Reviews of Fahrenheit by Christian Dior

    Find out more about Fahrenheit by Christian Dior in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 30 of 293.
    tdwctdwc's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Timeless scent.

    A beautiful celebration of sensational violet leaves that are evoking to the senses, further brightened by a zesty orange accord, stirred with smokey vetiver and polished with leather.

    There is no scent in existence that highlights violet leaves like Fahrenheit does.

    Stunning, addictive, unique and mesmerizing.

    21st February, 2015

    indianwells's avatar

    Wales Wales

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I wasn't sure on first application. I put it on before going to bed and the petroleum note had me a bit confused. However, I awoke about 4 hours later and I could smell something quite wonderful. The dry down on this one is exquisite.

    05th February, 2015

    freewheelingvagabond's avatar

    India India

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Is this the greatest fragrance for men ever created?

    A breakdown of notes would be redundant, though violet leaf, orange and leather are the dominant players. A gorgeous floral leather, Fahrenheit stimulates senses like no other, awakens the mind and touches the heart. Fahrenheit is hot and cold at the same time. Fahrenheit is the first scorching ray of sun that melts the ice on snow-capped peaks. Fahrenheit is the smouldering lava that eats up everything in its path as the world burns red in its wake. Fahrenheit is the moist damp brown earth beneath the fleshy green trees with dark wet branches after the first rain in months.

    Fahrenheit is not a fragrance. Fahrenheit is an experience.

    28th January, 2015

    skical's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I just tried Fahrenheit today. Yes, my first time. After reading the reviews, I thought I should give it a try. From the beginning to the dry-down, it is terrible. I can't stand the smell. How anyone could recommend this is beyond me. Complete garbage.

    08th January, 2015

    Le_Coeur_Gothique's avatar

    Greece Greece

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A friend I've never missed...

    Back in 1988 I was a poor student, and for your information, while the noun is long gone, the adjective still remains. So when I managed to save enough money and buy a gorgeous heavy woolen jacket, I was more than happy to take a long walk downtown and enjoy its comfort, warmth and quality. It was a couple of days before Christmas, and along with a blissful pixie who pretended to be my human girlfriend, we thought it would be a good idea to test some fragrances, and perhaps get a couple of free miniatures. I have to clarify to younger readers that back then most perfume samples were miniature bottles, and not the bland plain vials that they are nowadays. Truth be told, I was looking forward to return home and spray my new jacket with a generous dose of Davidoff by Davidoff, and turn it into my signature jacket soused in my then signature perfume. But what harm could a little window shopping do? So, I, armed with a brand new '80s jacket (which would be thought a curio today) and she, armed with the obligatory '80s perm, headed for the cosmetics stores.
    Grave mistake...
    A sales assistant who was lurking by the door and surely was a faster shooter than Billy the Kid, managed to shoot three huge sprays of something that nearly knocked me off my feet on my jacket, in less than a second. If she was holding a gun instead of a huge bottle of the most potent and fresh Fahrenheit ever imagined in her hands, I'd be dead before hitting the ground. And I have no doubts that had I tried to duck her attack, she wouldn't hesitate to spray me square in the face, if it had come her way.
    I shook the impulse to strangle the harpy on the spot and search for a dry cleaner in the next 20 seconds, and proceeded with our perfume testing.
    And then the horror begun...
    For the next four months or so, every time I'd put my jacket on, I smelled like someone who was working in a car repair shop or a gas station, although if this was the case, I would be the swankest car repair shop or gas station employee ever.
    And to add insult to injury, can you imagine what were the only miniatures that we were given in the end? Yeah, you got it right...
    ...
    Fahrenheit is a heavy scent. A very heavy scent. And of course I'm not talking about its potence in aromatic terms only. Even though it's a prolific scorer in the fields of sillage and longevity (the vintage one at least), it's mainly a very serious player in the field that produces legend material.
    I have to admit that Fahrenheit is an incomprehensible scent to me.
    Peppery notes, but no pepper! Perhaps it's a dirty trick played by some strange reaction between leather and nutmeg. Since I can't point at any other notes and consider them the culprits for this elusive accord, these two have to be the ones responsible.
    And then there's this strange, unique and unequalled (but not necessarily nice) accord, which I'm completely incompetent to decipher and therefore to describe it. Not in an satisfying degree at least.
    But perhaps it's worth giving it a try.
    Since my nose is no big deal, I rarely talk about notes in my reviews. However, Fahrenheit has kept me wondering since 1988 about this "What the hell am I smelling here Christian?" stuff.
    The fragrance has three hesperidic notes (Is "hesperidic" a valid word? Internet has not decided yet, so I apologise in advance for the possible barbarism.)
    Well, I don't smell them.
    It also has five sweet flowery notes.
    I don't smell them either.
    So, according to their absence of prominence, none of this eight notes is directly responsible for Fahrenheit's distinctive and unforgettable drydown.
    So what is it?
    I say that it smells like gasoline soaked sandalwood, that someone was crazy enough to set it on fire, and then put the cinders in the inside pocket of an old leather jacket, which he then wears after the gym and without showering first.
    And before extolling my imagination... I've done it...
    But it just made the whole thing even trickier, because it added a slight cummin note, and cummin is not included in the scent's pyramid. So, what I finally got with my "analysis" was a hint of something that shouldn't be there at all. Very helping...
    I could also say that it smells the way some old taxis used to smell back in the '70s, but maybe my mind is playing tricks, trying to place the leather and diesel/gasoline/kerosene/motor oil notes to a matching vessel. However, I can see some connection here, since I believe that if we ask ten people how the inside of a brand new or a very old car smells like, five of them will say that it smells of leather, the other five that it smells of fuel, and all ten of them that it smells of Fahrenheit.
    But maybe it's these very same oddities about it, which render Fahrenheit one of the few instantly recognizable fragrances in my book.
    I have no idea how the current formulation smells like, and to be honest I don't care. I don't love and I don't hate Fahrenheit. For me it's a perfect example of uniqueness and an unparalleled specimen of aweless perfumery, but I'm still unable to decide whether this example is a paragon or a byword, and whether Fahrenheit's universe and mine are any parallel at all. But my personal likings have nothing to do with the objective stature of the fragrance. Fahrenheit has become a cornerstone and a legend over the years, and it doesn't give a damn if I like it or not. It's just there, too busy being itself.

