Reviews of Angel by Thierry Mugler

    Find out more about Angel by Thierry Mugler in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 31 to 60 of 216.
    Kaern's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    There are certain accords in fragrances, similar to a specific chord change in music, which knock you off your feet. I won't bore everyone by listing some though. There is a moment in Angel which sent shivers down my spine. This is when, about 5 minutes in, the blackcurrant/peach note emerges from the fog of chocolate and patchouli -- it is truly exquisite. For one instance, I was thinking I could pull this off, but the rather long and powerful drydown is too feminine for me. This was the EDP and it is very potent. That burgeoning accord, while it lasted, deserves a thumbs up on its own.

    08 November, 2011

    Blue Zinnia's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I AM ABSOLUTELY CRAZY ABOUT THIS STUFF. Since I'm out of Shalimar right now, it's my favorite scent I own.

    Yes, Angel tends to be a love-it-or-hate-it topic; that's because the fragrance is so very original. Olivier Cresp (TM's perfumer, who built Angel) clearly has a yard of guts, and so do the folks chez Thierry Mugler; I'm told Angel just didn't sell for the first two years, but they kept making it and let it find its audience.

    And, boy, does this fragrance "work" on me! I love fragrances with strong and unexpected contrasts between the top and bottom notes, and some light and space in the middle; Mark's White Vetiver does this rather badly and Fergie's Outspoken Intense does it pretty well, but Angel is the mack momma of this style. All that bright soft sweetness up top and then that BIG patchouli note underneath. . .I'm just gone on the stuff. I'll wear the men's version when I can get a dab of it, too, though I haven't worn it enough to talk about it intelligently.

    20th October, 2011 (Last Edited: 14 November, 2011)

    Charlottesmom's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    YUM!!! Luckily Angel now works with me, it didn't always, I used to HATE Angel with a red hot passion! I think the reason I hated Angel previously was not only because of the mega dose of patchouli that assaulted my nose upon first spray but also because I was putting one spray on each wrist and that was just too much!! I attempted Angel again while studying up on Innocent (which I like a lot), I kept going back to reviews of Angel and was intrigued by how blank and white the reviews seemed, people either loved or hated Angel with very little so-so in between. I dug out my sample and squirted it on a q-tip then lightly dabbed it on my wrists, I did still get the strong patchouli but it was much milder and the dry down was to die for, on me it's a blend of deep dark chocolate, a touch of vanilla and patchouli. I've now graduated to one spray on my wrist then lightly rubbed on the other wrist and lo and behold I actually LOVE the patchouli now!! My husband loves it too! I think Angel really comes down to personal chemistry, it smells wonderful on some and horrible on some, I also think it is frequently over applied and that's why it has such a bad reputation, if the over sprayers would lighten up you'd probably get more compliments and less scowls.

    23 August, 2011

    Red Theodora's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Well, I have waited a good long time before sampling Angel. The fact that it has all that patchouli in it has always scared me off. I have never liked a lot of patchouli in a fragrance. All that said, I finally took the plunge and tried my first Thierry Mugler scent!
    The first whiff was all sweet, sweet fruit and linament! "Oh, boy" I thought,"here we go." Now, I know better than to judge a perfume by its' top notes alone. So I waited patiently for the dry down and what do you know? Such a pleasent surprise!
    Every note seems to meld together in the dry down into a lovely, edible (and not to terribly sweet) accord!
    No wonder this scent has always been touted as a ground-breaker! Well done, Thierry Mugler!

    19 August, 2011

    Koi-Sashuu's avatar

    Netherlands Netherlands

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is my mother's new signature scent. I've given it her for her birthday together with my sister (it's really expensive!).
    I liked it very much on her but when I tried it on a little, it didn't smell good. Very nauseating on my side.

    Then, after a few days my sister and I went a little grumpy saying: "Have you sprayed your scent on?" when she just sprayed it on.
    It's very heavy on the beginning and after a few days, a little annoying in the beginning.
    But after a few minutes it gets back to great.

