Positive Reviews of Ho Hang by Balenciaga

    Find out more about Ho Hang by Balenciaga in the Basenotes Fragrance Directory


    Showing 1 to 16 of 16. (Show all reviews)
    rbaker's avatar
    rbaker


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Traditional in a good way

    The opening with citrus, lavender basil and refreshing bergamot is very nice and a classic start. Green and adstringent geranium notes in the drydown lead to a base characterised by cedar and tonka, but with only a little sweetness on my skin. Overall a traditional, classic scent that is well done. Initially good silage and projection, then closer to my skin, with an overall longevity of over three hours.

    09 August, 2013

    Darvant's avatar
    Darvant
    Italy Italy

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A distinguished and delightful citrus-aromatic oriental, epic and exotic. My Dad'd generation comes to my mind, a pool of daring and willing professional men with an enormous love for the good life, the good work, the parties in the grand hotels, music and travels. Ho hang is measured and well balanced, is a fresh, aromatic oriental with any trace of excess or cloying olfactory perception. Cedarwood, citrus, basil, vanilla and tonka are the key elements. Lavender and rosewood are perfectly combined. The top notes are citrus, green and aromatic with their basil and good amount of lavender. In a while the transition towards the woody heart is accomplished. The geranium is perfectly inserted in order to be blended with citrus and aromatic elements with its restrained but perceivable touch of floral sweetness. The perfect combination of natural elements (floral, citrus, herbal, woody) is endly enveloped by a smooth bed, an oriental base featuring vanilla, labdanum, benzoin and tonka with its touch of velvety smooth (tobacco rounded) masculinity. Impeccable. Ho hang, an old concept of left back distinction.

    11th April, 2011 (Last Edited: 30th March, 2014)

    mrclmind's avatar
    mrclmind
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ho Hang is a wonderful spicy oriental that is not commonly worn or even known about these days. It belongs to the same category of scents such as JHL, Pierre Cardin, Patou pour Homme and Ricci-CLub. Applied too heavily Ho Hang can be very cloying and overly sweet. Applied with a light hand it is a sublime oriental masterpiece.

    The opening is a lively fresh citrus accord consisting mostly of Lemon and Bergamot tempered with Orange, Lavender and Basil. The heart of Ho Hang is a floral and woody blend of Geranium, Cedar and Patchouli over a background of Carnation and Rosewood. The oriental base is rather sweet and somewhat powdery being mostly a Vanilla and Amber accord overlying some textures of Tonka, Musk, Benzoin and Labdanum.

    This is a rich and floral, spicy oriental that hearkens back to the early '70s when mens fragrances were much richer and more textured. It doesn't smell too retro for its own good however; applied contentiously it is a surprisingly relevant scent for today.

    28 January, 2011

    TropiRock's avatar
    TropiRock
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    "Ho Hang" -- interesting name for an interesting spicy oriental. Like others have expressed, this cologne is a pleasant surprise. It is perhaps a little dated now and I don't think the younger generation would relate so well to its "old school" nature. But for my "old school" nose, Ho Hang offers a pleasing sophistication and distinction. Sillage and longevity are both excellent. Careful, though, not to overdo or Ho Hang could easily become cloying.

    07 January, 2011

    JonB's avatar
    JonB
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Wow, very nice. It is hard to believe this came out of the '70s. This is a woody oriental, but not a heavy one. There are citrus topnotes and other aromatics blended in perfectly to make this a nice "aromatic oriental" There is no syrupy sweetness, just the right sweetness to make this likeable by most.

    This would be a great "anytime" scent, and definitely fine for the office. Power and sillage are moderate. Longevity is good.

    OK, maybe no one will rate this a 10/10, but it's just so nice to find a fragrance that smells so nice, and is seemingly so versatile. A big thumbs up from me.

    13 October, 2009

    jenson's avatar
    jenson
    India India

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    It will get that, hmm, i have smelled this accord a thousand times by now accord. has a very lively, lemony, spicy/herbal accord (think PDN NY, Eau Suavage). Lemon and hints of orange come of pretty easily. but it doesnt turn orangy, the mood is still very lemony with a woody accord of spices and flroals. i mainly smell geranium with a woody twist. basenotes gets a bitter sweeter and powdery with vanilla and incense. overall, if you appreciate scents like R de Capucci, PDN New York et al, thn this will find home with you almost immediately.

    29 September, 2009

    Swanky's avatar
    Swanky
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Don't let the strange name fool you - this is a classy, masculine scent in the Equipage tradition (this came out around the same time and may have been influenced by Hermes' classic). If you are into old school men's fragrances this should be on your to-do list. This one starts out with an orange blossom and wood accord. Once the tonka/vanilla kicks in the whole thing attains a slightly smoky leather vibe, smooth and creamy. Sillage is not great but longevity is decent. The bottle is a classic as well, similar to Moustache's. You'd do well to pick up either this or Equipage to round out your collection. Ho Hang is suitable for the office or the steakhouse and you won't have every other dude on the subway stealing your thunder.

