Reviews by odysseusm

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Showing 241 to 270 of 1265.
    rating


    Oliban / Grisens by Phaedon

    Notes: natural incense from Awajii (Japanese island), sandalwood

    This is a lovely woody incense scent. Quite dry, with strong woody-bark notes. There is also something unusual going on -- at times it is a bit metallic, other times creamy, other times toasty/nutty. The only thing I can compare it to is ghee (Indian clarified butter). There are some smoky notes, and the scent settles into a dignified sandalwood.

    11th September, 2012

    rating


    Exotic Essence by David Yurman

    This is soooooo sweet, floral and gourmand.
    Rich and heavy. Oddly, the patchouli and vanilla aren't the problems I thought they'd be. Rather, it is the musk and some other notes which are the obstacle.
    I think the "peach skin" note is a disaster. Smells metallic, cloying and quite unpleasant.
    And the amber has the usual rich, buttery, treacly note which I dislike.
    I don't see any "exotic woods" -- whatever those might be, nor sandalwood, nor wood notes of any kind.

    11th September, 2012

    rating


    Fresh Essence by David Yurman

    Quite sweet for a "fresh" scent, a little too much so in my opinion.
    Fairly fruity at first, then sort of a watery/pond impression.
    Nothing distinctive here. Not a terrible scent, but not anything of interest either.

    11th September, 2012

    rating


    Boss The Collection: Wool Musk by Hugo Boss

    The cinnamon is restrained -- not a strong element. Definitely spicy but not heavy.
    A bit sweet but not problematic. The musk is light too. At times there was an interesting herbal-earthy note but it wasn't significant enough or lasting enough to rate any praise.
    Not bad, no problems, just not my style.

    09th September, 2012

    rating


    Boss The Collection: Cashmere Patchouli by Hugo Boss

    I'm giving a patchouli scent a thumbs-up! Normally I don't like that note. Here's why I'm appreciating this one.
    This scent reminds me of an old-school fougere: ferny, coumarin, soapy, a bit earthy.
    The patchouli here is not heavy and has a charming herbal-minty quality along with nice damp-earth notes.
    I think this is definitely worth checking out, even if you don't normally try patchouli.

    09th September, 2012

    rating


    Delicate Essence by David Yurman

    A watery floral, quite pretty. Green floral notes at first (probably the lotus blossom). These combine with a peppery bit of spice. The rose is very quick to appear. The juice is pink and the scent suggests a feminine, pink character. Not something I'd wear but it is attractive. Not heavy, not overly sweet, not tiresome in its floral presentation.

    09th September, 2012

    rating


    Eau de Fleurs de Néroli by Chloé

    This is a charming neroli scent. It isn't complex, leads with orange blossom and pretty much stays there. Nice, simple, youthful, innocent, delicate, translucent. Not sweet. Unisex, definitely unisex. A guy easily could wear and enjoy this. Orange blossom with a hint of green and some bit of wood in the dry-down.

    09th September, 2012

    rating


    Eau Sauvage Parfum by Christian Dior

    No. This won't do, won't do at all.
    As others have noted, to call something xx Parfum should suggest a more intense or long-lived version of xx. This is different than a flanker, and goodness knows Eau Sauvage has icy and leather versions of flankers. But at least one suspects something rather different than the original.
    Eau Sauvage Parfum is completely different from the classic and still delightful Eau Sauvage. Thus, this new name is misleading to the consumer.
    This scent starts with a very aromatic citrus note -- to me it smells like a chemical version of lime. Very bold, synthetic, at times like a lime Lifesaver candy and at times like a citrus-scented cleaner.
    The myrrh REALLY bulks things up in comparison with the original ES. This is a very dense and weighty scent. Here, the myrhh gives a sweet, perfumey and soapy character to the middle.
    The vetiver is not well done, in my opinion. Sometimes it suggests almond paste (marzipan), other times root beer soda.
    The scent becomes so sweet and balsamic that I eventually had to scrub it.
    Eau Sauvage was one of my earliest scents, and I still love it. This is absolutely nothing like it, nor it is good in its own right.

    08th September, 2012

    rating


    Full Incense by Montale

    Stylistically, this is very similar to Heeley Cardinal, as has been noted. Arguably this is a bit rounder but the distinction between the two is subtle. I'm not sure I can make a case for owning both, but one or the other is essential for incense lovers.
    It has a bright, fairly green opening, perhaps with a touch of conifer -- probably frankincense at work. The scent is well-balanced and does not ever develop a tiresome patchouli twang. There are some satisfying wood notes. The scent is quite powerful at first -- do not over-apply! It also has excellent longevity.

    08th September, 2012

    rating


    Au Lac by Eau d'Italie

    It starts with excellent citrus notes, very zesty. It then opens into a lovely rose note, with some woody/bark notes (probably from the fig leaves) as a frame. At first, the scent is not particularly sweet. It is a dry floral, and thus quite unisex in style. As the floral notes deepen and develop, the rose becomes more prominent and the scent becomes a bit richer and sweeter. The florals become complex, more than a simple rose note. The papyrus gives a stalky-green aspect with is interesting.
    It is not my style, but it is a fine scent.

