Reviews of 273 Rodeo Drive for Men by Fred Hayman

    Find out more about 273 Rodeo Drive for Men by Fred Hayman in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.
    drseid's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    273 for Men opens with a blast of what is primarily lavender, joined by a supporting bergamot note that adds just a faint citrus sparkle to the heavy floral onslaught. The now slowly receding lavender remains well into the heart before giving way somewhat to a very strong musky cedar accord that takes on the mantle of the starring role, sweetened by supporting amber and slightly powdery oakmoss from the base. Projection and longevity are exceptional.

    273 for Men is the epitome of the 80's powerhouse scent in every way. It goes on super-strong with its lavender floral, and it stays strong throughout, adding its even stronger cedar and musk tandem later. I definitely do understand the Antaeus comparisons, but the woody-floral composition of 273 for Men is no clone, only passingly resembling the Chanel classic. Whether you will enjoy 273 for Men will depend on how you feel about slightly sweet masculine florals. I am not the biggest fan of the genre (rose scents withstanding), but I definitely can respect this rather minimalist composition and do not regret my blind buy. I *do* regret the very shoddy nature of the bottle design including its extremely cheap feeling lightweight plastic cap, but I guess Fred Hayman had to cut corners somewhere to get to its $15 street price per bottle. The bottom line is 273 for Men does not set the world afire, but it earns a "good" 3 stars out of 5 and a "buy" rating if you like collecting woody lavender minimalist throwback compositions "on the cheap."

    05 October, 2012

    pepelestinker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I do not believe this does not have castoreum in it! I think that is one of the reasons people are getting the likeness to Antaeus. Besides the musk, there is something very animalic about this that smells an awful lot like castoreum. If you like Kouros, Portos, Antaeus, you will most likely like this as well. I have a vintage mini of this, but judging from what others are saying, this still has an animalic edge to it. Amazing for the price.

    08 June, 2012

    Gilgamesh2003's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Way more than you would expect for $13.

    I understand why people compare 273 to Antaeus - there's something in 273's cedar/oakmoss/smoke accord that has the same weird mintiness as Antaeus' beeswax. This is much drier and less complex than Antaeus, but it's shockingly good for the price.

    Dry, almost burnt herbs sweetened with a very cinammony cedar drive this smoky fragrance. As Bigsly points out it's not too far from Jacomo de Jacomo, though I find 273 more pleasant. There's a kind of candied, floral softness to the smoke in 273, and at least a little incense. Again, as Bigsly said this is a very niche-y scent, not what you would expect for something so inexpensive. Because it is so unusual I find it pleasantly unisex - it's certainly not girly and flowery, but it's definitely not conventionally masculine.

    273 has some layers to it - it flickers back and forth between something very bitter and smoky and something very sweet and smoky. Really a nice surprise. Kind of a wearable spin on what Mugler was going for with B*Men.

    10th October, 2011 (Last Edited: 17 December, 2011)

    Bigsly's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is something of a traditional, dry, herbal fougere. Don't think you are getting a fragrance that is very close to Antaeus with 273. I don't find there to be much of a similarity at all, actually. The top notes could be similar (both may have a strong lavender note, for example), since I avoid top notes as much as possible, but the rest is very different. Antaeus features strong beeswax and castoreum notes, which are totally absent in 273. Instead, it is closest to Jacomo de Jacomo (1980), once the strong clove note in JdJ dissipates (note that 273 is woodier). 273 is a simple fragrance, but it does a lot with a little, and doesn't have a "synthetic" or "chemical" quality. For the first hour or so, there is a smokey and almost phlegm-like quality, but it's quite interesting once you get used to it, and a nice change of pace when you are in the mood for it. It takes quite a while for the cedar to emerge, and it's not that strong. The amber and oakmoss continue for a long time. Longevity and projection/"sillage" are very good, but you have to be careful with olfactory fatigue with this one. You can buy this one very cheaply now, so unless you don't like the notes listed, it's definitely worth considering. What I find interesting about it is that it has an almost "niche"-like quality, in that it focuses on a small number of notes and is natural smelling. Moreover, I'm not sure for what social occasion this is intended, if any. It's a bit harsh at first, so many wouldn't want it as an "office fragrance." It's clearly not "romantic," nor is it for partying. I guess it could be good for some sort of leader or boss who wants everyone to know who is in charge.

    07 May, 2010 (Last Edited: 25 April, 2011)

    SirSlarty's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A giant cedar and oakmoss spritz that fades into a musk.

    26 July, 2008

    Aaron01's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I bought this blind (for $10) because of the reviews that said it smelled like Antaeus. It was not a lie, the top notes do smell like Antaeus. But, upon the drydown it becomes too floral and powdery for my taste.
    It's not a bad cologne, great value, but it just doesn't work with me. I'll stick with Antaeus.

    28 April, 2007

    tvlampboy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Funky, Deco-ish bottle on top of a deep, warm, smoky floral scent. The poor man's Antaeus, indeed! Good stuff -- well worth every penny and then some. Perfumania has the best price I've found.

    27 March, 2007

    tom's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    FYI - this smells almost exactly like Antaeus by Chanel

    08 July, 2004

    chris_cologne's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Probably one of the most unusual scents I've ever tried. Im still not quite sure what to make of it. Kind of a heavy, smoky-sweet scent but very synthetic smelling. Nothing like Opium or others in its category. I noticed very little development on the drydown. The only reason I purchased it was because I found it dirt cheap. If you're one of those "quirky" fragrance collectors its worth trying, but not at full price. I give it a neutral.

    29 December, 2003

    EricM's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Floral yet very masculine. Like nothing else I've smelled. Very strong, yet mine is only cologne strength. Goes a long way and won't quit. Doesn't evolve much but smells great from the start. Not many supporting products that are widely available though.
    The box is bright yellow with red writing, uniquely shaped. The bottle is a black pyramid, slightly slanted, with red writing. Very different from other bottles and easy to spot.
    Named after Fred Hayman's Rodeo Drive boutique address, 273.

    23 December, 2002

    Showing 1 to 10 of 10.