    20th December, 2014

    ClassicFan's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    When moving my wrist back and forth near my nose I get "pencil shavings", "fresh", "gasoline" and "grassy". It blends together similar to Cool Water in an 80s fashion. It's not bad and I can see the attraction but there's no space for this in my rotation. Anyone who likes this should try Chevrefeuille by Creed as a comparison.

    07th December, 2014

    Odor Miris's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a floral with a cauliflower-ear! I don't pick up the 'gasolline-petroleum' that so many seem to identify but rather a carnation taken to the max tempered with nutmeg and leather. Worked very well for me in the Fall in New York, but here in SoFla, it's a bit much and have put it on the backburner for a bit...maybe it's time to reintroduce myself to this juice, fire up a cigar and enjoy a measure of spiced rum...hmmmm???

    27th November, 2014 (Last Edited: 01st December, 2014)

    Buysblind's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I used to mow the lawn in my backyard and along one swath of grass there was a large honey-suckle bush. The sweet, floral aroma of the honey-suckle would mix with the gasoline from the mower and the smell of leather on my hands from my work gloves. That's the closest I can get to describing what Fahrenheit smells like. Sweet, fresh specific floral notes of honey-suckle over petrol and the worn, rugged smell of leather. But my description really doesn't do it justice. Fahrenheit is like its own planet in the fragrance universe, and it's one of a strange, swirling atmosphere, equal parts enchanting and toxic. Fahrenheit's bottle represents its contents precisely, from dark shades of red and black to higher hues of orange and pale yellow. All in all, this is one hell of a fragrance that must be sniffed to be even remotely understood. A timeless classic, that feels modern and cutting edge almost 30 years after its release date. If you have never smelled this before, go out and get your nose on it! Projection and longevity are superb.

    07th November, 2014

    Chanel1's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A big thumbs up for this one. I have two bottles: 9A03 (purchased in 1999) and 4N03 (purchased in 2014).

