Reviews of Euphoria by Calvin Klein

    Find out more about Euphoria by Calvin Klein in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 30 of 82.
    gmstrack's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Euphoria by Calvin Klein is a designer fruity-floral, and unfortunately, I initially dismissed the fragrance and didn’t take the time to properly try it on. However, Euphoria has recently become my friend’s signature scent and it smells wonderful on her. In spite of the available note list, Euphoria has a large dose of patchouli and the fruity-floral part is not overly obnoxious and girly; it’s a sexy “fresh” fragrance suitable for all ages. It’s not mind-blowing or interesting, but it certainly smells good.

    Yes, Euphoria smells like Chance (2.5/5), but it’s better. 3.5/5

    24 December, 2013

    zombonie's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I'm not too sure what I think of this scent. I was given it as a gift and I think it is pleasant when used sparingly. When oversprayed it becomes sickly and cloying.

    23 December, 2013

    yrogergmc's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Buy Prada Amber instead, it's well worth the price difference.

    This fragrance wants to be Prada Amber so badly! It's Lady Gaga ripping off Madonna: whatever you think of the original, love or hate, the attempt to mimic something so unique falls flat and inevitably disappoints. The *one* virtue I can find in this perfume is that the (very very very) synthetic ingredients are at least reasonably well-balanced. No matter how much others like this, I would be embarrassed to wear it. It's empty-feeling, it doesn't last, there is no occasion I can think of where this would be the right thing to wear. Maybe if you were alone and no one else had to smell it. And that from someone who likes this "type" of perfume usually. After smelling Prada Amber, I realized what Euphoria was going for. But the Prada is SUCH better quality stuff.If you think you like Euphoria, try P.A. just to smell the difference. Of course, weak, watery, and synthetic might be your thing; but the nail in the coffin is how headachy this makes people. Definitely not office-friendly unless you have a very light touch, in which case it will be hard to smell it. Not that I'd want to.

    Pros: It isn't as hideous as it might be.
    Cons: Weak, synthetic, cloying, can induce headaches (rare for me)."

    28 August, 2013

    Zgb's avatar

    Croatia Croatia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Way popular, sweet, can be cloying when over-sprayed and women/girls tend to do that quite more than often. Now if it could be sprayed just a tad bit, I'd find it sexy. Floral in essence, sillage is great, can be felt meters and meters around, easily noticeable just like Dior Hypnotic Poison.

    13 May, 2013

    vsanthony's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ordinary stuff. Very department store.

    Hmm...About a week later. Yes, perhaps something common about it, but something alluring as well. More complex than I first gave it credit for. Neither my husband nor I liked it initially - And both of us have changed our minds. I don't have to own it, but I like wearing it.

    03 March, 2013 (Last Edited: 20th March, 2013)

    hkbn's avatar

    Netherlands Netherlands

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    My wife once got a tester of Euphoria by CK and I found it really sexy on her. Normally I don't care so much about perfumes, but with this one I took note of the name and bought her a bottle for her birthday.

    Unlike some other perfumes, this one does not generate an overpowering scent cloud that takes over the whole room (To the female readers: one puff of a good perfume is really enough for people around you to notice. Don't overdo it). Whenever she wears it, I can't stop myself from kissing her in the neck!

    06 October, 2012

    Cricketkitty's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The first time I tried this I wasn't too thrilled. The next time, a sales associate gave me a sample and I must say I really like this fragrance. I get a combination of berries and then the cream accord, which does not go sweet on me or get too foody. This is one fragrance that is hard to put in a category.

    04 September, 2012

    synthetic's avatar

    Australia Australia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    An incredibly sexy scent.
    Used to date a girl who bathed in this stuff, but all school-yard memories aside this is a potent and mysterious scent that deserves the praise it gets.
    Opens up with a citrus blast and then goes to work with the floral and vanilla that amp up taking this into the stratosphere with it's projection. The drydown is a smooth almost masculine presentation of woods and silky cream with a touch of amber.
    This stuff will LAST.
    This is one of the few scents that can make me weak at the knees.
    Depending on the weather this can get VERY cloying and the fact that it projects like a banshee can sometimes induce a headache in hot weather.

