Reviews of Eau de Guerlain by Guerlain

    Find out more about Eau de Guerlain by Guerlain in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 29 of 29.
    Way Off Scenter's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Genre: Citrus

    Eau de Guerlain opens with a burst of photorealistic lemon (rind and juice), joined by a polite jasmine and a bright herbal bouquet. The three soon merge and then hover for nearly an hour over their crisp, woody base, after which time the dry, mossy drydown takes over.

    The accords that anchor Eau de Guerlain are exquisitely balanced, and it's a testament to Guerlain's high quality ingredients that the simple citrus/floral/woody structure never evokes the furniture polish that haunts so many other eau de Cologne formulae. Eau de Guerlain is far from exciting, but it is beautifully constructed in the classical manner.

    13 June, 2014

    Darvant's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Yes, Eau de Guerlain is a blend of citrus (lemon, bergamot, orange), "neutral flowers", and aromatic herbs (basil, verbena, mint) at its best. The lemony dry down is musky, delicately floral (more geranium and jasmine than rose in my opinion) and vaguely soapy with woody accents. Eau de Guerlain is fresh, evocative, conservative and old-fashion, a jump in the past with a rewind of some fuzzy scenes of my childhood with all those elegant grandmas and measured tastes. Really wonderful bottle and the Guerlain trademark.

    10th January, 2013

    iivanita's avatar

    Croatia Croatia

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    very well mannered citrus-verbena mix, opens up so fresh, with high C, yet elegant!, not raw nor loud!....settles down in creamy touch sweet lemon base where it is at its best!
    behaves like the best cologne there is! lasting power is around 3 hours :)

    refreshing for the summer! simple yet very elegant!!

    25 November, 2012

    Oproust's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Simply the best citrus I know. Eau de Guerlain starts with a zingy citrus blast with just the right dose of herbs to tone down the sharpness that plagues too many citrus fragrances. The heavy herbal accord found in Eau Sauvage is largely absent in Eau de Guerlain. I detect intermittent rose and carnation in the mid notes, but the jasmin and patchouli aren't particulary prominent to my nose. I find the moss and musky drydown very pleasant and surprisingly long lasting. While I enjoy Eau Sauvage, Eau de Rochas Homme, George F Trumper GFT and YSL pour Homme, I prefer Eau de Guerlain because of the fine citrus-herbal balance,the great mossy-musky drydown and the very good longevity. Perfect for a hot summer day.

    12 May, 2011

    Oh_Hedgehog's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Undoubtedly the best of the zest. A bracing harmony of lemon and bergamot, buttressed with oakmoss and musk, and blessed with the coy edibility of basil, verbena, caraway and tonka. By any measure – be it stamina, vividness, or coherence – Eau de Guerlain outdoes the alternative high-calibre colognes from Chanel (Eau de Cologne) and Dior (Eau Fraîche), and it would not be an exaggeration to say that Eau de Cologne was a 300 year old promise fulfilled in 1974 by Jean-Paul Guerlain.

    Furthermore, its original Robert Granai-designed bottle is an exquisite object, designed to look like a stone with the motion of a stream of water swept across its surface in etched channels. It's a tableau in glass. Seeing a picture of it (and there aren't many around) was the first time in my life I considered collecting bottles as well as the fragrances they contain.

    04 April, 2011

    alfarom's avatar

    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Yes, this is citrus at its best. Very classic and mannered, fresh in an old-fashion way, much respectable and elegant but it inevitably reminds me of my grandmother that used to spray it on linen handerchiefs that she was taking out of her purse at any good occasion. Anytime I smell Eau de Guerlain, I see my grandma opening her purse and litterally fill the room with top quality lemon and verbena unwittingly marking my childhood. To me Eau De Gurelain is more the smell of my memory than a body perfume.

    20th March, 2011 (Last Edited: 04 April, 2011)

    Guerlainboy's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A masterpiece. Magnificent citrus opening almost equalling the riot that is Imperiale. However EDG is more complex and longer lasting. I could not call this genuinely unisex as I feel it favours the masculine. The musk prevails deliciously given time and the whole composition works beautifully.

    To date this remains a firm personal favourite, I doubt it can be surpassed.

    02 February, 2011

    bbBD's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Allow me to enthusiastically echo the sentiments of the reviewers below. Over time I'm less and less inclined to wear, or even enjoy, citrus-heavy fragrances. Even in the heat of summer I find most citruses too sharp, and most modern citrus scents feel laden with cheap aromachemicals. When I am feeling the need to wear citrus there's only a small handful of candidates for me to reach for, and Eau de Guerlain is at the top of that list.

    The lemon/verbena/bergamot topnote accord is a perfect blend between citrus-sharp and fruit-sweet. Supporting and giving breadth to the citrus notes is a healthy dose of jasmine, and twinges of herbal notes and a hint of petitgrain fill out the very full 'cologne effect'. Unlike most colognes that are ephemeral on the skin at best, Eau de Guerlain persists for a few hours and dries down with just a hint of sweet amber and mossy/woody notes.

    If you're going to own one traditional eau de cologne, make it Eau de Guerlain. Thumbs UP.

