Positive Reviews of Extract of West Indian Limes by Geo F Trumper

    Find out more about Extract of West Indian Limes by Geo F Trumper in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 13 of 13. (Show all reviews)
    mattandhiscat's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    If you could put a nozzle onto a fresh lime you'd get this ...A very impressive lime scent from trumpers that is probably the most genuine and honest lime fragrance out there. However don't get too excited as the smell has disappeared by the time you have gone from bathroom to bedroom to kiss the Mrs goodbye. Maybe this could be used to spray around the rim of a mojito glass for that finishing touch. Would make a great pick me up on a coach trip or flight.

    06th November, 2014 (Last Edited: 14th November, 2014)

    BradneyJ's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very sharp, very fresh, doesn't last

    The moment I apply this, I get a little flashback to every time I've sliced up lemon and lime for a G&T on a Summer's day. I don't personally pick up anything else from Extract of Limes besides the citrus. On me it goes a little sweet before it disappears entirely (a lot of things seem to turn sweet on me though). I like it, but with such poor longevity (not that I expected it to last more than 40 minutes), this is not something I'd wear for anyone's benefit but my own.

    Pros: Insanely fresh and citrus
    Cons: Citrus notes rarely last long- this one is no exception

    29th May, 2013

    rbaker's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A straightforward lime Cologne with a wonderful intensity. Nothing more is claimed, and nothing more is delivered. Poor longevity, but not worse than other like scents, and with 1/2 hour longer than Hermes EdOV.

    03rd June, 2012

    drseid's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Superb pure lime fragrance that is extremely refreshing. There really is not much to it; just an absolutely fabulous smelling pure lime scent that hits you immediately when applied and then the scent is gone. I normally would give a thumbs down or sideways due to the extremely low longevity (30 minutes max on my skin no matter how much I apply), but the scent is so good, I have to give it a thumbs up. This is great as a scent to wake you up after a nice old fashioned shave (preferably with Trumpers' own excellent Limes shave cream). The scent gets 4.5 out of 5 stars, but longevity should be noted as 1 out of 5.

    12th August, 2011 (Last Edited: 02nd June, 2012)

    great_badir's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Hands down THE best and most authentic lime frag available from any house. A bracing and intense opening, as if you've just plunged your face into a bucket of freshly squeezed lime juice. It's a very simple, very linear scent - no top, middle, or base, just lime. Unfortunately, as is the nature of simple and linear citrus scents, longevity and silage are almost zero - it's gone almost completely inside of an hour or so. If you want a long lasting citrus frag that projects well, then this isn't for you. If you don't mind a fleeting citrus but want to apply regularly, then the price point suggests you should be looking to 4711 or Farina instead. If, however, you want a quick limey punch in the face and don't mind spending a bit more for the quality, then you really need to look no further.

    06th May, 2010

    Singinghound's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I always have a bottle of limes. It reminds me of my grandfather, boarding shool, rowing and racing, and everything I love. It's brilliant first thing in the morning, and lasts about 30 seconds.

    There's no sophistication here; it's like being woken up by a very friendly spaniel.

    I've tried Truefitt's limes, since I moved over there and it's longer lasting, but doesn't quite match this one for explosive joy.

    29th March, 2009

    foetidus's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     


    Bright and tart and clean: West Indian Extract of Limes by Trumper is as close to the enticing smell of fresh squeezed limes as any thing I’ve smelled, and that includes the squeezed limes fresh from the lime tree in the backyard. And like the aroma of those squeezed limes, Extract of Limes doesn’t last, but lasting isn’t what it’s about. This is about the taste / aroma of fresh, fresh limes and the mouth puckering sweetness that only limes have. This is about sun and fresh sea air. This is perfect… Whoops, hirch_ duckfinder already said that. Well, he’s right…

    01st March, 2009

    odysseusm's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Limes! That’s it, just limes. They are green, zesty-fresh, natural. This is a wonderful, refreshing tonic splash. It is very short-lived, and that is to be expected. Citrus oils are (by nature) volatile and brief, and this scent doesn’t have any base notes which would prolong or develop. In other words, it is what it is. Splash it on and enjoy the brief experience. Half an hour later do it again, or put something else on – it will layer with anything. Indeed, ‘layer’ is an over-statement. In a half-hour, you just have your skin (but nice-smelling).

    11th August, 2008

    the_good_life's avatar

    Germany Germany

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A Victorian body splash rather than a fragrance. But unquestionably the zingiest zestiest lime of them all - St. John's, e.g. pales before it, while Crown's Spiced Lime is far subtler and more of an actual fragrance. This beauty gets five stars for doing what it does perfectly, never mind construction or longevity in this case.

    28th May, 2008

    JackTwist's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    For my money, the best lime on the market, neither too sharp not too sweet - and it lasts on my skin for a number of hours. Caswell's Lime can be overly sticky sweet, depending on the batch, and Truefitt's disappears almost immediately to be replaced by a neroli. Trumper's Extract of West Indian Limes is subtle, delicious and a perfect summer morning splash. Highly recommended.

    05th December, 2007

    hirch_duckfinder's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Short lived citrus heaven! Perfect, I slap it on after the morning shower to wake me up and by the time I know what I want to wear for the day, it is gone. It leaves a very light, fantastic smelling residue for about an hour on my skin.

    The initial blast is awesome! SO limey and fresh its amazing. Buy half a litre in a plastic bottle for £30 and splash it everywhere!!

    30th July, 2006

    Lyman's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Sharp and fresh, a wonderful scent of limes. And a few minutes later it tones down nicely. (Which is a good thing, because as terrific as the initial scent is, it's too sharp to wear without its toning down.) But, after that, and as others have said, Extract of West Indian Limes doesn't seem to have a lot of staying power. It's like fireworks: it appears, it's magnificent, and then it's gone.

    23rd October, 2005

    j_dubyah's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I LOVE this scent. It has the utmost in freshness about it with layer after pugent layer of fresh lime-ness. Downside: a very good disappearing act after a few minutes as is the case with many such fragrances. I'm thinking the right kind of skin chemistry might make it linger longer, but that is trial and error that may not be worth the price.

    26th August, 2003

    Showing 1 to 13 of 13. (Show all reviews)




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000