Reviews of Miss Balmain by Pierre Balmain

    Find out more about Miss Balmain by Pierre Balmain in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.
    iivanita's avatar
    iivanita
    Croatia Croatia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    this smells like Madame not Miss, amazing fashion change :)

    opens up bitter spicy,and almost raw moss, complex passing through bitter sweet phase into nice leathery smokey scent of old school, with complexity , where it resembles to Bandit.

    Cranation is very prominent with its spiced sweetnes at the begining, giving it that old fashioned style vibe, after several hours it turns completely into leathery smokey scent and stays like this for ever.

    it smells like 50% naturals perfume...so beautiful perfumery of old school and when perfumes were allowed to use the best of nature

    this is for the vintage perfume review

    22 March, 2013

    krickard's avatar
    krickard
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is stunning. I love it. My favorite of all the Balmains. Makes an amazing masculine...so don't be afraid of the pink bow on the bottle.

    23 April, 2012

    Late-Hit's avatar
    Late-Hit
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    One of the great leather chypres, and one of my favorites. One little drop of the parfum goes a long way. Was it only released in 1967? It seems to have more in common with scents from the 1940's, like Rochas Femme. Superb!

    18 September, 2011

    0j76's avatar
    0j76
    England England

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sublime! I wear this as a masculine and I find it the ultimate scent. The best I can imagine. It took some understanding at first, but I knew from the offset there was something special for me here. For something so big, so powerful, I find it great to wear on a sunny day. I have no idea why this is. All I can say is try it, try it, and try it again. The more familiar it becomes, the bigger it gets.

    01st May, 2011

    Weimar27's avatar
    Weimar27
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    If you like contrast or to compare Leather Scents
    Gres Cabochard and Miss Balmain are perfect examples Miss Balmain is Prim
    fruity sweet bright naive lively a Good
    Girl scent Feminine and Represents
    Daytime. Cabochard is dark rebelious
    masculine mysterious woody sexual
    vampish bad girl smokey tabacco
    and represent the Night.

    this is a nice scent but does not grab me like Cabochard. i think there is too much Coconut mixed with Leather is a
    bad idea but whould'nt buy it again.

    09 October, 2010

    pinkfizzy's avatar
    pinkfizzy
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Mmmm I love this! So green and mossy and rich and delicious! I like to wear it while sipping rye on the rocks and pretending to be Lauren Bacall. I think it would go nicely with the smell of pipe tobacco, and could work as a masculine, though the name and old-fashioned would scare most guys off. I would love to smell it on a guy or girl of any age, but I probably never will... sadly. Maybe if was renamed and marketed as gentlemanly... in the 1940s.

    26 June, 2009

    JDBIII's avatar
    JDBIII
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This stuff smells great on me. Where it touches my skin I get an almost immediate drydown and I mean DRY. The smell is leathery and a bit harsh. However the liquid on my hair and clothing retains a rich floral integrity. Together they are yummy. I would imagine this smells a bit dated on women, however. I would change the name to encourage a more unisex interpretation of this gem

    12 June, 2009

    soirdelune's avatar
    soirdelune
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This review is based on my vintage [B]Miss Balmain[/B] extrait, of which I wore a small drop today. This is a just-up-my-street kind of chypre, and so confidently and skilfully complex that it is a real joy trying to pick apart its notes. All hail the great Germaine Cellier!

    Couldn't quite recall why I hardly ever wear this scent ... But then, just a half-hour later, I remembered -- IT HAD GONE! Escaped from my skin in moments like an elegant, but blase, woman, who dazzles briefly with her presence, then turns her back, leaving only a mocking, scented trace.

    Such scented encounters can often be alluring, but this almost enraged me, and left me feeling slightly disdainful! Miss Balmain is all top, with a bit of middle, but has no bottom!

    08 May, 2009

    Caltha's avatar
    Caltha
    Sweden Sweden

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A distant relative of Bandit and Cabochard, more "watery" and cool than any of them, a little flatter and more plasticky/soapy/perfumey. The cumin is rather interesting and subtle enough not too disturb, and there seems to be a warm wood note somewhere underneath the cool greens. As a vintage chypre it's ok but not one of the best.

    12 March, 2007

    Quarry's avatar
    Quarry
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I understand you now, Miss Balmain. It took some experimentation, but I have found the ultimate perfumey pleasure with you. The secret is to keep you off my skin and sweeten you with Jo Malone's Orange Blossom. Then! Ah! Extraordinary delight overwhelms me. I think the coriander is what makes a bitter impression on the skin, but spray Miss Balmain on an envelope, and the recipient will swoon. Put her on a pillowcase, on the shoulders of your blouse, and she will put Cabochard, her nearest smell-alike, to shame. Again, add Orange Blossom, and I can virtually guarantee an orgasmic experience. I may never know a more beautiful fragrance experience--how's that for a testimonial?

    28 August, 2006

    bugs's avatar
    bugs
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I so want to love Miss Balmain - the bottle, the design, the name, the history - all make me think of Lesley Caron in An American in Paris. However, I have to agree that it is rather flat. There is also something strange about it that makes me think that i'm smelling something unidentifiably bad - this effect doesn't hit you in the face, it's too bland for that, but it's definitely there, lurking uneasily at the bottom of the scent.

    01st August, 2006

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.