    04 June, 2010

    zztopp's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    Eau de Guerlain (EdG) is the youngest of the Guerlain Eaux's, constructed in 1974 by JP-Guerlain. While the earlier Eauxs were simpler refreshing citrus formulae with little to no long tail, EdG while a competent citrus-aromatic/chypre has a distinctive 70s herb-laden vibe about it.

    The top notes have a clear dominant lemon note but almost immediately the "star" that makes EdG standout from various cologne formulas makes an appearance...its the herb known for cleaning the urinary system: the caraway. Here though its utilized for nasal pleasure, its characteristic sweet-spicy-herbal aroma made uplifting by good use of mint and a light infusion of jasmine and lavender to soften the herbal middle notes show. While EdG has a generally light feel, it can last for a good 6-7 hours...this is due to moss and musk in the base, with the tingly mossy aroma lasting long after the lemon shine and homeopathic carraway have faded away.

    EdG is made with quality materials, and while its the young un of the Eaux family, its the one with the most retro feel. A spicy-sweet herbal-lemon aroma that wouldn't be out of place amongst the staff of the Nixon administration or on the set of Grease. The newer generation may be turned off by the strong herbal-carraway component and I prefer the clearer focus on quality citrus notes of the Eauxs from the 1800s. What was old is now new again.

    Rating: 8.25/10.0

    15 May, 2010

    Kaern's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A wonderfully blended lemon and verbena fragrance -- comparisons are useless here, except for maybe the Chanel. Lasts all day for me so transcends cologne status.

    04 March, 2010 (Last Edited: 17 March, 2010)

    mrclmind's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Eau de Guerlain is one of my very favorite Eau de Colognes. It is much longer lasting than most others that I have tried. Eau de Guerlain eschews the neroli in the top-notes in favor of a mouth watering lemon; there are lovely subtle aromatics blended behind the lemon, but you never lose that beautiful lemon note. The slightly woody floral heart of Eau de Guerlain is what pulls it away from the typical eau de cologne. It is the jasmine in the heart that is the star, but the peppery carnation and patchouli lend a depth that is quite pleasing. The dry down is also deeper than your typical EDC: a subtly rich sandalwood, moss, amber and musk. This is definitely one of my votes for the ultimate citrus fragrances.

    Top Notes: Lemon, Bergamot, Basil, Caraway, Petitgrain, Fruit Note
    Middle Notes: Jasmin, Patchouli, Rose, Carnation, Sandal
    Base Notes: Moss, Musk, Amber

    20th January, 2010 (Last Edited: 28 January, 2011)

    bokaba's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Eau de Guerlain is a contemporary interpretation of the traditional eau de cologne with some added caraway in the opening. The middle is somewhat confusing with a menthol-carnation accord, but the base is a superb blend of musk, amber, and moss. This is by far one of the muskiest bases I have experienced. The musk lasts overnight even though the rest of the scent is gone. Big thumbs up!

    24 October, 2009 (Last Edited: 10th November, 2009)

    scentsitivity's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A realistic lemon note dominates here, reminding me of Profumum's pricey Acqua Viva opening. Not quite as bright as Acqua Viva, but certainly more reasonably priced and very wearable. The drydown is different than Acqua Viva’s, with herbal notes dominating here. Decent longevity. More potent than either Eau du Coq or Imperiale by design. I don't see myself getting this, but it certainly worthy of consideration for lemon lovers or those looking for an updated interpretation of classic EdC construction.

    23 May, 2009

    foetidus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    Fresh and bright opening that’s different from most of the other eaus I’ve tried: It’s the caraway seed that provides most of this uniqueness. I love the smell of caraway and wonder why it isn’t used more often in perfumery. To my nose, the citrus of the beginning hovers in the background while the caraway / basil / mint take the center in an excellent, long lasting aromatic accord. This main accord is just plain charming in an endearingly old-fashioned way. It’s balanced to perfection. Toward the end of the aromatic dominance of the spices and herbs, the jasmine can be found softly filling in the background. The base that I get is a mellow moss and amber – quiet and comfortable and not very sweet, hardly any sillage, but it lasts for hours as a close-to-the skin scent: My favorite of the Guerlain eaus – maybe even of all of the eaus.

    19 May, 2009

    tvlampboy's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A polite, inoffensive fragrance that was really created for tasteful, late 19th century dandies. (Don't expect sillage or longevity -- this is an EDC deluxe.) Wonderful construction here, but about as useful as teats on a boar hog unless you just really want to splash on some EDC in the summertime.

    19 December, 2008

    SirSlarty's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A beautiful yet semi-generic EdC with huge citrus and an almost minty-herbal quality to it. Longevity isn't all that good on me. But like the other GUerlain scents that haven't lasted long on me, it's a beautiful scent.

    25 October, 2008

    purplebird7's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A very nice lemon-herbal fragrance. Nothing too exciting in my book, as I prefer to go either creamier with Guerlain Jicky or sour-juicier with Annick Goutal Eau d'Hadrien.

