Reviews of Bleu Marine by Pierre Cardin

    Find out more about Bleu Marine by Pierre Cardin in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 22 of 22.
    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The opening displays bergamot and a wormwood-like note that soon sees labdanum added, before it turns greener in the drydown, with basil being more prominent. These phases combine a summery freshness with a chypre tone, especially when in the base a chypre-style patchouli component is added, but I get only a tiny touch of moss. Silage and projection are good, with an overall longevity of five hours. A summer scent, nothing earthshattering but solid.

    18 February, 2014

    Johannes's avatar

    Norway Norway

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ok, so "bleu marine" is French for "navy blue". Thanks to Mysticman for clearing this up. The only way it could have been an aquatic is if the oceans were made out of paint thinner and oregano.

    It makes a whole lot more sense that this is the smell of a Frenchman in a navy blue suit back in -86. Imagine the Parisian Gordon Gekko.

    31st May, 2012 (Last Edited: 10th December, 2012)

    Mysticman's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sacre Bleu!!! I can't believe the number of reviews calling this a "failed aquatic," or words to that effect. Mais non, mes amis, you have misunderstood! "Bleu marine" is the French term for the color known in English as "Navy Blue." Moreover, this fragrance was released in the mid-eighties, well before the popularity and glut of aquatic fragrances. Navy Blue is considered a neutral color that goes with everything --- classy, understated, and suitable for all occasions, and I think this is more what Bleu Marine's creators had in mind.

    The scent itself seems to straddle the line between chypre and fougere, with a crisp citrus opening balanced by herbal and green notes. As it dries down, warm woody notes appear, mainly sandalwood, with patchouli, amber, and a hint of oakmoss, though not as much as we usually expect from a chypre. It does bear a resemblance to Halston Z-14, but Bleu Marine is lighter, with more emphasis on the citrus and green components than the warm woods of Z-14. Its intensity drops off rather quickly, leaving a subtle base that lasts surprisingly well. On my skin it doesn't get overly sweet or powdery, but retains a subtle warmth. It's light enough for business wear, yet complex enough for formal occasions --- much like the color it was named for --- and at least one woman has called it "subtly sexy."

    It's a winner in my book!

    30th March, 2011

    odysseusm's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Well, with a name like "Bleu Marine" I hadn't expected to like this at all. Actually, it isn't bad.
    I'd call it an aquatic herbal. A bit ozonic and metallic, but not screechy. Some good green-herbal notes, also the typical silvery sheen of armoise. Not terribly sweet, not too heavy. The Halston Z-14 comparison is apt, I'd call this a "lite" version of that scent. Definitely a warm-weather scent due to its frosty vibe.

    16 December, 2010

    RickieHK's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Its a citrus with patchouli type mix scent wise. The latest bottle I had gotten had a good length of wear time about 8 hours if sprayed on your chest. Several women liked the scent and I don't mind it either. The only other scents thathave come close compliment wise with me are Devin(I no longer like it) and Aramis.

    29 October, 2010

    Critic's avatar

    Zimbabwe Zimbabwe

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Spicy and sweetish. Lots of patchouli in this and it smells like Halston Z-14. Terribly misleading name, no marine-ness in this whatsoever. I'm a sucker for aquatics and expected this to be such but it's actually heavy and spicy. I don't care for it.

    02 March, 2009

    PigeonMurderer's avatar

    Finland Finland

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It isn’t that terrible, but I agree that there is nothing particularly interesting to it. Very generic, somewhat cheap smelling fresh-spicy scent. I don’t consider this as a marine/oceanic scent that much.

    Perhaps the biggest problem for me is totally unsatisfying lasting power: it really seems like it is very lame one.

    Bottle is great though. I have understood it is actually placed in some modern art museum in NYC.


    Not expensive, but with just a little greater input of cash it is easy for one to get something much more interesting.

    15 February, 2009

    HORACIO GONZÁLEZ's avatar

    Argentina Argentina

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I SEE ANYBODY HAD REALISED WHEN THIS FRAGRANCE WAS RELAUNCHED HAVE BEEN T-O-T-A-L-L-Y CHANGED, WHAT USED TO BE REALLY A MASTERPIECE, NOW IS GARBAGE
    ITS A PITTY

    01st September, 2008

    distortech's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    Well, I think this one is a great classic and it does not smell anywhere near cheap to me. I mean, this came out in 1986 people - an 80's scent that doesn't smell 80's is something to behold in my book!

    IMO, it's fantastic and I LOVE to wear it. However, it could do with an extreme version updated to improve longevity, but otherwise, no complaints. :-)

    18 July, 2008

    SirSlarty's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Not long lasting but I like the spiciness. A good, cheap blue cologne for whenever.

    26 May, 2008

    pkf's avatar

    Norway Norway

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    hmm, what are u people talking about? this frag is magical, and everytime im wearing this, i get tons of compliments.

    how can u not like this one? its blue and fresh, a more masculine type of dk men or hugo dark blue

    13 December, 2007

    silk4ever's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Agreed with the majority, it's a cheap smelling aqua cologne. It kind of reminds me of aqua velva and that is not a compliment.

    26 June, 2007

    Randolph314's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This isn't terrible, but it's certainly not good. It smells like sickly sweet pepper and is very weak.

    15 October, 2006

    vdxxl's avatar

    Romania Romania

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Good, marine-fresh with a touch of sweet notes and amber, but this is not something that I would buy and wear.

    13 October, 2006

    zenpiper's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I like this stuff! Ordered some Knize Ten and a little vile of Bleu Marine was in the box. (I love samples). Yes, it's sweet and common but so what? If you wear this, you will definitely get comments from women. Reminds me of Halston Z-14. True, Bleu Marine is not (to me) aquatic in any way, but it's pleasant and fresh and good. Lasts well.

    25 September, 2006 (Last Edited: 26 February, 2011)

    Ken_Russell's avatar

    Romania Romania

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Toothpaste rather than aquatic freshness besides far too sweet. To make matters worse it will not last even after applying loads of it. Cheap, worse than supermarket-quality scent. With a little luck neither its wearer nor anyone else might feel it.

    23 January, 2006

    foetidus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Keep some soap, water, and a scrub brush handy when you try this one out on your skin—you’ll want it off fast.

    10th December, 2005

    Uzkalnis's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I cannot believe THIS is still in production and the stuff like Aramis Havana has been discontinued. There is nothing impressive, although you may say that drydown has a delicate raisin and/or Christmas pudding notes, but they are too subtle and too weak to be noticed. Overall - yes, an unsuccessful, half-hearted marine fragrance. Better luck next time.

    09 November, 2005

    MonkeyManMatt's avatar

    Sweden Sweden

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I agree with Dave, a terribly weak marine release. Not better in any way than Axe/Lynx aftershaves. Uninspired aquatic mess, simple and bad. The original Cardin, Pour Monsieur was a much better juice along the lines of the first Polo by Ralph Lauren. Piney, fresh and masculine.
    By all means stay away from Bleu Marine though.

    27 September, 2005

    Gregy87's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Yeah... not bad.. but I wouldn't buy this fragrance anymore.

    23 August, 2005

    ramin's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a very good fresh cologne.

    02 August, 2005

    D_mcrae's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I can remember liking the original P.C back in High school, but this..this stuff is vile

    24 July, 2004

    Showing 1 to 22 of 22.