    06th September, 2012

    rating


    Guerlain Homme L'Eau Boisée by Guerlain

    Like a few others, I feel this is an improvement on Guerlain Homme.
    It is woodier than the original, smoother and has less citrus. The wood and vetiver are fairly powerful and have good longevity. Unfortunately, at times they also have a somewhat metallic character which keeps me from being more enthusiastic about the scent.

    06th September, 2012

    rating


    Amazingreen by Comme des Garçons

    I'm disappointed in this scent -- it is not really a "green" scent, in the way I think of green (dark, powerful, suggesting leaves/sap/trees). Thus, I think the title is misleading.
    Yet, I'll give it a "neutral" rating, in the face of fairly uniform reviewer dislikes so far. Here's why.
    I admire two things. First, the designer has created something DIFFERENT and arguably new. It does not smell like anything I've encountered. Associated with that is that the smell is not unpleasant or wierd, at least not in my opinion.
    Second, the scent has a rare dynamic in that it presents a kaleidoscope or moire impression -- a shifting and recurring series of notes which appear early and continue to present themselves. That is unusual in a fragrance.
    The scent starts with a very dewy and slightly sweet opening which is vaguely green-ish. There is a fruity note, which sometimes suggests strawberry leaves and other times a peach-apricot combination. A sort of grassy note weaves in and out -- mild, not powerful. A very prominent note is something unusual and hard to describe. Sometimes it is toasted and slightly nutty, other times it is slightly musty like old books or old cardboard boxes, other times it is like flinty stones or gunpowder. This is the signature feature of the scent.
    These various elements dance around playfully. If the scent resolved into a dry, smokey and mineral centre it would be satisfying; but it promises but never lands there. The recurring sweetness keeps me from fully endorsing it. Yet, I think it is an intriguing scent and I'm glad to have tried it.
    But again -- not very green!

    06th September, 2012

    rating


    Corallium by Carthusia

    I'm disappointed in this scent. Citrus, herbs, incense, wood... should be nice, maybe even a garrigue (herbal breeze over dusty fields) sort of smell.
    My main objection is that this is a sweet and rather heavy scent. The myrhh has a sweet and soapy character, and when this combines with a substantial dose of patchouli and musk, we get something very round and dense.
    Herbs are few and faint. Woods briefly make an appearance but they get overwhelmed.
    I had to wash it off after about a half-hour. If you like a sweet, dense soapy myrrh-patchouli combo then it might suit you. I like something drier and more translucent.

    06th September, 2012

    rating


    Eau de Prep by Tommy Hilfiger

    When I see citrus, tonic water and juniper berry, I naturally expect a gin-and-tonic sort of scent. This tries but isn't quite that.
    The citrus opening is reasonably good, though a bit sweet. The scent is bright and fresh, yet at the same time has a sort of dusky-synthetic herbal aspect (the so-called "green notes" in the middle).
    The scent is smooth overall, and the base becomes a bit sweet again as it picks up the amber and suede notes.
    A sporty sort of scent that really plays it safe and tries to hit a lot of bases -- and thus is not very interesting or distinctive.
    Nothing to offend, though.

    03rd September, 2012

    rating


    Gucci Flora by Gucci

    VERY sweet. Syrupy and irritating.
    Hint of vanilla.
    Cloying, dense, unpleasant.
    Smells like sugar cube with floral syrup poured over it.
    Shallow, unattractive.

    03rd September, 2012

    rating


    Armani Code Sport by Giorgio Armani

    Citrus - ok
    Then it gets a bit synthetic. Like laundry detergent or a freshly-ironed shirt.
    A cool and rather soul-less scent. Can't find anything attractive or to recommend here.

    02nd September, 2012

    rating


    Wild Bluebell by Jo Malone

    I also noticed the cantaloupe opening, and I think it is kinda oddball in a floral scent.
    Thankfully, it quickly burns off. We are left with a soft, gentle floral. Lily of the valley sorts of notes are the core. A tiny bit sweet but not problematic. A young, innocent sort of smell. Not heavy or cloying.

    01st September, 2012

    rating


    JB by Jack Black

    Starts off slightly sweet, with some fruity and minty notes. It's kind of generic smelling at this point. Nothing wrong with it, but its not particularly distinctive. There is a vague hint of smoke and wood which is nice. The dry-down has a tiny bit of amber-vanilla (but not problematic).
    I'll give it a mild thumbs-up overall, for being a decent, fresh-smelling scent. No one will be offended by this.

    01st September, 2012

    rating


    Magnolia Romana by Eau d'Italie

    I'll give it a mild thumbs-up.
    For me, it has two phases. The first one is quite good. It evokes a sunny field, through notes of hay and green herbs. The scent is not at all sweet and in fact I never get any floral notes. Here, it is arguably a masculine-oriented scent.
    The second phase is a translucent, watery style. Perhaps a pond in a sunny meadow -- but not terribly interesting, not much distinctive character here. As the scent loses any herbal or grassy notes, the bottom drops out and there's very little left. An airy, slightly soapy scent -- that's it.
    But on the strength of phase 1, the thumb will keep pointing skyward.