    The old bottle has probably lost potency. The new juice projects better. Side by side on each arm, the old juice smells a little richer on the skin, but fainter, so I'm feeling plenty of love for the 2014 juice. It's maybe slightly sweeter or more vanilla and leather, less floral; but it is very similar. They are more like each other than edt and edp flankers. If the current juice said anything other than Fahrenheit, people would be up in arms that it's the same stuff and that calling it a flanker is false advertising.

    I like the old juice slightly better, but the new juice is having better performance for me.

    08th October, 2014 (Last Edited: 20th October, 2014)

    Surreal's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This one was ,is and will be my No1 favourite....
    many memories,many complements and a very special scent.
    grass with gasoline top notes with some sweetness and then woods.
    not detailed subscription for a Masterpiece.

    Both thumps Up!

    04th October, 2014

    JackTwist's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    When almost a fifth of 200+ reviews are negative, you know something not quite right is going on.

    This comes at me in two layers, one a warm amber leather and the other a sharp, very unpleasant cedar/mace combo. The center is floral and sweet, as Barbara Herman notes.

    Turin gives it 2 stars and calls it a "woody leather." Right! However, he goes on to say it is a great citrus leather (I don't get the citrus) with prominent violet leaf (again, I don't get this.)

    The unpleasant cedar overpowers and wins out over the amber leather, so this is definitely a failure to my nose.

    Top notes: Bergamot, Lemon, Lavender, Mace, Violet, Chamomile
    Heart notes: Jasmine, Muguet, Cedarwood, Sandalwood
    Base notes: Amber, Patchouli, Leather, Tonka, Musk

    A waste of most of these ingredients since you can't smell them.

    31st July, 2014

    Muaythaifighter's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Fahrenheit is one of those fragrances that people will either love or hate. My girlfriend adores it on me and says that when we first started dating she couldn't beleive how good I smelled and told all her friends about it. On the other hand, my sister doesn't like it at all and said it smells like a chemical mess. I enjoy fahrenheit because it is so unique. A lot of people mention a "petroleum" feel to it but I don't really get that. It's the only fragrance in my collection that I can't describe in words, which is a testament to how unique it is. I also enjoy it because of its versatility, works well in both summer and winter, day or night and for a variety of occasions. Pretty much the only place I wouldn't wear it would be the gym.

    13th July, 2014

    2nosedtwin's avatar

    Netherlands Netherlands

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Christian Dior - Fahrenheit
    If this one can make the temperature of your blood rise more than 1 fahrenheit, than your probably a very ice-cold person who needs all the little bit of warmth you can get; or dead... A weak sharp-peppery opening with a smudged greenness that smells musty and like overcooked vegetables with an anisic touch, grows into a bitter lavender note, and a weak sweet fruity note that reminds of water-ice where the flavor almost totally has been sucked out of. Then, like a big surprise, it grows into a rubber-leathery note with a clean transparent cedarwood/palo santo note with a Cool Water-like airiness; unpleasantly musty bitter-sour smelling, finished off with a big splash of iso e super. A big disappointment in terms off quality and originality with a detached and boring character. Yuk.

    27th May, 2014

    ClarkScent's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This was a masterpiece. The new formula is a travesty and is highly unwearable. I thank my lucky stars that I found a vintage bottle on EBay. The gasoline vibe is nonexistent in the new juice, which is the main reason the vintage stuff is king. I have probably worn more of this than any other cologne in my collection. Available everywhere but do not buy if only the word Dior is on the bottom of the bottle. Vintage will read Christian Dior.

    04th May, 2014

    Shifty Bat's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Pleasant enough sort of white floral-meets-grey musk scent which achieves an interesting balance of hot and cool. The effect doesn't last all too long, and the current version is far more flat than I'd like. The older vintage features a more pronounced honeysuckle, as juicy as they would allow before it interfered with the dry concept. Very pleasant for the first hour and a decent skin scent afterward. I love a well-made masculine floral but this won't suit everyone.

    12th April, 2014

    Classyscents's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Long lasting, classic, and the girls love it! and in the end isn't that what it's all about?