    The biggest downturns on this fragrance are that it's so damn expensive and that the star-shaped bottle can't be put standing upright.

    15 August, 2011

    miss mills's avatar

    New Zealand New Zealand

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I definitely need to try this one on again as so far my experience of this is more akin to Angel of Death than something heavenly. I remember sniffing it in Liberty's in London one winter in the 90s - and absolutely loving it. Then everyone started wearing it. In high quantities, in crowded tubes in summer and smoke filled clubs with poor ventilation at nightime and I hated it.

    A friend wears this as her signature scent so it is tolerable (prob cos she's an angel herself) but I still can't help but feel choked whenever I try it on again in a shop and try to recapture that first sniff.

    Smells like death by candy floss in an overheated elevator to me and I would never inflict this on other people in the dog days of summer - unless I didn't like them. Chokingly sweet, overbearing, totally unsexy and impossible to wear lightly IMO. Yuck!

    22 July, 2011 (Last Edited: 23 March, 2013)

    katk925's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Okay I can see why people like it but...

    It totally smells to me like "apples dipped in honey for Rosh Hashana" from when I used to goto Temple as a kid...

    Not for me...

    12 June, 2011

    Sly88's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I like this its very masculine and feminine equally so it should be Unisex because Im a man and I wear it all the time and its more masculine than some of my other colognes lolz but its great it smells like a chocolate candy shop with a hint of berrries and plums and some patchouli and little bit of honey. If anyone like gourmand scents this for U but becareful this thing projects like a titanic so watch how much u spray on U or U will suffocate but im very happy to own this fragrance!

    23 May, 2011 (Last Edited: 30th May, 2011)

    shamu1's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I have a hard time understanding why Angel is a love-it or hate-it scent, because I can't imagine anyone not loving it.

    This is a fragrance for women who aren't afraid to flaunt their femininity, and don't care whether you like it or not. Angel is raging feminine sexuality, grabbing you by your hair and pulling you in. I get weak at the knees any time the smell of Angel is nearby.

    If you're going to wear Angel, at least do it right. In other words, don't wear this discreetly. Angel is strong and it's loud, and it should be worn that way. Spray it in your hair for maximum sillage and allure.

    This isn't a perfume. It's a potion.

    MY RATING: 10/10

    08 May, 2011

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Angel was one of the most groundbreaking and influential releases in the early 90's mass market perfumery. A magistrally creafted and very rich fruity gourmandic frangrance that became huge all over the world. Chocolate, coconut and candies with melon and mandarin on top and floral hints throughout. An unique combination of notes to create a deep, sweet and very distinctive scent awarded in the FIFI hall of fame in 1997.

    Fortunately / unfortunately (depending on the point of view), Angel had an incredible commercial feedback so that in a certain period almost everybody used to wear it. In the mid 90's any bar, club, restaurant, disco or public space was filled by the loud smell of Angel as any girl /woman used it in huge amounts, so it fastly turned to be irritant and nauseating.

    Now, after almost two decades, time has done its part and it seems that many persons forgot about this fragrance so that Angel can be wore again, but please ladies...be careful with dosage.

    A landmark in perfumery and a mandatory try.

    18 April, 2011

    fayeee's avatar

    England England

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Oh dear, what can I say about Angel. I was apprehensive about getting this, especially as it was a blind buy but at the price I got it for I couldn't complain. I loved the sound of the sweet, chocolate notes, plus I thought it's reputation would speak for itself.

    I'm not adverse to saccharine sweet fragrances, but I didn't find Angel toothache inducing - more HEADACHE inducing. My temples start pounding before the drydown. I know that Angel is regarded as the queen of gourmands but it doesn't make my mouth water at all - what berries, chocolate, caramel, vanilla??? Maybe a bit of chocolate, but after a while all I get is unrelenting stubborn PATCHOULI! I was expecting something a bit more "tasty", and I was disappointed.

