Perfume Reviews

Reviews by Oviatt

Advertisement
Total Reviews: 273
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Bogart pour Homme by Jacques Bogart

This scent is one of the best values going…. Provided you like the way it smells. Bogart Pour Homme is a bargain, powerhouse scent from the well-respected yet in many ways under-appreciated house of Jacques Bogart. The sillage of this scent is amazing and as for its lasting power, well, try to get rid of it and you’ll see. This has a sweet, floral opening with lots of lavender but with a very prominent lily note. The opening reminds me strongly of a household cleaning product called Fabuloso, which claims to have a “Fresca Lavanda” smell, although it is unlike any lavender I have smelled. I detected this “Fabuloso” note in Dior’s Sauvage which really annoyed me, as I do not want to go around smelling like a mop left in the cleaning cupboard. I do not mind it so much in Bogart Pour Homme—it just smells like you are in a freshly cleaned villa in Spain, which is never a bad thing. From there a strong cherry tobacco note comes into play, sweetened by the tonka and vanilla of the base notes. All in all, a comforting—albeit very sweet—scent for fall and winter. I have worn it a few times and was trying to figure out if I liked it when my wife very pointedly asked me what perfume I was wearing. Not aftershave, not cologne but perfume. I told her all about it and she made a face and shrugged, as if to say “fine, it you WANT to smell like that….” Throwing it back at her, I have offered her my bottle and we’ll see how she gets on with it.
11th October, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Bugatti (original) by Etorre Bugatti

Bugatti for men is a miracle of freshness, made even more spectacular by its beautifully blended floral heart and deep, manly basenotes. Due to the kindness of a fellow Basenoter, I was able to try this wonderful scent from 1992 (EdT and after shave) and now I am hooked. This has all of my favorite notes (Clary Sage, Carnation, Leather, Benzoin, Labdanum, Vanilla….) and is so well blended that none of them is the star—they all play a supporting role. The Aldehydes takes the lemon, lime and bergamot of the top notes to a level of citric vibrancy that never entirely leaves—this is a fresh scent even in the dry down. The florals and woods at the heart of this fragrance are so beautifully blended that they become greater than the sum of the parts. So far, there is almost an old school Eau de Cologne vibe, with the Neroli and florals, but the base notes are never too far behind, and what notes they are! Amber, Benzoin, Castoreum, Labdanum, Leather, Oakmoss, Musk, Tonka Bean and Vanilla. In the wrong hands this could have become a parody of every masculine powerhouse ever made, but there is restraint and control at play here. Wearing it today, on a sunny autumn morning, I can only smile; I actually updated my wardrobe after putting this on, reaching for a better suit, the perfect shoes, my favorite tie (all Italian in this case). This is a beautiful articulation of a historic, luxury automobile brand—unmistakably Italian, definitely masculine and extremely classy. I am a huge fan of the Diana de Silva version of Gianfranco Ferre for Man which absolutely shares its DNA with Bugatti.
09th October, 2017 (last edited: 11th October, 2017)
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Mugler Cologne by Thierry Mugler

Mugler Cologne is a wonderful take on traditional eau de cologne, such as the classic 4711, but with a distinctly Mediterranean feel to it. Where 4711 evokes Germanic baden and an alpine cleanliness, Mugler Cologne smells of warmer oceanside climes, in much the way Tom Ford's Neroli Portofino does. I can well imagine Mugler's childhood soap being the inspiration for this--I feel that I have used this very soap in several French-speaking countries. The other big difference is that classic eau de cologne can smell slightly antiseptic and clinical but Mugler Cologne, due to the soft musk in its base notes and the mysterious S-note, smells more of humanity. Clean humanity, to be sure. If an eau de cologne can be sexy, this one it it. This an amazingly versatile fragrance especially good for warm weather and warm climates, about as far from Mugler's other fragrances as it is possible to be! The grooming products are excellent.
29th September, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Heritage Eau de Parfum by Guerlain

