Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 211 to 240 of 1204.
    rating


    Highlands by Scentsational of Huntington

    I don't like it. It has a perky-green opening which is "fresh", ozonic, detergent-y. Reminds me of Irish Spring soap. The scent is loud and obnoxious, quite faux in style and seems like a really cheapie. Then, if that wasn't bad enough, it gets tiresome and sweet in the drydown.
    What a travesty for something named "Highlands". :/

    22 August, 2012

    rating


    Frankincense by Scentsational of Huntington

    This has lovely woody and resinous notes. Its subtle, as an oil-based scent would be. Simple -- essentially a very good frankincense note. Bright, a bit lemony and coniferous. Later develops smokey notes to go with the pine. Excellent character and longevity.

    22 August, 2012

    rating


    Granville by Christian Dior

    Update -- I've finally acquired a bottle. I love it. It has a marvelous lemon-pine opening, quite a bit like Penhaligon's Blenheim Bouquet. It is a refreshing, outdoorsy sort of scent. It develops into a scent which is more herbal (esp. thyme) and mossy than BB. It is very satisfying and wears very well with incredible longevity -- more than 12 hours on my skin. My one wish is that the pine lasted longer, but pine notes are notoriously short-lived in many cases.
    --- earlier review below ---
    This has a lovely Eau de Cologne opening: gorgeous citrus-herb clouds envelope you. Then, it develops into a very very high-class (even elegant) Pino Silvestre -- sturdy herbal notes with a hint of conifer. It suggests garrigue, scrubland, gorse, earth. I think the conifer notes could be even more prominent, but perhaps they are to be found in the invigorating, brisk aspects. There are hints of black pepper. A quietly assertive and satisfying scent. It is very dry. At times the scent suggests SMN Broom/Ginestre, at other times CdG Laurel, at other times a rosemary/mint combo.

    21st August, 2012 (Last Edited: 27 November, 2012)

    rating


    Infusion by Bombay Sapphire

    This is a charming little scent. It was a marketing bonus, a lagniappe, when one bought a half-litre of Bombay Gin at duty-free. It has been discontinued but is quite available on ebay.
    It has a light, breezy opening with pretty good lemon peel notes. There is a hint of almond flower, which goes well with the coriander. Essentially it smells like a good gin, with all of the nice aromatic notes but not any heavy boozy ones. The juniper is bright and invigorating. It could be even stronger but it is nice. The little blue bottle is pretty.

    21st August, 2012

    rating


    Armani Privé Figuier Eden by Giorgio Armani

    The fig note here is immediately recognizable, but it is handled subtly and with class.
    The scent is dry, dusky, and green. It has peppery spice and at times hints of a fruity note which sometimes is like coconut (typical for fig) and other times something closer to peach/apricot. This is cool, airy, and translucent in style. It has a slightly woody dry-down. It wears well and has amazing longevity.

    16 August, 2012

    rating


    Devin by Aramis

    Very grassy and herbal. Tangy and leathery patchouli notes, even bitter at times.

    16 August, 2012

    rating


    L'Homme Libre by Yves Saint Laurent

    This is a pleasant, slightly synthetic-fresh smelling scent.
    It starts with a good crisp note which combines citrus, anise-basil, and peppery spice. This is the best part of the scent.
    It then develops a somewhat sweet, and "fresh" (synthetic) note. The scent is very cool, like air from a freezer. Gradually this synthetic side abates, and one is left with a light peppery spice sort of scent.
    Inoffensive, a fairly safe choice.

    13 August, 2012

    rating


    New York for Gentlemen by Brooks Brothers

    Props for the bottle -- it is a stunner. A very classy-looking item, like a sapphire.
    The juice is nice. It goes through various phases. The first is a brief but powerful citrus note, emphasis on plummy bergamot. Then we see an airy, white-shirt note: crisp, low-key, smells like a freshly-ironed shirt. This phase is most suitable for office wear. The dry-down reveals a very carefully modulated cumin note. Many times, I find cumin in a scent to be either very pongy (like male sweat) or else suggestive of chili. Here, it is just a nice woody spicy -- clearly cumin but not all over the place with that.
    This is a safe, somewhat conservative scent for guys. I can't imagine anyone disliking it to wear or to smell on others. It is not terribly original but it is well done.
    Rates a mild thumbs-up.

    13 August, 2012

    rating


    Human by Fruits and Passion

    I am reviewing the HUMAN - homme version.
    Somewhat sweet, fairly green and fresh. Some stalky and green sap notes.
    A bit thick and heavy.
    Aside from the sweetness and weight it is OK.
    Not complex, smells inexpensive but at least it is not wretchedly synthetic.
    A bit soapy in the dry-down.