    I can actually imagine this as a car air freshener, and that's not something a woman should smell of.

    Angel is a very unique fragrance, I can't deny it, but it's far too strong and sharp for me and my sensitive migraneous head.

    08 April, 2011

    paulared's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This was an impulsive buy. I don't really like it on myself as I think it is too loud and I have to say I like loud perfumes. Cristobal by Cristobal Balenciaga has a very similar heart and base, but possibly more elegant and with a wonderful sillage.

    03 April, 2011

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Just a bit gourmand, we could say. This one is, in its aroused feel high in the air, the olfactory equivalent of a sugared almond flavoured by anise and chocolate, with a mentholated aromatic backtaste. It's indeed sweet, floral, metallurgical and aromatic in an icy-mentholated way. Angel is not properly mysterious but classic/chic, icy/romantic, fairy, starry and paradoxically vintage/glamour. It's in tone with a frosty metropolitan night out, commuting from a club to an other one. The citrus, the aromatic icy water, the flowers and some herbs are prominent at the beginning but express their own power throughout the development. Angel in short enters just one foot inside the gourmand territories and the chocolate-caramel accord is toned down in comparison with the denser A*Man. What is undeniable is that this one is weirdly "glamour/retro" with its cool-warm, smooth-metallic splinters of stary patchouli-vanilla. Angel is a plutonic blend of creams and alluminium, a brash mix of choccolate, harsh citrus, fruits, flowers, vanilla, caramel, honey and earthy patchouli watered and aromatized in a synthetic and mentholated-balsamic way by the link between lavender-helonial-coumarin. The blend is surrounded by many further complementary elements. Angel is a mix of contrasts and over this state of things it roots its strength. The beginning is industrially citrus in an off-putting way. It's like a clanking rattle of  iron scrap. In a second phase the elements start to intersects in the right way disclosing a milky-smooth-aromatic juice with an iceberg floating inside. Angel is proudly synthetical with a bombastic projection and a not less emphatic longevity. A winner on the market and among the young ladies as Hypnotic Poison but far better for sure.

    01st April, 2011 (Last Edited: 27 March, 2014)

    asilverfire614's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is the one perfume I keep coming back to...in the past I have always found a new scent to wear, about once a year or so. Angel is the only one I've ever purchased twice. It's my go-to signature scent, the one that comforts me and makes me feel sexy and confident.

    That being said, I won't get into HOW it smells, as there are so many reviews about that. I will, however, point out a few things I've noticed that make this scent even more unique.

    Angel smells completely different on paper/clothing than on skin...if you don't like it on your skin due to the smoky camphor note you get the first few minutes, try it on your clothing instead.

    Also, I know some will say not to rub your wrists after applying, but I always do with this particular scent...reason being, I find the smoky burnt candy notes go away rather quickly after this and the heart notes kick in faster. I'll admit that the heart & base notes are definitely the highlight of this fragrance, at least for me.

    Lastly, this is the only scent I've ever worn that changes so much as my body temperature rises. The honey/melon/peach notes are at their peak when I am very warm...and men seem to really love this fragrance!


    Dec
    15
    2008

    27 March, 2011

    kastehelmi's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    I like the smell on other people, sometimes, but PATCHOULI ALERT!
    If I apply it I will scrub my skin red to get it off--it's extreme.
    Somehow it smells like it is better-made than Angel Innocent, even if I can't wear Angel. I absolutely can't wear it, it took a few tries to realize I really, really don't like it.

    I share the opinion that the abusers of this fragrance give perfume-wearers a bad reputation. It's downright unjust!
    But those with the lightest hand simply like to have their cake and smell like it too...
    It's my mother's favorite perfume, so thank goodness I don't hate it. I don't smell it frequently either, women around here prefer Coco Mlle., Light Blue, J'adore, Juicy stuff and the likes....

