Head Notes: Nectarine and Green Foliage
    Heart Notes: Green Apple, Lily of the Valley, Jasmine Tea, Violet and Vanilla
    Base Notes: Oakmoss, Sandalwood, Musk, Amber and Vanilla

    Very, very sweet. Smells like a makeup case. Powdery. Very feminine in style.
    Seems a bit old-fashioned or old-school, like something someone's auntie might wear.
    Pleasant for its style.

    03 October, 2012

    rating


    Encounter by Calvin Klein

    It's new, and it's bad.
    Not good-bad, bad-bad.
    Intensely sweet. Drugstore cheapo. Wretched attempt at spices. Boozy notes are ghastly. Wood notes are non-existent. Cloying, heavy, clumsy. Musk is overdone.
    Can't see any redeeming features here.

    03 October, 2012

    rating


    L'Hommage à L'Homme by Lalique

    Notes: wood, oud, saffron, chili pepper

    The bottle is classy -- a replica of an Art Deco Lalique bottle.
    The scent is nice. The saffron and pepper give a dusky-dry quality which balances the sweeter oud and wood notes. The scent starts off very subtle, with a kind of white-shirt note. Quickly it gets bigger, as the oud and saffron assert themselves more. I'd say be careful and don't over-apply this, it will grow.
    I don't get any violets or tobacco leaf. I'd argue that the piercing note is pepper rather than violet, and the dusky note is indeed due to the saffron. But I can see how this combo could suggest those sort of notes.

    02 October, 2012

    rating


    Eau de Cologne by Chanel

    Notes: petitgrain, neroli, bergamot, herbs, spices, musk, vetiver.
    I'm underwhelmed with this. Admittedly, it is in the EdC style which should simply be citrus and herbs with an anchoring base. Everything here is competent and pleasant, but in my opinion nothing is outstanding -- which I'd expect in the Exclusifs line.
    The scent starts with good orange blossom notes. It is round, smooth, and not as crisp or vibrant as some EdCs I've tried. A larger application yields some lemon notes, but they are not really prominent for me. The scent is still very round, and now there is a touch of wood from the petitgrain. The herbal and spice notes are very faint, perhaps rosemary is the only one I could even begin to distinguish. The dry down has a modest vetiver note, and reminds me of a paler version of Sycomore.
    So, as noted above, this is pleasant but does not distinguish itself from other and more pleasing EdCs at a lesser price.

    01st October, 2012

    rating


    No. 18 by Chanel

    Seems very similar to No. 28 -- a dry powdery iris, here with a touch of ambrette. Crisp, metallic. Arguably less interesting for some reason, seems to lack the depth of 28. More metallic than 28, not a selling point. Bit like pencil shavings (old cedar).

    29 September, 2012

    rating


    No. 22 by Chanel

    I am speaking of the Les Exclusifs de Chanel version here.
    Very sweet and perfumey.
    An old-school sort of ladies' scent. Bold and assertive (and slightly fizzy due to the aldehydes) floral notes. Quite dense.
    The vanilla is strong but tempered well by an interesting incense note.
    That incense note moves this into my neutral zone -- otherwise it wouldn't appeal to me at all.
    Much too strong and weighty for me, even to enjoy on someone else. But that incense note is pretty good.

    29 September, 2012

    rating


    28 La Pausa by Chanel

    Cool, silvery-white. Like crisp paper and moonlight, yet also has an earthy quality.
    The earthy note increases as the top notes burn off. Very classy and sophisticated.
    Develops a peppery note in the dry-down.
    Restrained, elegant, translucent yet has substance.
    Slight woody-vanilla note emerges, which adds complexity.
    Also something like celery leaves or anise -- a kind of haunting herbal note.
    Would be a great white-shirt scent for a guy.

    29 September, 2012

    rating


    Elie Saab Le Parfum by Elie Saab

    Lovely powdery orange blossom. Pretty, very feminine in style. The honey adds a note of richness and depth without excessive sweetness.

    29 September, 2012

    rating


    Pear + Olive by Slumberhouse

    Too sweet for me but it is OK as a scent.
    Quite fruity, like tinned fruit cocktail with a heavy emphasis of pears. The massoia bark brings a coconut note. Has a clean, soapy-shampoo drydown.

    28 September, 2012

    Showing 181 to 210 of 1251.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000