As a longtime fan of Heritage EdT (of which I have plenty of vintage), I was worried about trying the latest version of this; everyone raves about the vintage and I did not want to be disappointed about a EdP version of one of may favorite scents. In the end I got a bottle of the newest version (wood cap) and it is wonderful--richer and warmer than the EdT and I detect a slightly gourmand chocolate/tonka note--nothing like as strong as in L'Instant Pour Homme but present in the EdP where I do not get it in the EdT. The citrus and lavender opening is bright and wonderful and slightly toned down from the EdT. I have often thought that Heritage is the real Shalimar Pour Homme, much more so than Habit Rouge, and in the EdP strength I feel this even more strongly. Now I am on the hunt for a bottle of vintage....
20th September, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Bentley for Men Absolute by Bentley

Bentley for Men Absolute is the closest I have found to my beloved Gucci Pour Homme I--in fact, I like it even better! The woods and pink pepper and papyrus all point to the Gucci, but the addition of oud and ambergris in the Bentley actually improves this. Warm, rich woody incense notes prevail with less sweetness than the Gucci offering. This is very masculine, very sophisticated and very in line with the Bentley brand promise: Luxury and performance are complementary, not irreconcilable opposites. An irresistible combination.

Along with Bentley for Men Intense, this is one of my favorite recent releases, affordable luxury that delivers on all fronts.
19th September, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Mahon Leather by Floris

Mahon Leather is firmly lodged in Floris's masculine camp but the iris and jasmine give this more than a little feeling of leather feminines of the past like Cabochard and Bandit. There is definitely leather here, but it shares the limelight with a beautiful vetiver note, all underscored by a realistic saffron. Like most Floris offerings, this is well-behaved and gentlemanly. The quality of the ingredients is evident from the start and results in solid performance. Mahon Leather is a great scent for men wanting a classic, traditional scent with a slight floral/spicy twist. Women who love traditional leather scents and vetivers like Sycomore and the Guerlain vetivers will find this well worth looking into.
18th September, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Dry Wood by Ramon Monegal

Ramon Monegal's Dry Wood is a dry scent, but the wood it references is in fact quite green, wood not long from feeling the axe and saw. The green wood is accompanied by pepper and a slightly bitter herbal note (Oregano? Marjoram? Marijuana?) that gives it a savory food note not unlike the celery note in Yatagan. Perhaps it is the Bay note that gives it the savory gourmand note. Finally, the green moss note furthers the green feeling to this scent, giving it the slightly retro feel of bracing green herbals from the past like Alliage, Private Collection and Yatagan. The Norlimbanol, however, which is so widely used in modern masculines, keeps this firmly in the present. Like Yatagan, there is a complete lack of floral notes, which makes this masculine-leaning, but in line with the green goddesses of the past.
18th September, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Halston Man Amber by Halston

This semisweet amber fragrance has a lot going for it—the herbal bite of geranium leaf and thyme, a rich ambered incense heart and the skank of musk and oud in the drydown. The sweetness is held in check by the same metallic note found in Halston Man; it is like licking buttercream frosting off of the steel blade of a Sabatier knife. Its lack of floral notes along with the woods in the base notes make this a very masculine scent, the driest of gourmands. The dry nature of this scent—rare among ambers—makes this a very discreet fragrance, suitable for the boardroom, the bedroom and all places in between.
12th September, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Halston Man by Halston

I do not see Halston Man as having much to do with the wonderful Z-14. What I do get, however, is a strong link to Ralph Lauren's Safari for Men. There is a harsh masculinity about Halston Man that has an almost metallic note to it but thanks to the passionfruit note, is sweeter than Safari. The dry herbal notes of eucalyptus and cinnamon create the perfect foil for the fruity note. I do not pick up any floral notes other than a bit of geranium--it totally lacks the surprise addition of gardenia that Z-14 had. Well blended, good performance, manly smelling and only a little bit retro, Halston Man is a very pleasant workhorse of a scent. Reimagining the iconic bottle in silver, a la Jeff Koons, is a brilliant move, but again, it links it back to Z-14, to which I see little connection.
11th September, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Bentley for Men Intense by Bentley