    29th August, 2012

    rating


    Eau de Shalimar by Guerlain

    Very sweet and dense. Smells like lemon poundcake. Really good lemon poundcake. Makes me want a nice cup of tea.

    29th August, 2012

    rating


    Aqua Allegoria Flora Nymphéa by Guerlain

    After trying a couple of cutie-pie lollipops, this is a bracing alternative!
    Quite intense for a Guerlain AA.
    The "green notes" are working overtime here.
    The initial blast is lovely and dry. Unfortunately, that does not last long enough.
    Develops a lovely but fairly sweet floral note. Probably the honey note does not hold back.
    Still, it is a lovely floral. If you like sweet ones, give this a sniff. Very spring-like.

    28th August, 2012

    rating


    Valentina by Valentino

    Sweet. Super sweet. Intensely sweet. Candied.
    Young, girly, giggly.
    A veritable bon-bon.
    Like biting into a perfume-drenched sugar cube.

    28th August, 2012

    rating


    Balenciaga Paris by Balenciaga

    Quite sweet and dense. Somewhat metallic, which can happen with violet leaf scents.
    Where's the pepper? Where's the moss?
    A fairly ponderous floral chord, not particularly charming.
    Develops into the scent of a dewy garden after a rain -- but that sounds nicer than it actually is.

    28th August, 2012

    rating


    Windsor by D.R. Harris & co.

    Here's a great new scent from the venerable D. R. Harris pharmacy.
    Notes: sweet orange peel extract, nutmeg, black pepper, elemi, geranium, patchouli, vetiver.
    It has an excellent orange opening, quickly followed by peppery spice. The scent is very pleasant and classy at this point -- the notes are really natural-smelling. A hint of lovely geranium rose develops, giving this a British flair. The scent is fresh, invigorating, yet at the same time warm and inviting. The pepper segues into vetiver.
    Top marks for an excellent scent at a great price!

    23rd August, 2012

    rating


    Pin 12 by Le Labo

    Revised review.
    In addition to the notes given above, this also has lavender, lemon, and cedar.
    It is classified as a room/ambient scent, but some may choose to wear it on skin. Warning -- it is a powerful brute! Earthy, macho, swagger, dirty... not for the faint of heart.
    It starts with a VERY aromatic-herbal blast of dry lavender. You have to love lavender to appreciate this -- and I do. In fact, I get far more lavender than pine in this.
    The scent develops into a powerful and somewhat dense (or at least substantial) woody scent. The emphasis is more on cedar than pine, I'd say.
    The dry-down has some very smokey notes and lots of wood, and a surprising reappearance of lemon!
    The longevity is good -- it lasts and diminishes gracefully (rather than getting bigger and tiresome).
    This one is for serious wood lovers only. It is dry, simple and smells like a good woodpile.
    Despite the "pine" name it is not really coniferous.

    22nd August, 2012 (Last Edited: 13th November, 2014)

    rating


    Rose by Florascent

    This is in the "Aqua Floralis" line.
    Notes: May roses from Grasse, white flowers

    This starts with a green, lily of the valley floral note. It deepends into a mild and lovely rose. That's about it. Restrained, but pretty.

    22nd August, 2012

    rating


    Concentré de Pamplemousse Rose by Hermès

    Here we have a lovely, juicy pink grapefruit. Delightful! Good enough to eat.
    This softens into a very translucent light wood note, which sits close to the skin.
    There are the merest hints of grassy vetiver, but the scent stays true to its name. I don't get much (if any) rose note. I think the longevity is acceptable, even good, given that this is a citrus-based scent.

    22nd August, 2012

    rating


    Everest by Scentsational of Huntington

    For another type of scent, I might give this a thumbs up. But something which promises "fresh air and pine" should deliver those things.
    This is a soft, spicy wood scent. It is verrrrry smooth -- and that causes my reservation. I don't get any particular wood. And any fleeting wood notes are so smoothed by the amber and softened that the scent isn't very interesting in my opinion. It's a beautiful scent without any edge or interesting factor.
    The dry-down gets rich and ambery, and then I really lose interest.

    22nd August, 2012

    rating


    Séxual Sugar Daddy by Michel Germain

    I should give it a thumbs-down for the lame name.
    The scent -- fairly sweet, a bit woody. Pleasant, aside from the sweetness. Not heavy, has some spices.
    Really, this is a generic "guy" scent -- something from the Avon catalogue.
    NO fir balsam that I can deteect.
    Not oppressive, not tiresomely synthetic. Meh.

    22nd August, 2012

    rating


    Chicane by Scentsational of Huntington

    Supposed to be like Claiborne's Curve for Men.
    Fresh, spicy, a bit woody. Somewhat cheap in style. Meh.

    22nd August, 2012

    Showing 241 to 270 of 1265.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000