Reviews of Duende by J del Pozo

    Find out more about Duende by J del Pozo in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.
    DebbiePope54's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I bought a HUGE inexpensive tester on eBay just to use the bottle as decoration in my bathroom! But it's eau de toilette & I can't easily wear any scent weaker than eau de parfume. I tried it, get no woodsy, fruit or any of the other notes that other reviews have described. But on me, it smells clean, crisp & not at all unpleasant. But I'm looking forward to trying a stronger formulation of this scent. Sure won't find many women in the USA wearing this, and I like wearing a scent that's uncommon. And the big bottle looks GREAT in my bathroom's decor! LOVE the twisted harpoon looking cap!

    08th October, 2012 (Last Edited: 22nd November, 2012)

    Cricketkitty's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Nice mid 90s fragrance, mild, airy, a slight green edge with just the slightest fruits. Not at all heavy, would be able to wear this on any occasion, day more than night. Good work fragrance if worn carefully, and not one you smell on everybody who passes. The bottle is quite interesting, the cap could probably be used as a weapon if needed.

    03rd September, 2012

    Weimar27's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a Lush Greener Version of Chanel No 5 i love the Mint green Coloring of the bottle. reminds me of a
    18th Century Rococo Painting by
    Jean Honore Fragonard paintings with it's plump bodies rosy cheeks Aristrocratic Love play Lavish Pastel
    Petticoats rouge to the clevage. wigs
    Powdered Wigs Vividi's Spring Allegro
    theme Playing Marie Antoinette Walking
    in her garden with her ladies in wainting. with her Children before the
    French Revolution.

    This is a Refreshing Fragrance this whould be perfect for 18th Century Aristrocratic Ladies

    12th December, 2010

    JeanieE's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Big, but could be bigger, on linden blossom, ylang, and cedar. I like those: wish they were more prominent, actually. But, yes, what is causing that sharpness? The caraway? I'd take that out, along with the melon and mimosa. Overall this is a pretty, light scent that has very low sillage for me.

    17th June, 2010

    colormechris's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Found a bottle of this who knows where. "Duende". Never heard of it. Made in Spain. Tried it out. Based on the topnotes, quite nice. Like the way some women's hair smells after they've washed it. The top notes dry down to a decidedly masculine woody, musky base that retains a hint of the florals. Very clean and "classy" European/Spanish vibe. Could live without the over the top bottle cap. Looked up the word "duende". Interesting...it's more of a concept. Literally, it means "demon"...but it's used to describe a kind of performance that comes more from the soul than the intellect. Like tapping into the spiritual when singing or during any act of creating. I suspect it's linked to flamenco dancing, when the dancers cease becoming dancers and are transformed into a kind of life-force. I don't think the juice quite lives up to that kind of intensity; but it is an excellent fragrance, especially for warmer weather.

    22nd April, 2010

    sameasalways's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a smell anyone could wear to work, and it is clean, fresh, crisp at the beginning. Somewhat aquatic but not with the sickeningly sweet and fake smell some of the other famous aquatics have which often times results in a headache for me. The beauty of this fragrance is it is so gentle, like a whisper through the day. It takes only one spray on your stomach for example, and you will thing, "huh..nice smell" and of course expect that by mid-day nothing will be left. But you will be wrong! All of a sudden you will notice a deeper and richer smell that whispers through to you and around you. A sexier smell..but still refined and clean. This is the beauty of Duende. A sneaky little bottle with a good price and something so few average people walkiing around have ever heard of. It's a gift to have found this.

    19th February, 2010

    xXjEnNyXx's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Another winner from Jesus Del Pozo. This is a refreshing, aquatic fragrance. This is a feminine scent that possesses a blend of notes that include mandarin, melons, bergamot, jasmine, and mimosa. I think it also has notes of ylang ylang. It is a beautiful floral scent that is accompanied by sandalwood and cedar. It is light, crisp, and clean smelling. It is very simple and is not overpowering. This is a scent that you wear when you want to smell good, but don't want people to notice your perfume before they notice you. This is definately a scent that can be worn to work, I wear it in the office all the time.

    20th November, 2008

    F_Frez's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    After tested Halloween, I checked another J. del Pozo fragrance I had as a sample: a never opened 2 ml bottle of Duende.

    As Halloween, the first time I smelled it the top notes appears mixed with the alcohol for a couple of minutes (longer than other fragrances, maybe the alcohol they uses is stronger than other fragrance houses), then lemon-like notes appears, in an old fashioned cologne style. Flower hints appears as middle notes, but the lemon note stays here for a while. Didn't felt additional base notes.

    As a cologne, seems a warmer season is more appropriate due to their lemon notes. As it's not complex, it's suitable for daytime uses and as a non intrusive office cologne. The range of age is not restrictive... a girl or a grandma could use it and it should fit well on them.

    29th October, 2006

    foetidus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Citrus, green, floral, spicy—Duende’s opening is subtle, understated, and quite feminine. After the opening, something a little darker rises out of the base and provides a contrast or counterpoint to the subtle feminine top. Maybe that dark little counterpoint is the rum note that is said to be in the fragrance. That contrast certainly makes the scent more interesting. It dries down to a nice wood accord. This scent is not really complex, and I find it attractively direct. The first ten minutes after application present a very feminine accord, but after that, I believe it settles down into a genuine unisex ambiance. It doesn’t appear to be anything special in the longevity department. Jesus del Pozo makes a lot of interesting fragrances.

    28th October, 2006

    castorpollux's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I like it! It's simple, it's fresh, sorta unisex and has a very nice sillage. The flowers are are not overpowering and i think a man could wear this as well, but the scent is not masculine at all either, so it's more of a personal choice of course.It has a dreamy quality that i like but it's still cool.

    24th July, 2006

    scenteur7's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A light aldehydic scent layered with soft white flowers against light musks. Reminds me of Lauder's White Linen. A bit sharp for my tastes, so I recommend Esencia (a variation of Duende).

    16th January, 2006

    Showing 1 to 11 of 11.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000