Bentley for Men Intense is an amazing fragrance. Rich, elegant and powerful, it perfectly represents the luxury brand, from the scent to the wonderful bottle. In the opening it strongly reminds me of vintage M7 although Agarwood is not listed among its notes. The notes that are listed, however, are some of my very favorites—Black Pepper, Clary Sage, Labdanum, Leather, Cedar and Sandalwood. As the intense designation suggests, this is a strong, powerful scent that needs a little gravitas to pull off. It reminds me in some ways of Courvoisier L'Edition Impériale which was also rich, powerful and a bit boozy. The drydown of Bentley for Men Intense is my favorite part—the woods and the Patchouli go on and on with only a hint of sweetness. Perfect for cooler weather, I find that this also does really well—one spray only—in the heat. Instant love for me, along with Absolute.
24th June, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

L'Homme Idéal Cologne by Guerlain

Thierry Wasser’s masculines for Guerlain have a thread running through them that is fresh, slightly sweet yet decidedly masculine. Homme and its flankers have in spades and so does L’Homme Ideal Cologne. This accord reminds me strongly of the original scent of Speed Stick, an American deodorant made by Mennon. There is a no fuss masculinity about this—shower up, swipe on some Speed Stick and out of the locker room you go. L’Homme Ideal Cologne smells better than a men’s locker room; it is the haute couture version of a men’s locker room but none the less, that is the vibe I get. And I like it. My wife likes it, too. You could wear this to a ball game and other guys around you would be perfectly comfortable with it. The almond and neroli at its heart give it a slight babrbershop note while the citrus in the top notes make it a fresh, warm weather scent. It is a little strange that one has to wear a French fragrance from a fine old house (albeit a pale, latter day offering) to smell like you just came out of a locker room…..
17th June, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Dunhill Custom by Dunhill

This is a good scent that should have gone further--the apple note, which is nice and well-integrated, could be amped up. The pepper could also play a more prominent role. The finish, with its cedar and incense is nice although a little bland. In all, CUSTOM is well made, good smelling and safe. Too safe. Some unexpected overdosing or risky counterpoint could have made this great, but as it is, it is a classy, easy to wear, safe fragrance. The realistic, natural apple note and pepper are not gourmand-they are aromatic without being edible. When P&G came out with their ridiculous 007 fragrance which also had an English apple note, this is what they could have achieved, something that James Bond might actually have worn. As with most Dunhill scents, the bottle is fantastic, whether you have it engraved or not.
13th June, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Quorum by Antonio Puig

Antonio Puig’s Quorum is not the snarling powerhouse beast that I had always thought. I recently bought it—blind—and instantly recognized a soapy, woody/herbal manly scent that is very familiar, remarkably comforting and resolutely masculine. Instead of being loud, the way most powerhouses are characterized, it is assertive. Quorum has made up its mind, thrown back its broad shoulders and marches forward, asserting to all who come into its wake that this is a man’s fragrance. The bergamot, lemon and grapefruit in the top notes give it a passing post shower and shave freshness. The pine, sandalwood and patchouli in its heart notes are bolstered by the florals—jasmine, cyclamen and carnation—but so well blended that they do not announce themselves individually but simply round out the strong woods. There is cumin in the mix, with its usual sweaty note (all of this assertiveness can cause you to work up a sweat) but in this case is far in the background. Quorum really comes into its own in the base notes, where leather and tobacco play a supporting role to the oak moss—lots and lots of oak moss—that is slightly sweetened with a note of amber. Even in its latest iteration there is tree and oak moss which gives this a distinctly pre-IFRA feel; not dated, but simply from a better time when restrictions were not a concern. For the price, this is a no brainer.
10th May, 2017
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Cardinal by Heeley

Cardinal is a light and beautiful fragrance that evokes the Frankincense of church incense (as the name suggests) without smelling literally like you just left Mass. All the elements are there--the incense, the old wood of carved pews, the pressed linens of the vestments, snuffed candles and humanity--but it wears as a wonderful, masculine-leaning skin scent. A Cardinal might smell like this--if he was lucky--but even the lay person can smell this great with a bottle of Cardinal. Along with Cuir Pleine Fleur and Sel Marin, this is my favorite of Heeley's scents.
11th April, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Leather Oud by Floris

