Negative Reviews of Black Suede by Avon

    Find out more about Black Suede by Avon in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 7 of 7. (Show all reviews)
    noirdrakkar's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is the epitome of cheap cologne.

    It is a cheap woodsy knockoff of Aramis and Egoiste. You are better off saving your money and getting the real deal. Also, it is very powdery. There is a strong note that is similar to talcum powder. It smells like a dirty diaper.

    Sure, some people will like it. But most people won't. This has strong projection, which is not good for the people around you who will not like it.

    If you are starting out, there is a chance you may like this, but if you are a serious collector or have tried many woodsy fragrances, you should pass on this because there are just so many other options.

    3/10

    Verdict: Go buy yourself Aramis or Egoiste instead.

    20th May, 2012 (Last Edited: 22 June, 2012)

    bFlay's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is one of those things grandmothers give as gifts to young boys because it is a lighter version (and certainly cheap) of the stuff grandpa wears. Synthetic wood, musk, and leather in a powder cloud of rose
    dusting talcum. Breaks down and disipates quickly. Might well be suitable to an adolescent just starting out, but otherwise an unredeeming fragrance all around.

    06 December, 2011

    Izzy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is not good, no need to say more. Stay away from this stuff

    18 December, 2010

    thatsmr2usir's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    HIDEOUS! That is the best word I can use to describe Black Suede, My best friend loves it & says it works on him. I can not stand it from top to bottom!

    26 October, 2010

    Mysticman's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Yuck! I received a bottle of this as a gift in the 80's and thought it smelled like some strange blend of rancid cooking oil and cleaning solvent. I passed it on to a friend who liked it, but either he never wore it around me or it was so different on him as to be unrecognizable.

    10th March, 2010

    Pastor's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    These are my initial notes: Stinky, musky, cheap, powdery. 1 star.

    This stuff smell horrible. There is not much I can add to my initial impression. It smells like a sleazy old man who needs a bath. To add a bit of a positive, the foul odour dissipates eventually and you are left with a decent cedar wood fragrance.

    09 December, 2009

    Duncan's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Fairly sickly and nasty. Smells like Lysol original formula. Would not recommend.

    24 June, 2009

    Showing 1 to 7 of 7. (Show all reviews)