Reviews of Armani Eau Pour Homme by Giorgio Armani

    Find out more about Armani Eau Pour Homme by Giorgio Armani in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 30 of 85.
    Colin Maillard's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A nice, clean, soapy scent with a darker masculine heart. It opens with gentle floral-citrus notes, light herbs, spices. Classic, elegant, discreet and unintrusive, with a general softness which makes it remarkably graceful and relaxed. The darker earthy base is light, but detectable, giving the right amount of "masculine substance" to the scent. Nothing new or breathtaking, but surely a totally modern and versatile signature scent, refined and good quality (at least its vintage version). I agree with Luca Turin noticing a close similarity to Eau Sauvage – or better say, a bit of a washed down version of Dior's milestone. Still pretty good, though.

    7,5/10

    18 July, 2014

    Unvisible's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The only armani I like. I own both a vintage bottle from the mid 90s and a bottle from 2012, and I honestly cannot tell them apart.

    Both have the same longevity. If armani made the lasting power more than an hour, it would be 5 stars all the way. One of, if not the best classic citrus fragrances ever made, hands down.

    09 April, 2014 (Last Edited: 08 May, 2014)

    drseid's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sheer Class

    *This is a review of vintage Armani Eau pour Homme.

    Armani Eau pour Homme (vintage) opens with a very clean green bitter orange and lemon tandem with a soapy herbal undertone. As the fragrance enters its early heart the lemon decouples from the quickly receding bitter orange, now joining slightly earthy nutmeg spice and mild carnation florals. The soapy herbal undertone remains from the open, now enhanced by clean vetiver and just a hint of oakmoss rising from the base. During the late dry-down the progression stays quite linear as the lemon finally fades and the soapy herbal accord couples with relatively dry sandalwood and clean musk from the base. Projection is average and longevity is below average at 5-6 hours on skin.

    Eau pour Homme (vintage) is a classy clean citrus and herbs composition in the same vein of Monsieur de Givenchy and others. The best way to describe Eau pour Homme (vintage) is it generally smells like a toned down Irish Spring soap during the heart phase. Before anyone runs out to buy a bar of the soap to save some money, Eau pour Homme (vintage) is much more subtle and refined, smoothing out the brash nature of Irish Spring and adding much more complexity and sophistication with its deft use of oakmoss, clean vetiver and sandalwood in its base. The composition is rather linear and not particularly challenging; instead it is one of those fragrances easily at home in formal situations when one is in close proximity to others and a clean and pleasant smelling selection is just what the doctor ordered. The bottom line is the original formula of Eau pour Homme can still be found on the aftermarket for about $60 a 100ml bottle and is probably the best release from Armani, earning a "very good" 3.5 stars out of 5. I strongly prefer vintage Monsieur de Givenchy, but vintage Eau pour Homme is another great choice and is definitely worth a sniff at the very least.

    Pros: Clean, complex, sophisticated and subtle... Quite pleasant smelling.
    Cons: Below average longevity; difficult to find in vintage form.

    03 September, 2013 (Last Edited: 13 December, 2013)

    blaulicht's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    All time favourite

    Armani Eau Pour Homme is my alltime favourite and I am using it for a long time now. I love the sublte citrus but it does not last very long so I use quite a lot compared to other scents. I was slightly panicking when I heard about the recent reformulation and bottle re-design in 2012 and tried to get hold of some old stock. But I could probably only tell the difference between the former version and the reformulation in direct comparison of both scents, so I wonder why it was necessary. However, the bottle design is much more elegant now.

    Pros: Classy citrus
    Cons: Longevity"

    22 August, 2013

    SnapDemon's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Mediocre Scent

    Oriental Spice

    06 August, 2013

    döfä91's avatar

    Finland Finland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It's all about quality from Armani/Roger Pellegrino

    This is a classic from 1984 which has gone through 3 main reformulations, in 1999, in 2009 and in 2013.
    The 2009 reformulation removed the oakmoss and treemoss from the fragrance, and it has a significant effect on the fragrance.
    So i recommend to all to buy pre-2009 formulation, it's better and it's stronger. This review is for pre-2009 formulations.

    The scent in all is nothing but strong, it's refined, low-key citrus but in the older versions the already mentioned oakmoss gives it a good heavier base.
    I wouldn't use the word subtle though because it's masculine and natural and has a solid base. For it's low-key nature i recommend 1) to wear the older formulation 2) spray liberally (4-7 sprays, one to the shirt) and 3) use the Armani eau pour homme
    showergel and deodorant as well.