Leather Oud is a perfect gateway oud, in my opinion—it has all of the secure, comforting aspects of a traditional fragrance—in this case a beautiful, classic leather note as well as other mainstays of masculine perfumery, such as vetiver and carnation—and uses it as the launch pad for an oud that is pure and deep.  The first thing you notice is the expensive leather—not too long from being in the tannery and workroom and then on to the deep, oily darkness of the Oud, underscored by the vetiver, amber and patchouli. The floral notes of carnation and geranium are so subtle that they play a true supporting role; as the name asserts, this is all about leather and oud.
Gentlemanly enough to stroll down Jermyn Street, Leather Oud also has the dark and oily glow, edged with a dirty humanity that oud is so famous for. This boy may be wearing a bespoke suit and polished bench-made shoes, but there is some funk going on here. This is for the enfant terrible of St. James, the punk rocker of Savile Row who goes commando in his custom tailored suit.  And is it just for the boys?  I think so—it has too much of a well-bred testosterone note to be anything other than masculine.  That said, on a woman with a taste for pinstripes this could be head turning.
20th March, 2017
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Oscar de la Renta Gentleman by Oscar de la Renta

Gentleman sits squarely between Oscar de la Renta Pour Lui (1981)--said to be his personal signature scent--and Oscar for Men (2000). Pour Lui is an exceptional powerhouse fragrance, a leathery chypre that was perfectly in line with the time of its launch. Oscar for Men, which is a citrusy fragrance, with dry woods and spices was also perfectly in sync with its time. Its opening of bergamot and grapefruit recall the citrus notes of Oscar for Men while its base of amber and “rich labdanum-infused Leatherwood” reminds us of the dark power of Pour Lui. Like its two brothers, Gentleman is also perfectly in tune with the times—its citrus/spice/wood construct is at the background of many modern masculine launches today. The heart notes contain rosemary, geranium and black tea notes and remind some of Gucci Pour Homme I & II. What strikes me most about this scent is how well blended and harmonious this scent is—all of the notes sing together in one chorus and create a year round scent. The citrus lightens it enough for wear in the warmth and the woods and amber in the dry down give it the oomph to stand up to cooler weather. For a designer scent, the quality of the ingredients comes through strongly, whether real or perceived. Quite simply, Gentleman is a beautifully done modern man’s fragrance that truly is as gentlemanly as Sr. de la Renta.

The bottle for Gentleman, which is a huge domino is either a stroke of genius or an act of kitsch. Love it or hate it, you will remember it! Personally, seeing the big, outsized domino tile makes me smile—and reach for the scent to wear.
30th December, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Ombré Leather 16 by Tom Ford

Where Tom Ford’s Tuscan Leather is a big, brash leather wanting to play in the same league as Knize Ten and Heely’s Cuir Pleine Fleur is a soft, bookish leather evoking Grey Flannel’s violet leaves, Ombre Leather 16 is right in the middle. In some ways a perfect leather scent, OL16 has no powder or fruit notes to get in the way although the leather note is interwoven with cardamom, jasmine and patchouli and –like the Heely scent, violet leaves—which support the core essence of fine leather. This is a very discreet, expensive-smelling leather that anyone who has ever sat in a chair at an exclusive boutique about to spend way too much on the beautiful shoes they are trying on will recognize. OL16 is a great way to carry that scent around with you all day—and night—long.
06th December, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Absolue d'Osmanthe Eau de Parfum by Perris Monte Carlo

Petal to the Metal

This note is often used in a delicate, fleeting way, as in Hermes's Osmanthe Yunnan which smells like a cup of lightly scented Chinese tea. Absolue d’Osmanthe, however, as the name suggests and particularly in the eau de parfum concentration, is a pedal to the metal, goes to eleven, foghorn of an Osmanthus perfume. Guilin on a high pollen count day. The Osmanthus note is combined with jasmine sambac, sandalwood, vanilla, labdanum and Tolu balsam. It is difficult to determine how these notes stack up in a pyramid as this is a linear perfume—all of the notes are present, all of the time, although Osmanthus is the queen of the show and never once relinquishes her throne. Princess Turandot has nothing on this queen.
Heavily floral and resolutely fruity, Absolue d’Osmanthe strikes me as decidedly feminine and rather perfumey. It definitely smells of apricots. Dried, fresh, confiture d’abricots--they are all there, swirling around with a tea-like jasmine and vanilla, floating in the air, waved on by a fan of carved sandalwood and wrapped in a gorgeous silken robe. The balsam and labdanum add a slightly salty, vegetal note of olives, which is fitting, given that Osmanthus fragrans is also known as “sweet olive” or “tea olive.”
Fruity, floral and strong, Absolue d’Osmanthe Eau de Parfum is the powerhouse of the Far East by way of France. Think Amarige in a cheongsam. At once dense and yet billowy, ancient but modern, oriental and still occidental, this perfume is perfect for the inner empress in all of us.
22nd November, 2016 (last edited: 22nd March, 2017)
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Spicebomb by Viktor & Rolf