    Let it be known, this is a very common fragrance but the fact it smells so good easily redeems that minor gripe.
    If only Ck put this much effort into their Male scents.

    05 August, 2012

    Smellitivity's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    In the too populated category of sweet florals, Euphoria smells different and more complex, thanks - I think - to a creamy note right after the beginning, and a metallic one at a more advanced stage.

    The dry down is sweeter in a more conventional way, but all in all Euphoria has more personality than the rest in the same category.

    16 July, 2012

    sofababe's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    OMG!!!! I thought I didn't like this but I LOVE IT!! I smelled it on someone else and I thought it was revolting. I keep reading on Fragrantica how you all love it and find it sexy so I decided to give it another chance. I went to the shop today to get a card strip sample, got talking to the lady who said its her favourite so I asked if she would spray my wrist to check it was good on my skin. Its GREAT on my skin! I've been walking around in a delicious cloud all day. Euphoria, I'm sorry I was mean to you, but I will make it up to you by purchasing a large bottle as soon as I have the money.xxx

    19 March, 2012

    dpeerwani's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Love it! I bought this as a gift for my wife and I wanna hold her really close and not let go whenever she wears it!

    Incredibly sexy and sensual!

    26 February, 2012

    bebexo's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I sprayed CK Euphoria, and after hearing so many raves about it being so good and stuff like that, I was terribly underwhelmed. There IS definitely, that smoky vanilla spiciness on it, but after 10 minutes it dries down into burning plastic with a dust of vanilla. Disgusting on MY skin, it is, maybe your favorite.

    10th October, 2011

    LadyDragonFire's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a fragrance with a somewhat woody base that actually works well on my skin, thank goodness! The mahogany note in this perfume doesn't dominate everything else, and nothing comes across as harsh or out of place. Everything seems very nicely balanced and well blended actually, and the overall scent comes across as very pleasant.
    It reminds me a lot of some expensive black orchid scented candles that I own, so I suspect that the black orchid note comes out a lot on me. It also smells a lot like roses to me, even though rose is not a note that is listed here. At least one other website I found online had rose hips listed as a note in this fragrance, and I suspect they are right because I really think I can detect the rose scent. When I first spray this perfume on myself it predominantly smells like flowers (the black orchid and honestly, I think, the rose hips.) As it dries down I can also smell something that seems a little more sweet and "sugary" which may be the fruit notes but could also possibly be the cream accord in the base mixing with everything else. The scent doesn't really change a lot on me though, and it doesn't evolve into anything weird or unexpected which I find sometimes happens with perfumes that have very "juxtaposed" notes (wood, flowers and fruit especially.) This one was done very well, and smells really nice on me. I'm actually thinking I should buy a bottle of this and maybe make it my new signature scent. :) I definitely recommend this to everyone who is a fan of black orchid fragrances and anyone who likes somewhat woody-oriental-florals in general. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

    24 September, 2011

    blood-orange's avatar

    Australia Australia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Euphoria for women is fantastic! It's incredibly sexy and long lasting. It was exactly what I was looking for; a winter scent that is not too young nor too old.

    This fragrance has a somewhat sweet yet strong and spicy feel to it. If smelt up-close it can be extremely overwhelming although from a distance the scent is soft, sweet and warm.

    I'm not really a fan of the fruity top notes, however I really love the heart of Euphoria. I agree with other reviewers that felt that this fragrance was slightly masculine. I think this is because of the woodsy notes in the drydown.

    I would sum-up this scent as being quite edgy, mysterious and modern. It's definitely something you should try before you buy, because this may not appeal to everyone.

    26 April, 2011

    teardrop's avatar

    England England

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Berries again, yawn... For me the only thing that distinguishes this from all the other generic fruity-florals out there (l'm looking at you, Lady Million) is a rather lush creamy note which l quite like, but isn't enough to save it. lt has very low sillage on me, & isn't terribly long-lasting either, thank goodness.

