Perfume Reviews

Neutral Reviews of Artemisia by Penhaligon's

Total Reviews: 8
Vague but strangely meaty floral doused in rubbery vanilla and the monochord that goes by the name of white musk. While the floral profile is diffuse (blame the violet) there is a curiously padded quality to this perfume, the flesh of a cactus or the stuffing of a cushion translated into olfactory experience. The centre coheres like dough and I am reminded of certain iris accords, so tiny punctuating hints of something sharper reminiscent of immortelle helps.
A head-scratcher for me – a perfume that smells nothing like the plant it is named after, soft and musky but also thick as paste, and with an undefined cosmetics-meet-talced-latex sweetness about it. I really don’t know why it isn’t unwearable. Instead it is one of those perfumes that settles quite comfortably into a background hum to the day’s activities.
27th August, 2017
Artemisia is powdery, lightly floral, woody and clean. All qualities feel like they have a warmth to them as well. It teeters between natural and man-made (the word "synthetic" suggests a sharpness and this doesn't have that, it's very soft).

This gives me two distinct impressions:
1. Going for a nature walk on a warm, yet slightly humid Spring day.
2. A woman that has recently stepped out of the shower, applied body powder and is now styling her hair.
It could read either way to me, although I'd say it leans a little more to 2 because of the quality that reads "clean" (musk).

Sillage is soft, at less than arms length (this was applied from a dauber and not a spray) and longevity is about 4-6 hours on dry skin in a dry climate. Good for Spring or Fall daytime wear.

Very pretty fragrance with a soft spoken beauty. Will certainly be appreciated by admirers of subtlety.
05th December, 2016
Head Notes: Nectarine and Green Foliage
Heart Notes: Green Apple, Lily of the Valley, Jasmine Tea, Violet and Vanilla
Base Notes: Oakmoss, Sandalwood, Musk, Amber and Vanilla

Very, very sweet. Smells like a makeup case. Powdery. Very feminine in style.
Seems a bit old-fashioned or old-school, like something someone's auntie might wear.
Pleasant for its style.
03rd October, 2012
Advertisement — Reviews continue below

I can smell the predominace of apple
and the faint smell of Vanilla those
two scents dominate the other notes
some people have an talent to seperate
the other notes easely i have i bit of an hard time with it I Can smell Eather
2 notes or 3 notes out of 12.
this is one of the Plain Jane scent
from my collection a bit dull.
09th October, 2010
For the short amount of time that this supposed 'Eau de Parfum' lasts it is rather lovely. An envelope of fresh fruity sweetness and warm vanilla, its easy to see why it would be popular. For all those ladies who love the typical 'fruity-floral' high street fragrance Artemisia should definitely be given a try. It can sometimes be a bit tinny and artificial however, and this can prove more likely by the fact that it will demand repeated applications because it is so fleeting or compulsive in equal measure.

This downplay does however make it an ideal fragrance for those who want to avoid something strong, as it probably the lightest of the houses' scents.Delicate, feminine and soft, it would be worth trying to see how it lasts.
19th November, 2009
A slight, moderately entertaining fragrance that fades quickly from the memory. There is little to criticize other than its brevity, but it lacks the sure-footed conviction required to make its mark. With its subtlety, it might be well suited to warmer climes, but why wear it at all. A decidely average fragrance that dribbles away all too rapidly
04th July, 2009
Artemisia is an extremely dull floral with some annoyingly sharp and "fresh" notes on a cheap sweet vanilla base. Yawn. Smells like a tenth of the price and even then I wouldn't buy it. Wouldn't call this related to Endymion in any way, since Endymoin is actually a decent fragrance.
08th June, 2008
Quarry Show all reviews
United States
According to Penhaligon: "Oriental notes chime with jasmine, vanilla, violet, and nectarines, while beneath, precious sandalwood, musk, and amber add mystery and intrigue."

Now, Penny, don't you think that's exaggerating this frag's range a little? If such a melange of notes is present, its members speak in a singular voice, and I think its fair to title that entity Artemisia because wormwood is the closest effect it radiates, at least by my olfactory experience. However, I've read that real wormwood is supposed to be bitter, and this is slightly sweet. At any rate, the impression is owed to something from roots or bark.

Part of the top notes' instant appeal to me is that they're not too high pitched, emanating from the same "musical key signature" as something like sassafrass root (although not quite as sweet). As pleasant as those top notes are for me, after a couple hours I find myself tapping my foot and asking, much like Peggy Lee, "Is that all there is?" Oh, Artie, Is this relationship going anywhere? The more I explore for some gratification from the base notes, the less reward I find. What's this now--potato peelings? Aw shucks, the honeymoon's over.
13th October, 2006