I was pleasantly surprised when I tired Spicebomb for the first time. The name suggests that this is going to be some nutmeg, clove and cinnamon fest; instead, this is a warm, rich, semisweet leather scent with a vanilla/Tonka undercurrent, even though those notes are not listed. Viktor & Rolf were having a little joke with this one—instead of being in the kitchen with one eye on the timer for your pumpkin pies and the other on the candy thermometer as you wait for the elusive hard ball stage, you are comfortably by the fire on a leather sofa smoking a pipe. Somewhere, at the other end of the house, someone may be cooking with spices in the kitchen, but it ain’t you. I get none of the citrus tops notes. The heart of elemi and pink pepper are evident right from the start and the leathery base of sweet pipe tobacco and wet vetiver are not too far behind. This smells warm and masculine without being too gourmand, nor is it as sweet as some of the other current offerings in this genre. Elemi is one of my favorite notes in perfumery and it is used well here, evoking a balm as opposed to a smoky incense note. Just the thing to wear in cooler weather with a ribbed turtleneck sweater and a suede jacket.
14th November, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Habit Rouge L'Eau by Guerlain

This is a neat trick—an old classic has been modernized without losing its heart and soul. Much in the way Eau de Shalimar lightened and brightened classic Shalimar, Habit Rouge L’Eau takes a brighter, more modern approach to its parent but it is immediately recognizable as Habit Rouge. Although lighter, with the citrus amped up and a floral heart and without any of the leather of the original, this still has a density and depth that could only come from Guerlain. I love leather and thought that I would really miss it in this version—I mean, what would a fox hunt be without boots, tack and saddles? In the rarified world of hunting, hunters typically wear hacking jackets and paddock boots with half-chaps for pre-season cubbing but from the day of the opening meet, it is tall boots and hunt jackets all the way—scarlet for those who have received their colors. L’Eau lets us enjoy the laid-back informality of the pre-season; we’re still out hunting in the field and having a great time but without the formality of having to conform to a strict dress code (that is a whole other facet to the Habit Rouge story….). A little easier to wear, a bit more light-hearted and certainly less precious and rarified than its parent. For those who have seen it, there is nothing more impressive than seeing a field of hunters turned out in scarlet—there is simply nothing like it, much the same as Habit Rouge has few equals in impressiveness and formality. If you want to fit into the landscape a little more—the way a tweed hacking jacket blends into the scenery—then Habit Rouge L’Eau is the way to go (and the PETA protesters may have a harder time spotting you!).
10th November, 2016 (last edited: 11th November, 2016)
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Pasha Edition Noire by Cartier

Abduction from the Seraglio--only this time, it is the sultan who has been abducted, stripped of his silken robes and dragged, kicking and screaming, into a modern tailored suit, Ferragamo loafers and a designer stubble, on trend for the modern day man.

Pasha Edition Noire uses the fresh, minty, herbal aromatic nature of the original Pasha as a starting point, and takes it to a citrusy, woody, slightly fruity place. Sound familiar? It should, because that is the construct of most modern, popular man's fragrances today. If the Bleus and the Sauvages of the world truly capture the zeitgeist of the day, then Cartier is present and accounted for. The redeeming quality here is that it does reference the acerbic, herbal edge of the original, giving the Edition Noire a depth that some of the other contenders in the citrus/fruit/woods category do not have.