    It's all about quality and that's no wonder because the launching year was 1984 and the nose behind this fine fragrance is the genious Roger Pellegrino (whose other creations
    are for example womens' Anais-Anais by Cacharel and mens' legendary Rochas Macassar (in collaboration with Nicolas Mamounas, the nose of Rochas)

    The best wearing is day-time scent, thogh this is one of the most safe and versatile scents there is, can be used in work (office), won't offend anyone, others will notice it's YOU who smells good not your perfume.
    One warning though: There's one delusive aspect in the scent: The wearer's nose will get used to this very quickly, and others can smell you for hours when you self can't, so be careful not to re-apply too often.

    For those whom this simply is too weak after all, stronger citruses i recommend Boucheron Pour Homme, Monsieur de Givenchy and Eau de Rochas Pour Homme. (all preferably in vintage formulation of course.)

    Pros: Green, natural, versatile, refined, low-key
    Cons: The 2009 formulation spoiled this fragrance

    26 May, 2013

    Omega1185's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Moderate.

    It pains me to give this frag a bad rating because I really wanted to like it, and it does smell nice, but it simply does not last. I tried it three times, the last time I used several sprays and it still didn't hang around. It's ok if you want to keep re-applying.

    I tried it again, and decided that if you take a small atomizer with you and re-apply after three to four hours it will stay with you the rest of the day. It really is a well crafted fragrance that's better than anything i've smelled at Sephora lately, so I'm going to stock up on a few bottles.

    Pros: Very classy oakmoss infused fragrance.
    Cons: Vanishes after three hours.

    26 May, 2013

    's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    To be honest, my initial thoughts of this were that someone had cut a lemon in half and squeezed in into a bottle, lemon owns this scent!

    It maintains throughout, but after the first 20 or so minutes it calms down, and lets some other notes have a say in the picture. All in all, I like the fragrance, and it wears well on me. Although the lemon invades your nose at first, afterwards it just speaks sharp, concise confidence. A perfect every-day office wear scent for a modern man in my opinion. Modern, fruity (almost too much) and defined, with gentle calming lavender undertones.

    05 December, 2012

    thatsmr2usir's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This review is for the vintage version. Here we have a old school, citrus, herbal offering with Lavendar accord that was @ that time the envy of a citrus man's cologne. Given that this fragrance reeks of ITALIAN, I see a well dressed man in his Armani suit & wearing Armani Eau Pour Homme.

    It starts out with that lemon/herbal vibe which I am assuming it is the basil. Kind of strong stuff to a degree at the beginning, but do not let it discourage you as most fumes start out strong yet can be misleading. The Lavendar creeps in which I do not care for along with some woods to give it a interesting edge. Then comes the Oakmoss which in todays world of perfume it is extinct...

    IMO the Oakmoss which was used in many old school perfumes gave them distinction. It is sad that particular ingredient can no longer be used in perfumes. THANK GOODNESS FOR VINTAGES! :) This last about 5-6 hours on me & the projection seems to be low to medium. I wore this to a business meeting not long ago & was complimented twice. It serves it's purpose for what it does. Day wear in the spring/summer days.

    However, the modern version of this is nothing but synthetic water to my nose... Not pleasant by a long shot. If you truly want to experience this make sure it is a vintage bottle. Also this competes with the great Eau Savage from Christian Dior as they share alot of the same qualities, if I had to choose one over the other,it would be Armani Eau Pour Homme. As nice as Eau Savage is, it's longevity is not as good compared to this & I am referring to the vintage Savage.

    02 July, 2012

    G.M.K.'s avatar

    Pakistan Pakistan

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Once upon a time there was a very handsome , dark, tall Guy who looks very rich apparently infact he was but he was 'IMPOTENT' now who cares about the wealth and charm.

    This is Armani Eau Pour Homme Very nicely blended , beautiful development , extremely classic but it DOES NOT STAY .... who cares about the beauty...