    13 August, 2012

    rating


    Le Petit Prince B612 by Le Petit Prince

    This is a VERY light, sheer, inoffensive scent. It has hints of citrus, wood, and light musk. There are also traces of mint and an earthy-floral note which to me seems more like iris or orris than jasmine. This is so light one could bathe in it -- simply impossible to over-apply it. Very short longevity.

    11th August, 2012

    rating


    Lime Aftershave Cologne by Colonel Ichabod Conk

    A pleasant scent, in the citrus-green-generic style. It lasts about 10 seconds. Thumbs down for its brevity.

    10th August, 2012

    rating


    Profumo Mercurio by Ai Monasteri

    This is in two phases. The first is powerful and rather sweet. A brief citrus opening (possibly bergamot?) gives way to a floral-spicy chord. I have no idea what the flowers are, I suspect pepper and cloves are among the spices. The second phase is a much drier cedarwood note, with some spices in the background. The first phase is brief, the second has very good longevity (several hours). If you like dry wood then you'll like this. Simple, but satisfying.

    10th August, 2012

    rating


    Antica Acqua di Colonia by Ai Monasteri

    This is a charming little old-school EdC. It has light citrus, lavender, herbal and musk notes. It is not as crisp and assertive as Aqua di Parma, but it is in that style. It has a round, slightly soapy quality in the dry-down. It sits very close to the skin and smells very natural throughout. No one would be offended by this.

    08 August, 2012

    rating


    Blu Mediterraneo Capri Orange / Arancia Di Capri by Acqua di Parma

    Doesn't quite work on my skin.
    The opening is certainly very citrus-y and orange-y. I also get something like a peach note, very briefly. It is crisp and invigorating, though a bit like orange soda (as others have noticed) or an orange creamsicle.
    Then the scent picks up a simple, slightly sour musk note. At times it reminds me of a green cantaloupe. I don't care for it.
    There is also a green-leaf note which appears intermittently (the mate leaf). And then there is the caramel note -- not a big player here, but for me it lurks in the background.
    The whole thing seems like a jumble to me.

    06 August, 2012

    rating


    Feuilles de Tabac by Miller Harris

    Top: Cuban cascarilla oil, pimento berries
    Mid: pine needles, sage
    Base: tonka bean, tobacco, Malay patchouli

    The cascarill oil contributes a rich, fragrant, slightly sweet woody-musky note to the opening. There is some peppery spice, and perhaps a cooling freshness from the pine.
    This is a rich scent, round, smooth; yet also cool and open. The dusky sage gives bit of a herbal aspect. Although rich, this is not too sweet. The tonka gives the hay-coumarin note in the dry-down. I don't find much tobacco leaf here -- that's OK, I don't really care for the note.

    06 August, 2012

    rating


    154 by Jo Malone

    I've tried this many times. Each time, it develops a slightly sour-tangy note which I find unpleasant. Perhaps it is the patchouli. Some have talked of a metallic note, and I see that. Others mention leather, and while it is not strong on me, I can detect it.
    Just doesn't work for me. It is not a horrible scent, it might suit others.

    05 August, 2012

    rating


    Le Pamplemousse by Miller Harris

    I like it.
    It starts with an excellent yellow (tart) grapefruit note -- this is really well done and has excellent longevity for a citrus note. The scent opens up and adds rhubarb, another tangy-bitter note. The scent here is very dry and bracing.
    As the scent develops further, it picks up some gentle herbal and moss notes. Basically, it becomes a citrus variation on the excellent MH Petitgrain, substituting grapefruit for orange blossom. Some grassy vetiver appears.
    The drydown is pleasant and mossy.
    If you like Hermes' Eau D'Orange Verte, give this a try.
    The fragrance notes from the company are slightly different from those in the BN directory.
    Top: bitter grapefruit, rhubarb, green melon
    Mid: Moroccan orange flowers, clary sage, rosemary
    Base: vetiver, tree moss, Moroccan cedar

    04 August, 2012

    rating


    Terre de Bois by Miller Harris

    I find this to be a pleasant but not outstanding scent.
    It starts strongly in the verbena camp: lemony, basil, a bit of yeasty bread.
    It opens into a dewy spring garden, full of green notes and some florals and a hint of wood. One might say that it is an earthy version of a EdC style of scent.
    I find I have to apply it substantially in order to really get some of the notes. So, after a few applications, I detect a bit of fennel and some patchouli which is alternatively mint-like and earthy.

    03 August, 2012

    rating


    La Fumée by Miller Harris

    I find this to be a charming, dry sandalwood scent. Yet, I only give it a neutral rating. Here's why.
    A scent called La Fumee should be smoky! A scent which promises a lot of incense should deliver those notes in a mysterious and haunting way.
    This is a fairly safe, amiable and restrained woody scent. There are some slightly sweet spices at the beginning, and then a creamy-woody sandalwood note becomes the centre of attraction. Props to it for being dry and classy, marks deducted for not delivering on its promise.
    There's no wow-factor here for me.