    13 February, 2011

    Giulia's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Whenever I wear this, both men and women who come near me put their nose in the air, sniff, say it smells so nice, then ask who is wearing that perfume, then come near to me, ask me whether I am wearing that perfume, say they love it and want to know it's name.
    These experiences made me buy a few more bottles of Euphoria (Calvin Klein) and the shower gel and body lotion and body powder as well!

    I once went to a big dance party in a beach bar and told some girls, while we were surrounded by beers and sand, that I swore I smelled Euphoria there. They then said that indeed they had dropped a bottle of perfume there and it turned out to be Euphoria.
    Unmistaken.
    Why is patchouli not mentioned in the ingredients? To me, it seems that what lingers on in Euphoria is the patchouli, a sweet version of it, which links the wearer to the wildness and adventurousness of the hippies, like a promise of intriguing and wild adventures.

    04 December, 2010

    icekat's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I think Euphoria is one of those perfumes that you either love or hate. I find it definitely unique. I am very attractive to this scent. I love the unique spicy sweet base notes. It is a strong perfume and it lasts for a while. The scent starts as crisp and floral but then transends into warm and sweet. I would classify it as evening scent perfect for summer nights. I think it is a bit strong for day time.

    This scent has very strong personality. I would not buy it as a gift for someone else.

    14 August, 2010

    pixelriot's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Really like this perfume, must be my favourite CK fragrance. Very sexy, can be worn any time of day. Lasts a decent amount of time. A hit!

    12 March, 2010

    Lingling's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Rich and sweet. A real man-magnet.

    This is a very feminine, warm, full scent. No minimalism here. Top notes I get spicy persimmon which subtly fades into its heart of an exotic, powdery floral with touches of vanilla. The drydown is pleasant. The base notes are very creamy and very acrid-sweet. The silage on this can be powerful if not careful. The scent is strong, and can last you all day in summer. In winter you may need a "top-up".

    Overall: This is a good, wholesome scent. I can see how it could be too powerful for some, but I enjoy it's strength and longevity. I could smell it on my wrists the next day. This would be a great first date perfume.

    08 February, 2010

    teaweed's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love, love, love the cream accord here and I like amber in general, so the first three minutes of euphoria is lovely. Alas, once the top notes have evaporated, there's an icky chemical tang and a thinness. I have sampled this fragrance repeatedly, wanting the sweet creaminess of the begining, but frustrated every time by the stingy heart. When I read about companies going cheap on ingredients, Euphoria always comes to mind as an example of something that smells cheap.

    13 December, 2009

    Elzéard's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sweet, slightly cloying, slightly synthetic, but stays on the good side of tolerable. It dries down to something similar to a mildly spiced-strawberry yougurt, with something creamy and buttery, and burned sugar. It's smooth, and quite tasty. It reminds me a bit of Armani Diamonds EDP for some reason. It's worth trying, but definitely not bottle worthy (for me anyway). Would do as a gift for a friend... however not for your best friend, hehe.

    29 October, 2009

    fox3008's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Pros: Mysterious, Exotic
    Cons: Too Strong sometimes

    Great for night - I felt sexier and more attractive whenever I have this on. The smell is definitely sensual with a playful touch to it. In terms of personality fit, I could imagine someone like Vanessa Hudgen or wearing it. Not exotic enough for people like Mila Kunis/Eva Mendes and too edgy for sweet, innocent-looking people like Jessica Alba. Not intended to be classy/conservative either.

    A bit overwhelming is the only con I can think of - I always feel like suffocating myself a bit whenever I first put it on. I'm not a big fan of perfume that reaches people even across the street from me, let alone those across the table, so I'm very conservative in putting it on. However, isn't it great when people turn their head and compliment your fragrance? I'm still working finding the right balance :)

    23 September, 2009

    pinkfizzy's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    To replicate this fragrance at home: Take a bag of strawberry cotton candy, pour some hairspray into it, add a dash nutmeg, and a lit match. Enjoy the plasticky fumes. This is my experience of Euphoria. And it will... not... wash... off! Arrrrrgh.