    22 March, 2011

    Silmaril's avatar

    Serbia Serbia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I was scared even to try this one. But month ago I've find out that my beloved Angel le lys is discontinued (whole Garden of star collection:( ), so I've decided to give a chance to her older sister (mother?). I've expected a sweet bomb - chocolate, vanilla, candies, sugar, honey, fruits... And I got patchouli. Nice one, polite, a bit sweeter than in Eden for example but not sweet. Not loud, not cloying, just well behaved patchouli with some strange spices. And I love it:) I still prefer Angel le lys but Angel itself is pleasant surprise. And nothing to be scared of (on me).

    21st March, 2011

    TwoWordReviews's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Man. Candy.

    I'm reviewing this from reverse: I haven't worn it, but I've smelled it on many. And oh my goodness do I ever love it. My girlfriend (a Basenoter who shall remain nameless) says I'm a poser for even admitting I like this, but I can't deny my true self. The truth will out. I love this stuff.

    Quite literally, four of the last five times I've asked a woman "OMG, what is that you're wearing?" she's said Angel. While that certainly suggests something about my taste, it also suggests something about my total inability to recall utterly commen scents but we won't belabor that point further here. Moving right along. I love this stuff. I dream of its candylike beckoning. I want more.

    27 February, 2011 (Last Edited: 14 April, 2011)

    MatthewPK's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate, yada, yada, yada. I'm not eating a candy bar here. My first encounter with this was after significant dry-down. A delicious, complex variation on patchouli, which I am just a sucker for. Just got some for my wife - we'll see how that works out. So far, just tried some on myself. Early on, I pick up a somewhat annoying sour note. This disappears and improves over a little bit of time. Not quite at the patchouli point yet, but very pleasing. Quite impressive.

    14 February, 2011

    jtd's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Pervasive instability of mood, impulsive aggressiveness, a frantic drive not to be alone, serial crises. Yes, Angel, it’s borderline personality disorder.

    31st January, 2011

    lady love's avatar

    Argentina Argentina

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Everyone can dislike or like this fragrance, but one thing is certain: Angel Is UNIQUE and different.

    I fall in love with A*men (the male version) some years ago, and i never try angel until yesterday.

    What can I say? Maybe many diferents notes for one scent?

    The male version has many differents notes too, but in A*man the notes of Mint, Coffee, Patchouli, milk and caramel have some direction. Making A*man more Warm and Gourmand.

    I think Angel fails in this aspect because is a extremely strong spicy Fragrance, there isn't a note that temper the others, so the first 15 minutes is unbearable, Who the hell can wears this?? I never could and I like spices, but this is too much!

    Vanilla? this smells anything but Vanilla, i think this is more like an oriental Spicy.

    There is something good about angel and I think it is the drydown, this part smells very similar to the male version, maybe now I can smell some vanilla, but this happens after four hours of been wearing this scent! It's just a pity!

    I can see Coco chanel saying: Woman's need to smells like Woman, not like a strong Spicy Dark Chocolate.

    28 January, 2011

    Berg's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Recently, a flight attendant walk passing through me. Long before we're crossing each other, she was reeking this stuff and I can sense it clearly..

    Im not sure if she wear the man version or the woman version.. But one thing for sure, it definetely overapllied and bombed the entire plane as she walk around it..

    Giving around 3 second of : aahh i wanna bite you, honey

    than several minutes hangover of : ughh i can't stand it anymore, please go away, i'm begging you

    Well I think it's quite good if not overapllied. Otherwise, you're becoming an active nuclear radiation everywhere you go, reeking this stuff.

    12 January, 2011

    jimmyguo's avatar

    Sweden Sweden

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    If I were a dragqueen I would wear Angel, here's why:

    FAAAAABULOUS-first-sniff-impression

    It's 6' 4" tall (without heels)

    It's so conspiciously feminine there's no question about who's the most FAABULOUS LADY in the house

    Yet, it's suspiciously masculine - as Luca Turin sharply puts it, Angel has an adam's apple (that brilliant patchouli!)

    Did I mention it's FABULOUS?