    I'm pretty shallow but this scent will never not be in my wardrobe. If you wear if on a night out, a girl will compliment you every time and that's always nice. Don't go crazy, my old bottle still packs a major punch. Don't believe sales people who tell you it expires! Not if you store it right.

    29th March, 2014

    Adama's avatar

    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I've heard so much about Fahrenheit for so many years that I decided that I wanted to give it a shot especially after hearing that Axe Peace was very similar to it. I enjoyed Peace bodywash and deodorant, so I bought a partial bottle from a member on here.

    Everything you've heard about Fahrenheit is true.

    It opens with a strong, motor oil/ car exhaust/ diesel punch in the face. It then moves into what some describe as tire rubber, others gasoline. I can detect both.

    Fahrenheit then moves into a smokey leather jacket phase, where it then fades away.

    I get that a lot of members here really enjoy it, but I dislike it and cannot think of any situation where I would wear this.

    I can see it being a head turner, but not for the right reasons.

    28th March, 2014

    jarroditshallbe's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Early 90's date night. Sitting on a couch in a large open room, while you wait on the lady to finish getting ready. Your hands are clasp while you wait. You also have a mustache, and maybe a leather jacket on. It is acceptable because, hey, it's the 90's.

    13th March, 2014

    the reaper's avatar

    Venezuela Venezuela

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I didn't like it when I first smelled it years ago but it was reformulated and the smell was pleasant enough for me. Only problem: it doesn't last.

    03rd March, 2014 (Last Edited: 15th September, 2014)

    cologneblog's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A surprisingly adequate scent both fresh and warm!

    27th February, 2014

    Luxurious Inclinatins's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is the one you want to run away with. I randomly came across a sample of this and it instantly captivated me. There is something so warm, bold and sophisticated about this fragrance that has a strong yet soothing edge of attraction. It is addictive and distinctly unique. Almost all the other men's colognes out there have an overly clean and aqua fresh smell. This one smells rich with desire and full of mystery. Some say it has a petrol smell to it, but I don't perceive it that way. I would say it has a hint of spice and a cooling musk, like a hot summer rain under the trees. Overall I find it blissfully timeless in it's candor of masculine sensuality.

    25th February, 2014

    HickorySmoke420's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    One of my top ten favorites...I savor this sent when I want to be noticed and am seeking attention.

    15th February, 2014

    Ryanmmas26's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    This is a scent that I can wear on occasion when im just tired of typical fragrances and want something that smells different. Ive worn this only a handful of times and each time Ive grown to appreciate and respect it more, but with that said its still not even close to being 1 of my go-to fragrances.

    To me it smells outdated and has a dark,industrial,masculine vibe that is actual very well blended. I guess because im more of a fan of fresh,clean scents I dont fully appreciate but as a cologne collector I do respect the originality in this 1.

    Its also a long lasting fragrance that will project pretty well :)

    18th January, 2014

    malin17's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    I love this on my husband. It really stands out in a crowd of the mainstream sport style fragrances I smell so often. I think it really suits rugged types well. Not fresh or clean to me but very dark and brooding.

    28th December, 2013

    tempest moon's avatar

    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    In 1988 Dior decided to break the mould in terms of men's fragrances and decided to go in a different direction, by turning the established system on it's head. What they managed to create was something entirely unique (even today). They succeeded in creating a truly remarkable and very masculine floral (by using violet, nutmeg, carnation, and a lot of leather).

    The result? Something which smells beautifully modern even today. In a word - timeless.

    I believe that years later Dior would turn the world of male perfumes on it's head for a second time (with their metrosexual floral leather release 'Dior Homme'). However for many people, this is considered their best masculine and I think it's one of the most unique designer masculine fragrances ever created.

    Instead of the Leather-Iris combination used in Dior Homme, here it's Leather and Violet, a pairing which gives off what many people term "sweet motor oil".