Wearable? Absolutely. It is very good, even, but in many ways forgettable. The newly modernized Pasha, torn from his harem, is out wandering the streets, where there is plenty of competition for his attentions. No longer a potentate, he is just a good smelling dude, lost among a cast of thousands, hoping to catch the eye of the very one he would have—in other days—owned absolutely.
08th November, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Ocean Rain for Men by Mario Valentino

Thanks to the generosity of Cookbot, I was able to sample this unique fragrance. It has taken me several days and multiple wearings to get to the point that I felt I could talk about this scent. As the final Roudnitska offering it is a cult classic--and you definitely feel his hand on the tiller. Anyone who has smelled Diorella will get the connection. But from there it goes.... I do not know where. Modern and futuristic, yet resolutely perfumey in the way a woman's evening bag, last used in 1952, would smell (trust me on this one). With its odd metallic note coupled with a fruity banana note it brings to mind Creed's equally wonderful yet challenging Acier Aluminum. It also brings to mind another Dior groundbreaker, Fahrenheit, if you amped up the hawthorne and added indolic florals. Add a dose of post-lightening ozone and you begin to get the picture, especially if you include the smell of a head shop, late at night. So where does this fit in and how wearable is it? Beyond being what I would call unisex, it is actually androgynous; despite the fir, cedar and leather, this is not specifically masculine. The rose and cyclamen give it a femininity, and yet.... Ocean Rain is a gender bending time warp of a fragrance--in fact, it would suit almost every character in The Rocky Horror Picture Show, each in its own way. This gets a thumbs up for its creativity and wonderful execution. Somewhere, some time, there will be the perfect time and place to wear this--perhaps far into the future, or maybe it was in the past....
02nd November, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Boccanera by Orto Parisi

On the face of it, Orto Parisi is not my style of fragrance house--too edgy, too niche and more than a little obstreperous. I was not a real fan of Black Afgano for these very reasons. That said, despite its alarming name, I really responded positively to Stercus (visceral is the only way to describe it). Dark, intensely human and very sexy. This house is no extension to a fashion line, style or ethos. You do not wear these scents and associate them with a well tailored gent walking down Jermyn Street, or Italian luxury goods or a stroll down the Champs Elysees--Orto Parisi is the opposite of all that, something that is primal, bestial, stripped of all civilizing refinements. Boccanera, which means dark mouth in Italian, is another winner for me. Similar to Stercus in its humanity and sexiness, Boccanera has a drier, herbal/vegetal note and a very realistic cocoa note, mingling with a slightly sweaty (clean sweat!), musky base. So, the "dark mouths" the name alludes to are limited on a human body--there are only a small number of holes that can be explored olfactorily and they are generally not associated with good smells. But then, you would have to define what you mean by good. Alessandro Gaultieri makes us rethink our approach to such things and in so doing has given us some really wonderful scents. The sillage is subtle (thank goodness!) but the lasting power--thanks to the high concentration of quality ingredients--is impressive. Occasionally, I like to pair scents like this with a bespoke suit and often wear polished, sophisticated fragrances like Heritage or Bois du Portugal with jeans and a sweater--the contrast is unexpected and all the more interesting because of it. Definitely a try before you buy, but give these a try and do not think of them in terms of Black Afgano--they can stand on their own.
01st November, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Patou Pour Homme (new) by Jean Patou

The dictionary tells us that a sacred cow is an idiom that represents an idea, custom, or institution held, especially unreasonably, to be above criticism (with reference to the Hindus' respect for the cow as a sacred animal). Jean Kerleo’s 1980 Patou Pour Homme is a sacred cow if ever there was one.

Interestingly, when Patou Pour Homme was first released, it was not a big hit and, like the writer John Kennedy O’Toole, only received acclaim and adoration after its death. Patou made an attempt at product placement, positioning it as Don Johnson’s signature scent in Miami Vice, but it never took off, despite its brilliance. Discontinued, it became the Holy Grail of vintage perfume collectors, demanding prices commensurate with its demand.

Fast forward to 2014 when the House of Patou, under its new owners Shaneel Enterprises, reissued this mythical fragrance as part of their Collection Heritage under the direction of house perfumer Thomas Fontaine. This was huge news and eagerly awaited by the perfume community who sharpened their knives and were prepared to use them, should the reformulation fall short of expectations. The only other relaunch as keenly scrutinized has been the relaunch of another sacred cow, Helmut Lang’s Cuiron.