    23 June, 2012

    ozebarjadi's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Are we measuring "modern" by how much fruit is in the ingredients? I wouldn't call Armani pH dated. It's absolutely versatile -- for work and for play. its most prominent notes are bamboo and lavender. I'm 28; I can not IMAGINE wearing Azzaro pH -- it's smells like something jmmy carter could wear today... for nostalgic purposes of course. Armani, you can wear it to your meetings and to your tennis game... :)

    17 June, 2012

    tejusready's avatar

    India India

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is one of the few first scent that i came accross and was smitten by its freshness ,it opens with blast of lime ,lemons or bergomot very pleasent and sensual but again a more of an 80s scents but never outdated in the second layer comes the spices which also nice and llastly the woody notes likes the sandalwood etc,one of my favourites purely for the summer and outdoors but can be worn for romantic dinners also,its actually pretty versatile and i believe MR armani the man himself wears the same fragrance even now.The main negetive with this fragrance is the sillage and the longivity very poor.

    28 May, 2012

    benzganesh's avatar

    Malaysia Malaysia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Simple, Clean and Elegant - it really grows on you just when you think its another retired movie star type..it gets back into modernity with such ease, my most used bottle - total count - i had used 12 bottles of this! + 1 after shave thats 13 in total, bright opening but beautiful dry down, an ethereal classic.

    22 May, 2012 (Last Edited: 13 September, 2012)

    amilcar's avatar

    Brazil Brazil

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Agreed with Francop, very expensive lemon based eau de cologne. Just sad.

    21st May, 2012

    Francop's avatar

    Spain Spain

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Absolutely agree with Jack Hunter.

    This scent used to be an 80`s Classic; the current available version has been reformulated as a watered down generic citrusy eau de cologne...

    Very disappointing...!!!

    Thumbs down !!!

    25 February, 2012

    Jack Hunter's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I liked the lemon herbal moss blast of citrus in the opening then the scent seemed to disappear into nothing after thirty minutes. The fragrance seems thin and watered down which is a shame as this one had a good reputation in the Eighties. I guess it's been reformulated for the worse.

    20th January, 2012

    frostycitrusguy's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Armani Eua Pour Homme is a strange scent, I cannot really pick many faults with it and I like the Lemon and Tangerine. This scent is from the classic mold and is not over complicated. I would question the amount of time that this fragrance lasts on my skin as it barely goes beyond 4 hours, but it smells lovely and is worth a small investment. It is far removed from other armani scents that are doing the rounds in the clubs.

    31st December, 2011 (Last Edited: 07 January, 2012)

    The_Cologneist's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Bland, boring, cheap-smelling, aromatic/fougere. Chypre-ish but not much until the dry down. I get more lavender than anything. Some dark citrus in the opening. Smells very dated.

    There are much better selections from this genre, such as Azzaro pH, and Polo original. I am not thrilled with Armani pH.

    21st November, 2011

    MonkeyBars's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Along the lines of Eau Sauvage with its sweat note (basil, sage?) but overall friendlier and sweeter, but still with civet in all likelihood. A tad boring for my taste, which tends toward the bold and bitter.

    Important correction: this fragrance is not related to Esencia Loewe, as Diplomat suggests. It shares a couple notes but on the whole is much sweeter and more a classic floral-cologne type of fragrance. Esencia's fantastic, dry herbal-citric opening and dry heart (with just a touch of rose) are a far cry from this conventional offering from Armani; even a superficial sniff by a decent nose would detect they're not in the same realm at all. I'm a huge fan of Esencia, and not particularly a fan of Armani Eau pour Homme.

    26 September, 2011

    weylin's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    An excellent lemon fragrance on par (to me) with Eau Sauvage.
    The oak-moss stands out and gives this great character.
    A true classic.

    31st August, 2011

    SirScent's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Excellent!
    A True Classic and Masculine scent on the lines of Aramis Tuscany but lighter.
    Everything about this is classic including the bottle.
    I actually have 2 bottles of this...One marked 80% and another marked 89%.
    Let me say that the 80% volume has greater depth and longevity.
    I use the 89% for casual wear and keep the 80% for more formal times.
    This will always be a favorite of mine.

    27 July, 2011

    Diplomat's avatar

    Venezuela Venezuela

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Refined and elegant, fresh, masculine, a "business suit" fragrance which was also my signature scent for at least ten years from around 1985. I've gone back to it again and again and find it to be almost timeless.
    ...Until I found Esencia by Loewe. The two are very similar, sharing opening notes and an overall signature. But there is a much more complex drydown to Loewe's Esencia which is now my signature EDT and will stay that way for many years to come.
    If you like Esencia then you will like Armani's Eau Pour Homme, and vice versa.