    Before actually wearing this on my skin, I tried the luxury 'soap' of this for years, never finally wearing the fragrance itself until now. To me this can't be categorised purely by a "gasoline" smell (and I happen to like the smell of petrol). To me, this fragrance smells like an incredibly clean version of petroleum. Imagine a mechanic who after working a long day with the car grease and motor oil, then decided to take a really good bath or shower with luxury, high-quality soap. After he's finished, he smells clean and fragrant, but the original petrol note is under all the soap, and because of this, now starts to smell "clean" as well. Of course this is also a perfectly blended fragrance, and you'll struggle to put your finger on why exactly this smells as good as it does. The combination of violet leaf, leather, nutmeg, musk, geranium, lavender and carnation makes this extremely masculine. However it could be worn very well by a woman because it's also sweet at the same time. It's addictive!

    I think the marketing concept of Fahrenheit was a perfume of contrasts. Specifically Hot and Cold, or "Fire and Ice". Fahrenheit is a measurement of temperature, and as a result applies to burning, boiling heat and also icy cold. As an olfactory sensation, Fahrenheit straddles the line between these two extremes, and does it beautifully.

    I will say that this smells just as modern as it ever did 25 years ago, and could easily be released today and go on to be a number one hit. It's unique, nothing out there smells like it. It's not like Cool Water (also released in 1988), which went on to spawn the aquatic craze of the 1990's, and as a result is starting to smell a little dated by today's standards.

    This has lost none of it's originality. It is well worth it's reputation. I believe that it can be worn by almost anyone and in any season. It needs no introduction. It is what it is (even in our time)... original, unique, & unmistakably beautiful!

    08th December, 2013

    sjg3839's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    One of the original Men's Colognes. A little goes a long way with this masterpiece. Yeah, it has that petrol vibe like everyone saysm but I is done well. I call this the Green Leather Scent. One you have to have.

    05th December, 2013

    hgonzalez1977's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Very unique and masculine

    I don't know what formulation i have (i purchased in 2011 aprox). It's a nice, manly, strong and unsual scent.

    PROS:
    - It's a classic.
    - Very different (in a good way) to the other fragrances.
    - Projects and last a lot.
    - Masculine

    CONS:
    - If over apply, can offend to somebody

    For me, it's a must have. Definitly worth the try.

    Regards.

    Pros: Unusual and manly scent than last and projects
    Cons: Don't over apply"

    15th September, 2013

    VanMarlton's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Unique, but I'll pass

    I gave this one a fair shot and really tried to like it especially in light of its notoriety and good publicity. But there is really something about it that does not sit well with me and I dont know exactly what it is. Probably something in the floral notes that kinda pushes me away. But I do have to admit that it deserves the popularity it has. Very unique scent and it is quite "ballsy", but not in a gasoline smelling way unfortunately... Whoever claims it smells like you spilled some gas on yourself at the station, like... you ever BEEN at the gas station?? :)) I really wish it did smell like that and that is the main reason I tried it out in the first place.

    A classic? I think so, but I would be okay leaving it behind.

    02nd August, 2013

    stefly321's avatar



    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    review by stefly321

    Got this as a gift from an ex girlfriend who loved it. It does have a whiff of petroleum about it. Not like liquid petroleum but like one that's evaporated and leaves that faint smell. But mixed with its other notes, it does work somehow.

    27th July, 2013

    Oldspice's avatar

    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Fahrenheit

    I bought a bottle of this blind several years ago. I'd read a little about it and thought I had a good idea of what this would smell like but was pretty shocked when I first tried this. I didn't hate it but thought it was a little too strange for me and didn't feel too comfortable wearing it so I got rid of it. But it stuck in the back of my mind and I do recall that wearing this one night I got the most enthusiastic compliment from a woman I've gotten with any fragrance. So there is something to this stuff. I got a sample of this recently and here are my impressions of it.

    When I was a kid my parents would buy cheapo bar soap for the bathroom, usually something like Zest. I get an impression of this smell from Fahrenheit. At the same time I do get that strong petrol note too. It does not smell like gasoline to me, closer to used motor oil. So for me there's this dueling clean and dirty feel to it. I don't get much development, how it smells when I spray it on is how it smells hours later. This projects fairly strongly and lasts well beyond eight hours so this is one to be cautious of over-applying.

    I now enjoy wearing this from time to time, it's not one that I think I could wear every day.

    26th June, 2013

    Showing 1 to 30 of 293.




Loving perfume on the Internet since 2000