    I can also relate to Mellivora_capensis's description: "a latex condom filled with cough syrup held by two people, one whom is wearing Beautiful and the other is wearing Obsession". Sounds like a fun party!

    20th September, 2009

    hammersj's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I smelled this on one of my female friends and couldn't stop telling her how much I enjoyed it. She even handed me her scarf so I could bury my nose in it. She's a dark-haired Latina in her early 20s who dresses classy and seems exotic and mysterious to me. That may be why I associate this fragrance with someone who is elegant, mature, classy, dark and mysterious, exotic. I'm not sure how I would feel if I smelled it on a teenager or even a girl on her 20s who hasn't really grown out of the girly phase. It's not suitable for a rambunctious bleached blonde party girl, instead for a more serene woman (or young woman).

    28 June, 2009

    YouCanCallMeMo's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I tried this at the behest of the shop girl at my local Sephora. "Oh, you like woody Orientals? This is my favorite, and it's listed as one! Everyone says I smell so good when I wear it!"

    OK, I don't know HOW Sephora decided to classify this swill as Woody or Oriental! It smells like sugar and bug spray! It's like they bottled sweat from the Welcome Run at fat camp.

    NOT. A. FAN. I suppose it would appeal to many, it definitely has a similarity to Angel...and it does last.....and last....and last.... If only it weren't such a scrubber for me!

    27 May, 2009

    alotofscents's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I don't get caramel. I despise most foodie fragrances. I do get the creaminess (whipped cream accord) and the darkness of mahogany. I also get some clear fruit, a mix of gorgeous and unusual mix of flowers, some dark sexiness, and a strange ethereal feminine form.
    Everyone wants to know what I'm wearing and they mean it complementary. It smells like nothing else. It is surprising and unconventional.
    I think the bottle fits it. Sleek and soft, sexy curves with shiny metal instead of glass to emphasize it's weird, otherworldly wonderfulness.

    09 March, 2009

    julybee50's avatar

    England England

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Toffee. Then more toffee. More toffee. Then - nothing

    29 December, 2008

    misseuropa's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    For some reason, this is mostly wood , vetiver, and amber on me plus the orchid and something 'powdery,' which I find cloying (the violet?). Can't smell the fruit at all. This has elements of Youth Dew and Angel, both of which I like. However, this gives me a headache, even in small doses.

    29 November, 2008

    Truffles's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This perfume seems to have 2 opposing elements to it. The first is lovely - I don't know how to describe it and I'm not going to bother trying to put a name to the various elements, sugar, caramel etc - but can be smelled throughout wearing it. The second is a very cheapy, perhaps '80s' element and I think it's a shame that it's there - it's strongest in the first, topnotes stage - the rather acrid fruity one. Just had a look at what else the perfumer has done and I see that Secret Obsession and lots of Lynx fragrances are there - hmmm.. I've just bought it and after a while of sniffing and resniffing to analyse it and see what I think (yes, I know, I am rather reckless when it comes to buying perfumes and sometimes buy them after the merest aquaintance!) I have discovered that it has actually created a 'burnt' sensation inside my nose. This burning effect has never happened with any other perfume and as a smell obsessive I've sniffed a lot throughout my life! I wonder what it is that is doing that?
    Anyway I find I CAN wear it, don't find it sickening as I do with a lot of perfumes especially modern ones - the Cacharels, J'adore etc - and that is at least a mark in its favour. It also smells lovely when I smell it on other people. I would give this somewhere between neutral and thumbs up (for the mystery 'lovely' element). Can't have both so it's a neutral from me!

    29 October, 2008

    DadaSiegt's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Incredibly synthetic, but I love it for some reason.

    04 October, 2008

    Showing 1 to 30 of 82.