Reviews of Drakkar Noir by Guy Laroche

    Find out more about Drakkar Noir by Guy Laroche in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 121 to 150 of 156.
    wirral guy's avatar
    wirral guy
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Hand on heart over the years i have spent quite a lot of money trying to find a mens fragrance-that women generally like the smell of.I have bought allsorts from lacoste homme,to minotaure(loads really.Yesterday i took delivery of one bottle of drakkar noir(i had read up on this fragrance supposed effects to intice a woman to compliment the wearer)Well this morning i put some of this drakkar noir on and went around my local town to do the days shop-went into the supermarket(or mall)-and the woman behind the counter said to me"i dont want to be rude but you smelly really gorgeous what do you have on"? I then told her what the scent i had on,she then said to me that she will get her husband some of what i had.The point i am making is that i have been a customer of that supermarket for years and in all the time i have worn my other more expensive fragrances never once has that girl complimented me on how great i smell..it just goes to show that drakkar noir works,women love the smell of it!!

    14 October, 2006

    tvlampboy's avatar
    tvlampboy
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    So many make fun of it because it's an easy target -- mass marketed, popular with many across the spectrum, often abused/over-applied, etc.

    But really, this fragrance is pretty darn good if applied in moderation. On me, it starts out soapy and almost medicinal, but it soons dries out to a warm and citrus-y scent that stays with me long throughout the day.

    Kai hit the nail on the head in his review when he called this one "deservedly popular."

    If some two-bit lounge lizard in Atlantic City washes his face with this stuff, or some used car salesman in Tupelo, well, that's his problem. Doesn't change the fact that -- truth be told -- this is a Laroche classic.

    12 October, 2006

    Lynn Faust's avatar
    Lynn Faust
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    this truly is a "classic" i received a sample in the mail with a cologne purchase. i sprayed a bit in the air and i could have sworn my good friend from high school was standing right behind me.

    it is a very common cologne, but for good reason, and should not be overlooked. i wouldn't say it is a cologne you would want to wear frequently. the spices make it a good cool autum, early winter fragrance. it does linger into a spicey-clean smell.

    08 October, 2006

    Eluard's avatar
    Eluard
    Australia Australia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ken Russell has said below “When I first got a bottle of it was so enthusiastic about it and almost instantly I felt much more sensual and attractive than ever before. But I also discovered another quality of Drakkar- for me it worked extremely well as an aid for concentration and intellectual work. Its heavy, smoky tones must have an almost spiritual, mystical aura.”

    This immediately struck a chord in me because it expresses my feeling about another Pierre Wargnye creation, Baldarassini by Hugo Boss. I also get it from Contradiction (also by Wargnye). I wonder if this might not be a secret thread running through the perfumer’s work? He manages to create something quite spiritual in his work, something I get from no other cologne.

    This might seem a bit of a stretch but the image that Wargnye’s work reminds me most of (and I’m thinking principally of Baldarassini here) is the art of 15th century painters like Fra Angelico. I’d be very interested to see Wargnye interviewed—I’m curious to know his own views on his work.

    06 September, 2006

    GAIVS IVLIVS CAESAR's avatar
    GAIVS IVLIVS CAESAR
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Aaah! Also, Mmmmmm!

    Female feedback rating on this, %100.

    06 August, 2006

    d_silent_one's avatar
    d_silent_one
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I absolutely love this cologne. I used to buy it to my ex-boyfriend all the time because I used to love it on him. Very manly.

    05 August, 2006

    Lincoln63542's avatar
    Lincoln63542


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I must be the only one who does not like this fragrance at all... It reminds me the scent of old barber shops. An outdated fragrance I would be embarrased to wear or recommend. Too strong for me and sticks to the skin like a sealant.

    25 May, 2006

    deepthought's avatar
    deepthought


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is good a fragrance but it is a product of it's time. Can soften down a bit on my skin over time. Could consider using it instead of nicotine patches.............

    23 May, 2006

    nicolastutor's avatar
    nicolastutor


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is the only frag that has actually given me a stomach ache. I really wish they would discontinue it...