    02 August, 2012

    rating


    Mystra by Aesop

    This is a simple scent -- and sometimes simplicity done to perfection is completely satisfying. That is the case here.
    Woody, dry, green, resinous, haunting, invigorating, classy.
    Wear very well throughout the day.

    In the store, I tried both the Edt (splash) and Parfum (roll-on) versions. The Edt is a little drier, brisker and woodier than the Parfum which is very smooth. I preferred the Edt version.

    31st July, 2012

    rating


    Peoneve by Penhaligon's

    This is a gorgeous floral. The opulent flowers are deep but not overwhelming, and are brightened by violet leaf. Peony and rose are very similar (to my nose) and they certainly work well in concert here. The flowers are well done and have considerable longevity.
    After a while, the vetiver and musk join the flowers, and compliment them. The grassy vetiver in particular suits the rose note. This is a BIG floral cloud, creamy and dreamy. It is not a dark, brooding rose -- and thus perhaps will be of more interest to women than men.

    28 July, 2012

    rating


    Vétiver Vert by Czech & Speake

    I'm neutral on this. It is not a bad scent, not significantly problematic in any way. My reservations are two-fold: it is not as green as a scent called "Vert" should be, and I find the balsamic note to be a bit too sweet and heavy for my taste.
    All the layers appear at the outset, a surprising development. Smoke from the vetiver, balsamic notes from the dusky laurel and galbanum, and sweet notes from the sandalwood show themselves, along with the citrus.
    Things sort themselves out after this overture. The citrus retreats, and a dusky bay leaf note remains. This is quite good. The scent gets a bit heavier and sweeter, and takes on a balsamic quality. At times, the scent has the character of an old metal ashtray, with its smoky and metallic notes. As the balsamic note settles, a grassier note emerges from the vetiver. This is really a freshly-cut sort of grass, and it too is pleasant. The drydown is sweet and woody, from the sandalwood.
    Thus, I like some of the notes but not all, and the rich heaviness of the balsamic style doesn't quite suit me. But, as I said, it is a good scent and some will like it.

    28 July, 2012

    rating


    Opoponax by Santa Maria Novella

    Like Potpourri, SMN Opoponax is truly a scent from another era -- it is powerful and suggests different sensibilities and perspectives. For that reason alone, I admire this scent.
    It is a complex scent: dry, aromatic, very powerful, at times dry in a resinous dark-green manner and at other times somewhat sweet. There are smoky notes reminiscent of Russian Caravan tea, and other dusky notes which suggest celery leaves or old books in a library. The celery-leaf aspect deepens in the dry-down to a hay-like note.
    Quite an experience, and quite beautiful. It takes verve to wear it.

    26 July, 2012

    rating


    Iperborea by Lorenzo Villoresi

    In Greek mythology, Hyperborea was a distant, exotic land. I'm not sure how that relates to this scent.
    This is a very sweet, apricot/peach scent, with powdery orris root notes and other airy qualities.
    Not at all my style, and I don't even find it particularly attractive.
    Seems like a mis-step from the usually excellent Villoresi house.

    26 July, 2012

    rating


    parfums*PARFUMS Series 1 Leaves: Calamus by Comme des Garçons

    As a fan of green scents, I've long wanted to try this. I was deeply disappointed in it.
    It starts with a very leafy and grassy note -- quite intense and more of an experience than an attractive scent per se. Then, and very quickly, it got intensely sweet, cloying, fusty, odd and unpleasant. I don't know what on earth it smelled like but whatever it was, I did not like it at all and had to wash it off.

    26 July, 2012

    rating


    Jubilation XXV by Amouage

    (revised) I like this a lot. It is an excellent dry incense scent. Spicy, woody, mossy notes augment the resinous incense. It is not heavy, not sweet, and quite satisfying. Perhaps there is a touch of oud in the incense, giving a bright piercing note. The drydown gets warmer and woodier.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Lyric Man by Amouage

    It starts with a lovely rose note. This subsides but never entirely goes away. It settles into a saffron-dusky note with some musky aspects. Perhaps there is a little pine to be found, if one searches. The dry-down is a dewy green sort, with traces of celery leaf and some substantial sweetness. An interesting scent, not compelling for me.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Vetiver by Murdock

    Good job: grassy, quite smoky, green and crisp in style. Not a huge vetiver per se, but there's enough there to satisfy.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Patchouli by Murdock

    I'm not a fan of patchouli but this has lots of other things going on, so I can tolerate it. In fact, the patchouli is very subdued. Mostly a light-spicy and woody scent.

    24 July, 2012

    rating


    Fougère by Murdock

    Intriguing, and quite powerful. Very herbal with a big blast of camphoraceous lavender. Quite woody and mossy. Substantial, even a bit heavy. For old-school fougere fans.

    24 July, 2012

    Showing 211 to 240 of 1204.