The relaunched scent is currently available and is very good—very good, indeed. Is it as good as Kerleo’s masterpiece? Far be it from me to say….

What I can say is that the new scent, in an IFRA-dominated word, has lost its oakmoss and Mysore sandalwood—well, that is no surprise—and gained a floral heart with lavender, jasmine, rose and violet joining the lineup, edging out the original vetiver, cedar patchouli and clary sage. These floral notes are more commonly used in feminine perfumes and the rose/jasmine accord is almost a house note for Patou, whose landmark perfume, Joy, is based on it.

Has Patou Pour Homme been emasculated, or just brought into the current age? The new scent is completely wearable now and while it may not have the richness and complexity of the original—or its resolutely masculine edge—it is beautiful, rich and expensive smelling. The spicy top notes of pepper are freshened by citrus and galbanum. A floral heart emerges that might once have seemed too feminine but now feels comfortably masculine. The base of leather and patchouli, while it does not compare to the woods and moss in the original, provides a warm, lingering drydown.

The reformulated Patou Pour Homme may no longer walk on water but it is still a very good scent—no longer a sacred cow, but just a quality, distinctive men’s scent. This could easily find a following in the market the way that the original never did; it has come out from under a bell jar and into our time. Seekers of perfection will continue their quest for vintage juice, but if you have not tried the original, try this—it is very good.


17th October, 2016 (last edited: 19th October, 2016)
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

No. 89 by Floris

I have been a pushover for Floris ever since I entered their premises for the first time, which was long, long ago (Jimmy had just handed the gavel to Maggie that very year….). They have some really good scents but more than that, they have character and stamina and charm. Well-made and… well, very British. Now, of course, Floris is pushing boundaries and making a new heritage for themselves; back then, they were just as pleased as Punch with the status quo. Squarely in the middle of that is No. 89. Launched in 1951, it is perfectly in sync with its time—a nod to the past, a hope for a better tomorrow and—hopefully, a return to business as usual (remember, there was still rationing in England as late as 1954). The fact that it became Ian Fleming’s favorite scent didn’t hurt….. One of the few scents that I could imagine both Anthony Eden and Anthony Armstrong-Jones wearing. And Quentin Crisp, for that matter.
Floris No. 89 has a soapy, eau de cologne/Neroli opening that smells as if you had just bathed with 4711 soap. How reassuring that must have seemed to a generation for whom simple things like soap and hot water were a luxury. Luxury? Do you want luxury? As if on cue, a luxurious note of roses and nutmeg enters the scene, reminding us that glamour is not just in the purview of the ladies. Before you can say ponce, the manly woods and grasses bring the whole thing home, safe as houses. Old school? Oh, yes. I feel a glass of port coming on even as we speak. For a younger man who wants to get his Jermyn Street rocks off, this would be just the thing. For the rest of us, this is a clean, discretely luxurious classic scent that speaks to the pinstriped spycatcher in all of us. And don’t fool yourself—he is there within us all. And he is wearing Floris No. 89.
27th September, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Deux Amours by Jean Patou

In 2014, Jean Patou--under the auspices of its new parent, Shaneel Enterprises--relaunched Henri Alméras’ 1925 creation Amour Amour as Deux Amours. The relaunch was overseen by Patou house perfumer Thomas Fontaine. With its fresh opening citrus and neroli, a heart of jasmine, rose, tuberose and ylang ylang, anchored by a woody base with resinous styrax, this is a classic floral perfume. Very French, very classic, tres comme il faut. This smells like dozens of other fine French perfumes we have all smelled before but this is from 1925, when there were fewer classics in the starting lineup. The violet note that seemed to characterize the original appears to have vanished in the reformulation, leaving the new launch slightly updated. Yes, there is a connection to Patou’s star perfume Joy, but whereas that masterpiece exists primarily as a rose and jasmine construct, Deux Amours is a rounded floral bouquet, lightened with bergamot and orange blossom and a grounded in woods and resins. This is classy, feminine and very French. Ladylike and yet….. There is an underlying note that is almost civet-like in its feline sharpness, but then what would a fine French perfume be without a little underlying malpropreté?
23rd September, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Phoenicia by Heeley