    11th January, 2011

    vintage*red's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I am late to the Angel party, and I think that I should have stayed home. My first reaction was "Lolita Lempicka minus anise". Actually, this is a strawberry sundae sprinkled with patchouli and topped with whipped cream. And this is the friendliest patchouli that I have ever known! I don't really like it, but I don't dislike it either. It is what I thought Miss Dior Cherie would smell like but didn't. For whipped cream, I prefer Un Bois Vanille. For a slightly gourman patchouli, I prefer Coromandel. I do like the strawberries, but I doubt that I will be in a strawberry mood very often. Having said all of this, you must give Angel a try just for the novelty of it all!

    23 December, 2010

    JeanieE's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    this did not work in summer's heat for me at all. however, re-tried on a whim in the cold of winter and it turned BEAUTIFUL --and very sexy-- on me! I have officially become a HUGE Thiery Mugler fan: many of his fragrances have reacted similarly on my skin. The notes also vary greatly with "time of the month" which attest to the depth and genius of TM as an artist-advocate for all our feminine sides!

    23 December, 2010

    FruitDiet's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It's summer, and you know what that means? I'll be wearing gigantic orientals, their sillage amplified by a quarter-inch of sweat. It's considered gauche to wear loud fragrances in summer, but I completely disagree; all the big orientals- Youth-Dew, Opium, Angel- seem positively designed for this kind of sweltering provocation. A good layer of sweat really brings out their "COME HITHER, YOU BIG MAN" qualities. Speaking of Angel, I think it might have surpassed Youth-Dew as my all-time favorite perfume. I got my star refilled at Nordstrom last week for the nice price of $45 and I've been wearing it continuously for the past week. It's just such an endlessly fascinating and disturbing fragrance, and it's impossible to categorize or understand. It was released in '92, well into the onset of what Chandler Burr calls the "anorexic oceanics of the 1990s", yet it is a throbbing, room-filling fuck-off power-woman scent in the 80's OpiumPoisonGiorgio style. It straddles the line between male and female despite being intended for and worn mainly by women; an ultra-femme pink cotton candy note is strangled to death before your eyes by a virile, throaty patchouli. It is one of the most successful perfumes in history and is available at Wal-Mart but it does not in any way comply with the American imperative to smell "clean"- in fact, it smells positively raunchy, as though body odor and sweet musky shit-stained panties were layered with rotting fruit and topped off with a post-apocalyptic stripper pole. Its advertising is counter-intuitive and designed to distract potential customers from what it ACTUALLY smells like; the packaging is light blue when the juice smells a sinister glittery brown. Sales-associates will inform dimwitted women that it smells of chocolates and sweets, when it smells of death and the infinite beyond. Ad copy refers to the "tender notes of Angel" and "memories of Thierry Mugler's childhood"; Angel wearers clearly lost their innocence LONG ago and now confront everyone they meet with the olfactory tenderness of snorting jagged shards of blue sugar glass. Angel is worn equally by conservative women (allegedly it is the signature scent of both Laura Bush and Hillary Clinton) and women of the night (numerous sources have told me of its popularity among erotic dancers). AND IT WAS A HUGE HIT! More disturbing is the nicotine-like addiction that Angel induces in the wearer, necessitating the purchase of (literally) hundreds of bizarrely named ancillary products ("Celestial Showers Gel"? "Perfuming Hair Mist"?) in an effort to preserve the scent on skin for the rest of your lifetime. The addictive part of Angel, the really good part, is that first blast of body odor and rotten fruit that fades within a few minutes, so the wearer is forced to continually reapply to get that kick. The more you wear it, the more you become anosmic to it, so you keep putting on layer upon layer upon layer, achieving a Baby Jane-like flaking pancake makeup effect and making you smell TRULY filthy, TRULY like you have been living on the streets and selling your unclean body for weeks. As Anais Reboux says to Roxane Mesquida at the beginning of Breillat's "Fat Girl", "You reek of loose morals." They have soda fountain-style REFILL STATIONS at all major department stores, for Christ's sake! I indulge in dreams of taking foot-tall Slurpee cups to Nordstrom and demanding that an effete, tittering male sales associate fill them to the brim, at gunpoint. How on earth did you get away with it, Mugler? Around the time of its release, sales associates were instructed to forcefully spray it on the arms of confused women, look directly in their trembling eyes, and tell them, mantra-like, "THIS IS A FRAGRANCE FOR A UNIQUE WOMAN. NO ONE ELSE WILL SMELL LIKE THIS. A UNIQUE, UNCOMPROMISING WOMAN WOULD WEAR THIS. IT IS UNLIKE ANYTHING ELSE". I'm not kidding, this is how it became a success. They still talk like that at the department stores, too, when they find out you're an Angel fan, in the thick, lascivious tone of a depraved Madame speaking to a whorehouse patron with particularly exotic, violent, and possibly illegal sexual tastes. They'll spray you with the latest seasonal version ("Angel Soleil au Fraiche Summer Fraicheur Energizing Oil Cream" or some such nonsense, available for a limited time only) and hold your arm with their lacquered dragon talons, hissing that there are LOTS of people out there who like Angel and you needn't feel guilty or immoral for it. AND IT WAS A HUGE HIT!