    20th May, 2006

    ikkitosennomusha's avatar
    ikkitosennomusha


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I award a neutral thumb because I used to love and wear this back in the late 80s in junior high and it worked for me then. Now days, I find it ok as it brings fond memories but there are far better choices available on the market. Also, I cannot stand that cheap, plastic cap. I think they need to redesign the bottle at least.

    18 May, 2006

    NaturalBornThrilla's avatar
    NaturalBornThrilla
    Abu Dhabi Abu Dhabi

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I rewally like this one seems to have an ability to be casual or formal its good for almost any occasion ..... from just relaxing around the house to being at the most formal Shirt and Tie affair. I will say this don't overdo er shes strong and long lasting!!!!

    23 March, 2006

    ubuandibeme's avatar
    ubuandibeme
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This scent is sooooo dry, whenever I smell it, I need a big glass of water!

    13 March, 2006

    zenpiper's avatar
    zenpiper
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Someone gave me a bottle of this stuff for Christmas and I wore it to be polite. There is nothing particularly good or memorable about it, but it's not terrible either. Strikingly so-so.

    10th March, 2006

    taketacom's avatar
    taketacom


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I wore this back in high school. I'd be embarrased to wear it now, but it does smell good. It's just embarrasing to wear a scent that was popular when you were in high school. Does anyone else feel this way? Sort of smells like 80's gigalo cologne. -- It does smell good, just embarrasing to wear! Needs to be stronger too. I like strong colognes!

    25 January, 2006

    Ken_Russell's avatar
    Ken_Russell
    Romania Romania

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Dark and lush like an unexplored exotic territory. I don't know why so many people don't like it, i suppose it's the too heavy tobacco note. Actually it's a quite good scent, it's ingredients being high quality and well combined.
    When i first got a bottle of it was so enthusiastic about it and almost instantly i felt much more sensual and attractive than ever before. But i also discovered another quality of Drakkar- for me it worked extremely well as an aid for oncentration and intellectual work. Its heavy, smoky tones must have an almost spiritual, mystical aura. Besides it's not only dark notes- as i smelled more carefully, i discovered a very
    subtle, cool and soothing touch of the finest lavender.
    Today i'm
    still aware of its true value, even if my tastes evolved significantly.

    24 January, 2006

    jjm_1965's avatar
    jjm_1965
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    From what I remember, this was a nice scent as long as it was used sparingly. Got good compliments from women. I wore it for years, but changed to Curve since it is milder.

    21st January, 2006

    Dave_D's avatar
    Dave_D


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I like it, no complaints from women either. Not a fragrance I would base my collection on, but a nice inexpensive one that gets compliments (use it sparingly) Its shortcoming would probably be that its somewhat generic.

    31st December, 2005

    gator's avatar
    gator
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Love this stuff! If you dont want to smell fruity or like a female, then this is the way to go! Only problem is it tends to have a hit of soap after a few hours

    23 December, 2005

    ilnaso's avatar
    ilnaso
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ah drakkar...nothing like capturing the essence of mullets, nascar, corndogs, and wal-mart in one ::ahem:: stylish bottle. Just discontinue it already

    24 November, 2005

    Dennard's avatar
    Dennard


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a great fragrance. I love it for formal and office situations. One of the best aromatic/spicy colognes out there.

    19 November, 2005

    F_Frez's avatar
    F_Frez


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A bit dated, like Azzaro or Quorum, but still a classic. Suitable for office use, but better for romantic moments.