With its notes of dates and incense, along with the cedar of the creaking masts of Phoenician merchant ships, this scent has the Levant written all over it. With its lack of floral notes and heavy emphasis on woods, leather and oud, Phoenicia is a dry, yet rich masculine scent, evocative of ancients times and the Mediterranean’s port towns. The oud, which is extremely dry, smells strongly to me of creosote—not necessarily in a bad way. It, too, suggests ship yards and commerce. Creosote is, after all, the ancient Greek name for meat preserver. The oud also creates a slight smell of sweaty humanity (Are there galley slaves rowing this boat?). A very good offering from one of my favorite houses and a great example of how oud can be used very successfully and a team player and not the star of the show.

05th September, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Artisan Acqua by John Varvatos

Artisan Acqua is a citric oceanic scent that reminds me strongly of those delicious preserved lemons used in Moroccan cooking—whole lemons are salted and left to pickle in jars and then used in savory dishes—often served hot—like the stews served in the traditional Tagine. Lemony, salty, savory and slightly decaying, as if the second law of thermodynamics had somehow been called into play. There is nothing fresh about these fermented lemons—they are soft, salty and mushy; I love to eat them, but do not really want to smell like them (capers fall into this category as well). Artisan Acqua has spices and herbs as well (sage, coriander and basil) which perhaps adds to the feeling that I have been feasting at Dar Maghreb or the Moun of Tunis. Moss and Fir Balsam are reportedly lurking in the basenotes, but I do not smell them. This is not a long-lasting scent; the caravan has packed up and moved on while you are still licking the Ktefa from your fingers and waiting for your mint tea to cool. I am generally a fan of John Varvatos fragrances—they are as good as any designer scents out there—but this one misses the boat for me—too savory, too gourmand, too quickly gone.
23rd August, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Royal Oud by Creed

Ever since M-7 opened the Oud portal, mainstream, designer and niche perfume houses have all jumped on board the agarwood bandwagon. Some have been successful, like Tom Ford’s Oud Wood, while some whole lines have made their name on oud offerings. I have to say, for a note that is considered polarizing, that I like oud. Don’t love it, don’t hate it, don’t understand its phenomenal popularity, but when done well, I like it. Creed’s Royal Oud is a perfect example of this—a high end, well done oud for the masses. The mass affluent, that is. I do not get the citrus in the opening at all (and I love lemon and bergamot). The greenest/freshest it gets is the galbanum in the heart notes which works nicely with the cedar. Where this really takes off for me in the dry down, with the oud, sandalwood and musk. Creed quality offering with a price that matches.

10th August, 2016
Oviatt Show all reviews
United States

Déclaration d'Un Soir by Cartier

Tell me why? I don't like Mondays. Tell me why? I don't like roses......

I am the odd man out--I get that. I simply do not like the smell of roses. Not on the bush or vine and not in perfume. Beautiful flowers--I have a garden full of them--but I will stoop to sniff a gardenia or honeysuckle or lavender and walk past the roses (and I am a Deadhead...), clippers in hand, ready to strike. To make it worse, I think that the scent is forever to be associated with women's perfume, some of which are lovely (Nahéma, I've got your back), but it means that to me a "masculine rose" is an oxymoron.

So what am I doing reviewing Déclaration d'Un Soir? Well, I was given a sample (and I love Déclaration) so I thought I'd give it a try. What did I find? A beautiful, classy fragrance that has little to do with the original (I know, they both have Cardamom and Cumin) and could easily give Van Cleef & Arpels Pour Homme a run for its money.

Wow, is this beautifully constructed; as rich as freshly minted gold sovereigns and as pretty as--well, Bob Geldorf in his youth. The wonderful, dirty orange note has been replaced by sandalwood and pepper but this is first and foremost a rose scent. Would I ever buy/wear this? No. Am I longing to wash it off? Sort of. Is it a beautiful scent that rose lovers, male and female should wear? Absolutely. And like the plants in my garden, I will walk past them to smell other, more pleasing scents, but credit them with knowing pure beauty when they see it, even if I do not.
09th August, 2016