    07 June, 2009

    Somerville Metro Man's avatar
    Somerville Metro Man
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Balenciaga Ho Hang

    Balenciaga would not be one of the first Houses that would spring to mind when asking a perfumista or colognoisseur to start naming Houses. That's a shame because Belenciaga as a House has put out some pretty bold and different scents which are still available at a reasonable price. On the women's side that includes Cristobal, Talisman, and Rumba. Sadly on the men's side there are only two scents left, Cristobal pour Homme and Ho Hang. Ho Hang was created in 1971 and for a scent created in the early 70's it manages to have that spicy oriental vibe of the time without feeling dated in the 21st century. Ho Hang starts off with the traditional mix of citrus and bergamot and while it is nothing new it is well-balanced and performs its function as the gatekeeper to lead you into the heart of this scent. The heart is a magnificent mix of rosewood and lavender. These two notes blend together to create a warm floral heart that is at turns sweet and dry, on me. The base starts with the clean lines of cedar and soon pairs it up with the green of vetiver which tempers the sweetness of the heart quite nicely. Ho Hang definitely hangs around on my skin for a long time and it definitely has some projection but not to the level of some of the big powerhouses from the 70's and 80's. If you're looking for a spicy Oriental that doesn't overwhelm give Ho Hang a try it just might introduce you to a new House.

    25 April, 2009

    JaimeB's avatar
    JaimeB
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    A spicy aromatic fougère scent from the early 70s. Fresh and spicy top notes lead to a heart of woods and florals, with a base of amber, resins, musk, coumarin, and vanilla. Great sillage right off and then gets quieter; longevity varies depending on temperature. An appealing scent: fresh, energizing, suave, not overwhelming.

    02 January, 2009

    odysseusm's avatar
    odysseusm
    Canada Canada

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ho Hang... what a surprise! It is delightful. Easy to overlook this one. As others have said; it is a fresh, woody Oriental. The elements are very well blended and create a lovely accord. The only clearly distinguishable notes are citrus at the beginning and lovely cedarwood throughout. The vanilla is not a problem here (it usually is for me). This is not a rich or overly spicy scent; it is sprightly, invigorating and enjoyable. Excellent dry-down. I’d say HH is in the same mood-camp as Worth pour Homme or Jil Sander Man Pure (Original) & I like it!
    ** Just a brief update on this. Wore it today and it hit every comfort zone I have. Superb warm spicy scent without being heavy. Wears so well and satisfies throughout the day. Upgraded to a full 5 stars, a definite thumbs-up. again, very similar to Jil Sander but a worthy and more accessible scent. Namely that both are "discontinued" but Ho Hang is widely available in discount and mall outlets. Check it out -- it is very good.

    05 April, 2008 (Last Edited: 06 February, 2014)

    Manderley's avatar
    Manderley
    France France

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Ho Hang is the olfactory translation of the word "understatement" : it sparkles with refinement. Classic (and classy), effortlessly chic, appropriate under just about any circumstance... It is both fresh and sophisticated, perfectly clean yet somewhat "dirty", a little old-fashioned but sure never to go completely out of style : a magnificent scent, for those who know, and need not say more. Bravo !

    27 December, 2006

    ce1982's avatar
    ce1982
    United Kingdom United Kingdom

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Wonderfully fresh top notes remind me of a womens perfume, but this is followed by an incredibly enticing middle and oriental base that simply knocks me out. It's so different to everything else I've owned or tried, and I've been asked several time what it is.

    11th December, 2006

    Jon_Remy's avatar
    Jon_Remy
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    When I first sprayed this on, I thought it smelled VERY similar to Opium for Women. However, after it dried down, yes, it smelled classy and like a "pool of whispering Gold," which is Naed Nitram's description. Thanks, Naed Nitram (Dean Martin spelled backwards) for your accurate description. I do smell cedar in there somehwere and feel this fragrance would probably be best suited for the end of summer, beginning of fall, and into winter.

    21st April, 2006

    levente's avatar
    levente
    United States United States

    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Yes, it has a cheesy name, but don't let that fool you. It is fresh yet warm, subtle but long lasting. A very refined concoction, the individual notes are difficult to pick out, but the result is distinctive nevertheless. A little tough to find these days, but well worth seeking out, especially if you are looking for something classy that no one else will be wearing.

    27 September, 2005

    Naed_Nitram's avatar
    Naed_Nitram


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    Clean and fresh meets smooth and warm - but with so much subtle elegance, so much quiet refinement. A pool of whispering gold.

    08 December, 2004

    a.aljunied's avatar
    a.aljunied


    Show all reviews

    rating


     

    An exotic blend of precious oils spawns this delightful contradiction of both crisp lightness with rich and strong "woody" undertones.

    31st December, 2003

    Showing 1 to 16 of 16. (Show all reviews)