    24 July, 2011

    yoyo's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    opens very citrusy, like the classic eau de cologne. It definitely has jasmine in it which reminds me of eau sauvage.

    15 July, 2011

    olfactorium's avatar

    Belgium Belgium

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    How amazingly simple!!!! Yet sparkling,lively and almost sizzling like a bottle of shaken mineral water that is being opened.Made according to the logic of a common man - simple and efficient.Straight to the point kind of smell. Nothing that would make you fall into a heavy discussion with yourself just to figure out wheather you like it or not.Just like it...or not!Very 80's.Very "cologne" style.Nowdays they would consider this kind of smell something rather for a windowcleaner or toilet freshener than for a fine perfume. Includes all of those "male" ingredients: lemon,bergamot,basil,clary sage,lavender. Probably the only fragrance with an undisputably masculin lavender. Makes me quite nostalgic about the times when i was just a child and my grandfather used to wear something of this type of smell.To me this is what Dirty Harry would smell like.

    09 April, 2011

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sort of musky-spicy lemonade, if possible. There is some hidden benzoin may be joined with a touch of amber in order to support the smooth/boise final bed of the aroma, a natural shelter for the luxurious initial citrus valzer. The general luxurious (articulated) soft and fluidy muskiness, as already said, is a bit powdery, mild but never cloying. This is a subtle and fresh (slightly green) masculine chypre, traditional and classy. The top fresh and invigorating notes are all citrus (mostly lime) and green elements (all is extremely restrained and balanced), immediatelly washed by a splash of spicy lavender in few minutes, set the transition to the heart. Cloves (may be cinnamon) provide a spicy subtle sweet touch since the middle notes. The base notes express the woody texture of sandalwood, hints of balsams and the boise oakmoss muskiness enveloping the green/spicy "lemonade". This is a timeless concoction invigorating and clean expecially along the spring/summer southern working days.

    01st February, 2011 (Last Edited: 07 January, 2014)

    mrclmind's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a very refined, elegant chypre. It's a smooth scent which opens up on a bright bergamot, tangerine and lemon citrus accord, with a very slight hint of basil. Cloves and lavender always improve one another, and the heart of Armani Eau Pour Homme is a testament to this. The dry down is a bit light for a chypre with oakmoss, musk, cedar and sandalwood and perhaps a bit of benzoin. Although it does tend to be somewhat on the powdery side, it's not overly sweet or cloying. It has about the same longevity on me as Chanel pour Monsieur (original). Armani Eau Pour Homme is a classic, and doesn't smell at all dated or old fashioned. It can be dressed up or down. Very nice!

    07 December, 2010

    Sunsetspawn's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The citrus and lavender here just scream, "nice cologne," while the sandalwood gently chimes in with, "a bit masculine." There is nothing harsh about it, but the old-schooliness of it could present itself as sharp to those used to Code and Gio whom might be branching out in the brand. Anywho, the only thing keeping me from throwin' my thumbs up is the powdery aura that accompanies the drydown. Many fragrances have that "sense" and they all make me feel less-than-appealing when I wear them. Mind you, I don't mean unappealing, but just, not appealing, as in, neutral. And this, of course, is reflected in my rating.

    30th October, 2010

    timandheidi's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a great cologne. This is a business suit cologne I think, that's how I use it. Makes you smell like you know what you're doing. You are pleasant to interact with and you smell successful. It is warm, sweet, with wood and spice, very comfortable and confident smell. Not crazy and radical, not blowing with whatever happens to be popular right now. Just bascially, when you are in a suit, people around you expect you to know how to tie a tie and how to wear a belt and shoes and how to smell. People respond well to this cologne, they like to come sit down in your office.

    31st August, 2010

    Cheeva's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love this stuff, been in my rotation for years. It first stuns you with a lemony blast, then slowly gives way to a spicy , woodsy masculine scent. well balanced, meaning , you can wear it at the office or for a night out. this is a must try.

    30th August, 2010

    smartscent's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very harsh off the start, a bit over-powering and caused me to hold my breath...heavy lemon explosion, combined with a strong herb (weeds?) scent - but, it does calm down quickly, and leaves behind what I can only describe as a cross between lemon-pledge and moss....longevity is poor for such an expensive cologne - I could barely smell it after about 1 hour. Save your money and look elsewhere!

    29 June, 2010

    Showing 1 to 30 of 85.