    18 July, 2008

    Mr. G's avatar

    Denmark Denmark

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Guerlain is by most people known for its rich perfumes, but the house also has a line of 'eaux' - lighter and fresher fragrances made in cologne strength from citrus and herbs. Each of the perfumers from within the Guerlain family has composed an eau: Eau de Cologne Impériale (Pierre François Pascal Guerlain in 1853), Eau de Cologne du Coq (Aimé Guerlain in 1894), Eau de Fleurs de Cédrat (Jacques Guerlain in 1920) - and finally Jean-Paul Guerlain's simply named Eau de Guerlain from 1974. Actually, Eau de Guerlain is - rightfully - labelled as an Eau de Toilette: It's definitely the most complex and long-lasting of the four, and is has a remarkably long list of notes for a cologne. The balance of lemon and bergamot on one side and an aromatic bunch of herbs like basil, petitgrain and the anise-like caraway on the other is held in perfect check all the way through the scent in the most convincing and nostalgic way. It plays on the aromatic accord of dark Vol de Nuit, breezy Sous le Vent and dandified Mouchoir de Monsieur, but with basil to make it cool-uplifting, 'masculine' flowers like carnation and rose to make it tender, and stripped of any 'dirtiness'. Eau de Guerlain puts most of the Aqua Allegoria line's aromatic-fresh scents, like Herba Fresca, Lemon Fresca and Mandarine-Basilic, to shame.

    13 May, 2008 (Last Edited: 14 May, 2008)

    Jemimagold's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Eau de Guerlain is a textbook, citrusy eau de cologne which is pleasant enough but is not terribly exciting. Eau de colognes are not known for their lasting power but this has even less than most. Price-wise, 4711 is a much cheaper than Eau de Guerlain and smells very similar. However, if you want an original and stylish eau de cologne, I would recommend Chanel Eau de Cologne (tea scented) or Dior Cologne Blanche (orange flower and almond).

    04 May, 2008

    JaimeB's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Green, astringent, spicy-floral eau-de-cologne type scent. Basil, petitgrain, carnation are the hallmarks; moss, amber and musk, the support; and caraway is the surprise. Definitely classic within the genre, but just innovative enough to be really distinctive in a very wide (and sometimes shallow) field of eaux de cologne. In my view, the best of the Guerlains of the genre.

    26 April, 2008 (Last Edited: 09 September, 2009)

    bonzo's avatar

    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    fresh,light but to much citrus , too crispy and too harsh and herbal-after 5 minutes i go nuts because it feels unbearable-eau sauvage by dior is definitely better or eau imperiale by guerlain-not so intense and not so much citrus!

    28 January, 2007 (Last Edited: 02 June, 2011)

    tropbelle's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This scent is a citrus-minty pick-me-up with delicious effervescence. It is an eye opener, especially next to my other favorite lemon-bergamot cocktail, Ivoire de Balmain, which is a bit more reserved and herbal.

    09 January, 2007

    scenteur7's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Thumbs up for smellign so wonderful - fresh and light and exactly what I want for summertime. Thumbs down for lasting about 5 minutes on my skin. Guerlain, if you're listening, give me an EDP or an extreme version, please!

    15 January, 2006

    leopoldo's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    The perfect summer scent. FULL STOP. THE END. PERIOD.

    14 December, 2005

    Twitchly's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Pros: Dry lemon/citrus with no juiciness or sweetness. Think of the driest champagne with an invigorating twist of lemon, mixed with snow and sipped at high altitude. Very refreshing, extremely light to the point of vanishing. The perfect summer scent for either gender. Cons: It has no staying power on me whatsoever; I have to spray it on my clothes to get any lasting fragrance. It is also the only fragrance ever to cause my sinuses to completely seize up, as though I'd inhaled horseradish. But the scent is worth the occasional inconvenience.

    24 October, 2005

    levente's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Eau de Guerlain reminds me of the original Eau de Rochas (NOT the Eau de Rochas pour Homme) minus the grapefruit. Very dry and subdued citrus that has that old world style typical of Guerlain. Very good for office wear in the summer, particularly for the mature individual who doesn't want something trendy.

    29 September, 2005

    Francois Blais's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    My favorite citrus herbal summer scent!
    When I discovered it, I got rid of every other scent of the same category I had. (I'm thinking mostly of Eau sauvage here)
    Well, except Loewe pour homme, which I got later, and which is dryer, more chypre.
    This scent is a masterpiece!

    12 September, 2005

    Naed_Nitram's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This fine fragrance might almost have been made for my friend Marcel, since it seems to constitute the veritable Platonic Idea of those distinguished assemblages of citrus and herbs which Marcel loves so dearly. His valet Andre seemed less sure: 'It's a bit quaint old lemony, ain't it, Monsieur? A bit of the old herbal tea bag, ain't it , Monsieur? Maybe it needs a drop of coffee or chocolate or mysterious plum to liven it up? As they say in Timbuktoo, I doubt it'll make the girlies gurgle.'

    16 December, 2004

    opalsdad's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Another classic from the hand of Jean-Paul. This one is very, very cool - icey even. The dry citrus components are mixed with herbs. Surprisingly long-lasting for such a light fragrance. Perfect for a long, hot Summer.

    30th October, 2002

    Showing 1 to 29 of 29.