    One of my best friends who happens to be a mortician told me an amazing and frightening story. While preparing a corpse for its funeral, she was handed a bottle of Angel and instructed to spray it all in and around the coffin because it was the deceased's favorite scent. Angel, which already smells of death, follows its wearers TO THE GRAVE.

    21st October, 2010

    BetsyMeszaros's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A few months ago I gave this a thumbs down and wrote the following:

    At first I just loved Angel but it is a scent one tires of quickly. I also smell it everywhere I go so it has become a little ordinary. I haven't worn it in awhile so I think I might just get mine out and give it another go.

    Today I give it a thumbs up. I did get mine out and wore it. I fell totally in love again. It just smells warm and comforting but at the same time very sophisticated. I would love to talk about top notes and bottom notes and silage (which is very good) but this perfume is all emotion to me and a good one at that. I will definitely be wearing it more often.

    28 September, 2010 (Last Edited: 25 January, 2011)

    subhuman85's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Cotton candy and caramel combined with armpitty patchouli and musk, in a bizarre tango that shouldn't work but somehow does. Masuline and feminine in equal doses; works just as well, and smells just as raunchy, on both sexes. The definition of a "love it or hate it" scent: if you love it, you REALLY love it, and if you hate it, words cannot express how much. Inarguably a must-sniff for patchouli fans, gourmand groupies, and anyone who's ever wondered what a cotton candy body spray would smell like on a porn star after the director yells "Cut!".

    22 September, 2010

    Kalynne's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    One of my perfumes of my mid 20's. Loved the candied bergamot so much, bought it here and in Paris (a little cheaper at the time). But another trip to France, I was schooled on Molinard, which I'd seen at home, but ignored. But there was Nirmala in a lovely old fashioned, blue bottle. Very much like Angel, but the ingredience smell of a garden in Grasse. It's interesting to find variations on a similar scent theme.

    15 September, 2010

    jenisus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    What a daring fragrance! It is not a secret that Angel is not a traditional feminine scent. However polarizing it is, I find its gourmand strength to be particularly suited to a crisp fall evening. The vanilla notes do not burn off as easily, and I always feel particularly warm wearing this scent as I wander the rainy, foggy nights.

    Angel is rich, complex, and unabashedly decadent - like a earthy red wine. I find it is easier to pull off Angel after having washed my hair in a light vanilla-scented shampoo. It enhances the patchouli, vanilla, and jasmine notes.

    12 September, 2010

    sara carty's avatar

    England England

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    love it. Always end up going back to it. People will know you're in the building when you wear it. Not for the faint hearted

    21st August, 2010

    Showing 31 to 60 of 216.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000