    14 November, 2005

    foetidus's avatar
    foetidus
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    One can immediately tell that this is not a modern scent because the opening is rather uninspired. It is obviously intended for purchasers with a longer than nine second attention span. With many of the “classics” the opening is simply a holding pattern — sometimes attractive, sometimes not — while the newly liberated scent molecules marshal their forces to present their real job and purpose; and that purpose is the presentation of the middle and basenotes, which contain ninety-nine percent of the existence of the fragrance. Drakkar’s opening is a soapy and spongy aromatic / citrus. The citrus plays a very small role in the action, while the aromatics — albeit insecure, unorganized, and a bit unrefined — provide the main force of the initial volley. It’s a tolerable opening but it is far from stellar, and if it had to depend on the typical modern mass- market purchaser, it might be immediately eliminated from his list. The richer, fuller, refined heart is a balanced green / spice accord with emphasis on the coniferous notes of pine and juniper. This is a distinctly wearable accord. The heart notes are not really fresh as “fresh” is presented nowdays, but they are clean, full, and natural. With sensible application, they provide a restrained, dignified sillage that is legendarily attractive to the fairer gender. The base notes add leather, sandalwood, and oakmoss to the note lineup in a skillfully balanced and refined accord — I don’t get the patchouli that is supposed to be there because the leather overrides it to my nose. I often dislike leather in fragrances and the leather in Drakkar Noir is what has kept me from purchasing it in the past. I keep decant of Drakkar Noir and I sniff it once in a while in spite of my dislike of the leather note. I have found it an interesting fragrance in the past, but never intriguing. It is very strong and has to be applied with a good dose of restraint. Too strong and it is a turn-off. Excellent longevity. (Edit of 15 October 2005 review. Changed from a neutral.)


    15 October, 2005 (Last Edited: 17 August, 2009)

    incedal's avatar
    incedal
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    *Update* I ws too quick the judge with my first post about Drakkar Noir, visited it again and I have to say I love it now, its soapy and spicy and it never fails to get compliments! specialy from the ladys:)

    13 October, 2005 (Last Edited: 07 November, 2005)

    Uzkalnis's avatar
    Uzkalnis


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Today, it may seem simplistic and those who don't like 80s would not like Drakkar Noir either, but no-one should underestimate its influence in the structure of modern men's fragrance of late 20th century. And if imitation is the surest form of flattery, oh boy has THIS been flattered!

    05 October, 2005

    Joel_Cairo's avatar
    Joel_Cairo
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ah Drakkar. makes me remember my prom... but nostalgia only goes so far. it got plenty of compliments at the time, but it is very one dimensional. "sex-in-a-bottle" yes, "babe-magnet" fine, "classic" ok... but it doesnt go anywhere. recommended if you are 16 and seeking to loose your virginity.

    05 October, 2005

    IPaidForThisName's avatar
    IPaidForThisName


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Again, this was the staple of an era. It’s a tacky and sleazy fragrance. Even the original Polo is a couple tiers above Drakkar. This should have stayed in the 80’s.

    22 September, 2005

    MonkeyManMatt's avatar
    MonkeyManMatt
    Sweden Sweden

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Oakmoss has always been one of my least favoured notes along with vetiver, and Drakkar Noir truly reeks of spices and dry oakmoss. I find it bland, one-dimensional and overtly macho in a very negative way. This is outdated stuff that shouldn't be worn by anyone except maybe bearded bikers (and they probably aren't too keen on fragrance anyway...). Stuffy, inasanely strong and often ridiculously over -applied. YUCK!

    05 September, 2005

    dallasconundrum's avatar
    dallasconundrum


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Drakkar is, of course, a classic. This scent has been popular for years. And, unlike a lot of its contemporaries, Drakkar has aged well. This fragrance can still compete with a lot of the newer scents and can surpass a lot of them. I wouldn't go so far as to say that it is the best out there now, as I feel that there are certainly better ones, but this one won't leave you feeling like an old man or a "has been" (Polo) like some of the scents its age.

    28 August, 2005

    desimishu's avatar
    desimishu
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I received many mixed reviews when i wear this...but quite honestly i didnt care about the negative ones...that because I LOVE THIS!!! Its the definition of a very masculine and sexy scent...Iss fresh at first and then the warm leathery/juniper drydown comes into play...EXCELLENT STUFF....My Girfriend's favorite amongst the many in my collection.

    22 August, 2005

    rapture2's avatar
    rapture2


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I tried this at a JCPenny recently and I don't know how this stuff is still selling. Granted it is different from all the light airy mens colognes being release by designers today so for that I give this fragrance a plus but that still isnt enough to save it from a thumbs down. I sprayed one spray on my wrist to try it out and that was too much the cologne quickly became cloying and i had trouble washing it off. Very heavy cologne that desperately tries to suffocate the one wearing it.

    09 August, 2005

    Showing 121 to 150 of 156.